View Full Version : Useful/Fun Android Apps

25/08/2010, 7:44 PM
Anyone got usefull apps or good ones? Suggestions even? Throw em in here.

(MOD EDIT: Copied from iPhone apps thread (http://foot.ie/threads/139826-Useful-Fun-iPhone-Apps).)

25/08/2010, 8:24 PM
Copied from iPhone apps thread (http://foot.ie/139826-Useful-Fun-iPhone-Apps).

3CXPhone - VOIP client, haven't used it much yet so can't rate.
Advanced Task Killer Free - Yes yes, you shouldn't use a task killer. I do. So?
Barcode Scanner - For something indispensable, it doesn't get opened very often on my handset...
Bubble - Spirit level, never actually use it, just think it's cool.
Color Flashlight - Handy for creeping into the bedroom having worked until 4am. :)
ConnectBot - SSH, simple, works.
ConvertPad - Unit conversion. Again, rarely use it, but it'll definitely come in handy some day.
Dropbox - The world is a better place with Dropbox. My entire Firefox profile lives in here.
Gesture Search - Another great idea that I never get around to.
KeePassDroid - Password storage, database stored in Dropbox.
Kindle - For eBooks. I'd prefer the real thing though! Donations welcome!
Linda Manager - Because Astro is ugly as feck.
Opera Mini - Backup browser. Not better than standard browser. Roll on Fennec.
PayPal - The bump thing is gay, but I can see it coming in dead handy.
Ping - Does exactly what it says on the tin.
PoliceLight - I'm sorry. It's just fun.
Profile Widget - Cos digital is better'n analog.
Qik - One video done, of my bathroom. I'll use it though.
Sky Remote Record - Official app borked on me.
SMS Backup & Restore - Backup, backup, backup.
Voice Search - Not very effective tbh.
Where's My Droid - Guaranteed not to think of this when I actually need it.
WordPress - For the six dozen blogs.

01/09/2010, 11:05 AM
Is there an app to make DCFC look like Brazil on the pitch yet?

27/09/2010, 10:57 AM
Here is a good game for Android -> Guns'n'Glory (http://www.androidzoom.com/android_games/arcade_and_action/gunsnglory_jwvu.html)

noby
29/09/2010, 11:58 AM
This week I have been mainly wasting my time on Tasker (http://tasker.dinglisch.net/index.html)

29/09/2010, 1:10 PM
Tasker looks cool, I just don't have the energy to play with it. :)

Finally upgraded to Froyo on O2 today, about forking time.

noby
30/09/2010, 8:53 AM
There are a few ready made profiles you can download and tweak for Tasker. Just stumped up the $5 after a one week trial.

30/09/2010, 10:57 AM
Haven't paid for an app yet, no rush to do so. :)

Lev Yashin
30/09/2010, 12:21 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-11443111

See...Apple's better! ;)

30/09/2010, 12:43 PM
That's assuming Apple apps don't do it too. Can't say it isn't worrying though - and I say this from experience, having had my number abused recently (http://community.o2online.ie/t5/General/Push-messages-from-FREEMSG/td-p/143591) - I have the researchers site bookmarked as they say they'll be releasing the code.

30/09/2010, 3:12 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-11443111

See...Apple's better! ;)
is there any similar study of apps on the Apple AppStore?

BTW Apple have a service known as iAds - http://advertising.apple.com/ - with the intention of selling ads on apps for iPhone/iPod/iPad.
Those are just the ads you can see that are sending data back to Steve

Lev Yashin
30/09/2010, 3:50 PM
is there any similar study of apps on the Apple AppStore?

BTW Apple have a service known as iAds - http://advertising.apple.com/ - with the intention of selling ads on apps for applications. And those are just the ones you know about.

I was being a bit sarcastic...dahamsta has called us iPhone users fanboys!
Im quite sure Apple are up the same kind of thing. But that said i have never recieved texts with URL's or anything...

30/09/2010, 4:10 PM
I was being a bit sarcastic...dahamsta has called us iPhone users fanboys!
Im quite sure Apple are up the same kind of thing. But that said i have never recieved texts with URL's or anything...
I'm no fan of Apple either, although I do have an iPod Classic.
However, I loathe iTunes, iPhones and Macs, and think the iPad is a missed opportunity

30/09/2010, 11:50 PM
Tasker looks cool, I just don't have the energy to play with it. :)

Finally upgraded to Froyo on O2 today, about forking time.
The upgrade bricked the HTC Desire on O2 UK: http://www.pcpro.co.uk/news/360925/o2-android-update-bricks-htc-desire

01/10/2010, 3:14 AM
3 weeks ago fella. That's why it took so long to get here, our is based on theirs.

02/11/2010, 9:54 AM
Epicurious (http://www.epicurious.com/services/mobile) have an Android App now too

16/11/2010, 6:57 PM
Here is a must have app for anyone who drives. Its a brilliant app because all of the new speed cameras being rolled out across the country are only being put in black spots so it could actually save your life by installing this app -> Trapster (http://www.androidzoom.com/android_applications/travel/trapster_jka.html) ... reporting a check point near you !! ;)

Mad Moose
04/01/2011, 2:10 PM
I'm using a sleep monitor application at the minute but not found any of particular interest. Has anybody ever come across something like a Dr Who voice exchanger? Or a family guy one even? I've been looking but I would have fun with those.

05/01/2011, 9:51 AM
Ninjump (http://www.androidzoom.com/android_games/arcade_and_action/ninjump_osju.html) - Good game

20/01/2011, 8:57 AM
Android really does rock !! (http://vimeo.com/18079655)

21/02/2011, 10:33 AM
Bought a Desire HD a few weeks ago, and was having a few problems making the from pressing buttons on a keypad to the on screen keyboard.
Read about Swype on cnet, and installed it. Highly recommend it, makes text input so much easier: http://www.swypeinc.com/
Instead of jabbing at buttons, you drag your finger across the letters for each word.
It's not on the android market yet (still in beta) and you have to register on the site to get the install link, but it's definitely worth it

27/03/2011, 5:49 PM
Recently acquired a HTD Desire. Great phone and the Android system is very clever. Downloading quite a few apps but based in the UK and haven't really noticed any Irish related apps apart from RTE. Can anyone recommend any Irish apps?

08/04/2011, 1:59 PM
3g Watchdog is a good one to get if you're on a data plan

12/04/2011, 8:30 PM
Recently acquired a HTD Desire. Great phone and the Android system is very clever. Downloading quite a few apps but based in the UK and haven't really noticed any Irish related apps apart from RTE. Can anyone recommend any Irish apps?

The pumps.ie (http://pumps.ie/v3/viewPost.php?Post_ID=391) app is a must have if you drive. You can search for android on www.apps.ie (http://www.apps.ie/) for more. Get The Focal (http://www.androidzoom.com/android_applications/books_and_reference/get-the-focal-irish-translator_fkmc.html) is a good one to have too. Also Irish Flights (http://www.androidzoom.com/android_applications/travel_and_local/irish-flights_filg.html) is a must have as well.

13/04/2011, 10:32 AM
I've dumped pumps.ie in several incarnations, always found the data crap.

19/04/2011, 11:38 AM
Lads, what are ye using for backup or export? I use Zimbra (http://beecher.net/services/hosting/zimbra) for exchange-like email/contacts/calendar/etc so all I really want to get out of the phone is texts and the calls, and then only in a format I can use. I have Dropbox and Dropsync so they can even be backed up to the SD card if necessary. At my wits end trolling through the spam.

19/04/2011, 3:01 PM
cnet did a short video on this recently: http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-20054149-1.html?tag=mncol;4n