View Full Version : Tonight's latest 03/09/2010
Always wanted to start one of these. :D
Blues: Burns; P Carey, Murray, Long, Coady; Purcell, Dunphy, J Kearney, L Kearney; Kiely, Sullivan - subs: Konopka, Hayes, Walsh, Kavanagh, Murphy
Derry: Doherty, McCallion, Friars, Scoltock, Lafferty, P McEleney, Molloy, McCauley, McBride, McClean, Farren - subs: Kelly, Sharkey, Cassidy, McCrudden, Parkhouse
Blues should be 1 up ater 2 minutes as Doherty hits clearance straight to Kiely 25 yards out, lobbed effort clears keeper but hits side netting.
Derry almost in on 13 mins. Ball over the top for Mark Farren, Kevin Burns a little slow out, Farren lobs him but Shammy Long on hand to head over the crossbar.
Monaghan United FC
03/09/2010, 7:08 PM
Weekend Latest 3rd Sept
Monaghan United Team: Sava, Collins, Grimes, McMahon, Gartland, McCrossan, O'Connor, Byrne, Bermingham, Hughes, Clancy. Subs: Brennan, Hanaphy, Whelan, McNeill, Costigan
Finn Harps: Cullen, Doherty, Crossan, Mailey, McHugh, Brolly, Shields, Whoriskey, Bonner, Forker, McMenamin. Subs: McLaughlin, Walsh, O'Connor, Cowan, Gallagher.
As was beaten to it in the posting of a weekend latest thought would post it in here too.
Limerick 1 up
Michael Coady just clears off the line here from McBride I think.
tippex
03/09/2010, 7:26 PM
According to errortel bray are 1-0 up
Gary Shaw the scorer on his Debut.
Yep, livescore have it but no scorer yet.
also UCD 1-0 Drogs (Kilduff)
Oh, and Blues 1 up, WJK!!
So,
Dundalk 0-1 Bray (scorer unknown)
Galway 0-1 Pat's (Guy)
UCD 1-0 Drogs (Kilduff)
Limerick 1-0 Longford (Coughlan)
Shels 1-0 Salthill (Gorman)
Blues 1-0 Derry (Kiely)
That last is now a half-time.
fionnsci
03/09/2010, 7:40 PM
And incase anyone didn't know, Estonia 1-0 Italy '51.
03/09/2010, 7:43 PM
So,
Dundalk 0-1 Bray (scorer unknown)
New signing (http://www.braywanderers.ie/index.php?id=600&backPID=1&tt_news=1104) Gary Shaw according to Extratime.
Monaghan United FC
03/09/2010, 7:49 PM
HT Monaghan United 0-0 Finn Harps
Rovers should be happy enough to get to HT 0-0
2-0 Shels from first half, Corcoran (pen).
Also, 2-0 Limerick now.
Edit, Shels 3-0 up now!
Blues 2-0 Derry.
Kiely again, 66 mins, and a screamer!
Monaghan United FC
03/09/2010, 8:10 PM
Mons 1-0 Finn Harps
Philly Hughes 53 mins.
tippex
03/09/2010, 8:14 PM
Bray 2-0 up the great escape is on with avengence
Chris Shields with the second.
All over here, 2-0 Blues. Woo and indeed hoo!
Also, from livescore:
Dundalk 0-2 Bray as above
Galway 1-1 Pat's
UCD 1-1 Drogs
Rovers 1-0 Sligo
Limerick 3-0 Longford
Mons 1-0 Harps as above
Shels 3-0 Salthill
tippex
03/09/2010, 8:42 PM
Get in All over in oriel 2-0 to bray. Seriously squeeky bum time now.... Can we do the seemingly impossible?
Monaghan United FC
03/09/2010, 8:43 PM
Mons 2-0 Finn Harps
Darragh Hanaphy 86 mins
bullit
03/09/2010, 9:37 PM
Get in All over in oriel 2-0 to bray. Seriously squeeky bum time now.... Can we do the seemingly impossible?
On that showing YES.Won every 50/50 ball on the deck and slauhtered us in the air,Bray had a hunger and a belief.Our lot were PATHETIC.
Bray well worth the 3 points.
ped_ped
03/09/2010, 9:51 PM
Decent result for Limerick tonight, hopefully we can get another three points in Ballybofey next week.
HarpoJoyce
03/09/2010, 9:57 PM
UCD 1:1 Drogheda Utd.
Coulda, woulda, shoulda. The most eventful match of the season at the UCD Bowl, Killer Kilduff scores his 12th league goal of the season (fourth against Drogheda) and had chances either side to score, UCD lost full-back Ciaran Nangle early on to injury, Killer hits the post, lovely goal from Killer, Drogheda raised their game before a harsh sending off of Robbie Creevy for handball in the box. Fitzpatrick buried it past the returned Billy Brennan. Karl Moore was great for UCD on the wing.
Drogheda won the physical battle and UCD have been second place in those battles all season.
oriel
03/09/2010, 10:15 PM
And a very well deserved win also. Devlin had you organised perfectly, we were a disgrace, and in complete freefall now, but take nothing away..........
The Lep
03/09/2010, 10:28 PM
Bohs up to their old tricks again tonight plus the ref was clearly a bohs fan.
ndrog
03/09/2010, 10:30 PM
UCD 1:1 Drogheda Utd.
Coulda, woulda, shoulda. The most eventful match of the season at the UCD Bowl, Killer Kilduff scores his 12th league goal of the season (fourth against Drogheda) and had chances either side to score, UCD lost full-back Ciaran Nangle early on to injury, Killer hits the post, lovely goal from Killer, Drogheda raised their game before a harsh sending off of Robbie Creevy for handball in the box. Fitzpatrick buried it past the returned Billy Brennan. Karl Moore was great for UCD on the wing.
Drogheda won the physical battle and UCD have been second place in those battles all season.
Entertaining game and a draw was a fair result tbh .Good chances missed for both sides . We need to start putting them away if we are to avoid the automatic drop !
WoodquayBoy
03/09/2010, 10:53 PM
Poxed to get a point tonight, we were woeful in first half and Pats should have had game wrapped up at half time. We were much better in second half, deserved a point for second half performance but if that game was played 100 more times, Pats would win by a comfortable margin every time, they hit the post and peppered our goal in second half. Still, 5 unbeaten now (including Cup) and overtake Dundalk on goal difference. Big game with Bray next weekend
1st time post
03/09/2010, 11:48 PM
Strange sort of game in tallaght, We absolutely bossed the 1st half with doyle and blinkhorn both having good chances inside the 1st 20 mins and we had a big shout for a peno turned down. In saying that shams had probably the 2 best chances with Peers(i think) making one of the best clearances off the line ive ever seen. Second half we were still on top without creating too much but with shams coming more into the game and they were dominanting for bout 10 mins before they scored. After that i dont think we ever looked like scoring with Shams looking dangerous on the break. I think if we could have taken the lead in the 1st half we mite have gone on to win but we definitely could have done with Podge to pull a goal out of nothing and with the way other results went tonight looks like the defining nite in the title race for them.
03/09/2010, 11:54 PM
Great results for Rovers :D
PartySaint
04/09/2010, 12:16 AM
Poxed to get a point tonight, we were woeful in first half and Pats should have had game wrapped up at half time. We were much better in second half, deserved a point for second half performance but if that game was played 100 more times, Pats would win by a comfortable margin every time, they hit the post and peppered our goal in second half. Still, 5 unbeaten now (including Cup) and overtake Dundalk on goal difference. Big game with Bray next weekend
Yep thats spot on, Cant believe we didnt win that game, One of our best performances this season up until the Galway goal
danthesaint
04/09/2010, 12:39 AM
yeah agree with all that lad, also agree with party saint saying it was one of our best performances all season, should of had a sligo fan there to watch imo :p
it was a bad result considering the renters won :(
ps barry ryan was fookin super tonight, was funny with him and the steward, legend.
bholg
04/09/2010, 12:55 AM
This may come back to bite me but.........
No. Dundak are in freefall. We were incredibly sh1t. how many points between youse and 9th now?
Bray will not get 3 points as easy as they did tonight - even if they drop to the a league. they also looked sh1t,despite winning 2-0.
Jicked
04/09/2010, 3:04 AM
Strange sort of game in tallaght, We absolutely bossed the 1st half with doyle and blinkhorn both having good chances inside the 1st 20 mins and we had a big shout for a peno turned down. In saying that shams had probably the 2 best chances with Peers(i think) making one of the best clearances off the line ive ever seen. Second half we were still on top without creating too much but with shams coming more into the game and they were dominanting for bout 10 mins before they scored. After that i dont think we ever looked like scoring with Shams looking dangerous on the break. I think if we could have taken the lead in the 1st half we mite have gone on to win but we definitely could have done with Podge to pull a goal out of nothing and with the way other results went tonight looks like the defining nite in the title race for them.
I agree Sligo were certainly the better team in the first half, and Doyle (I think it was him) missed a great one on one with Mannus that should have put you one up. In saying that, for all your good possession, Doyle's chance aside, we created the better chances of the first half despite not being the better side. In the second half I thought Shamrock Rovers played very well, certainly created the better chances and deserved to win, though to win by (an albeit fantastic) set-piece seemed a fair way to end the game. In my opinion the two best teams in the league at the moment, glad we wont have to play them again for points this season (then again in 8 league games under MON they've never beaten us, something for the Sligo fans "hilariously" calling Dan Murray a 'hoofer' to think about) and with a seven point advantage I'm starting to get excited. Beat Pats in Richmond next week and I'll be positively giddy.
bingoballs
04/09/2010, 8:04 AM
Ye improved in th second half because Alan Kelly kept giving ye cheap free kicks, allowing Murray to bombard our box, eventually leading to your goal, which was a stunnig strike in fairness. I thought ye either dragged us down to yer level or we were getting desperate in the second half and played far too much route one football. Think a draw would have been a fair result and if we had Podge, I think we would have got at least a point.
Having said all that, this was our toughest game of the run in on paper. Other results went for us tonight and two wins from our next 2 games will put us back in the hunt for a European spot. Best of luck to Shams, the league is theirs to loose now. They have great support and their fans made a big difference last night.
HulaHoop
04/09/2010, 10:05 AM
Like others have said, thought Sligo were unlucky to go home with nothing. Rovers were very poor especially in midfield, we really missed Price, Rice and Bradley the latter two being our first choice central midfield duo the last few weeks. Dare I say it but it's a sign of champions to play poorly and still win tough games like that. Important now that we keep our feet on the ground and not become complacent, it's 16 league games unbeaten now taking 28 points from the last 30, we have to keep that kind of form going, no slip ups.
With thanks to Soylent Green on the Ultras forum Dennehy's superb free kick:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wP7qvjB5iCs
04/09/2010, 10:11 AM
This may come back to bite me but.........
No. Dundak are in freefall. We were incredibly sh1t. how many points between youse and 9th now?
Bray will not get 3 points as easy as they did tonight - even if they drop to the a league. they also looked sh1t,despite winning 2-0.
You could well be right, but with home games against Galway, UCD, Drogheda and Dundalk, i think our lads will be quitely confident of picking up enough points to over take Drogheda
bholg
04/09/2010, 10:30 AM
Bray's first goal was excellent I have to concede. but apart from that we just gave them the ball again and again. It was mind boggling. loss of melligan & F*nn seems to have reduced us to long ball
we certainly would be winning no play offs by current form -can only hope that miller & maher coming back may help somewhat.
You never know.... yis might do it.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/09/2010, 10:38 AM
I certainly don't think Shams deserved to win (although I know Dodge will come on and say they scored more then us so they did) but they did improve in the second half and it was an even enough game in that half. I just don't know what Blinkhorn was at giving away the free kick for the goal. He had done the same thing a minute ago from another free from the half way from the half way line. Always got the impression that the only way Shams were going to score was from a set piece.
Agree with the sign of champions line. League is all over now.
04/09/2010, 12:23 PM
a harsh sending off of Robbie Creevy for handball in the box.
It was a second yellow, he got the first a minute or two before. I didn't see what happened for the penalty, I just saw two guys on the ground and was expecting a free out, hand ball didn't even cross my mind.
poster
04/09/2010, 12:34 PM
, something for the Sligo fans "hilariously" calling Dan Murray a 'hoofer' to think about) and with a seven point advantage I'm starting to get excited. Beat Pats in Richmond next week and I'll be positively giddy.
I'm being totally serious here Jicked. I don't understand how Shams can do so well (and fair play for doing so) with Murray in the team. He's been very dodgy every game I've seen him this year, apart from the LC Semi. Always seems to panic anytime he has possession of the ball and if we had a quick striker last night against him we could have been two up at half time. As for his "hoofing", yes he's guilty of it 100% of the time, as is Sives and Murphy. Although maybe that's MO'N's tactics. I've had that opinion of Murray since his Cork days, I really don't understand how he gets his place every game.
**FrOsTy**
04/09/2010, 12:35 PM
Well worth our 3 points against Derry last night. 9 points becomes 6 and from been completly out of it 3 weeks ago it's now getting interesting. Few big weeks coming up!
Jicked
04/09/2010, 12:58 PM
I'm being totally serious here Jicked. I don't understand how Shams can do so well (and fair play for doing so) with Murray in the team. He's been very dodgy every game I've seen him this year, apart from the LC Semi. Always seems to panic anytime he has possession of the ball and if we had a quick striker last night against him we could have been two up at half time. As for his "hoofing", yes he's guilty of it 100% of the time, as is Sives and Murphy. Although maybe that's MO'N's tactics. I've had that opinion of Murray since his Cork days, I really don't understand how he gets his place every game.
Most Rovers fans are of the opinion that Murray was pretty awful for the start of the season. He still isn't exactly Mr Popular, but in the last few months he's upped his game and is playing very well. He doesn't hoof 100% of the time, in fact most people used to seeing Murray will tell you that he plays the ball out a lot more than most centre halves. Yes, our centre halves do play direct football in general. So did yours last night. There's not too many ball playing centre backs in the League of Ireland.
04/09/2010, 1:09 PM
90 Euro Dundalk cost me last night. :shakes fist:
danthesaint
04/09/2010, 2:14 PM
90 Euro Dundalk cost me last night. :shakes fist:
yeah pats let me down a few quid, had them in a treble with ireland and england
:mad:
On that showing YES.Won every 50/50 ball on the deck and slauhtered us in the air,Bray had a hunger and a belief.Our lot were PATHETIC.
Bray well worth the 3 points.
And a very well deserved win also. Devlin had you organised perfectly, we were a disgrace, and in complete freefall now, but take nothing away..........
Agree 100% with both. If we do that next week I can see Drogs getting the win.
04/09/2010, 6:55 PM
It was a second yellow, he got the first a minute or two before. I didn't see what happened for the penalty, I just saw two guys on the ground and was expecting a free out, hand ball didn't even cross my mind.
Wasn't handball; he had his arms around the Drogheda lad (was it Glen? Whoever it was needed no second asking to go down anyway) After getting the wrong side of him from the free. Clear peno.
That said, I think we can be well aggrieved that he was sent off for it, having been boooked for (I think) the free which led to the peno. I didn't think the peno was a bookable offence in the first place, but the ref was ckear throughout about booking players for a third foul, yet Robbie gets done for two fouls in 30 seconds? Ridiculous.
That said, we'd lost our way a long way before, from a position where we should have been 2 or 3 up after half an hour. A draw was probably fair in the end.
Bit worried about Galway, who I know are rubbish from what I've seen of them, yet who by their own admission keep poxing results. Dundalk are in freefall and seem our more likely targets. Drogheda could well go straight down; we badly badly need a win from somewhere and for our injuries to start clearing.
04/09/2010, 7:57 PM
Well worth our 3 points against Derry last night.
Totally agree.
Deep lying Sullivan paired with WJK caused absolutely havoc.
If we don't get McDaid, or more importantly Harkin back, we will miss out on promotion.
Ye improved in th second half because Alan Kelly kept giving ye cheap free kicks, allowing Murray to bombard our box, eventually leading to your goal, which was a stunnig strike in fairness.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XwHQX2QfX84
As good a free as you'll probably ever see in this league ... great technique ...
04/09/2010, 9:01 PM
great technique ...
Unlike the person doing the filming then so.....
**FrOsTy**
04/09/2010, 9:12 PM
Totally agree.
Deep lying Sullivan paired with WJK caused absolutely havoc.
If we don't get McDaid, or more importantly Harkin back, we will miss out on promotion.
Total contrast to the game in the Brandywell where we did get a kick. We're back to the form we had before Georgie came in and totally ****ed up the squad morale!! 24 from 24 now would be nice :)