View Full Version : Weekend Latest (10/11 Sept.)

Pages : 1 2 [3]

HarpoJoyce
11/09/2010, 7:57 AM
Bohemians 3:1 UCD
Anoter enjoyable game to watch, Bohs well worth the win and had an enormous amount of shots on target. Billy Brennan was UCD's busiest player, midfielder Paul Corry was our best outfield player, raising attacks from the back and riding over challenges. Each team had a penalty shout, Bohs had a goal disallowed with Heary getting booked after but Buttimer let the game flow and both sides took adavantage.

11/09/2010, 8:18 AM
I'm officially scared.....

In fairness it wasn't that bad, just incredibly frustrating. The big screen we have is class but when it's scrolling text is "Latest score: Wexford 0-2 Monaghan" it's sickening to watch us go a goal down and then struggle to get the winner. If Doherty hadn't lashed out we would have won the game. It's only the second time I've seen us this season but I thought we generally played quite well- McClean, Molloy and McCallion were outstanding. Athlone didn't have a shot until 5 mins into the second half and even when we went a man down we were still all over them. Frustrating stuff. It's not exactly advantage Monaghan but we really have to string together a couple of wins.

Also, I brought a friend to his second ever Derry game (first was against Cork last month) and he loved the whole experience- the atmosphere (which was good especially in the last 20 mins), the penalty drama, the goals, checking other scorelines, shouting at the ref and all that, so the evening wasn't a total washout.

Flexy
11/09/2010, 8:45 AM
Also, I brought a friend to his second ever Derry game (first was against Cork last month) and he loved the whole experience- the atmosphere (which was good especially in the last 20 mins), the penalty drama, the goals, checking other scorelines, shouting at the ref and all that, so the evening wasn't a total washout.[/QUOTE]
Hes obviously a bad luck charm to Derry lol. Seriously Doherty is an onion, but the referee should have awared a foul on the guy going through Doherty. Defo red but again the referees are just so incompetent its unreal. One of these days a fan will take the law into their own hands if they continue to irrate supporters

passerrby
11/09/2010, 9:59 AM
last game of season mons v derry could be massive

ped_ped
11/09/2010, 11:06 AM
Hope not, passerrby =p I'd rather Derry be comfortably out of contention by then, with Waterford and Limerick nabbing play-off spots =p

(We all live it hope . . .)

**FrOsTy**
11/09/2010, 11:17 AM
Hopefully its a massive game that decides 2nd and 3rd with us taking a result from Tolka Park to win the league :D

Bray-Z
11/09/2010, 12:51 PM
I tried to text a mate to tell him we won 4-0 but my predictive text changed it to 'f**K off ya must be joking'.

11/09/2010, 1:09 PM
Bohemians 3:1 UCD
Anoter enjoyable game to watch, Bohs well worth the win and had an enormous amount of shots on target. Billy Brennan was UCD's busiest player, midfielder Paul Corry was our best outfield player, raising attacks from the back and riding over challenges. Each team had a penalty shout, Bohs had a goal disallowed with Heary getting booked after but Buttimer let the game flow and both sides took adavantage.

P'ah ! No-one cares about the Premier Division Harpo.... :D

11/09/2010, 5:15 PM

Looks like your players don't anyway!

11/09/2010, 5:52 PM

Exactly, sure the Premier Division leaders are 7 points clear, the league is over. I'm sure the local bookies are already paying out as it would be crazy for any side to throw away that sort of lead, wouldn't it?

**FrOsTy**
11/09/2010, 6:15 PM
Salthill 0-1 Waterford United. Kevin Waters 2 mins

**FrOsTy**
11/09/2010, 7:43 PM
Salthill 1-1 Waterford

OneForTheFuture
11/09/2010, 7:44 PM
Salthill 0-1 Waterford United. Kevin Waters 2 mins

Salthill 1 - 1 Waterford

blue til i die
11/09/2010, 8:00 PM
Salthill 1 - 1 Waterford

***** ***** **** **** *** **** :mad: :mad:

**FrOsTy**
11/09/2010, 8:05 PM
***** ***** **** **** *** **** :mad: :mad:

My sentiments exactly!!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/09/2010, 8:16 PM
Does anyone want to get promoted?

LOI_Fanatic
11/09/2010, 8:28 PM
Longford 1-2 Shelbourne

Hughes & Leech with late goals for shels!

11/09/2010, 8:28 PM

1st Division is where the cool kids hang out.

LOI_Fanatic
11/09/2010, 8:38 PM
Leech gone to hospital with dislocated shoulder!

danthesaint
11/09/2010, 9:37 PM

anyone from shels gone with him :p

HarpoJoyce
11/09/2010, 10:30 PM

I know that now, just wishful thinking on my part pushing the devalued competitions in the LoI. The grass is always greener for me aswell.
This year must give Derry City fans a warm feeling inside as they have saved the First Division, and therefore the structure of Irish Football, not once, not twice but thrice.

When was the last time an Ulster club got promoted to the Premmier Division, was it Sligo?

11/09/2010, 10:33 PM

pick me pick me pick me! :D

sligo23
11/09/2010, 10:37 PM
When was the last time an Ulster club got promoted to the Premmier Division, was it Sligo?
ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

11/09/2010, 11:36 PM
When was the last time an Ulster club got promoted to the Premmier Division, was it Sligo?http://www.our-ireland.com/images/provinces-ireland-map.png

CSFShels
12/09/2010, 12:07 AM
Hooray for football.

12/09/2010, 10:51 AM

He got injured celebrating his goal, some of the other lads landed on him and put out his shoulder. The medical staff were busy last night. Two stretchered off a couple more injured. Wasn't even a dirty game.

12/09/2010, 1:01 PM
He got injured celebrating his goal

:bulgy:

I know a lot of Shels hate Leech but Jaysus!

OneForTheFuture
13/09/2010, 8:44 AM
:bulgy:

I know a lot of Shels hate Leech but Jaysus!

He went to do a "Klinsmann" and dislocated his shoulder or something....by himself.....then to make it worse, the players jumped on him in celebration. Ouch!

poster
13/09/2010, 9:43 AM
The two Shels fans at the opposite end of the main stand were gas. Abusing the ref for every decision, even though he was clearly in the right 99/100 times.

White Horse
13/09/2010, 10:00 AM
Somebody once told me that for Irish dancing Louth was considered to be in Ulster - so maybe it was Dundalk.

Louth does compete in the Ulster Irish dancing championship. Louth was part of Ulster until the 1600's. For some reason, the English transferred Louth to Leinster.

legendz
13/09/2010, 10:26 AM
Interesting history lesson there!
While Shamrock are now firm favourites to win the league, I think Dundalk will win tonight and Boh's will cut the lead to four points.

hoops1
13/09/2010, 10:48 AM
Louth does compete in the Ulster Irish dancing championship. Louth was part of Ulster until the 1600's. For some reason, the English transferred Louth to Leinster.

Was the dancing that bad?

legendz
13/09/2010, 9:05 PM
Interesting history lesson there!
While Shamrock are now firm favourites to win the league, I think Dundalk will win tonight and Boh's will cut the lead to four points.

I had a feeling it was going to happen. The Premier Division, Division One and the A Championship will have a few interesting weeks ahead. Will Rover's hold there nerve and win the league? Will Derry respond to Monaghan going top of Division One. Will Cobh, Tralee or Carlow make it out of the A Championship and gain promotion?

SupaJon
13/09/2010, 9:07 PM
I had a feeling it was going to happen. The Premier Division, Division One and the A Championship will have a few interesting weeks ahead. Will Rover's hold there nerve and win the league? Will Derry respond to Monaghan going top of Division One. Will Cobh, Tralee or Carlow make it out of the A Championship and gain promotion?

:eek: Is your real name "Paul the Octopus"?

legendz
13/09/2010, 9:15 PM
:eek: Is your real name "Paul the Octopus"?
:D I'd make a living out of it if I was!