View Full Version : Shane Ferguson

Pages : 1 [2] 3

29/08/2010, 8:14 PM
I'm arguing it (no more fussily than you) because I think playing international football for one country should prevent you then playing for another. Quite simple really.

Simple but foolish
Playing international football does bind a player, if it is at competitive level. It just so happens that dual nationals have a choice until they are capped at senior competitive level.
Your opinion has been noted about 500 times already. Quite frankly it appears that it is a rigid dogma, cocooned from life.
It just so happens that choice has been in the rules since the dawn of international football and pretty much every international sport has rules allowing dual national to choose which country they want to represent even after they have represented one at youth level.

Gather round
29/08/2010, 8:27 PM
Simple but foolish

Evening to you too, Ice boy.

Your opinion has been noted about 500 times already. Quite frankly it appears that it is a rigid dogma, cocooned from life

If you're bored by my repeated opinion, ignore it. Better still, don't post your own ponderous self-importance ten times as often. Any more hot air and your igloo might melt.

It just so happens that choice has been in the rules since the dawn of international football and pretty much every international sport has rules allowing dual national to choose which country they want to represent even after they have represented one at youth level

I know. Have a biscuit.

ArdeeBhoy
29/08/2010, 8:58 PM
On the current Eligibility thread, you've posted 192 times, in almost every case just wittering inanely about paranoia, planters, anecdotage which you've made up or imagined and rank-pulling based on your claimed expertise. Why don't you just get a room with FHTB and shout at each other?
Except that's just your 'opinion'. And of the unionist mindset that automatically and arrogantly thinks it's always right.
Besides the Hypocrisy of those criticisms, which read like yer cv on here. As for 'Fenian Hater, True Bigot' he just is a more concentrated version of the same paranoid drivel.

No, I'm saying that the large majority of the Republic of Ireland's internationals from outside the country are likely to be from England, as they are now.
Actually you didn't say that at all. You need to get yer folks to sue the Brits!

It's not in the least pompous to disagree with FIFA and UEFA, as the FAI and a large proportion of your fans were doing hysterically at the end of last year and since.
Except we've moved on. Karma intervened!
And we have your continual paranoia to laugh at. ;)

Aye, O'Fee and Adams will do as your inspirations, I suppose.
Huh? Did you go to the same school as yer man above, who no-one else understands either....

I think other readers know well enough, actually.
More pompous claptrap.

I, like all my contemporaries learned about it at. Kids nowadays will see it covered in the media regularly. It doesn't really even contradict any ideology, merely acknowledging that there have long been both unionists and nationalists, or similar earlier groups.
More pointless waffle. See posts passim.

DannyInvincible
29/08/2010, 9:12 PM
Unlike Northern Ireland, as one can only play for the RoI with Irish citizenship, it'd be pretty difficult to expect those who don't want to make a political statement to do so.

Hypocritical much? Maybe even a bit presumptious. Playing for Northern Ireland is as much an expression of one's British/Northern Irish identity/nationality as playing for Ireland is an expression of one's Irish identity/nationality. Due to the nature of international football - played between, you know, like, political entities ;) - playing with an international football team will inevitably be an inherently politico-cultural expression of some sort. Such expressions need not be inherently "bad" either - in fact, I think it's a good thing that the identity rights of northern-born Irish nationals are respected - so no need to attach a stigma to anything here. Now, tell me this, my good fellow; being a Donegal man and all yourself, what was it that got you supporting Northern Ireland? The silky skills, was it?

Also would threaten the FAI's pretence that all they do is wait beside a phone, as Jonny Evans' public statements proved. Nah, better to concentrate on the young nationalists, now where's my big book of Catholic-sounding names?

You do see what you just did there, don't you?

No idea what the rest of your post is about...

backstothewall
29/08/2010, 11:51 PM
Just to clear something up before the nigh on certain closure of this thread, I was talking in general terms GR, rather than specifically about Ferguson. Although I see no reason at all why we shouldn't still call him up, I would consider it unlikely he would accept our invitation at this stage.

Generally I would love to see us have a few Ulster unionists in the squad. But I doubt Ferguson will ever pull on a shirt for the FAI at this stage. Having already played for the senior NI team, friendly or not, it would be a world of bother to change at this stage. And as you quite rightly allude to, if he was to make the change he would be behind Duff, McGeady, Treacy, Hunt and Wesley Hoolahan (a half-baked name if ever I heard one). In fact the only way he would be likely to get called up to our squad would be in the event of some serious contagious disease effecting every Southpaw in Ireland except him and Andy Reid.

30/08/2010, 7:40 AM
Is fhtb a moderator on owc?

Gather round
30/08/2010, 7:55 AM
Except that's just your 'opinion'

Not just, is it? It's a fact that you posted 192 times on that thread, with 178 more nuggets in the one that started on 19 November last. It's a fact that the paranoid planter keywords pop up in most of them.

And of the unionist mindset that automatically and arrogantly thinks it's always right

Don't be like that, self-pitying mopery is so last year. Anyway, if I was that automatically arrogant, would I really post on a message board where many are likely to disagree with me?

You need to get yer folks to sue the Brits!

Surely you're more likely to sue? I mean, after being forced to live in this country (ie, Britain) for so many decades against your will?

Huh? Did you go to the same school as yer man above, who no-one else understands either....

Ha ha. As I went to school in Belfast and FHTB in (I assume) Donegal or Derry, almost certainly not. Although you and he might have crossed during your brief time at primary in Tyrone.

More pompous claptrap...pointless waffle

If my replies to your ramblings bore you, ignore them and better still don't invite them in the first place?

Actually you didn't say that at all

As my good friend Nanook at the North Pole says up the page, I do occasionally repeat myself. Specifically,

Northern Ireland probably isn't the best/ biggest source of players from outside the country: there are likely to be more in England, unlikely to play for them and thus less likely to cause a fuss if they declare for the South

England will remain your largest source of players from outside the Republic largely because it's about 30 times more populous than NI

No, I'm saying that the large majority of the Republic of Ireland's internationals from outside the country are likely to be from England, as they are now. Do try and read what others post before you go off on one?

Just to clear something up before the nigh on certain closure of this thread

Oh, I don't know. It won't necessarily storm to 50 pages like some others. Ferguson is a 19 year old Premiership reserve; I doubt he'll have established in either club or national side before this one peters out.

I was talking in general terms GR, rather than specifically about Ferguson

Understood, so was I.

Although I see no reason at all why we shouldn't still call him up

I've given you a few above. He's already an adult and a full international; you'd be unnecessarily prologing a spat, someone else not in your squad as a result might be more deserving of a place?

Generally I would love to see us have a few Ulster unionists in the squad

Can't see more than the very occasional one-off like Kernaghan. But in principle, why not? There'd be plenty of Englishmen and Scots to keep him company, maybe the occasional Brazilian or German in future?

Wesley Hoolahan (a half-baked name if ever I heard one)

Steady on. I've both a brother and uncle called Wesley.

Yes.

30/08/2010, 8:01 AM
Keep up the good work lads. This thread will be bigger than the eligibility thread in no time!

fhtb
30/08/2010, 9:47 AM
This is the same guy who still fails to grasp the fairly basic concept of nationality/citizenship and what that entails.That'd be the same basic concept that doesn't allow you to vote there? Citizenship for the RoI is a twee way of pretending it's something it's not, without reality taking a hit

John DelaneyThe guy who insisted he had some kind of duty to select Northern Irishmen, 'especially northern nationalists'? Sure he's probably using the same big book of surnames you bunch of amateur profilers gather round

Regarding Jonny Evans' supposed 'public statements', can you tell us more about that, Google it, although I'd question what the point is in you doing so given you'd merely be doing so to justify your own wilful naivety on how the RoI operate at present.

30/08/2010, 10:29 AM
Evening to you too, Ice boy.
If you're bored by my repeated opinion, ignore it. Better still, don't post your own ponderous self-importance ten times as often. Any more hot air and your igloo might melt.
If you persist in posting your opinion on all things eligibility related here, then you should be man enough to take a retort, never mind the immature, bizarre and unrelated references.

30/08/2010, 10:32 AM
That'd be the same basic concept that doesn't allow you to vote there? Citizenship for the RoI is a twee way of pretending it's something it's not, without reality taking a hit

"15. 1. Any person holding a permanent nationality that is not dependent on residence in a certain country is eligible to play for the representative teams of the Association of that country."

No mention of voting rights or citizenship. So what's your point?

The guy who insisted he had some kind of duty to select Northern Irishmen, 'especially northern nationalists'?

Link?

Sure he's probably using the same big book of surnames you bunch of amateur profilers gather round

Is that an insult directed at Gather round?

Google it,

Can't find anything. Please provide the link.

although I'd question what the point is in you doing so given you'd merely be doing so to justify your own wilful naivety on how the RoI operate at present.

How do the ROI operate at present?

30/08/2010, 10:33 AM
Google it, although I'd question what the point is in you doing so given you'd merely be doing so to justify your own wilful naivety on how the RoI operate at present. Look, I haven't all day here. I googled "jonny evans" + "fai" + "republic of ireland" and drew an absolute blank in relation to what your coat-trailing. If there's a story spit it out will ya.

30/08/2010, 10:39 AM
That'd be the same basic concept that doesn't allow you to vote there? Citizenship for the RoI is a twee way of pretending it's something it's not, without reality taking a hit
Clive or Andrew, whatever your name is, we already have had these discussions about nationality, citizenship, eligibility from a thousand different angles. It appears that you have missed all these, managed to avoid all learning and just about kept your knowledge level high enough to give expression to a sustained level of cluelessness.

30/08/2010, 10:58 AM
so, the long and the short of it is
He's still eligible to be called up for the FAI, despite playing a friendly for the North, but we don't really want to kick that particular hornet's nest.

Now can we lock the thread before it goes completely off the rails

boovidge
30/08/2010, 12:02 PM
so, the long and the short of it is
He's still eligible to be called up for the FAI, despite playing a friendly for the North, but we don't really want to kick that particular hornet's nest.

Now can we lock the thread before it goes completely off the rails

before?

fhtb
30/08/2010, 12:47 PM
but we don't really want to kick that particular hornet's nest.
if only that were true

30/08/2010, 1:07 PM
if only that were true

Link?

ArdeeBhoy
30/08/2010, 9:23 PM
It's a fact that you posted 192 times on that thread, with 178 more nuggets in the one that started on 19 November last. It's a fact that the paranoid planter keywords pop up in most of them.
Only in your own imagined narrow little world. ;)

You'll find far more use of your mates' "B" word than any "P" equivalent.

Anyway, if I was that automatically arrogant, would I really post on a message board where many are likely to disagree with me?
Yes, to quote yourself, "It's a good laugh to wind-up a few of your more sensitive fans". Ho hos indeed.
Especially after unfunny attempt, part 1690.

Yourself, Fenian Hater and Ealing (Not Really) Green have contributed so much to this debate, not.

Surely you're more likely to sue? I mean, after being forced to live in this country (ie, Britain) for so many decades against your will?
Factual inaccuracies besides, surely you should be more bothered about not being able to master the basics of literacy or arithmetic, despite an expensive education at the expense of the Brit.taxpayer? Still more fool them.

If my replies to your ramblings bore you, ignore them and better still don't invite them in the first place?
More pompous nonsense.
If you talk sh*t as identified by numerous posters, then people are bound to highlight its many inadequacies, if only to hopefully diminish its likelihood in the future?

'Irritating dullard' was the phrase used by one of my compatriots to describe your good self on ano. MB. Which seems pretty apt on this topic.

backstothewall
30/08/2010, 9:55 PM
Steady on. I've both a brother and uncle called Wesley.

Forgive me, Just a tongue in cheek reference to the absurdity of the profiling by name that everyone in the country does. Though I'm willing to bet that neither your uncle or brother are called Hoolahan.*

Can't agree that we would be carrying on any spat though. The spat is over. FIFA and CAS made their ruling, and there is nothing more to be said. We can call up anyone born in Ireland who hasn't played a competitive international for someone else. I know there might be a bit of wringing of hands by elements in the North, but all doubt about the legality has been removed, and as a result no one in the outside world cares any more.

Anyway, I'm saying no more about any subject that isn't Shane Ferguson on this thread. If anyone wants to pick me up on anything I've said I'll take you on in the eligibility thread!

* I am fully aware of the rank hypocrisy of those two statements back to back.

DannyInvincible
30/08/2010, 9:58 PM

Jesus wept... Still harping on with that line, are we? You should try and keep up. It's embarrassing for yourself and your buddies that this is how far the level of debate has progressed in your little corner of the internet regarding the whole eligibility issue since about 2006 - around the time Darron Gibson first started making headlines, or whenever it was that the IFA and NI fans suddenly started to care about northern-born Irish nationals playing with the FAI - even a month after CAS have delivered their final blow to the IFA's inexplicable appeal and a full eleven years after Jim Boyce expressly acknowledged the FAI's right to call up northern-born Irish nationals.

You make a fool of yourself every time you bang on about what you do and don't think citizenship means within the parameters of your stuck-in-the-mud, narrow-minded world-view, so it's probably high time you gave it a rest once and for all. It's tiresome having to repeat all this stuff to yourself and 'EalingGreen' every time you decide to show yourselves up on here. Since when was an absolute right to vote ever a universal standard or essential element of the concept of citizenship? At its most basic, citizenship is simply the state of being a member of a particular nation. If you're in search of something of substance beyond Irish citizenship legally entitling you to officially identify yourself as Irish, it accords you the right to possess an Irish passport, along with the various rights that come by virtue of possessing such a document, and affords you the protection of the Irish state (obviously in so far as is practically possible). So long as you reside within the state, it also accords you a right to vote in all elections.

Ireland is not unique in that it doesn't accord all its citizens electoral rights extra-territorially. Certainly, some states have established broad systems by which most citizens living outside the state who satisfy certain criteria can cast a postal vote in that state's elections, but whether or not such a right exists has no bearing on their official status as citizens of whatever state is offering them such a right. In Ireland, the right to vote generally relies on both possessing Irish citizenship and a residence within the state, although, under certain circumstances and within certain types of elections, I believe that some non-citizens can also vote if they are resident in the state. I have a feeling this right is limited to local elections only, however.

In fact, to the best of my knowledge and for whatever it's worth to you and this debate, Northern Ireland, like Ireland, has no system in place either by which citizens can cast an electoral vote from a territory outside the jurisdiction. I'm open to correction on this specifically, but I believe that the remainder of the UK only introduced the postal vote from outside the state in 2001 for citizens who had resided within the UK's jurisdiction (barring NI, presumably) within the 15 years previous to their residence outside the state. However, I'm sure you wouldn't question the official status of UK citizens living outside of the UK before 2001, nor would you question the status of a UK citizen living outside the UK for a period of longer than 15 years. This also might sound a bit difficult for you to comprehend, but it is customary and entirely reasonable that a state has the right to decide who its own nationals are and what rights these citizens ought to be afforded. And seeing as the international community has absolutely no issue whatsoever with the nature of Irish nationality law - lest you forget (again), the UK government and electorate in Northern Ireland even formally and expressly accepted its extra-territorial nature over a decade ago, and overwhelmingly so, I might add - so your persistent gripe with the nature of Irish nationality law makes you look like a complete Neanderthal. Your repeated dismissal and mockery of Irish citizenship is highly ignorant and betrays your own out-moded and prejudiced views. One might even take offence if you were a character worth taking just the remotest bit seriously.

The guy who insisted he had some kind of duty to select Northern Irishmen, 'especially northern nationalists'?

Duty? What on earth are you talking about? I'd be stunned if you didn't just make that quote up.

Sure he's probably using the same big book of surnames you bunch of amateur profilers gather round

He must have mistakenly skipped to the wrong chapter then when he came across "Evans" and reached for the phone... :rolleyes:

Google it, although I'd question what the point is in you doing so given you'd merely be doing so to justify your own wilful naivety on how the RoI operate at present.

No, the burden of proof lies with you, so how about you Google it and produce the evidence required to back up your loose claims?

How such a guy was ever given the responsibility of moderating an online forum is one of life's great mysteries. Or maybe not, considering the content of that place specifically...

ArdeeBhoy
30/08/2010, 10:03 PM
His 'moderation' is such that he makes IKP seem reasonable....
He's not the greatest believer in 'freedom of speech', which is possibly a tad ironic?

And the continued reference to Google probably refers to a fundamental lack of knowledge on a topic he loves so much. ;)

Sullivinho
30/08/2010, 10:15 PM
Four pages. The lad must be one hell of a prospect! ;)

Predator
30/08/2010, 11:10 PM
if only that were trueYou truly are delusional.

If any of you are bored enough and have nothing better to do, here is a link to a thread on OWC (http://ourweecountry.ipbhost.com/index.php?s=&showtopic=29625&view=findpost&p=670604) dealing with the topic of 'trolls', that you may find interesting to read. Remarkably, I've been singled out by many posters for ostracism and links to this thread have been provided by none other than this charming 'fhtb' chap himself (a supposedly even-handed moderator, no less), whose ill-informed ranting has some of the posters over there up in arms about the mere discussion of players who are eligible to play for Ireland. Take this quote from 'fhtb' for instance:

for those interested, Predator likes to discuss a player's religion openly on a team 33 forum with a few of their supporters who favour a more 'ethnic' composition to their national side. I'm not sure how comfortable the rest of their support is with it - the original guy who started their equivalent eligibility thread was against the idea of poaching - but it's an ugly manifestation of what the FIFA/CAS ruling means in practice.

What we feared - that active players in our national sides become the targets of endless speculation on 'what foot they kick with' - is happening over on foot.ie. No doubt an accurate barometer of similar conversations that take place within FAI circles in general.

Shame on them. Interestingly, the thread was promptly closed following 'fhtb''s contribution, so I could not rebuke his post that was so deliberately laced with lies. No doubt it was an attempt to stir the OWC faithful into a frenzy and 'turn them' against me, so to speak (not that my alternate view of FIFA's statutes has gained me many allies).
So, from fairly reasonable discussion (with some harmless gags) about Shane Ferguson in response to an enquiry from the thread starter, 'fhtb', with his clarity and righteousness, has seen me 'openly' discuss a player's religion (where did I do so, fhtb?) and we're all in favour of a 'more ethnic composition' in our national side. I wasn't aware of that, so thanks for enlightening us, fhtb.

His actual gripe, that being that one might query a player's background, actually occurs most often, in my experience, on OWC (perhaps Gather round can confirm that such speculation does take place on OWC?). So, no doubt yes, this particular messageboard's speculation and profiling is obviously going to be an accurate indication of how FAI coaches select their sides; ability is secondary, apparently. We are working for the FAI in their secret bid to sectarianise football in Ireland, after all. When you sign up for foot.ie, you get a free child-catching net and manual, complete with a list of Catholic-sounding names (whatever that means).

It would be nice if fhtb actually engaged his critics on here, instead of popping up, ranting and raving about things that he does not understand (FIFA's Statutes and voting rights in Ireland, to name a couple), then disappearing, to spread his delusional viewpoint.

30/08/2010, 11:56 PM
team 33
Jesus Christ.

It's good to know that we are actually in control of the FAI's scouting policy.

ArdeeBhoy
31/08/2010, 12:47 AM
The guy who insisted he had some kind of duty to select Northern Irishmen, 'especially northern nationalists'? Sure he's probably using the same big book of surnames you bunch of amateur profilers gather round

Except the FAI can select anyone on the island, unless they have a competitive cap for another team? Are people really so dumb they don't grasp the CAS ruling??

As for your colleague, he seems to have as little understanding as your 'contribution' shows.

Gather round
31/08/2010, 9:19 AM
we don't really want to kick that particular hornet's nest

You and I don't. Others seem less worried by a sting?

Forgive me, Just a tongue in cheek reference to the absurdity of the profiling by name that everyone in the country does. Though I'm willing to bet that neither your uncle or brother are called Hoolahan

None taken. Both brother and uncle have (different) lowland Scottish names, although I remember when a student in Dublin being asked by a guy called Bill Vaughan (lecturer in history) if I was a Catholic. Purely on account of the name.

Can't agree that we would be carrying on any spat though. The spat is over..I know there might be a bit of wringing of hands by elements in the North, but all doubt about the legality has been removed, and as a result no one in the outside world cares any more

Indeed, I was thinking of bad feeling from NI fans and the IFA rather than any further legal challenges. I doubt anyone outside Ireland really cares/ cared that much in the first place. Let's be honest, apart from a few British tabloid hacks no-one outside Ireland was that bothered about Henry's handball.

Four pages. The lad must be one hell of a prospect!

Ha ha.At first sight, he's little chance of a competitive cap at the moment, but Chris 'Sleeping' Brunt is so lazy you never know.

His actual gripe, that being that one might query a player's background, actually occurs most often, in my experience, on OWC (perhaps Gather round can confirm that such speculation does take place on OWC?

People do speculate, yes. Personally, I'd prefer if we continued to pick any/ all eligible players at the appropriate level (ie if they're a 17 year old trainee even in the English Prem, the u-19s rather than full side) while arguing a deal with the FAI so that an adult cap ties a player.

you should be more bothered about not being able to master the basics of literacy or arithmetic, despite an expensive education at the expense of the Brit.taxpayer? Still more fool them

Temper temper. I'm quite comfortable with my literacy and artihmetic thanks, and grateful for my education. Even if it doesn't match your lengthy roster of qualifications and erudition on the internet.

irishfan86
31/08/2010, 9:40 AM
Let's be honest, apart from a few British tabloid hacks no-one outside Ireland was that bothered about Henry's handball.

I don't know if this is sarcasm or not, but a Greek guy saw me wearing an Ireland top in a pub the other day and wouldn't shut up about it for hours.

31/08/2010, 9:46 AM
Indeed, I was thinking of bad feeling from NI fans and the IFA rather than any further legal challenges. I doubt anyone outside Ireland really cares/ cared that much in the first place. Let's be honest, apart from a few British tabloid hacks no-one outside Ireland was that bothered about Henry's handball.

While we're being honest there's no harm in mentioning that Henry's handball was headline news in the national press where I live. I'm sure the French press had something to say about it as well. Indeed I think it's fair to say that Henry's handball made headline news across Europe. But other than that you might be correct in your assertion.

People do speculate, yes. Personally, I'd prefer if we continued to pick any/ all eligible players at the appropriate level (ie if they're a 17 year old trainee even in the English Prem, the u-19s rather than full side) while arguing a deal with the FAI so that an adult cap ties a player.

Why would the FAI want to broker a deal with the IFA on this matter?

ArdeeBhoy
31/08/2010, 9:53 AM
Let's be honest, apart from a few British tabloid hacks no-one outside Ireland was that bothered about Henry's handball.
Presuming you're capable, read other fora postings around the time. Most were in sympathy of Ireland being cheated.
Even many French people on the night were so.

I'm quite comfortable with my literacy and artihmetic thanks, and grateful for my education. Even if it doesn't match your lengthy roster of qualifications and erudition on the internet.
Hmm, you can't even spell "arithmetic". Case closed.

31/08/2010, 12:24 PM
While we're being honest there's no harm in mentioning that Henry's handball was headline news in the national press where I live. I'm sure the French press had something to say about it as well. Indeed I think it's fair to say that Henry's handball made headline news across Europe. But other than that you might be correct in your assertion.
Swedish referee, wasn't it?

Gather round
31/08/2010, 12:29 PM
I don't know if this is sarcasm or not, but a Greek guy saw me wearing an Ireland top in a pub the other day and wouldn't shut up about it for hours

Indeed I think it's fair to say that Henry's handball made headline news across Europe. But other than that you might be correct in your assertion

No sarcasm intended. I was merely suggesting that what seems crucial to you or I might be trivial elsewhere in the World.

Correct me if wrong, but the Greek and Swedish media didn't have it as running story for weeks, didn't feature sundry coaches, players, foreign ministers nor their equivalent of Bonehead (Vangelis? The lead singer from Abba?) calling for replays and extra teams in the finals etc. etc. So not that bothered by comparison.

Why would the FAI want to broker a deal with the IFA on this matter?

The onus is clearly on the IFA if the FAI are happy with the situation. While I think the IFA and many fans have been a bit hysterical about all this, and we'll still likely field plenty of players from nationalist areas in our teams, it does seem likely that we will be weakened. Whereas the FAI's advantage from two or three extra players in any given squad is relatively less. They might see the advantage in making a generous gesture, which costs little and doesn't actually prevent any player from Andytown to Ztrabane from playing for the Republic. Even if, say, he's already turned out for NI U-17s. The FAI might also see the benefit of co-operation in the future. If, for example, they want the IFA's support or vote to get a big game or tournament in Dublin.

31/08/2010, 12:48 PM
Where is EG?

31/08/2010, 1:13 PM
Correct me if wrong, but the Greek and Swedish media didn't have it as running story for weeks, didn't feature sundry coaches, players, foreign ministers nor their equivalent of Bonehead (Vangelis? The lead singer from Abba?) calling for replays and extra teams in the finals etc. etc.

Corrected.

So not that bothered by comparison.

You sound like Raymond Kennedy.

The onus is clearly on the IFA if the FAI are happy with the situation. While I think the IFA and many fans have been a bit hysterical about all this, and we'll still likely field plenty of players from nationalist areas in our teams, it does seem likely that we will be weakened. Whereas the FAI's advantage from two or three extra players in any given squad is relatively less. They might see the advantage in making a generous gesture, which costs little and doesn't actually prevent any player from Andytown to Ztrabane from playing for the Republic. Even if, say, he's already turned out for NI U-17s. The FAI might also see the benefit of co-operation in the future. If, for example, they want the IFA's support or vote to get a big game or tournament in Dublin.

Once bitten, twice shy. The FAI made a generous gesture in 1999 which it continues to honour. However it's understandable if it no longer wishes to honour that gesture.

Gather round
31/08/2010, 1:36 PM
You sound like Raymond Kennedy

You sound more like Raymond Domenech.

The FAI made a generous gesture in 1999 which it continues to honour. However it's understandable if it no longer wishes to honour that gesture

If it compromised in the past, why not in future?

31/08/2010, 1:55 PM
You sound more like Raymond Domenech.

"I'm not all that bothered."

If it compromised in the past, why not in future?

The compromise still exists. It's future existence is dependent on the goodwill of the FAI.

Gather round
31/08/2010, 1:58 PM
The compromise still exists. It's future existence is dependent on the goodwill of the FAI

Compromises rely on goodwill of all parties.

31/08/2010, 2:18 PM
Compromises rely on goodwill of all parties.

We'll just describe it as an understanding then as a compromise should also entail that both sides are giving something up. As the IFA is bringing nothing to the table (except legal expenses, their tails between their legs and red faces), any future understanding is dependent on the FAI's goodwill.

youngirish
31/08/2010, 3:49 PM
Where is EG?

He's probably too knackered to post after tiring himself out with all that marching about he did last month.

EalingGreen
31/08/2010, 5:07 PM
He's [EG] probably too knackered to post after tiring himself out with all that marching about he did last month.Why on earth would I have been marching around last month, when there's a perfectly convenient Tube station just up the road, with Bus Stops and Taxi Ranks along the way? (I don't tend to drive much, since Parking is a bugger pretty much everywhere round here)

gastric
31/08/2010, 10:57 PM
All this about a player who has played once for Newcastle!

31/08/2010, 11:03 PM
The player's not important. This is politics.

gastric
01/09/2010, 12:49 AM
Sorry, I made the mistake of thinking it was a football site! By the way just to aggravate the situation why isn't the Liam Boyce thread receiving the same treatment?

irishfan86
01/09/2010, 3:01 AM
Sorry, I made the mistake of thinking it was a football site! By the way just to aggravate the situation why isn't the Liam Boyce thread receiving the same treatment?

Because we all know Boyce is switching ;)

gastric
01/09/2010, 7:00 AM
I can see it now, Boyce and Tidim our two German based strikers playing U21s soon!

Not Brazil
02/09/2010, 10:12 AM
Young George attended a football function in Downpatrick a few weeks back and said a few words. Let's say, he was quite clear about his future international hopes...and they did not involve playing at Windsor Park.

So that's another one to the 'possibles' list.

Well, if this fine young prospect (I've watched him play on various occassions for Grovenor Youth, and he's very good) is an honourable young man, and true to his word, he will immediatately withdraw from the Northern Ireland Under 17 squad he was named in yesterday.

If your little tale is true, maybe the youngster will show some integrity.

ArdeeBhoy
04/09/2010, 7:11 PM
It's nothing to do with integrity but all about FIFA's rules. Get over it.

Not Brazil
04/09/2010, 8:01 PM
It's nothing to do with integrity but all about FIFA's rules. Get over it.

Oh - I'm over it. Don't worry about that.

It's all about playing the hand we're dealt now.

We'll see if young Paul George is a lad of his word - if he is, he'll state publicly, following his inclusion in the Northern Ireland Under 17 squad, that he doesn't wish to play for Northern Ireland.

That's all about integrity.

On the other hand, maybe he does want to play for Northern Ireland - and CDG was telling porkies about functions in Downpatrick.

Shane Ferguson played for Northern Ireland Under 21's last night, by the way.

ArdeeBhoy
04/09/2010, 8:07 PM
But it's nothing to do with intent. Or integrity.

The whole population of the North could say they want to play for that team, including 200 schoolboy footballers and various other players up to the age of their mid '30's. But until they get their er, 'exclusive' full cap in a competitive game, your 'argument' is totally pointless. They're all eligible for at least two teams!
And maybe a future GB team!

Blame FIFA. But for once they're being consistent!

Not Brazil
04/09/2010, 8:12 PM
But it's nothing to do with intent. Or integrity.

The whole population of the North could say they want to play for that team, including 200 schoolboy footballers and various other players up to the age of their mid '30's. But until they get their er, 'exclusive' full cap in a competitive game, your 'argument' is totally pointless. They're all eligible for at least two teams!

I disagree.

I think someone who (in this case allegedly) boasts about not wanting to play for Northern Ireland, who then plays for Northern Ireland, is lacking in integrity.

If he doesn't wish to play for Northern Ireland, I would expect that wish to be robustly upheld. Don't play him. Give the shirt to someone who wants it.

ArdeeBhoy
04/09/2010, 8:16 PM
No, it's called exploiting the rules.

Just be grateful yewse even have a team. And the 3 British sides. Rather than just one.

Perhaps the IFA should take the former to the CAS....