View Full Version : FAI cup latest
Model Club
28/08/2010, 4:37 PM
would you believe i just caught it's at the last second before i posted ;) ;)
Just like your members did with your financial situation:o
28/08/2010, 5:14 PM
Surely "having a laugh" is another way of admitting to Wumming?
String me up buttercup.
The obsession example is a cop out and a more intelligent way of saying "I know i am but what are you" or some similar playground game.
Yes because this whole he said she said battle about percieved anti Rovers bias on foot.ie is SERIOUS BIZNESS and should be treated as such...........
Another cop out is the "div. 1" jibe.No excuse and depicts of a set of clubs who have thrown in the towel until they reach the promised land of the premier.
It depicts a set of clubs that have far far less in the way of resources and backing than Shamrock Rovers have.
Thank God we didnt adapt that approach when in div. 1.
Some short memories up in here
The match day experience at Tolka when you were in Division 1 was a bit manky.
Still, ye had far less resources then, so I wont hold it against ye.
Actually, I seem to remember a shocking incident in Tolka that year when a Limerick player was strectered off on a table for example.
The toilets under the main stand are wholey adequate and you brushing it off will not excuse the fact that 1 portaloo isn't.
I'm glad to here Longford have sorted out the wiring and plastering.
As for your end, again of course one portaloo isn't ideal, but see my previous points re: resources and your fans behaving like animals on previous trips.
Stewards should be in a position to react to a situation not creating one.
Why is an eyeballing steward worthy of anything more than a laugh??
As for blocking the view, I assume they can see more standing up, just look around them or move a foot to your left or right. It's a tiny little bit inconvenient but it's certainly preferrable to a situation where the stewarding is so lax that a fan can walk on to the pitch, fall around infront of Gary Rogers and then have it left to Pats players to drag him off.
I don't mind being searched as I have nothing to hide.It's the fact that they deem us worthy of a searching that again could create a bad vibe whem it's not needed.
Of course the Shamrock Rovers fans were worthy of searching.
Hard to take you or some others serious when you admit to having a laugh at my clubs expense.
At a few fans who are willing to bite down on any bit of percieved anti-Rovers bias rather than at your club per se.
I obviously have a higher regard for SRFC than you do for Limerick
This is meaningless nonsense so meh.
passerrby
28/08/2010, 5:30 PM
maybe just maybe if rovers fans asked why clubs feel it neccessary to hire bouncers, doormen to steward your fans instead of defending sometimes dispicable behavouir
and then to insult and denegrate grounds around the country as kips,dumps etc and then get upset when someone uses the word rented is i think foolish
Model Club
28/08/2010, 5:53 PM
Yeah because SRFC were responsible for the order of maltas equipment.:rolleyes:
The fledgling SRFC board of our first div. year would have put most other clubs to shame as regard the matchday orginisation.TBF it was with the help of shels officials that helped the operation run as smooth as it did.We also had the same resources while in the prem. and playing in Tolka ie.we didn't use the fact we were div 1 as an excuse.
With regard resources-You get what you deserve in football.If the people of Athlone,Limerick,Longford got out and supported their team chances are they'd be in the premier.I shouldn't feel guilty because our increased attendance and the extra revenue they create are more than the above teams.
Ditto on your last point!
Model Club
28/08/2010, 6:02 PM
maybe just maybe if rovers fans asked why clubs feel it neccessary to hire bouncers, doormen to steward your fans instead of defending sometimes dispicable behavouir
and then to insult and denegrate grounds around the country as kips,dumps etc and then get upset when someone uses the word rented is i think foolish
I havn't defended anything mate nor called anywhere a "kip" or a "dump" nor am I upset about renting Tallaght.I'm over the moon we are renting Tallaght.
But.....why are Derry,Cork,Bray,Athlone,Galway not offered similar tags.They are in similar positions to us with councils or assosiations owning the ground where they play.Even the glorious boys in green play on turf that doesn't belong to them.
Again,It doesn't bother me-I just feel sorry for people who have to bring it up at every available opportunity............and more.
For me renting is the future of sustainable football in Ireland.Owning Tolka or Dalymount hasn't exactly been a bed of roses for shels or bohs not to mention Drogheda.
As Ive said in another thread-"the Field" mentality.
28/08/2010, 6:23 PM
Yeah because SRFC were responsible for the order of maltas equipment.
Whether or not there's a stretcher there would be the type of thing a well organised club would check before a game in my opinion. You clearly don't agree though so that's fair enough. It's all about opinions.
The fledgling SRFC board of our first div. year would have put most other clubs to shame as regard the matchday orginisation.
If you say so. Again, all about opinions.
TBF it was with the help of shels officials that helped the operation run as smooth as it did.We also had the same resources while in the prem. and playing in Tolka ie.we didn't use the fact we were div 1 as an excuse.
If you had the same resources playing in the Premier as you did playing in the First, then someone was on the take when you were in the Premier in Tolka.
Either way far more resources than a Longford Town, even had help from another club!!
If the people of Athlone,Limerick,Longford got out and supported their team chances are they'd be in the premier.
And if the people had come out and supported Rovers in the 80s Kilcoyne wouldn't have sold Milltown from under your arse. But lets not go off on tangents, tis pure pointless.
I can't speak for Athlone or Longford but I reckon if the council built a nice new ground and made it available to us for rent, we could get significantly higher crowds. As it stands our crowds aren't awful, all things considered
I shouldn't feel guilty because our increased attendance and the extra revenue they create are more than the above teams.
No ones asking you to feel guilty dear. I'd say one or two are struggling to grasp your struggle to grasp the reasons for what happened in Longford though.
EDIT: For anyone concerned, the lawnmower arrived and the lawn has been done. Am now wiling away some time before I have my dinner.
28/08/2010, 7:53 PM
Are you for bleedin real?
I think you might have watched the game through rose tinted glasses. Can you not remember the first twenty minutes when Paddy K and Chambers tore yous to shreads, I think your left back needed counselling at half time after the roastin he got. We were then guilty of sloppy play mainly by Turner and Bayly losing possesion cheaply and a few wobbles from Mannus. We almost scored a goal of the season contender right at the start of the second half, but fair play yous started to play a bit and created some good chances, then we scored and yous hit the post,we scored again and all credit yous put us under a lot of pressure and deserved a goal. Yes yous had a good shout for a peno as did we and we were lucky not to have let the lead slip.
As for the officials, they were equally ****e for both sides, don't let your own bias cloud that one, Paddy K was kicked all over the park and one terrible tackle near the end over on the main stand side should have been a red card, you could hear the clatter of the studs against his shinpads from our side but the lino waived play on.
If, as you say, that was an increase on normal attendances, how the fcuk do yous survive?, a Rovers official told me 610 of us 350 of yous, very poor home crowd for a cup game.
Anyway thanks be to jaysus I wont have to suffer goin up to the flan siro for twelve months at least, the ticket office for away fans didn't open until 35 minutes before kick off with 3-4 hundred queing, whats the crack with employin your local pub bouncers as stewards? What experience have they got as match day officials? I'll tell you, none. They stood in front of our section peering in tryin to entice some of our ******* section into doin something stupid, they were repeatedly asked to sit down as they were blocking peoples view, but they refused, fcukin scumbags.
55 minutes to get from the ground to the top end of the town, bleedin disaster. An hour and ten from there to O'Connell bridge!! Thank god for late opening on Fridays.
make sure you shut the gate behind you theres a good man... Glad to see that ye lot got rattled from our fantastic performance.. Thank God we dont have to play ye that often ...
jafrazer
28/08/2010, 9:12 PM
HD Highlights of Bohs v Shels
http://vimeo.com/14506170
The matchday set up at Longford last night was not a very pleasant one.
In fairness though, they stopped short of announcing this is Longford! over the PA and having a mascot intimidate the innocent away support including women and children...
Model Club
28/08/2010, 11:03 PM
Whether or not there's a stretcher there would be the type of thing a well organised club would check before a game in my opinion. You clearly don't agree though so that's fair enough. It's all about opinions.
If you say so. Again, all about opinions.
If you had the same resources playing in the Premier as you did playing in the First, then someone was on the take when you were in the Premier in Tolka.
Either way far more resources than a Longford Town, even had help from another club!!
And if the people had come out and supported Rovers in the 80s Kilcoyne wouldn't have sold Milltown from under your arse. But lets not go off on tangents, tis pure pointless.
I can't speak for Athlone or Longford but I reckon if the council built a nice new ground and made it available to us for rent, we could get significantly higher crowds. As it stands our crowds aren't awful, all things considered
No ones asking you to feel guilty dear. I'd say one or two are struggling to grasp your struggle to grasp the reasons for what happened in Longford though.
EDIT: For anyone concerned, the lawnmower arrived and the lawn has been done. Am now wiling away some time before I have my dinner.
You can't inject a tangent into a discussion and not expect me to react-Especially that one!
The life president of the FAI would have sold Milltown no matter how many people paid through the turnstiles.Having his top cheerleader Dunphy offer revisionist opinions on a "Top 20" type because Jonny Giles vision for Rovers and the league in general didnt come true has obviously worked on you.
Strange to be lectured on an away fans perspective on last night in Longford by someone who wasn't there!
You'll never know if you will ever have big crowds in Limerick unless you do something about it,although Athlone have a fine muicipal stadium not too far from the town centre and god knows they can't get the crowds flocking to a fine stadium -You seem to think that if you had the same facility as SRFC you would have similar crowds,maybe you would but I just dont think its as easy as that and other factors such as a strong core support,the right people in charge,a good marketing campaign along with an appetite for live football from the locality are all as important as the ground itself.
29/08/2010, 10:34 AM
i seem to recall some scum trying to chant during a minutes silence, i suppose the fact people told them to shut up makes it ok? your fans are no angels so don't try and make it seem like they were being picked on by the big bad bouncers
actually i remember seeing some sort of trouble between the fans and stewards a few times lads came down and shouted abuse at the stewards, what was all that about i was quite far away
and yes our attendances are awful 200 approx per game so to have 1,000 was fantastic,
i estimate a little under 500 shams fans, certainly not in the region of 600, whoever your official is can't count, )no wonder so many LOI clubs go to the wall if the people in charge can't count)
and we destroyed you for the most part in the 2nd half, we let in 2 awful goals you didn't deserve to win, for christ sake all ye did was hoof the ball all game
On a side note i was having a p1ss yesterday (when you have your best taughts ) and i taught to myself, how much has the standard of the top teams in the league declined if the likes of fenn who could get no where near the old bohs 1st team can walk into the starting 11 of the ''best'' team in the country at present
apologies for inarticulate badly worded post, i am a tad hungover and am listening to kids argue over the wii...
atfconline
29/08/2010, 11:34 AM
You'll never know if you will ever have big crowds in Limerick unless you do something about it,although Athlone have a fine muicipal stadium not too far from the town centre and god knows they can't get the crowds flocking to a fine stadium.
I havn't defended anything mate nor called anywhere a "kip" or a "dump" nor am I upset about renting Tallaght.I'm over the moon we are renting Tallaght.
But.....why are Derry,Cork,Bray,Athlone,Galway not offered similar tags.They are in similar positions to us with councils or assosiations owning the ground where they play.
Let's just clear this up. Leinster FA / Athlone Town Council / Westmeath Co Co do not own Athlone Town Stadium or have anything to do with it.
29/08/2010, 11:40 AM
I'm going to come in here and defend LTFC.....the club officials and stewards did an excellent job you Rovers fans have to learn that your club now has a reputation even if it is a so called small minority of fans that cause trouble and your going to have to learn to live with the consequences.
AcornVilla is right your fans started signing during a minutes silence and thats just pure dirt on your fans behalf.....I was surprised with the amount of drunk supporters that got in the was a fella in the stand who was falling down the steps and the guards (who made a mess of the whole thing imo) seen him yet let him walk on despite him roaring abuse at them.
Like I said the guards made a mess of the thing and whenever they try to direct traffic hey make a pure blx of things people would be better off doing things themselves.
the reason the fans were let out at the same time was because their was a fence up seperating the fans and the guards were ready with dogs so well done to the club it was well done and I hope Rovers enjoy the rest of their away days.
Model Club
29/08/2010, 12:20 PM
Let's just clear this up. Leinster FA / Athlone Town Council / Westmeath Co Co do not own Athlone Town Stadium or have anything to do with it.
Apologies for presuming so.I have been there for a friendly and as very impressed.Don't know where I got my info from!
Is the stadium owned 100% by ATFC?
29/08/2010, 12:39 PM
Yes but mammy O Rourke sure had a nice helping hand all the same;)
Model Club
29/08/2010, 1:00 PM
i seem to recall some scum trying to chant during a minutes silence, i suppose the fact people told them to shut up makes it ok? your fans are no angels so don't try and make it seem like they were being picked on by the big bad bouncers
actually i remember seeing some sort of trouble between the fans and stewards a few times lads came down and shouted abuse at the stewards, what was all that about i was quite far away
and yes our attendances are awful 200 approx per game so to have 1,000 was fantastic,
i estimate a little under 500 shams fans, certainly not in the region of 600, whoever your official is can't count, )no wonder so many LOI clubs go to the wall if the people in charge can't count)
and we destroyed you for the most part in the 2nd half, we let in 2 awful goals you didn't deserve to win, for christ sake all ye did was hoof the ball all game
On a side note i was having a p1ss yesterday (when you have your best taughts ) and i taught to myself, how much has the standard of the top teams in the league declined if the likes of fenn who could get no where near the old bohs 1st team can walk into the starting 11 of the ''best'' team in the country at present
apologies for inarticulate badly worded post, i am a tad hungover and am listening to kids argue over the wii...
I arrived just as the game kicked off and didnt even know there was a minutes silence but i have heard some of our own fans giving out about it with the usual suspects getting the blame.Drunkeness is usually the reason behind this sort of thing and while not excusing it,it is a reason for acting the idiot.
Cant say it happened this time but once or twice(Def. in sligo this year!) in the past fans queing outside grounds have broken minute silences without knowing one was taken place.
There was no trouble in the ground.One hoop decided to offer a bit of brinkmanship with a bouncer which ended in a group hug-Seriously!!
The count I was told was give or take 60/40 Rovers.This is not an estimate.This was the figure taken by the same people who clicked patrons entering the Showgrounds and the gate money recieved by Rovers corresponded to this.The words "at least they didnt try to cheat us" were then quoted by the same bloke.TBF argueing about who had 50 fans more each is pointless but I must say I hoped for Longford sake a bigger crowd might have come out for a cup tie against the team on top of the premier div. on a nice night for football.
On the game,The first 20 mins saw the recent Rovers but as the first half wore on Longford got more and more into it.Second half was similar and it was clear Longford where more up for it than us.If you had more quality you might have won the game but unfortunetly for you,you didn't and Rovers played out the match willing to hit Longford on the break.You deserved your goal and I remarked at the time that it was coming but in the end you're scrappy one goal wasn't enough to beat our scrappy two goals.Maybe a draw would have been a fair result but as Rovers fans left the ground most were more happy with the result in a potentially tricky away fixture than how it was achieved.
Look at the remaining teams nthe cup for your gap between div. 1 and the premier.
PAts,Bohs,Rovers,Sligo,Bray and most likely Fingal(open to correction of course!!)while both Drogheda and Dundalk were knocked out by fellow prem. teams.Galway should also progress.
One swallow doesn't make a summer.
Model Club
29/08/2010, 1:10 PM
I'm going to come in here and defend LTFC.....the club officials and stewards did an excellent job you Rovers fans have to learn that your club now has a reputation even if it is a so called small minority of fans that cause trouble and your going to have to learn to live with the consequences.
AcornVilla is right your fans started signing during a minutes silence and thats just pure dirt on your fans behalf.....I was surprised with the amount of drunk supporters that got in the was a fella in the stand who was falling down the steps and the guards (who made a mess of the whole thing imo) seen him yet let him walk on despite him roaring abuse at them.
Like I said the guards made a mess of the thing and whenever they try to direct traffic hey make a pure blx of things people would be better off doing things themselves.
the reason the fans were let out at the same time was because their was a fence up seperating the fans and the guards were ready with dogs so well done to the club it was well done and I hope Rovers enjoy the rest of their away days.
"Excellent" maybe how you would describe your experience but then you were in the home end.Don't get me wrong it wasn't that bad,it just could have been better.By all accounts the gate didnt open until something like 30 mins before kick off-And one portaloo for 500 or so men is far from excellent.
If fans of any club are too drunk to enter the stadium then its up to the very same officials you are congratulating for a job well done to prevent them doing so.
Quick tip-Most football fans will drink on buses to away grounds.Surely the stewards who are searching for god knows what at the stiles can tell who has over-stepped the mark?
Model Club
29/08/2010, 1:55 PM
P.S. Acornvilla,
Don't kid yourself into thinking that was Rovers first team on friday.No Murray,Rice,Stewart all players playing their best football of the season.O'Nell also handed a debut to yoiung McGuinness while we were 2 up so its a tad unfair to say say what you did re Fenn.
Fenn was brought to the club rightly or wrongly because he fulfills the attributes needed by the manager while playing a particular system,ala the unfit Dessie Baker.
Oh and no need for "" in your last sentence.Top of the league is generally a good barometer as to who is best,second best etc......at a particular point in time.Should we are "best" come November when it matters remains to be seen!!
29/08/2010, 2:04 PM
Strange to be lectured on an away fans perspective on last night in Longford by someone who wasn't there!
I've been in Longford well over a dozen times at this stage I know the craic.
I'm well aware of the element Rovers bring with them aswell.
You'll never know if you will ever have big crowds in Limerick unless you do something about it
You know about as much about Limericks circumstances as a cat knows about his father.
You seem to think that if you had the same facility as SRFC you would have similar crowds
Where in the name of God do I say anything of the kind??
the right people in charge
Short Memories LOL
i have heard some of our own fans giving out about it with the usual suspects getting the blame.
There you have it lads. The usual suspects. As in repeat offenders. Would Rovers do anything about it??
Course not, it's the scumbag stewards "peering" that's causing all the hassle, shur the usual suspects are only having a laugh.
The count I was told was give or take 60/40 Rovers.This is not an estimate.
:bulgy:
passerrby
29/08/2010, 2:34 PM
But.....why are Derry,Cork,Bray,Athlone,Galway not offered similar tags.They are in similar positions to us with councils or assosiations owning the ground where they play.Even the glorious boys in green play on turf that doesn't belong to them.
Again,It doesn't bother me-I just feel sorry for people who have to bring it up at every available opportunity............and more.
For me renting is the future of sustainable football in Ireland.Owning Tolka or Dalymount hasn't exactly been a bed of roses for shels or bohs not to mention Drogheda.
As Ive said in another thread-"the Field" mentality.
i was not refering to you specifally but to most posters who like to pass poor comments after they have been away.
But i see you have done exactly as i said and not remarked on my substantive point about asking why is it that clubs feel it neccessary to obtain the services of bouncers when rovers come to town.
but you are right rovers have nothing to defend because they are renting a ground fair play to them and the best of luck,
Model Club
29/08/2010, 2:35 PM
But you wernt there the other night which is what the discussion is about.
As fo elements,Ive been to limerick on plenty of occasions myself.
I know as much about Limericks circumstances as you do about ours but it doesnt stop you stating anecdotal tales as facts.
"Where in the name of God do I say anything of the kind??"(from your good self.)
I can't speak for Athlone or Longford but I reckon if the council built a nice new ground and made it available to us for rent, we could get significantly higher crowds.
The rest of your post is childish heir splitting and what seems to be a call to others for help not to mention putting words in my mouth.
I am not just aware but proud that the right people had the balls and know-how to drag my club from its knees to it's present state so jibe all you want about the wrong people of 5 years ago-We got rid of them.It remains to be seen if other clubs supporters have the guile to do the same.I won't hold my breath with Limerick!
29/08/2010, 2:39 PM
P.S. Acornvilla,
Don't kid yourself into thinking that was Rovers first team on friday.No Murray,Rice,Stewart all players playing their best football of the season.O'Nell also handed a debut to yoiung McGuinness while we were 2 up so its a tad unfair to say say what you did re Fenn.
Fenn was brought to the club rightly or wrongly because he fulfills the attributes needed by the manager while playing a particular system,ala the unfit Dessie Baker.
Oh and no need for "" in your last sentence.Top of the league is generally a good barometer as to who is best,second best etc......at a particular point in time.Should we are "best" come November when it matters remains to be seen!!
I have neither the energy nor the inclination to get involved in this he said she said nonsense but it was a strong Rovers team, your manager in his interview after the game that he could easily pick that team if ye were playing Bohs. We were missing plenty of players too including those on loan from Rovers. Michael O'Neill and Trevor Croly were very ****ed off with yer display and felt ye were "very fortunate" to win the game. Let us be happy with our display, ye be happy with your win and let's all get on with the rest of the season.
celticV3
29/08/2010, 3:12 PM
I won't hazard a guess at what it will be, but whatever it is that comes along and knocks a sense of reality into shams fans will be a momentous occasion.
Model Club
29/08/2010, 3:13 PM
i was not refering to you specifally but to most posters who like to pass poor comments after they have been away.
But i see you have done exactly as i said and not remarked on my substantive point about asking why is it that clubs feel it neccessary to obtain the services of bouncers when rovers come to town.
but you are right rovers have nothing to defend because they are renting a ground fair play to them and the best of luck,
Apologies if I missed something in your original post......Its been a busy day or so!!
But I can't accept resonsibitily for other posters on this or any forum simply because they support the same club as me.
As you now seem to be aiming that question at me I can answer what you probably already know but want to hear my perspective?
I'd imagine clubs employ bouncers/stewards for all clubs but more for clubs with a larger away following.
In general the stewarding in this league is amateur to say the least and this is reflected in so many incidents I have witnessed over the years-Incidents that should and could have been avoided.In Scotland,England stewards are trained and briefed on the day ahead of them-Here they are thrown a bib and carte blanch to do as they please.In England etc stewards are more like ushers in a cinema but here they don a bib and think they can throw their weight around.
Certain clubs take a low-key approach and imo this is the correct approach.
Some fixtures bring out the worst in certain clubs when Rovers are involved.Dundalk esp comes to mind with a combination of our nuts,their own nuts not to mention the locals who only come for the inevitable confrontation.
These clowns then mean that extra gardai,stewards have to be employeed thus sending the fixture down the tubes as an event.Its fair to say if Rovers didn't have the "element" they have that these tactics wouldn't be employed and we could all live happily ever after but it just isnt that simple because as a Rovers fan I can just as easily argue that if Dundalk(in this example)didn't have their own element then the same goal could be achieved.
I'm not going to come on here and say that Rovers have 100% friendly,fun loving supporters but we sure dont have the "element" some on here in their infinate wisdom say we do-I genuinely believe that 99% of Rovers fans dont look for trouble at games.Thats not to say that we dont have more who will jump in to a row for whatever reason-Most of these regret it after and chalk it up to spur of the moment mis-judgements or drink,usually both.
I've seen blokes who wouldnt sat boo to a goose on the other 6 days of the week turn into headcases on away trips.These guys arn't hooligans or casuals just ****ed up football fans who drank too much.
Its well and good people on here and elsewhere tarrring Rovers fans with one brush with their,with all due respect ,****ty away following.Its much easier to coral 10-50 away supporters than the large sometimes 1000 strong we can bring to grounds-Especoally with some of the older less fan friendly stadiums.
So I guess stewards are em/deployed when we're in town because of primarily the size of the support and secondly because of our "reputation".
I just dont think high visible policing/stewarding serves anyextra purpose that a low key approach would-In fact sometimes it gives opportunity to create an issue when there shouldn't be one in the first place.
Model Club
29/08/2010, 3:28 PM
I have neither the energy nor the inclination to get involved in this he said she said nonsense but it was a strong Rovers team, your manager in his interview after the game that he could easily pick that team if ye were playing Bohs. We were missing plenty of players too including those on loan from Rovers. Michael O'Neill and Trevor Croly were very ****ed off with yer display and felt ye were "very fortunate" to win the game. Let us be happy with our display, ye be happy with your win and let's all get on with the rest of the season.
I have given credit where its due to Longford for their gutsy display but I won't have an outsider tell me what our first team is.I see them every week,I know what his first choice team is.
Of course it was a strong team-It was an away fixture with a quarter final of the FAI cup at stake.Most of the players involved have played a huge part in our season both domestically and in the Europa league.
I am also aware that you were missing players but I wouldn't feel comfartable pointing that out to a longford fan -Just as the previous poster shouldn't have pointed a mis-truth for me to correct.
FWIW I,m glad you enjoyed your night.How are these selling in your club shop
http://i37.tinypic.com/2gxnx38.jpg
29/08/2010, 5:13 PM
Like the proverbial hot cakes, bought two myself just in case one needs to be washed some time. Unlikely.
29/08/2010, 7:11 PM
I've been in Longford well over a dozen times at this stage I know the craic.
Short Memories LOL
Remind us all again Liam please about that day you were in Longford this season........................? Pot kettle black, maybe?;)
http://foot.ie/threads/136038-Limerick-FC-Vs-Longford-Town-29-5-10-(LOI-Div-1)(Away-Flancare-Park)/page2
29/08/2010, 10:56 PM
Having a chat about the FAI Cup here bennocelt, serious bizness
Still though, following people around t'internet :rolleyes: :bulgy:
EDIT: Nah in fairness, I took my medicine for my own various reasons and didn't once even try to blame Longford Town. ;)
29/08/2010, 11:07 PM
As fo elements,Ive been to limerick on plenty of occasions myself.
"Where in the name of God do I say anything of the kind??"(from your good self.)
I can't speak for Athlone or Longford but I reckon if the council built a nice new ground and made it available to us for rent, we could get significantly higher crowds.
You realise how me saying Limerick would get significantly highers crowds is not the same as me saying they would get similar crowds to Rovers don't you??
It's not even up for debate, anyone who has been to Jackman Park would agree.
The rest of your post is childish heir splitting
What's childish is people whinging about stewards "eyeballing" and "peering" at them instead of complaining about their own scum.
Larry Murphy songs or a "peering" steward, I know what would offend me more.
I am not just aware but proud that the right people had the balls and know-how to drag my club from its knees to it's present state so jibe all you want about the wrong people of 5 years ago-We got rid of them.It remains to be seen if other clubs supporters have the guile to do the same.
http://www.xxlmag.com/online/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/chuck-d-public-enemy.jpg
Chuck D Don't Believe This Hype.
I won't hold my breath with Limerick
Childish jibes, blah, blah, etc.
29/08/2010, 11:11 PM
http://i37.tinypic.com/2gxnx38.jpg
That's FANTASTIC.
Is he running from the Mental Health people :D
29/08/2010, 11:52 PM
If that's real (I think it must be?) I have an inkling as to who it might be and unlikely as it sounds they would have pretty genuine connections to both LTFC and Rovers. Never thought I'd see such a jersey mind you.
That's not what the unedited post said ;)
bullit
30/08/2010, 12:15 AM
That's FANTASTIC.
Is he running from the Mental Health people :D
He"s running from both sets of supporters!!
Model Club
30/08/2010, 12:23 AM
You realise how me saying Limerick would get significantly highers crowds is not the same as me saying they would get similar crowds to Rovers don't you??
It's not even up for debate, anyone who has been to Jackman Park would agree.
What's childish is people whinging about stewards "eyeballing" and "peering" at them instead of complaining about their own scum.
Larry Murphy songs or a "peering" steward, I know what would offend me more.
http://www.xxlmag.com/online/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/chuck-d-public-enemy.jpg
Chuck D Don't Believe This Hype.
Childish jibes, blah, blah, etc.
Smilys don't constitute a defence of an arguement-more a capitulation.
You can search my many posts on this topic and you won't find "eyeballing" or "peering" typed by me.
If you are upset by a song albeit sang in massive bad taste then you must be very thin skinned-but I suspect you are feigning being offended for the sake of your argument.
Again spitting heirs.Whats would the point in Limerick building a state of the art facility for local football fans if you dont at least aim to have the crowds we have over the last eighteen months.If a club thinks small time thats all it will ever be.
No-ones asking you to believe anything.You might be lucky enough to experience the "hype" i do every fortnight in person,most likely in a cup competition as the childish jibe you counter-accuse me of is actually my opinion that I dont think the people of Limerick have the appetite or desire to compete in the premier div.for the next 10 years at the very least.
bluewhitearmy
30/08/2010, 12:32 AM
Smilys don't constitute a defence of an arguement-more a capitulation.
You can search my many posts on this topic and you won't find "eyeballing" or "peering" typed by me.
If you are upset by a song albeit sang in massive bad taste then you must be very thin skinned-but I suspect you are feigning being offended for the sake of your argument.
Again spitting heirs.Whats would the point in Limerick building a state of the art facility for local football fans if you dont at least aim to have the crowds we have over the last eighteen months.If a club thinks small time thats all it will ever be.
No-ones asking you to believe anything.You might be lucky enough to experience the "hype" i do every fortnight in person,most likely in a cup competition as the childish jibe you counter-accuse me of is actually my opinion that I dont think the people of Limerick have the appetite or desire to compete in the premier div.for the next 10 years at the very least.
Of course not we support or team in the hope we can stay in the 1st div forever. What a ridiculously stupid thing to say.
30/08/2010, 6:32 AM
Still though, following people around t'internet :rolleyes:
EDIT: Nah in fairness, I took my medicine for my own various reasons and didn't once even try to blame Longford Town. ;)
Not getting at you Lim but I was at that game, you were mad and agressive and were lucky you were playing the mild mannered midlanders, and not say............oh Shamrock rovers!!!!:D
monsexile
30/08/2010, 7:49 AM
When is the draw?
30/08/2010, 8:17 AM
Tonight on mns I believe. How much nervous excitement can one woman endure?!
salthill -v- gufc replay tonight at 8pm in the drom.
30/08/2010, 10:05 AM
salthill -v- gufc replay tonight at 8pm in the drom.
I think you'll find they need the drom in RTÉ to make the draw.
Model Club
30/08/2010, 3:17 PM
Of course not we support or team in the hope we can stay in the 1st div forever. What a ridiculously stupid thing to say.
Please read my post properly before making a rash judgement of my opinion!
I said I didn't think the people of Limerick have the appetite not LFC fans.Thats the same people of Limerick who refuse to support their local team but will fly to Toulouse for the rugby at the drop of a hat in case they "miss the craic".
Just to clarify these people,as we all know exist in every town/village/suburb of the country and I'm not having a go at Limerick specifically-But my point still remains that the people of Limerick arn't interested in getting in at the start of something but of course will come out of the wooodwork should some success come your way-This is my broad opinion compared to the specific one tht I was discussing with LTID.
That you believed I held the view that "we support or team in the hope we can stay in the 1st div forever" is truly ridiculous!
If that's real (I think it must be?) I have an inkling as to who it might be and unlikely as it sounds they would have pretty genuine connections to both LTFC and Rovers. Never thought I'd see such a jersey mind you.
It's real anyway, seen it on MNS right at the start.
Fester
30/08/2010, 8:08 PM
Relay Latest
Limerick 0 v 0 Sporting Fingal (limerick down to 10 men)
Salthill 0 v 1 Galway United '16 Conneely
Buller
30/08/2010, 8:17 PM
Galway are 2 nil up now, King '61.
http://www.extratime.ie/liveupdate/
Fester
30/08/2010, 9:16 PM
Salthill 1 v 3 Galway United FT
Limerick 0 v 0 Sporting in ET (limerick down to 10 since 50 min)
Paddyfield
30/08/2010, 9:51 PM
Sporting Fingers won 4 -3 on penos AET
30/08/2010, 10:13 PM
A really good game, a really good atmosphere, and for 120 minutes, a great performance from Limerick against Fingal. I was proud of every player tonight, they gave everything they had. Shane Clarke could have won it, but couldn't keep his shot on target after John Tierney had hit the crossbar. Ronan Finn missed a great chance for Fingal too.
Timmy Kiely and Sean Kelly missed our penalties, while Fingal scored all four.
It may be a blessing in disguise, because for the first time in a few years, Limerick have a real chance of promotion, and we didn't need an extra game or two in the cup. We certainly didn't need an extra 30 minutes tonight, we had a few walking wounded at the end of it.
30/08/2010, 10:25 PM
A really good game, a really good atmosphere, and for 120 minutes, a great performance from Limerick against Fingal. I was proud of every player tonight, they gave everything they had. Shane Clarke could have won it, but couldn't keep his shot on target after John Tierney had hit the crossbar. Ronan Finn missed a great chance for Fingal too.
Timmy Kiely and Sean Kelly missed our penalties, while Fingal scored all four.
It may be a blessing in disguise, because for the first time in a few years, Limerick have a real chance of promotion, and we didn't need an extra game or two in the cup. We certainly didn't need an extra 30 minutes tonight, we had a few walking wounded at the end of it.
I'll echo pretty much everything you said. Very proud of Limerick tonight. Fought right till the end even with 10 men. Outstanding composure throughout.
ped_ped
30/08/2010, 11:18 PM
If we churned out performances like that every week we'd be comfortably top of the league. Kiely, Purcell and Tierney were all immense, but the entire team was amazing.
Excellent exhibition of penalty-taking at the end, too.
While I would've like to have won it, I guess it is better not to be ****ing around with cup ties at the business end of a tight league season.