View Full Version : Town win 1-0

daithi
30/04/2004, 8:43 PM
Great win away to drogs. Dessie Baker with the goal after a mistake by the drogs keeper. Bad news as McGovern carried off injured.
Anyone at the game? Is it a serious injury?

pconnor
30/04/2004, 11:25 PM
Your lads were worth the win, they were simply better in every position. Drogs were ****, no creativity. Two central defenders were pretty solid for us, nobody else stood out at all. Barry Ferguson (i think, no. 3 anyway) was good for you.

The goal was a freak and you'll not get another like it for 10 years. Rogers threw the ball out looking for the left full. Bakers strike partner (sorry don't know the name, probably murphy) was in the way of the throw out. It didn't just hit him on the head, he was quick enough to head it first time towards Baker who took his time and a few touches before putting it past Rogers. Rogers the clown was later the hero and pulled off at least two world class saves. The first from the first sub you brought on, who nearly scored a cracker with his first touch. The second save was a point blank save from a Baker volley following a pin point cross.

Don't know what happend to McGovern, I think he had just taken a free and must have slipped and fell badly, I'm open to correction but I don't think there was any challenge on him. He looked the worse for ware and had to be carried off.

Good crowd from Longford, best I've seen from ye in Utd park, fair play. He's hoping we stuff you in Flancare like we did last year.

01/05/2004, 8:54 AM
great result lads....really needed glad to see the result finally coming together!! dessie baker is a classic!!
any news on McGovern? he has been injured basically from the pre-season games, i hope he gets well and back into the squad soon! any news on Paisleys injury?

01/05/2004, 11:21 AM
The Drogs man sums it up pretty well. We were very solid at the back and quick and creative on the break. Digger made one amazing save just after half time nad Rogers made three great saves, one from Vinny Perth which was outstanding, and a volley from seanie francis which would have been a goal of the season contender, brilliant cross from Prunty. McGovern was carried off in agony, no tackle he just tore his thigh muscles on landing after a header, physios reckon thery're completely torn, could be a few months out :( . At least Paiso is back next week

On a sour note one scumbag assaulted the referee and linesman after the final whistle, fair play to the Drogs fans, they let him know what they thought of him. The club will be in serious bother though, he elbowed the ref and decked the linesman, I know Buttimer can be aggravating but there's no excuse for that type of behaviour. Oh and a final well done to the large and loud travelling support, I know it was much appreciated by the team and officials.

01/05/2004, 12:15 PM
The Drogs man sums it up pretty well. We were very solid at the back and quick and creative on the break. Digger made one amazing save just after half time nad Rogers made three great saves, one from Vinny Perth which was outstanding, and a volley from seanie francis which would have been a goal of the season contender, brilliant cross from Prunty. McGovern was carried off in agony, no tackle he just tore his thigh muscles on landing after a header, physios reckon thery're completely torn, could be a few months out :( . At least Paiso is back next week

i was told today that he has torn hamstring and will be out for at least 6weeks!! :(

01/05/2004, 2:19 PM
On a sour note one scumbag assaulted the referee and linesman after the final whistle, he elbowed the ref and decked the linesman,.

oh no,the return of "Tom the Gom"!!!!!!!! :eek:

well done lads,up to 4th place now yipee

Enda M
01/05/2004, 5:38 PM
yeah we were loud and fair play to the players who came over to clap us at the end it made the crap bumpy journey and ridiculous prices worth it :)

02/05/2004, 4:40 PM
lets hope there is a big crowd next friday for the bohs game!!

04/05/2004, 8:27 AM
Oh and a final well done to the large and loud travelling support, I know it was much appreciated by the team and officials.
That's what standing does (plus a roof!) :)
Looked good when we played ball, and until McGovern went off. Murph's distribution went a bit pear shaped when he moved back. Give Seanie the right ball and he'll find the target, unfortunately final ball was too often poor.

btw The Matthews Out brigade have gone a bit quiet.

04/05/2004, 10:28 AM
macy did you just say above that Mcgoverns distribution was good ??? was it a case of boot it like barry on friday when he went off , but good win and even better 2 clean sheets in a row......i think we can both be justified in saying that barry and brian are the best centre back pairing we have

i'm statement of intent not to travel was done and i shall grace dalymount on friday !!!!

04/05/2004, 10:34 AM
Actually, I think Digger's distribution is the biggest problem. The centre backs can only pass it out if there's an option, and too often there isn't one in midfield. Much rather centre backs got it clear, than pansied around getting caught.

My main point about the distribution was Murphs went terrible when he went back to full back, but that wasn't anything to do with long balls - just couldn't find his man...

04/05/2004, 10:58 AM
i get what your saying, but whats new about having no options in midfield

sorbothegreek
05/05/2004, 7:19 AM
In the comfort of the Drogs bar..........? Surrounded by them......?

Rather be outside myself.

05/05/2004, 9:49 AM
goin back to the drogs game, this crap about fifteen euros -a gang of us went in as students just to pay back the drogs management for the despicabl decision-better still guess wot member of section o bluffed his way into the drogs bar by giving a false name and managed to watch the whole game in the comfort of the bar when he was not a member of drogheda fc! :D
Shhhhhhhhhh. We've got to go back there this season...

05/05/2004, 10:10 AM
-a gang of us went in as students :D

must been the mature type !!!!! :D