View Full Version : Anthony Buttimer

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

26/09/2010, 4:18 PM
they have games on TV now, y'know. Ive seen plenty of Buttimer. :)

The Lep
26/09/2010, 11:39 PM
Without the internet you would know nothing :) If you are going to be a wum stu then at least make it good .

27/09/2010, 1:32 AM
if you're going to be a Fingal fan, Lep, then stop being so sensitive.

The Lep
27/09/2010, 11:25 AM
If you are going to be a wum stu then at least do it on topic and not just because a Fingal fan has replied to thread that has nothing to do with Fingal.

27/09/2010, 6:31 PM
Jesus God, that Fingal penalty decision is one of the worst I've ever seen.

27/09/2010, 6:41 PM

Not a patch on the one Crowe got for Bohs in Belfield two years ago for falling over the ball, even he looked embarrassed.

MeathDrog
27/09/2010, 7:05 PM

Didn't see MNS, did they show the stone waller he DIDNT give 5 minutes after that?

The Lep
27/09/2010, 8:15 PM
Yep. It was a soft peno we had with the feedback i got was that they thought it was a free out or the peno was for a hand ball which wasnt shown on MNS ( meaning that a hand ball wasnt seen ). Drogheda was unlucky not to get one in the second half.

The referees school of exellance was at our A championship side on saturday and i asked one of the assessors if Buttimer was going for re training as he is usless. The answer was that a few people have said that to them. Question is, does the match day assessors ignore his performance or does the FAI ignore the assessors reports?

28/09/2010, 2:53 AM
If you are going to be a wum stu then at least do it on topic and not just because a Fingal fan has replied to thread that has nothing to do with Fingal.

Alright! Relax!! It was a joke. What are you? His mammy?!

28/09/2010, 9:14 AM
Funny thing is you've reacted the exact same way for people making jokes at Bohs.

(But I agree with you here. Lep - it was a joke. Can we get back on the topic of the bigger joke?)

The Lep
28/09/2010, 10:50 AM
I understand that it was a poor attempt at humour but a pointless one seeing that the thread isnt about Fingal.

28/09/2010, 11:06 AM
I understand that it was a poor attempt at humour but a pointless one seeing that the thread isnt about Fingal.

Not trying to rile anyone here but does that mean you've been a fan of another LOI club (from the 2002 Buttimer comments) or just a keen observer?

The Lep
28/09/2010, 11:35 AM
I was reading through the back pages of foot.ie and saw the same type of comments made about Buttimer as what is made now.

To answer your question, i was .

eelmonster
17/05/2014, 5:46 PM
I thought this wazzock had retired. Seems he's back to his old tricks, he has only refereed three games this season and has already clocked up 12 yellow cards and sent off 4 players. I pity anyone who has to sit through the Buttimer Show this season.

17/05/2014, 7:13 PM
I thought this wazzock had retired. Seems he's back to his old tricks, he has only refereed three games this season and has already clocked up 12 yellow cards and sent off 4 players. I pity anyone who has to sit through the Buttimer Show this season.

He's reffing in Limerick too and up to the same antics.

20/05/2014, 5:03 AM
Seeing The Leps name there brought a tear to my eye.

The original TOWK.

White Horse
30/05/2014, 12:07 PM
United Park will see the return of a Drogheda United hero this evening as Anthony Buttimer takes charge of their home game against Limerick.

The return of "Anto" could not come at a better time as Drogheda seek to arrest their slide towards the relegation zone.

seand
30/05/2014, 12:18 PM
United Park will see the return of a Drogheda United hero this evening as Anthony Buttimer takes charge of their home game against Limerick.

The return of "Anto" could not come at a better time as Drogheda seek to arrest their slide towards the relegation zone.

The same Drogheda hero who sent off 2 Drogs when they played Rovers in the league cup recently?

White Horse
30/05/2014, 12:27 PM
The same Drogheda hero who sent off 2 Drogs when they played Rovers in the league cup recently?

Was that not Neil Doyle?

Ezeikial
30/05/2014, 2:55 PM

This guy is not biased he is just grossly incompetent

I wonder how long before the FAI are sufficiently brave/foolish {delete as appropriate} to put him in charge of a Dundalk fixture. He would be guaranteed a hot reception

disgruntled
01/06/2014, 10:06 AM
The beauty on supporting Cork City is that we never have to put up with this clown.
I honestly pity any club that has him as match referee.
We often have him as fourth official but as anyone will tell you, the fourth official has about as much influence as tits on a bull.
He seems to have had an off night on Friday with only two booked up in Drogs :rolleyes:

Pablo Escobar
01/06/2014, 10:10 AM
The beauty on supporting Cork City is that we never have to put up with this clown.
We often have him as fourth official but as anyone will tell you, the fourth official has about as much influence as tits on a bull.
He seems to have had an off night on Friday with only two booked up in Drogs :rolleyes:
It's hard to imagine him being worse than some of the clowns we've had so far, but nothing surprises me with officiating in this league.

Ezeikial
01/06/2014, 12:28 PM
It's hard to imagine him being worse than some of the clowns we've had so far, but nothing surprises me with officiating in this league.

In a league that has some truly inept referees, this guy stands out as being the nadir - he is consistently among the highest in the cards-per-game tables, makes more match-changing incorrect decisions then most, and is a supreme egotist who insists on being the central character in most match he referees.

Ezeikial
28/06/2014, 9:29 AM
According to extratime.ie Anthony Buttimer issued only 1 yellow card for the duration of the St Pats V Bray match last night.

Is this an extratime.ie omission or is there some other strange and sinister explanation?

KeepersBall
28/06/2014, 10:26 AM
Don't get this anti Buttimer stance.
I know it's related to decisions in the Dundalk v Drogheda game for some posters,but he got more right that day than wrong.

28/06/2014, 12:21 PM
I know it's related to decisions in the Dundalk v Drogheda game for some posters,but he got more right that day than wrong.

You his chauffeur too?

Ezeikial
28/06/2014, 12:38 PM

So if a ref gets more then 50% of decisions correct you think that's okay?

He is consistently in the top end of the table for cards per game -
http://soccer-stats.irishtimes.com/?Lang=0&CPID=95&CTID=34&TEID=0&pStr=Comp_Referee

Buttimer is a disaster of a referee, and his performance in the game you mentioned was pretty typical of his ineptitude over the years. An egotist and incompetent

PartySaint
28/06/2014, 12:53 PM
I thought Bray were really hard done by with a few decisions last night

28/06/2014, 2:24 PM
I thought Bray were really hard done by with a few decisions last night

There was nothing major to decide on I thought. They screamed for a penalty but didn't look one from my angle. Glad he allowed bith sides wear their home kit too (including white shorts for both). Not all refs do

31/07/2014, 1:16 PM
Fancy getting your hands on a genuine ref's top as worn by the man himself when he bottled the 2008 cup final?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/291204829591

Could be yours for a mere 20 quid!

Ezeikial
31/05/2016, 1:55 PM
This guy is not biased he is just grossly incompetent

I wonder how long before the FAI are sufficiently brave/foolish {delete as appropriate} to put him in charge of a Dundalk fixture. He would be guaranteed a hot reception

What a match to pick to re-introduce this clown.

Thankfully he is not the referee, but even as 4th official he is likely to want to be the central character

Cork City v Dundalk, Turner's Cross, 20:00
Referee: Robert Rogers
Assistant Referee: Damien MacGraith
Assistant Referee: Wayne McDonnell
Fourth Official: Anthony Buttimer
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/16744/match-officials-appointed---week-13/

31/05/2016, 2:02 PM
He reffed Shamrock Rovers v Harps on Sunday. Didn't have a bad game either.

White Horse
31/05/2016, 3:26 PM

A stopped clock tells the right time twice every day.

Ezeikial
31/05/2016, 3:29 PM

I was not clear - I meant re-introduce him to Dundalk.

He has not officiated in any capacity in a Dundalk game since his madcap performance in the Drogheda V Dundalk FAI Cup Semi-final in October 2013 where he sent off two Dundalk players and awarded a penalty to Drogheda

It is a poor decision, particularly because of the importance of the match, his controversial background and the fact that he is from Cork

31/05/2016, 3:53 PM
Well he shouldn't be excluded from Dundalk games and inflicted on everybody else - that's hardly fair either. But of course Nigel thought he was good on Sunday.

31/05/2016, 4:06 PM
Well he shouldn't be excluded from Dundalk games and inflicted on everybody else - that's hardly fair either. But of course Nigel thought he was good on Sunday.

Do you disagree? As far as refereeing in the League of Ireland goes, I thought he was decent on Sunday.

31/05/2016, 4:17 PM
He sent Gary McCabe off for the same thing he gave Scully a yellow for, and then Scully scored. I mean he didn't cost us the match, but he was his usual self.

31/05/2016, 4:19 PM
Scully just tripped a guy, hardly a sending off offence. Didn't see the McCabe incident but one of our centre halves shouted 'He has to go' and that's good enough for me.

31/05/2016, 4:21 PM
I was standing in front of it, he kicked him.

MattB11
31/05/2016, 6:28 PM
Despite not being there and seeing neither incident I'm fairly sure Scully's barely a bookable offense whilst McCabes was attempted murder :p

disgruntled
01/06/2016, 9:48 AM
I was not clear - I meant re-introduce him to Dundalk.

He has not officiated in any capacity in a Dundalk game since his madcap performance in the Drogheda V Dundalk FAI Cup Semi-final in October 2013 where he sent off two Dundalk players and awarded a penalty to Drogheda

It is a poor decision, particularly because of the importance of the match, his controversial background and the fact that he is from Cork

Be thankful he's not refereeing the game.
We've had him as fourth official several times in Turners Cross & believe me its no advantage to anyone.
He spends most of his time running between the dugouts trying to stop the managers from giving out to the referee & the rest of the time he spends trying to work out how the electronic board works.
Yes he's from Cork but like every referee that ever came from Cork he seems to hate Cork teams. He's an egotistical clown pure & simple.

At least you'll have some excuse if Cork turn you over on Friday night :o

dundalkfc10
01/06/2016, 9:50 AM
We've had him as fourth official several times in Turners Cross & believe me its no advantage to anyone.
He spends most of his time running between the dugouts trying to stop the managers from giving out to the referee & the rest of the time he spends trying to work out how the electronic board works.
Yes he's from Cork but like every referee that ever came from Cork he seems to hate Cork teams. He's an egotistical clown pure & simple.

At least you'll have some excuse if Cork turn you over on Friday night :o

They have a habit of bottling it against us in big games, cant see that changing Friday

Ezeikial
01/06/2016, 10:34 AM

Perish the thought

At least you'll have some excuse if Cork turn you over on Friday night

He is an irritant and unnecessary sideshow, but even he could not have an impact on the outcome.

The referee will be important though - as before, I expect crunching tackles from the first minute

If both teams come out to play football there will be only one winner.

disgruntled
02/06/2016, 11:02 AM
They have a habit of bottling it against us in big games, cant see that changing Friday

We've turned you over twice this season already & ye haven't stopped moaning since.
In the Presidents Cup it could have been 4 or 5 only for Rodgers & we also beat ye on that recycled pitch ye have.
We've matched ye in every department including playing football.

If its a battle ye want we're well able but the difference this season is that we can also play more than a bit of ball as well.
If ye win then good luck to ye as ye're by far the best side that the League has seen for many years but don't expect us to sit back & admire ye.

Good luck to those travelling down & have a safe trip.

dundalkfc10
02/06/2016, 11:27 AM
We've turned you over twice this season already & ye haven't stopped moaning since.
In the Presidents Cup it could have been 4 or 5 only for Rodgers & we also beat ye on that recycled pitch ye have.
We've matched ye in every department including playing football.

If its a battle ye want we're well able but the difference this season is that we can also play more than a bit of ball as well.
If ye win then good luck to ye as ye're by far the best side that the League has seen for many years but don't expect us to sit back & admire ye.

Good luck to those travelling down & have a safe trip.

You beat us in a Friendly (Presidents Cup) and 1-0 with a Peno in Oriel. I wouldnt be getting too excited.

Point stands, if both teams go out to play football, we will win!

disgruntled
02/06/2016, 11:32 AM
Perish the thought

He is an irritant and unnecessary sideshow, but even he could not have an impact on the outcome.

The referee will be important though - as before, I expect crunching tackles from the first minute

If both teams come out to play football there will be only one winner.

I wouldn't worry about Buttimer, the benches will keep him occupied.
The referee will be very important. It all depends on how he handles the game as to whether we have a great game of football or a battle.If he starts flashing yellows straight away for the slightest nudge then we could have a real battle.
Either way it will be hard fought.

We've made a lot of changes this season & are well able to play good football but if Steve (Sideways) O'Donnell starts his antics again we have a private room booked for him at the CUH :) He should have walked in both games we've had so far this season.
There are folks down here who reckon we're in ye're heads at this stage. We definitely have Kenny rattled :confused2:

You've a very good side but you're not unbeatable as we've proved twice already this season.
So may the best team win & here's hoping both sides end with eleven on the pitch.

disgruntled
02/06/2016, 12:05 PM
You beat us in a Friendly (Presidents Cup) and 1-0 with a Peno in Oriel. I wouldnt be getting too excited.

Point stands, if both teams go out to play football, we will win!

No excitement here as its still only three points no matter what happens. The expectations are in that the two best sides in the country are meeting.

The way Dundalk played in the Presidents Cup wasn't very friendly. You thought all you had to do was turn up & pick up the prize & when Cork turned you over you didn't like it.
Kenny & Co are still moaning about the game at Oriel. The loss was everyone's fault except his own players.

Both teams have had great seasons so far with City going for eight wins on the trot. Dundalk continue to scrape through in some games while they romp home in others. Meanwhile City just keep on winning.
Even our 1-0 wins are comprehensive.

There's no doubt that City are the only team in the country who are capable of beating you on a regular basis & the Dundalk players & management know this. What's more we've proved it twice already this season.
If you beat us on Friday night then good luck to you but now there's a doubt in the Dundalk heads :o

Two games against Cork this season.
No wins, No draws, Two loses.
0 goals for, 3 goals against.

If you're coming down then enjoy the trip.
The beer is good & the locals are friendly.

Strange that in a thread about Buttimer he could get forgotten so easily :D

seand
02/06/2016, 12:06 PM
Has to be a big boost to Cork that they've beaten Dundalk twice already this season. Pres Cup is a glorified friendly of course but Dundalk were well beaten. It's not often that's happened since 2012. Should be a good game, maybe leave it more than 4 seconds before trying to take O'Donnell out this time though, eh? ;-)

White Horse
02/06/2016, 12:18 PM
Cork must go into this game with good confidence after two wins against Dundalk this year. I think comments that Dundalk are rattled are way off the mark though.

We've been winning games but haven't really "clicked" yet. There are a few reasons for this. We are set up differently this year and are trying to integrate new players but this has been frustrated through injuries.

There seems to be a view in Cork that a physical approach to the game would intimidate Dundalk. They need to be careful that this doesn't result in getting a player sent off.

I also wonder how the weather will impact on the game. It is likely to be very warm and players will need to be clever to conserve energy for the full 90 minutes.

dundalkfc10
02/06/2016, 1:50 PM
How many does the away end hold, can it be extended?

I know of 3 big buses and 6 mini buses heading down