View Full Version : 17th Sept - Limerick V Cork City FC

11/09/2010, 3:20 PM
This is now a huge game for City, we are three points behind Shels who are three behind Limerick. Winning this game could make the title race very interesting. It would be great for the final run in of games, even though we're no where near ready to go up (and stay up)

bluewhitearmy
11/09/2010, 4:07 PM
This is now a huge game for City, we are three points behind Shels who are three behind Limerick. Winning this game could make the title race very interesting. It would be great for the final run in of games, even though we're no where near ready to go up (and stay up)

How would it?

11/09/2010, 4:10 PM

Can see your lads doing a job in this one. Purcell and Rogers are supposed to be out and they'll be a huge loss for us. Especially with Cummins up front for ye.

bluewhitearmy
11/09/2010, 4:29 PM
Can see your lads doing a job in this one. Purcell and Rogers are supposed to be out and they'll be a huge loss for us. Especially with Cummins up front for ye.

Rogers not as much of a loss now that Scully has moved him to left back he is not fast enough to play there and cant see why him and Paddys partnership was broken up.

12/09/2010, 12:41 PM
How would it?

Because it would be three points for us and a possible three points for ye that ye would then not have. Its a six pointer really and it would put us a point behind you lot. IMO i think that would make it interesting. It just puts us a bit closer to a play off place. It would give it a bit of a bite for the last few games for us.

12/09/2010, 12:54 PM
Corkies desperately talking up a game against Limerick. :D

These are strange days we are living in indeed.

bluewhitearmy
12/09/2010, 1:14 PM
Because it would be three points for us and a possible three points for ye that ye would then not have. Its a six pointer really and it would put us a point behind you lot. IMO i think that would make it interesting. It just puts us a bit closer to a play off place. It would give it a bit of a bite for the last few games for us.

Fair enough if you said the play-off race but it has no bearing at all on the title race as us or ye are not involved in that tbh.

13/09/2010, 8:53 AM
I have a suggestion for a guaranteed Limerick win. Limit the attendance to 350 so at least then we can't suffer the big crowd, big match syndrome we seem to have ;)

13/09/2010, 10:40 AM
2-0 Limerick.

bluepowers
13/09/2010, 9:43 PM
no rogers or purcell

ryan

kelly ' stanley ' white ' judge/deady

tracy ' sullivan ' heary ' tierney

clarke ' o flynn

were is bobby ryan at the moment could he be back for this one

LIMERICK 2-1 Cork

13/09/2010, 9:56 PM
no rogers or purcell

ryan

clarke ' o flynn

LIMERICK 2-1 Cork

I don't like the look of our defensive options at the moment, especially up against Cummins.

Limerick 1-3 Cork :(

bluewhitearmy
13/09/2010, 11:38 PM
no rogers or purcell

ryan

clarke ' o flynn

LIMERICK 2-1 Cork

Just a few things. Deady has a pulled hamstring why would Shane Tracy move to right wing and what is with this thing of the whole word Limerick being the only thing in capitals.

Jof i wouldn't worry too much Nige has never let us down and did very well against Cummins in Turners and Rogers is no left back so we are better off with out him there and Peter White has done very well in middle of defence.

As ever we will see Kelly burned at most attacks.

Castletroy_Blue
14/09/2010, 12:19 AM
Time to break this big crowd syndrome malarky. Limerick 4 - 0 Cork. That result should keep those rascals down in this division for another season :)

bluepowers
14/09/2010, 5:42 AM
ya tracy right just a ruf guess at tem and LIMERICK 2-1 Cork ..... Because we deserve caps haha

14/09/2010, 9:03 AM
I agree White and Nigel can do a job but Purcell has been rock solid recently and is a huge loss. I think the best thing going for Limerick Friday night is maybe that the expectation level is a little lower than it has been recently.

bluewhitearmy
14/09/2010, 11:06 AM
ya tracy right just a ruf guess at tem and LIMERICK 2-1 Cork ..... Because we deserve caps haha

So your rough guess is the man that hardly ever use his right leg and a man that i cant remember ever playing on the right the man that has been our left midfielder for the whole season will all of a sudden be moved to the right. Somehow i cant see it happening.

Ya Jof Purcell is huge loss only thing is he seems to get very nervous in the big games. Maybe Nige being young will have no fear could be just what we need like Garbhan V Longford.

Still think we will lose it though we haven't kept our nerve in any of the big games yet.

harpin
14/09/2010, 12:18 PM
we haven't kept our nerve in any of the big games yet.

And neither does Scullly which is the main problem

bluepowers
14/09/2010, 7:48 PM
i never said he would be left or right just a mistake

bluewhitearmy
14/09/2010, 8:20 PM
i never said he would be left or right just a mistake

Ah now you never said he would be left or right ? You made out the team with him on the right wing and you posted this

"ya tracy right just a ruf guess at tem and LIMERICK 2-1 Cork ..... Because we deserve caps haha"

Seriously think before you type.

Agree with you 100% Harpin.

Treaty Gooner
14/09/2010, 8:50 PM
bit harsh there bluewhitearmy, kid's entitled to make an mistake every now and then without getting insulted.

You idiot!!

Just joking...

Massive game v Cork, let's hope we get the win and set up a cracking finish to a long season.

bluewhitearmy
14/09/2010, 9:09 PM
bit harsh there bluewhitearmy, kid's entitled to make an mistake every now and then without getting insulted.

You idiot!!

Just joking...

Massive game v Cork, let's hope we get the win and set up a cracking finish to a long season.

Changed it a bit for ya Treaty hope its ok for you now :snicker:

Treaty Gooner
14/09/2010, 10:43 PM
Top, top editing.

Anyone know how many Cork fans will make the journey?

Pablo Escobar
15/09/2010, 8:27 AM
Top, top editing.

Anyone know how many Cork fans will make the journey?

I'd say we'll have a good crowd up. It's difficult to even guess the nearest hundred. Probably not near as many as the first game but a good crowd all the same.

limunlim
17/09/2010, 11:41 AM
I think the super blues will win tonight.2-1 with Clarke to grab a goal:ball:

harpin
17/09/2010, 1:23 PM
I hope you're right but think this may be a big disappointment tonight....at least we're still in with a shout

17/09/2010, 9:01 PM
Season over within 13 minutes.

JohnD
17/09/2010, 9:07 PM
Spineless peerformance by our boys. Every big game this year they failed to turn up. Bottlers , the lot of them. Season over.

Another F***ing year in this league. Thanks lads

JohnD

thomas72
17/09/2010, 9:12 PM
another disgraceful performance from limerick and truth been told its time pat scully was shown the door YET AGAIN in a big game at home he cannot lift his players to perform should they need lifting its a munster derby the defending from limerick on the 2nd and 3rd goal was nothing more that schoolboy defending.
a few Q...
why does scully play one man up top by himself?
why does he keep playing kelly ( another player out of position)
john teirney a striker playing out in the wing why?
3 down half time he takes of cahill the right full and brings on o leary to replace him who is a midfielder.
tracey i dont know were he was playing it looked like he was centre mid.
bobby ryan dropped??

2nd time cork city have come to jackman park and scored 3 its not good enough with the squad he has stevo might aswell be down the still house playing darts he has no interest for weeks now

bottom line ANOTHER BIG GAME and the manager bottles it time for a change

rant over ;)

17/09/2010, 9:29 PM
another disgraceful performance from limerick and truth been told its time pat scully was shown the door YET AGAIN in a big game at home he cannot lift his players to perform should they need lifting its a munster derby the defending from limerick on the 2nd and 3rd goal was nothing more that schoolboy defending.
a few Q...
why does scully play one man up top by himself?
why does he keep playing kelly ( another player out of position)
john teirney a striker playing out in the wing why?
3 down half time he takes of cahill the right full and brings on o leary to replace him who is a midfielder.
tracey i dont know were he was playing it looked like he was centre mid.
bobby ryan dropped??

2nd time cork city have come to jackman park and scored 3 its not good enough with the squad he has stevo might aswell be down the still house playing darts he has no interest for weeks now

bottom line ANOTHER BIG GAME and the manager bottles it time for a change

rant over ;)

I wouldn't be showing Scully the door for the simple reason i can't see anyone better around that would come in and do a better job. He did say he wanted to build the team over 4 years. Now while i agree it is frustrating to watch i hate it when managers who are told they have time to build over 4 years are shown the door after two. It happens in the Premiership all the time and clubs never progress. The teams that stick with one manager usually over time with patience progress. Dundalk wanted Gill out a few times but in the end he got them up after 3 or 4 seasons.

I actually like Tierney on the wing, he is a constant threat. Think Booby wasn't performing well recently and wasn't around the last few games so maybe thats why he was left out. He should have started right full, he has played there previously and would have done a job. I felt bad for Cahill, he is a good centre half but no way a left full and got roasted when on the field. Was hoping to see O Leary in Midfield and Judge at right full. Judge isn't a right full either but O Leary is a more creative player than Judge.

Would like to see a back four of Bobby, Purcell, Rogers, White. Experienced and would definitely do a job.

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2010, 9:45 PM
Scully and the players are bottlers.

Cant ever remember Bobby playing right back.

Yellow Cahill and Kelly should not have played.Not Cahills fault he is no way a left back and hasn't played in ages.

Heary should have been in the middle to control things. Judge should have been left back was good when he played there. O'Leary is far better then Kelly at right back.

Got over ran in midfield against Harps so he plays the same midfield against better players good thinking there.Wheres John Sullivan gone.

Scully said he had a 2 year plan so next year if we dont start well get rid.

kev08
17/09/2010, 9:58 PM
Scully and the players are bottlers.

Cant ever remember Bobby playing right back.

Yellow Cahill and Kelly should not have played.Not Cahills fault he is no way a left back and hasn't played in ages.

Heary should have been in the middle to control things. Judge should have been left back was good when he played there. O'Leary is far better then Kelly at right back.

Got over ran in midfield against Harps so he plays the same midfield against better players good thinking there.Wheres John Sullivan gone.

Scully said he had a 2 year plan so next year if we dont start well get rid.
judge not a full back full stop rumour at game bobby asked for a release thats why he was dropped

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2010, 10:01 PM
He played well there so would have done for 1 game would have been no worse then Cahill who is also not a full back.

white line
17/09/2010, 10:07 PM
judge not a full back full stop rumour at game bobby asked for a release thats why he was dropped

will you stop talking your normal rubbish richie please for once

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2010, 11:14 PM
why dont ye all go down to the still house and ask the players them selfs?

If its supposed to be a big deal that the players are down drinking it really isn't season over now anyway.

streaker
18/09/2010, 12:00 AM
limerick arent good enough havent got much steal thru the team and will go nowhere with the quick fix players scully is signing .. stick with the local lads he let a lot a good players walk and brang in players that arent any better ,,, its time mike kerly was giving the money = backing= time and sapport scully has and i garrentee u he will do a lot better than gettin a run off games and bottlen it in the big games that scully team has been doin time to have a good look at things at the end off this season , limerick could cut ther wages in half and get rid off the money grabbers they have from dublin ,, seriously think its time to give kerly a chance with the backin off pat o sullivan .... any 1 agree with me ?????????? its a fair point . players that should b in the team to are ==shane duggan , wayne colbert ,

Daydreamer
18/09/2010, 12:04 AM
Hi Lads at the game tonight a lot of injuries and it seems players had to play outta position, think Kelly is being harshly Judged at every game, he was the best of the defenders tonight, I have been to about 10 matches this year and have yet to see Peter White play well yet he does not get any stick not that i think he should but there should be balance if a player isent playing well just say it without slating him , nobody played up to their full potential tonight but if i were to pick 3 otta the defence Kelly, Midfield Judge, strikers Clarke, the rest did not play well at all simple as that, I do take Jofsprings point about giving a manager time but there are other coaches out there that are up to the job namely Mike Kerley who i think is more qualified than scully pro liscence as far as i know and by my recollection did a lot better finished 4th on probably 1/4 of the budget that is there now. Dont know what the situation is with him and the current LFC board but Limerick were certainly a much better team to watch with him in charge and he seemed to make positive decisions a lot earlier, thought Bobby Ryan should have been brought on at half time tonight for example. you might as well go for it then .Limerick could possibly finish 6th now which in my opinion would be a disaster for that squad and budget ,Still think Scully should be given another year though to prove that he can do it and i also think that this has been the toughest lge in years even though Monaghon are top

18/09/2010, 12:08 AM
Think bobby played there for St.Pats a few times. Think he even played there against Limerick in the FAI last season if memory serves me correct. Could be wrong though. Didn't realise Scully said he only had a two year plan, thought it was more. If that's the case then surely his time is up now. Barr the failure in the end this season will have have been, has Scully not had a huge part to play in the off field side of things and helping the club have a more professional approach. Without him would the club have attracted some of the players it got or Pat O Sullivan for that matter. Things need to be seriously sorted on the field but getting rid of Scully and getting a new manager who might want another 2 or 3 year plan and that will probably want to strip down a lot of the team and start again is not answer either and will probably put the club back to square one again.

bluewhitearmy
18/09/2010, 12:14 AM
Mike Kerley that walked away from us 2 weeks before a season is it ya lets give him a load of backing. And the local lads why keep them we have had them evry year for the last good few years where have we got with em?

Kerley did nothing when he was in charge then walked away id take anyone before him.

fc hammer
18/09/2010, 12:37 AM
What you really trying to say streaker ? that kerley was a good manager ?

limunlim
18/09/2010, 12:45 AM
Terrible performance and result.so many players didn't show up.I think the most dissapointing thing is the way we are playing.it's all long balls to steveo.the odd one he does win,there is no1 near him or any midfielders rushing on for the second ball.earlier in the season there was a lot more pass and move football.what has happened?it has to be scully changing it up.we have the players to play better ball than we are at the minute

Monster
18/09/2010, 2:25 AM
well said streaker..the club was a shambles when kerley walked he always had a shoestring budget and a young squad..at least he was attack minded and got the best out of young players like Jason walshie yellow cleary too name a few...in the past he travelled too away games with a squad of 13 players had too sign himself and had too play jimmy fyffe up front..kerley never had a big budget I can only imagine wat he would do with scully,s at the moment.. I think with pat o sullivans backing and kerley in charge Limerick would be the top team in the division and play attack minded football..3 down and takes off a makeshift full back for another one just says it all with attacking options like Garbhan and bobby and even o Leary in the middle of the park just says it all about the man..he will be on the radio in the morning blaming the players never himself and if Limerick win he says we worked on that all week in training..yet another big night and another disapointment..

bluepowers
18/09/2010, 3:42 AM
so now we want scully out he has us in one of the best positions we have been in for years 6 game to go its far from over

thomas72
18/09/2010, 9:57 AM
so now we want scully out he has us in one of the best positions we have been in for years 6 game to go its far from over

that maybe true but the point alot of the lads are making is with the money and the great backing from pat o sullivan and with the the squad we have prob the best squad we had in years we should be comfortable in the top 3.
anything scully wanted he got off o' sullivan bottom line come the big games he looks lost and more worrying he looks unable to lift his players.

18/09/2010, 10:13 AM
that maybe true but the point alot of the lads are making is with the money and the great backing from pat o sullivan and with the the squad we have prob the best squad we had in years we should be comfortable in the top 3.
anything scully wanted he got off o' sullivan bottom line come the big games he looks lost and more worrying he looks unable to lift his players.

Scully did great things with Kilkenny (dragged them from the bottom of the premier up to the top few in the first division), he also did great work with Shamrock Rovers. So maybe it's not just the managers fault lads. Clubs are always quick to blame a manager but the players have a lot to answer to also. Silly passes and stupid small errors on the field are part of the problem too. Derry and Cork when in tight situations where well able to pass the ball out if it but our lads haven't showed that extra bit of quality on the ball if you ask me. Tierney and Purcell have been our only consistant players all season.

limunlim
18/09/2010, 10:59 AM
JofSpring, you are dead right when you mention silly passes. But, personally, I think a lot of that is down to the way we set out and the instruction given to the players. I think we should keep scully for another season at least. this year has been a great progression, both on and off the pitch. I just think he should have more faith in the current squad's ability to play football against the top sides of the division though.

LK37oldskool
18/09/2010, 11:09 AM
Totally gutted after last night.Cant get my head around the fact we've been so poor at home.You can all have a go at Scully but once the players get on the pitch its up to them.Again they looked totally disinterested and we all know that they are good players but they have to take resposability. Cork did their homework and targeted Cahill, who is a good centre half btw, but no where good enough for left back. can anyone recall that when Treacy came on loan to us a few seasons ago was he not a left back? Thats the only flaw i saw in scully's line up last night - Treacy,Cahill,Stanley ,White should have been the back 4 last night. 16 years of div1 comin up.

bluewhitearmy
18/09/2010, 11:14 AM
Totally gutted after last night.Cant get my head around the fact we've been so poor at home.You can all have a go at Scully but once the players get on the pitch its up to them.Again they looked totally disinterested and we all know that they are good players but they have to take resposability. Cork did their homework and targeted Cahill, who is a good centre half btw, but no where good enough for left back. can anyone recall that when Treacy came on loan to us a few seasons ago was he not a left back? Thats the only flaw i saw in scully's line up last night - Treacy,Cahill,Stanley ,White should have been the back 4 last night. 16 years of div1 comin up.

Cahill at left back was a huge mistake in fairness Scully has to take responsibility for that. Treacy should have been there alright.

Monster
18/09/2010, 11:52 AM
kerley didn't have a choice but too get players from the local league and ul Noel o Connor didn't have that budget eiter and won a league cup and finished higher than it looks like scully will do this season..you wud have too think what would eiter of them had done with the budget scully has at his disposal..Waterford wer bottom wen he took the job the damage was already done..

18/09/2010, 1:30 PM
kerley didn't have a choice but too get players from the local league and ul Noel o Connor didn't have that budget eiter and won a league cup and finished higher than it looks like scully will do this season..you wud have too think what would eiter of them had done with the budget scully has at his disposal..Waterford wer bottom wen he took the job the damage was already done..

In all honesty monster this season has been the toughest in a long time. Only few games to go and there is still 6 teams in it. Limerick have probably won more matches this season than they have in years. Only problem is all the other teams seem to be coming up with results week in week out also. We have bottled at home and this has been our downfall. All the top teams barr shels at the moment have come away from jackman park with points.

Wouldn't it only be typical of Limerick to go down to Waterford next week and come away with a result. I think if kerely was to come back in we would be going backwards. If he is such a great manager why has no other team gone looking for him. He is probably a good coach like Noel O Connor but not a good manager. Wouldn't mind seeing a Scully and Kerley combination but that probably wouldn't work out. From what i remember According to the Waterford fans Kerley was given a big budget to get them out of the bottom of the league and he signed rubbish players.

harpin
18/09/2010, 1:36 PM
Every big game Sully sets out not to lose rather than to go out and win it. He started last night with a 4-5-1 which quickly went out the window when the players were dizzy from running around in circles