View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Andorra - Wednesday, 7th September 2010 - Euro 2012 Qualifier
08/09/2010, 8:13 AM
Better game than I expected, to be honest. Really took the game to them for the first 20 minutes; hounded them early, played it quickly, gave them no time on the ball, won it back quickly, scored early doors. Andorra came back into it but we got a second at a nice time. Their goal was a superb strike; the booing after it was over the top though - ridiculous to boo the player for that, and ridiculous to boo the team for conceding a goal like that. Sounded like a load of barstoolers who aren't used to poor teams having the temerity to produce one spark of magic.
Game died after the third goal - not surprising, if also not entertaining. Thought McGeady was awful - yes, he terrorised their full-back, but what bloody use is that if he runs the ball straight out of play? The single most over-rated, I don't get the point, player we've had since John O'Shea. Now in fairness to O'Shea, he's finally been justifying his reputation in the last couple of years and has been excellent. I hope McGeady does that in the next couple of years, but for now, I think Bluebeard's post is the best description of him so far.
Atmosphere was decent enough in the singing section, especially for a game against Andorra (with all due respect to them). Granted, I'd say that gets lost in the ground cos it's relatively small.
08/09/2010, 8:13 AM
We won't qualify with Green & Whelan in central midfield.
Need to get McCarthy in there a.n.other.
really?... an untried (and yet to prove himself with wigan) mccarthy and a.n. other???? give the two lads a break. none of our ctre mids are setting the world alight but are still doing a decent job all the same.
rebelmusic
08/09/2010, 8:34 AM
Was watching a stream from Egypt but the crowd really did sounds like the 12th man again at times. I'd imagine there was a lot of folk there who don't normally go to games cos we were sure to win this one.
Duggie
08/09/2010, 8:35 AM
few points on last night. O'Shea must have gave the ball away every time he made a pass. Green also gave the ball away a lot, he dosent really offer much atal. McGeady is very frustrating, brilliant one minute but his final ball is still poor but hes still one player who could be a matchwinner yet. I think whelan didnt really get stuck in cause of the yellow card so not to bothered with him. Overall 6 points is vital and we have them so on to the russia game, we have duff, andrews and will hunt be back??
08/09/2010, 8:37 AM
Their goal was a superb strike; the booing after it was over the top though - ridiculous to boo the player for that, and ridiculous to boo the team for conceding a goal like that. Sounded like a load of barstoolers who aren't used to poor teams having the temerity to produce one spark of magic.
They were probably booing St. Ledger who was caught ball watching and playing for offside. He hadn't a clue that there was a player lurching on the edge of the box ready to strike the ball. He redeemed himself somewhat by quickly intercepting a smart set-play from Andorra in the second half but if St. Ledger was doing his job as he should, Andorra would not of scored, wonder strike or not.
Game died after the third goal - not surprising, if also not entertaining. Thought McGeady was awful - yes, he terrorised their full-back, but what bloody use is that if he runs the ball straight out of play? The single most over-rated, I don't get the point, player we've had since John O'Shea. Now in fairness to O'Shea, he's finally been justifying his reputation in the last couple of years and has been excellent. I hope McGeady does that in the next couple of years, but for now, I think Bluebeard's post is the best description of him so far.
McGeady's first instinct when he gets the ball is to beat his man. Look at how he moves his feet when he gets the ball - always shaping up to beat his opposite number. There's no doubting he is capable of doing so but it's of zero value to the team unless there is an end product. He needs to evaluate and pick the best option for the team when he gets the ball. He could certainly learn from watching Duff.
rebelmusic
08/09/2010, 8:38 AM
few points on last night. O'Shea must have gave the ball away every time he made a pass. Green also gave the ball away a lot, he dosent really offer much atal. McGeady is very frustrating, brilliant one minute but his final ball is still poor but hes still one player who could be a matchwinner yet. I think whelan didnt really get stuck in cause of the yellow card so not to bothered with him. Overall 6 points is vital and we have them so on to the russia game, we have duff, andrews and will hunt be back??
Hunt is expected back mid-October, so we wont have him till the March games sadly
08/09/2010, 8:40 AM
They were probably booing St. Ledger who was caught ball watching and playing for offside.
I was the far end of the ground, which is where I heard the booing. I didn't see exactly what happened other than that it was a great strike (I was very low down in the stand, near the pitch). If they spotted that from 100 yards away, then fair dues. And even then, I think booing is over the top. Sh!t happens, get on with it. We did, scored within ten minutes and won the game.
08/09/2010, 8:45 AM
I was the far end of the ground, which is where I heard the booing. I didn't see exactly what happened other than that it was a great strike (I was very low down in the stand, near the pitch). If they spotted that from 100 yards away, then fair dues. And even then, I think booing is over the top. Sh!t happens, get on with it. We did, scored within ten minutes and won the game.
Well I know there were booing the concession of a goal rather than St. Ledger ;). And yes the strike should really have gotten applause rather than boos.
But looking at the goal again St. Ledger isn't doing his job.
08/09/2010, 8:48 AM
Well I know there were booing the concession of a goal rather than St. Ledger ;). And yes the strike should really have gotten applause rather than boos.
But looking at the goal again St. Ledger isn't doing his job.
Haven't actually seen it properly, but as you say, it should have been applauded rather than booed regardless.
dr_peepee
08/09/2010, 9:03 AM
Everything else has been covered in previous posts. I see McCarthy has been mentioned a couple of times. In terms of missed oppertunities, I actually think we're missing Meyler more than McCarthy in the centre of the park. Tailor made for trapps expectations of his central midfeilders. There's no good time to get injured but his was really bad timing given what was availible to him...
Duggie
08/09/2010, 9:07 AM
is it certain that andrews will come straight back in for green? will andrews see much action between now and the next games with blackburn, looking at the last 2 games green didnt offer anything IMO. he lost the ball so many times in both games.
08/09/2010, 9:16 AM
Everything else has been covered in previous posts. I see McCarthy has been mentioned a couple of times. In terms of missed oppertunities, I actually think we're missing Meyler more than McCarthy in the centre of the park. Tailor made for trapps expectations of his central midfeilders. There's no good time to get injured but his was really bad timing given what was availible to him...
Meyler is more a central midfielder in the Trapattoni mould than McCarthy. Trapattoni has already made up his mind on McCarthy. If McCarthy is to come into the squad it will be as a wide midfielder. Chris McCann is another player than would have been useful to us if available.
is it certain that andrews will come straight back in for green? will andrews see much action between now and the next games with blackburn, looking at the last 2 games green didnt offer anything IMO. he lost the ball so many times in both games.
Hopefully. International football is simply a step up too far for Green.
08/09/2010, 9:20 AM
Never heard such a poor rendition of the Irish anthem.
Without the "singing section", support would have been very poor but then I suppose it was hard "to get up" for a game you're supposed to win by at least 3.
Didn't hear much booing except of the Andorran who faked injury. Definitely no Irish player was booed or the team.
Happy enough with the result though Green disappointed again.
Surprised Doyle got man of the match - performance way down on Armenia. not helped by the tall Andorran centre back clattering in to him most of the evening.
Kilbane had some great opportunities to overlap but didn't. Orders from the touchline?
Given punted the ball forward too much - again orders from the touchline? If we can't play through Andorra what hope have we got against the better teams?
Top of the group - I'll take that with the worry that we have yet to beat one of the major sides at home under Trapp.
dr_peepee
08/09/2010, 9:25 AM
Chris McCann is another player than would have been useful to us if available.
Trap said something really Sarcy about McCann last year. Something along the lines of everone was calling for him to call up McCann, but when he went to watch him he only touched the ball 4 times... or something to that effect.
08/09/2010, 9:28 AM
I have no problem with McGeady in that team, apart from some sloppy play in their half and faded out in the last 20minutes. There was a change made from Friday and the ball came his way. Trap will be well pleased by McGeady's performance. The positives vastly outweigh the negatives.
dr_peepee
08/09/2010, 9:29 AM
Didn't hear much booing except of the Andorran who faked injury.
Which one?? Jayzus they were a shower of bitches... I would have at least under stood it if it was late in the game with fitness being a factor, trying to buy a breather, but it was all game.
dr_peepee
08/09/2010, 9:32 AM
I have no problem with McGeady in that team, apart from some sloppy play in their half and faded out in the last 20minutes. There was a change made from Friday and the ball came his way. Trap will be well pleased by McGeady's performance. The positives vastly outweigh the negatives.
Agreed. I had just said to the wife before Keanes goal that I'd like to see McGeady come inside a bit more. It's sweet when non commital comments like that bare fruit!!!!
Duggie
08/09/2010, 9:32 AM
i can forgive mcgeady for his final ball not been as good as the rest of his game, he has a touch of class we need so ive no problems with him. he did set robbie in for the goal in case we forget, the only fecking through ball he got all night!!! his service was very poor overall.
08/09/2010, 9:37 AM
Completely comfortable win, and never looked like a different story at any stage.
I think once we'd got the early goal, and realised how poor they were, we relaxed, too much probably, and let them have the ball with no real pressure until they got inside our half.
Wonder-strike apart, they never looked like scoring, so 3-1 with no injuries or cards (I think) is a decent nights' work.
I sometimes think that Trapattoni sets up his team the same for every game so that players are absolutely sure what their roles are, where they should be and what they should, do with the ball, and without it. So we might only beat Andorra 3-1 at home while a more attacking strategy could have got double that, but when we go to Russia and Slovakia, we're a tighter unit as a result of being totally familiar with the formation.
That said, if that is the idea behind playing the same formation every game, I'd have expected Whelan and Green to have been more combative in midfield, regardless of how comfortable the game was.
08/09/2010, 9:38 AM
Trap said something really Sarcy about McCann last year. Something along the lines of everone was calling for him to call up McCann, but when he went to watch him he only touched the ball 4 times... or something to that effect.
Strange if he did say that because our central midfielders are not inclined to touch the ball under Trapattoni's leadership. Unfortunately for McCann he's been injured for quite some time now and doesn't seem to be able to shake off what's troubling him. Doesn't bode good.
dr_peepee
08/09/2010, 9:39 AM
he did set robbie in for the goal in case we forget, the only fecking through ball he got all night!!! his service was very poor overall. He got another one were he lost his footing in the first half!!
08/09/2010, 9:46 AM
3-1 with no injuries or cards (I think) is a decent night's work.
Richie Dunne was booked in the second half. Really needless booking; caught flat when they were down to ten men (injured lad on the touchline waiting to come back on) and he hauled his man back.
08/09/2010, 10:03 AM
Never heard such a poor rendition of the Irish anthem.
Where we were in the South Stand it was about ten seconds into before we realised it had started, dunno what happened the acoustics for that.
Great to be in the Singing Section, I'd say the atmopshere is terrible elsewhere.
I'd agree with the McGeady comments he delights and frustrates in equal measures. T
08/09/2010, 10:09 AM
Where we were in the South Stand it was about ten seconds into before we realised it had started, dunno what happened the acoustics for that.
Is the band amplified by the microphones? Remember the mics went dead when the two captains were supposed to be telling us not to be racist. Might have been the same problem at the start of the anthem.
Dalymount Roar
08/09/2010, 10:12 AM
Mc Geady - wonderful dribbler, but can't cross or shoot.
Lawrence - the opposite - can strike the ball, but can't run
Dunne - looked bored from the off, and at fault for Andorra goal
Keane - over celebrated his goal
Doyle - cracking effort - great goal
Can't they use the screens to update scores of other matches going on?
Stadium announcer - what a plonker - maybe everone could slow handclap everytime he speaks
Also maybe we could rebuild our economy by exporting our expertise in building 3 sided stadia?
€70 a ticket? They are having a laugh in this day and age. Need to start reducing prices to have fuller attendances soon.
Duggie
08/09/2010, 10:35 AM
ya what a joke with the mics before the anthem, could they not have that sorted without leaving robbie standing with a dud mic. that talking before a game with the 2 captains is a waste of time, no-one is listening or can even hear what there saying.
Den Perry
08/09/2010, 10:56 AM
Whelan is fine, Green is not good enough. If Dunne stays clean, i hope he gets a yellow in the match before Andorra away to be honest
I thought Whelan was rubbish last night.If he can't impose himself againsy Andorra....
08/09/2010, 11:23 AM
Both of the CM do the job they are asked to do. When Whelan got subbed, Andorra started to run through Ireland at midfield.
From the CM who are fit now, Green and Whelan are the best for our team. If they are regarded as rubbish by some, then fair enough but they are best rubbish available atm. Neither Fahey nor Gibson can do the basic minimum neccesary job at CM, not even against Andorra.
08/09/2010, 11:23 AM
I thought when Gibson came on for Whelan there was an increase in the tempo, he looked to pass forward the whole time. It didn't always work out but it was better than the 20 mins previous.
Fixer82
08/09/2010, 11:38 AM
McGeady is exasperating. He showed great skill but once again very little end product! He gave the ball away countless times and tried to turn his man or nutmeg him I don't know how many times when there was another player behind waiting for the ball.
No doubt he is very skillful and has very fast feet but the difference between him and Duffer is duff rarely gives the ball away and can cross it.
A great ball in for Keane's goal but my God I think the high praise from Trap is a bit premature....
He wouldn't get away with a display like this against Russia or Slovakia.
And let's remember, he didn't get away with it against Armenia
His best game for us was against Georgia in the last campaign.
I hope he is not just effective against minnows...
Duggie
08/09/2010, 11:40 AM
id say he defo was mindfull of the yellow card so he didnt put himself about, im sure of that. hes a big part of our team now.
08/09/2010, 12:02 PM
Their goal was a superb strike; the booing after it was over the top though - ridiculous to boo the player for that, and ridiculous to boo the team for conceding a goal like that.I only heard booing when the scorer was announced which just seemed lighthearted to me. Was there more?
08/09/2010, 12:22 PM
It was only a light spattering of booing straight after the goal from memory. I assumed at the time it was booing because we'd conceded; didn't think it was after the goalscorer was announced.
Den Perry
08/09/2010, 12:24 PM
Both of the CM do the job they are asked to do. When Whelan got subbed, Andorra started to run through Ireland at midfield.
From the CM who are fit now, Green and Whelan are the best for our team. If they are regarded as rubbish by some, then fair enough but they are best rubbish available atm. Neither Fahey nor Gibson can do the basic minimum neccesary job at CM, not even against Andorra.
yea, I take your point, and "rubbish" is too strong a word I suppose. What I am trying to say is we should have had a more "creative " influence in there with him against the likes of Andorra .That said, whelan is generally a good passer and can be quite attack minded with Stoke and I didn't feel he exerted any influence of that type last night.I think 3-1 is a pretty awful result against them. I know so-called minnows are getting more difficult to beat, but they are rubbish. I was getting angry watching it because I feared it could affect our goal differance would be effected, but somebody above said results against the bottom team are ignored when it comes to goal differance - this true?
Den Perry
08/09/2010, 12:25 PM
Great to be in the Singing Section, I'd say the atmopshere is terrible elsewhere.
I'd agree with the McGeady comments he delights and frustrates in equal measures. T
O only watched on TV, but the atmosphere seemed terrible. What exactly is the "singing section"? and why did the rest of the ground not join in?
rebelmusic
08/09/2010, 1:09 PM
Hey Den, yes the bottom teams results are ignored when it comes to best runner up to compensate for groups that have only 5 teams. So Andorra for the most part is about goal difference and little else. As long as Slovakia don't pummel them we'll be good
08/09/2010, 1:26 PM
O only watched on TV, but the atmosphere seemed terrible. What exactly is the "singing section"? and why did the rest of the ground not join in?Its in the South Stand and as for why the rest of the ground didn't join in......plus ca change......... Nothing to do with last night, more a gradual thing over the last decade as football got colonized by the prawn sandwich brigade. But I digress.
I'm just glad I found somewhere I can stand to watch the match without some gimp behind me moaning and asking me to sit down.
08/09/2010, 1:38 PM
What exactly is the "singing section"?It's the section where people sing.
08/09/2010, 4:03 PM
Its in the South Stand and as for why the rest of the ground didn't join in......plus ca change......... Nothing to do with last night, more a gradual thing over the last decade as football got colonized by the prawn sandwich brigade. But I digress.
agree, lads around me (east upper) arriving late, leaving early, eating, drinking, talking, texting, reading, surfing, moaning, whinging, sleeping.... in fact anything but watching the game with a mind to actually enjoying it and zero support for the team. WHY BOTHER GOING????????????????
Neither Fahey nor Gibson can do the basic minimum neccesary job at CM, not even against Andorra.
in fairness to Fahey he has not had a chance to prove that he cant do that job at CM.
agree, lads around me (east upper) arriving late, leaving early, eating, drinking, talking, texting, reading, surfing, moaning, whinging, sleeping.... in fact anything but watching the game with a mind to actually enjoying it and zero support for the team. WHY BOTHER GOING????????????????
to most Irish people it is just more important to be able to say they were at something than to actually pay any attention to it at all.
08/09/2010, 4:35 PM
to most Irish people it is just more important to be able to say they were at something than to actually pay any attention to it at all.
have brilliant seats so wouldnt want tro give them up but wanted to throw some of those around me off the stand. one lad beside me could see into the future as would moan about what a player was going to do with the ball before he even received it! i kid you not. i think they think that by speaking their moans out loud that those around them will be in awe of their football knowledge.
rebelmusic
08/09/2010, 5:45 PM
in fairness to Fahey he has not had a chance to prove that he cant do that job at CM.
Didn't he play CM against....Nigeria, or SA? Or is my memory playing tricks on me
possibly though i thought his debut was on the right against Algeria...
DannyInvincible
08/09/2010, 6:23 PM
Didn't he play CM against....Nigeria, or SA? Or is my memory playing tricks on me
I don't think he played against either. He made his debut against Paraguay in May, coming on as a substitute towards the end and was deployed out wide. Same happened when he came on mid-way through the second half against Algeria. He started on the left against Argentina and, likewise, played there after replacing McGeady in Yerevan last Friday. So, I don't think Trap has ever tried him in the centre.
08/09/2010, 8:21 PM
I didn't mean any disrespect to Fahey and SkStu is right, he has hardly had an hour on the pitch all told, so we can't say what he can't do.
I think he would only be used on the pitch if there are 2 central midfielders already there. When Trap was interviewed. his clear indication was something like 'I have great confidence in Fahey - he can play on the right or the left and a little bit in the middle'.
To be honest, I think people need to lower their expectations atmosphere wise. We don't play entertaining football. The game in Paris being the obvious exception. The crowd take their lead from the pitch and if you're playing a team of skiing instructors there isn't a whole lot to get excited about. The first proper big game against the Russkies is the real test of the new stadium.
Fixer82
08/09/2010, 9:58 PM
Can anyone tell me (that watched it on tv) why George Hamilton kept updating us as to England's score?
They're not in our group.....
Why should we care??
08/09/2010, 10:13 PM
I'm sure there were a lot of people flipping between the two games. Me, for instance.
DannyInvincible
08/09/2010, 10:18 PM
Can anyone tell me (that watched it on tv) why George Hamilton kept updating us as to England's score?
They're not in our group.....
Why should we care??
Our national league is in England, isn't it?