View Full Version : Weekend Latest

Pages : 1 [2]

**FrOsTy**
21/08/2010, 12:02 PM
Delighted with the way results went last night!! Fully worth the three points. Cork had a few chances in the dying embers but found Kevin Burns in inspired form. Anything from the Derry game in 2 weeks time should set us up nicely.

21/08/2010, 12:34 PM
It was a second booking, but the first one was for nothing.

Didn't see the first one tbf.

In fairness, I often scream my head off for penalties I know aren't penalties. You have to try right?

21/08/2010, 1:24 PM
Delighted with the way results went last night!! Fully worth the three points. Cork had a few chances in the dying embers but found Kevin Burns in inspired form. Anything from the Derry game in 2 weeks time should set us up nicely.

Were you not hoping for us to feck up last night? I know I was hoping for waterford to fall apart. Oh well its nice and cosy I suppose.

**FrOsTy**
21/08/2010, 1:26 PM
Take it one week at a time. Can't have your cake and eat it. We'll eat our cake in 2 weeks time :D.

passerrby
21/08/2010, 6:06 PM
pie perhaps with lashings of humble crumble

bingoballs
21/08/2010, 7:08 PM
i agree with all of that

sligo centre half man of the match not sure what his name is, tanned lad, absolutely quality 2nite

Jim Laughin is his name, he's not the quickest but he made some important interventions in the second half alright. Thought we tired in the second half and ye could have stole it near the end. The grass seemed very long and the ref gave us nothing all night. Happy to come away with a point in fairness

21/08/2010, 9:51 PM
Delighted with the way results went last night!! Fully worth the three points. Cork had a few chances in the dying embers but found Kevin Burns in inspired form. Though we were poor so were ye, I'd say the goal was the only shot on target I can remember that ye had. We are so dependent on Cummins its scary.
Felt we were worth a point but no more than that.

**FrOsTy**
21/08/2010, 9:56 PM
Maybe worth a point in the last few minutes with the relentless attacks. One if not two world class saves from our keeper. Apart from that I though we were well worth our win.

sligo23
21/08/2010, 10:28 PM
Big Wesley is back?
if only...*swoons*

Ciaran W
22/08/2010, 1:08 PM
Turn on setanta, american football in tallaght stadium, its ridiculous Haha

JC_GUFC
22/08/2010, 1:39 PM
Turn on setanta, american football in tallaght stadium, its ridiculous Haha

Even more route 1 than the usual fare in Tallaght!

OneForTheFuture
22/08/2010, 3:00 PM
Wexford Yuffs 1-1 Shelbourne

legendz
22/08/2010, 9:14 PM
It was a good weekend for Shamrock and Derry in their respective divisions. I hope Shamrock won't suffer the faith of past champions should they go on and win. I was disappointed to see Limerick lose, I'd like to see them do well. Derry are a cut above the rest in Division One though, be good for the league for them and Cork to get back. On Cork, bad loss to Waterford when they seemed to be catching up with the top 3. Good on Waterford though, I like to see Munster teams do well.

**FrOsTy**
22/08/2010, 10:49 PM
Hon Yuffs!!

**FrOsTy**
23/08/2010, 5:14 PM
http://bluestid.blogspot.com/search?q= if you scroll down to the match blog the video of the goal is there. Good build up and finish.

23/08/2010, 6:29 PM
Jeez that first yellow card for the Dundalk player was incredibly harsh!

23/08/2010, 6:30 PM
Dunno how the hell Maher got the first yellow card. To me our dissalowed goal was onside.(not 100% sure though)

Bastid officials.

23/08/2010, 7:34 PM
http://bluestid.blogspot.com/search?q= if you scroll down to the match blog the video of the goal is there. Good build up and finish.

Man not a bad website, thanks

Ciaran W
23/08/2010, 7:59 PM
Great game in tallaght :D

Rasputin
23/08/2010, 8:42 PM
Jeez that first yellow card for the Dundalk player was incredibly harsh!
Really was shocking, absolutely shocking.

bingoballs
23/08/2010, 8:43 PM
Have to hand it to Shams, they are really upping the ante, its going to be an exciting run in

danthesaint
23/08/2010, 10:22 PM
that was a great game in santry 2nite

thats 11 goals in 2 games out in santry for us and fungus, cant wait for the next one

HarpoJoyce
23/08/2010, 10:34 PM
Shamrock Rovers 4:1 UCD
Full Moon. we didn't ourselves any favours tonight. First goal was gifted to Bradley from a midfield error, worked hard and after some close calls Killer stuck the equaliser past Mannus, for Kilduff's tenth Airtricity League goal. Dennehy's goal came from a UCD throw-in at the home sides corner flag, the winger broke away and sent in a shot from out wide which beat Barron. Sending off didn't help. we had players out f position and once again Paul O'Conor is played at right-back, but with no one on the right side of midfield, the pressure came from there, Twigg and Murray rose highest in the box for the other goals.
But UCD raised themselves up in that second half and alot of hard work was done by Boyle tidying up in defence, Ward and Bolger trying to keep Kilduff in the game, who hit the crossbar in the second half

There's nine games to go, UCD still playing the football.

hoops1
23/08/2010, 10:37 PM
Shamrock Rovers 4:1 UCD
UCD still playing the football.

To your credit you are. Bad tackle for the red card.

TheBoss
23/08/2010, 10:56 PM
Bit of funny ending to the report for the game:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0823/shamrockrovers_ucd1.html

PartySaint
23/08/2010, 11:17 PM
Massive win for us tonight, another good game to watch after the Sligo game on Friday, Delighted

Lamper.sffc
24/08/2010, 12:54 AM
Worst defeat of the season for us tonight. So disappointed. It was a great game and could have gone either way, but its a hard defeat to take. Some great goals tonight. How close was Ronan Finns effort when it was two all.

On a side note. It seems Drogheda are not the only team to have in house fighting :) and how good was that cowbell :D

Roll on next week and the FAI Cup game against Limerick. Need something to take my mind off tonights defeat :(

24/08/2010, 8:48 AM
How close was Ronan Finns effort when it was two all.

Not that close actually. About a yard wide. I'd imagine we had a better angle than you in fairness. How good is Finn btw? If I could sign any player in the league it'd be him. Still thought McAllister was the best player on the park. His goal showed everything a midfielder needs. Wins the ball, runs 50 yards with it, plays it through, continues his run, collects a poor enough ball back and buries it with his supposed weaker foot.

Great feeling walking out of the ground last night. Any nuetral watching would've been happy to see two good teams give eveything too

24/08/2010, 9:01 AM
To your credit you are. Bad tackle for the red card.
Was watching the replay after with Rusty and a couple of the players. General consensus was that it looked worse than it was. Went in for a 30/70 after a bad touch by the Rovers player, didn't make the ball, turned sideways - maybe to pull out of the tackle or protect himself? Clumsy anyway - and the Rovers player went flying over him. Maybe a different angle will show it up differently though. That said, Shorty was never one to shirk out of a challenge and maybe another player would have pulled out sooner. Shame for us as it really ended the game; we'd been doing ok if still second best. Four points from ten games now; badly badly need wins against Bray and Drogheda to get out of the relegation mire. Don't know how it's come to this given how well we were doing after beating Fingal last time out.

How good is Finn btw?
His close control and turn of pace is as good as anything I've seen in this league anyway. There's a great clip in our game against Longford last year (It's up on our YouTube) where there's eight Longford players and just Finn on screen; he still turns away from two or three of them and threads a pass through for Killer. Sublime stuff. Really belongs in a better league. May be comfortable here though.

24/08/2010, 9:08 AM
His size would count against him in stronger leagues.

24/08/2010, 9:12 AM
It would, yeah. Wonder if he could bulk up any? Don't think he's that much smaller than Gary Dicker was with us, and Gary's doing grand in England.

Lamper.sffc
24/08/2010, 11:15 AM
Not that close actually. About a yard wide. I'd imagine we had a better angle than you in fairness. How good is Finn btw? If I could sign any player in the league it'd be him. Still thought McAllister was the best player on the park. His goal showed everything a midfielder needs. Wins the ball, runs 50 yards with it, plays it through, continues his run, collects a poor enough ball back and buries it with his supposed weaker foot.

Great feeling walking out of the ground last night. Any nuetral watching would've been happy to see two good teams give eveything too

Well ill just wait to see it on mns before ill take your word for it. Iv seen your post on our crowd so im guessing your judgement may not have been the best last night ;)

Finn is pure class. Him and williams will be the two players we will find it hardest to hold onto for next season. I think they may get moves across the water.
McAllister is pure class. Watched him at Shels and the guy was nearly always there best player. Good Rush man, sure why wouldnt he be.

As for the game, it was great game alright. Its even harder to be on the losing side when its as good a game as that.

All the best anyway, Hope ya push the Rovers all the way and we can nick 3rd

24/08/2010, 11:47 PM
Pats goals now up if you want to relive the moments lamper

http://www.stpatsfc.com/main.php

That McAllister goal;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVObVoRAB9U

24/08/2010, 11:54 PM

Some lengthy bans there for inciting your own crowd.

Also, the defender claiming offside for the 3rd should be shot.

24/08/2010, 11:59 PM
They're in reverse order on the website (e newest vid first) so that'd be our first goal (Vinny faherty's)

Lamper.sffc
25/08/2010, 12:14 AM

http://www.stpatsfc.com/main.php

That McAllister goal;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVObVoRAB9U

They where all offside.:D

On a side note, I dont think mahon was watching the same game I was, the better side in the second half? Dont think so. Biased views methinks. For the first 10 or so minutes, maybe. And as for the first half, well its hard to break down a team who just come to defend and pack out the midfield. I love the way he mentions how people are saying we are a good footballing side and he calls that a load of old guff or something to that effect, when earlier in the season he was talking about how fingal where a good footballing side:confused: Anyway I think the statement was more out of frustration at others claiming Pats dont play good football, but it would be appreciated if he would leave us out of it.

25/08/2010, 10:01 AM
Clearly the better side in the 2nd half lamper. We "won" that half 3-1 btw.

Lamper.sffc
25/08/2010, 10:30 AM
Clearly the better side in the 2nd half lamper. We "won" that half 3-1 btw.

Cant agree. Obviously goals win games (dont forget we did have what looked to be a good goal disallowed to make it 2-0) and I dont begrudge you the win (not much anyway).

There is more needed than just playing nice football, i know this, but there is no way you will convince me Pats where the better team in a footballing sense, as in more posession, more chances, better passing, which is what mahon is trying to make out in order to try and get across his idea that Pats played the better football and do play good football.
If its down to being more clinical in front of goal then fine but outplaying us in a footballing sense, nah I aint buying it.

25/08/2010, 10:51 AM
Who said anything about outplaying in a footballing sense?

25/08/2010, 11:33 AM
I think thats what he was indicating in fairness, and he has a point.

Don't see how lamper can say Pats packed the midfield when we played the same amount of players there as yourself? We did have more chances, we had similar levels of possession and I felt we dictated the pace for the majority of the second half. There were plenty of hurried long clearances from Fingal defenders too.

Its not like mahon criticised Fingal either. He just said we were the better side in the second half. Something borne out by the win IMO

Lamper.sffc
25/08/2010, 2:17 PM
I think thats what he was indicating in fairness, and he has a point.

Don't see how lamper can say Pats packed the midfield when we played the same amount of players there as yourself? We did have more chances, we had similar levels of possession and I felt we dictated the pace for the majority of the second half. There were plenty of hurried long clearances from Fingal defenders too.

Its not like mahon criticised Fingal either. He just said we were the better side in the second half. Something borne out by the win IMO

Fair enough. I guess we all see these games how we want to see them and we both have different ideas on how the game went and when all is said and done, fingal still lost.