View Full Version : Stapleton recommends NOLAN

22/04/2004, 3:07 PM
April 22, 2004
Former Irish international goalscoring hero Frank Stapleton, who spent time in a coaching capacity at Bolton Wanderers earlier this season, has appealed for Brian Kerr to have a closer look at Trotters midfielder Kevin Nolan, who is believed to qualify for Ireland under a once-off Fifa ruling that will expire in December.
Under old rules, Nolan would not be eligible to declare for the boys in green as he has represented England in a competitive international at under-21 level in the past.
But a once-off Fifa ruling allows players of all ages who possessed dual nationality at the time of their initial international appearance to change allegiance.
Stapleton has worked first-hand with Nolan, Bolton’s top scorer with 10 goals in all competitions this season, and believes Irish boss Kerr could do worse than have a closer look at the talented Liverpudlian.
He told the Irish Sun: "He is a big guy who does well in front of goal and flits comfortable between the attack and midfield. Bolton have played him on the right side of attack in a 4-3-3 formation but you could never call him a winger. He does have ability though. Kevin is a good pro too ... he has done really well this season and is well worth Brian Kerr having a look at."

Bowsy
22/04/2004, 3:19 PM
Difficult. On the one hand he's an excellent young player but on the other hand it galls me when someone wants to come play for Ireland as second choice. All for using the parentage rule but for me despite his obvious talents it's a no to Nolan.

22/04/2004, 3:40 PM
if he declares, have a look at him, if he doesn't, IMO the days of Charlton scrounging the english leagues in search of Irish surnames is long gone and we can do without pandering to those who'd rather be playing for someone else.

finlma
22/04/2004, 4:24 PM
Difficult. On the one hand he's an excellent young player but on the other hand it galls me when someone wants to come play for Ireland as second choice. All for using the parentage rule but for me despite his obvious talents it's a no to Nolan.

Get him in. He isn't the first player to opt for Ireland as a 2nd choice and he won't be the last. Many of our past heroes and present squad wouldn't have picked Ireland first. Just cause he's played for England doesn't make him much different to the rest.

ElSieteSecretos
22/04/2004, 4:47 PM
No, just becuase he has not the english team dont come hear because you didnt make the grade. We are not the England B team :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

finlma
22/04/2004, 4:53 PM
No, just becuase he has not the english team dont come hear because you didnt make the grade. We are not the England B team :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Good observation but if a player is good enough for the squad, qualifies to play and wants to play then he should play. Nolan is streets ahead of Kinsella, Healy, S. Reid.

The Scottish were happy to take Matteo and Quashie!

carnstien
22/04/2004, 7:40 PM
I'd take him. It doesn't matter if he'd rather play for England. I can guarentee you that Kilbane, Breen and Holland would all be playing for England if they were good enough.

An English player, good enough to make the English team has not declared for Ireland since Aldridge and he only made his name after he declared for us, same story with Mark Lawrenson.

22/04/2004, 8:16 PM
I'd take him. It doesn't matter if he'd rather play for England. I can guarentee you that Kilbane, Breen and Holland would all be playing for England if they were good enough.

Apart from Kilbane, who turned down the chance to play for the England u-21 side whilst at Preston to opt for Ireland instead, and, er, Gary Breen, who made the same choice whilst at Peterborough.

Not all us plastics would take the Queen's shilling, y'know. ;)

:) PP

ElSieteSecretos
22/04/2004, 8:26 PM
Not me either !!! Kevin Nolan is not a great player and Frank Stapleton probably owes him a favour.

The Legend
22/04/2004, 8:54 PM
Indeed, they were both seen at a notoriously popular homosexual hangout... by Steve Staunton (who just happened to be passing)

scouser
22/04/2004, 9:28 PM
Kevin Nolan is not spectacularly good but he has more talent than likes of Matt 'can't stop getting ahead of the play' Holland and Kevin 'kicks the ball 30 yards and gives chase' Kilbane. He'd be a very good squad player and someone good to bring on as a sub in games. He seems to pop up for Bolton now and again and get crucial goals.

ElSieteSecretos
22/04/2004, 9:36 PM
I would rather Matt 'can't stop getting ahead of the play' Holland and Kevin 'kicks the ball 30 yards and gives chase' Kilbane than a homosexual on the team.

But it is not so difficult to be better than Holland,Kilbane who are both complete diasters.

1MickCollins
22/04/2004, 11:13 PM
The only problem with Nolan is that he was in a Kerr youth squad for a friendly about 3 years ago, he made the bench and when Kerr asked him to go on, he wouldn't. That's it. I can't see Kerr asking him again especially as he played once for England U-21.

If he had never been in an Ireland squad but played for England U-21 then maybe. :mad:

23/04/2004, 6:39 AM
I would rather Matt 'can't stop getting ahead of the play' Holland and Kevin 'kicks the ball 30 yards and gives chase' Kilbane than a homosexual on the team.

What utter ********. Why should a player's sexual preferences matter to you? Open your curtains and look out the window. It's the 21st century out there. Even in Port Lairge. :mad:

Adam, do the decent thing and at least have a word with this cretin.

:ball: PP

ElSieteSecretos
23/04/2004, 8:29 AM
I dont mind so much that he likes all the boys in the changing room, (i wont be there !!) but I have a critical problem with the fact that he wants (dreams) of playing for England... We arent that stuck

lopez
23/04/2004, 8:33 AM
I'd take him. It doesn't matter if he'd rather play for England. I can guarentee you that Kilbane, Breen and Holland would all be playing for England if they were good enough.Carnstein, you badly need to see your local shrink about that terrible inferiority complex you have. :rolleyes:

lopez
23/04/2004, 8:35 AM
I would rather Matt 'can't stop getting ahead of the play' Holland and Kevin 'kicks the ball 30 yards and gives chase' Kilbane than a homosexual on the team.Gilipollas, vete por la mierda! POR FAVOR!

finlma
23/04/2004, 8:52 AM

But it is not so difficult to be better than Holland,Kilbane who are both complete diasters.

Your having a laugh? You've come out with some ridiculous comments on the forum. You didn't even know if Andy O'Brien had played for Ireland, are you a supporter or not? We don't need gay bashers like you here.

23/04/2004, 8:59 AM
The only problem with Nolan is that he was in a Kerr youth squad for a friendly about 3 years ago, he made the bench and when Kerr asked him to go on, he wouldn't. That's it. I can't see Kerr asking him again especially as he played once for England U-21.

If he had never been in an Ireland squad but played for England U-21 then maybe. :mad:

He was over for an international all right but on the eve of the match decided to return home. I don't think he was actually on the bench.

Where did this gay slur come from.

ElSieteSecretos
23/04/2004, 8:59 AM
finlma I am entitled to my own opinion and dont have to be PC ... but I really dont care if he is gay or not.

But Ireland isnt a England B team :mad:

23/04/2004, 9:07 AM
finlma I am entitled to my own opinion and dont have to be PC ... but I really dont care if he is gay or not.

That is your right. Just keep the homophobic poison off these boards.

:mad: PP

ElSieteSecretos
23/04/2004, 9:11 AM
I didnt start it :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

23/04/2004, 9:14 AM
I didnt start it

Just how old are you? That argument is the preserve of the schoolyard. It cuts no ice here.

Shame on you.

:( PP

finlma
23/04/2004, 9:18 AM
I didnt start it :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

I think you'll find what The Legend said was what we call a joke. He was referring to the favour you stated Stapleton owed Nolan.

Your comment was just offensive.

ElSieteSecretos
23/04/2004, 9:55 AM
I retract my previous comments

lopez
23/04/2004, 9:58 AM
Your having a laugh? You've come out with some ridiculous comments on the forum. You didn't even know if Andy O'Brien had played for Ireland, are you a supporter or not? We don't need gay bashers like you here.Looking at his profile he's been on here before - as 'the secret seven' - and got booted off. He considers his punishment as akin to what happened to political activists in Franco's Spain :rolleyes: - hence the fake Spanish waiter speak, even though the foreigners we get on this board (remember the Iranian?) can write better English than most of us. It appears he is coming back simply to wind people up. :mad:

Greenbod
23/04/2004, 10:13 AM

So he once favoured England over Ireland. So what, I can think of one player who once favoured Manchester over Ireland. Haven't we been told often enough it's "forgive and forget" time...........or is only one player allowed change his mind? ;)

lopez
23/04/2004, 10:25 AM
So he once favoured England over Ireland. So what, I can think of one player who once favoured Manchester over Ireland. Haven't we been told often enough it's "forgive and forget" time...........or is only one player allowed change his mind? ;)Yes but that's because he is a full blooded, top o' da mornin' to you, dropped onto a bunch of soggy Shamrocks on the 17th March, complete with flame-haired coleen at home baking potato cakes in the range, authentic Irishman. Unlike us plastics who of course would rather be playing for...or supporting England. My excuse for 'opting' for Ireland - for the benefit of Carnstein and his fellow 'oh I come from such a sh*te country no one could possibly want to be a citizen of it unless they had the misfortune of being born there' eejits - is that I don't get to spend so much money going to a major tournament every eight years instead of every two. :rolleyes:

Greenbod
23/04/2004, 10:41 AM
Ah Lopez, you don't need an excuse to opt for Ireland. Personally, I can't understand how anyone could opt for any other country. :D

Your name's not Vinny is it by any chance?

lopez
23/04/2004, 10:43 AM
Ah Lopez, you don't need an excuse to opt for Ireland. Personally, I can't understand how anyone could opt for any other country. :D

Your name's not Vinny is it by any chance?No...but I used to be a neighbour of his until he left us for the bright lights of Hollywood.

Greenbod
23/04/2004, 10:46 AM
It was just your handle and signature thingy at the bottom made me think of Springsteen's original drummer, Vinny 'mad dog' Lopez.

ElSieteSecretos
23/04/2004, 10:46 AM
o he once favoured England over Ireland. So what, I can think of one player who once favoured Manchester over Ireland. Haven't we been told often enough it's "forgive and forget" time...........or is only one player allowed change his mind?

I agree totally :)

Paddy Ramone
23/04/2004, 10:59 AM
I think you'll find what The Legend said was what we call a joke. He was referring to the favour you stated Stapleton owed Nolan.

Your comment was just offensive.

WHAT! Frank Stapleton is gay. I still haven't recovered from the shock of discovering that great General O'Duffy and even the fuhrer himself may have been gay. :eek: Personally as a member of the Irish Nazi party myself, I think homosexuality is no joke.

lopez
23/04/2004, 11:23 AM
It was just your handle and signature thingy at the bottom made me think of Springsteen's original drummer, Vinny 'mad dog' Lopez.Oh I see! Not much knowledge of the man's band but I'm fond of some of his cuts. My signature is in honour of a chap on ourweeminds who said the quote below about me on that site. It's pure egotistical self-indulgence I'm afraid.

Littlest Hobo
23/04/2004, 12:20 PM
Forget Nolan...we don't need desperado's like him....his allegiance lies elsewhere! :mad:
Even if considered, he'd be low down in the pecking order, behind keane, holland, kilbane.....and well behind the new lads of A Reid and Miller.

23/04/2004, 12:32 PM
Even if considered, he'd be low down in the pecking order, behind keane, holland, kilbane.....and well behind the new lads of A Reid and Miller.

Are you Hobo from the Huddleboard? I think we should be told... ;)

:D PP

23/04/2004, 12:33 PM
Looking at his profile he's been on here before - as 'the secret seven' - and got booted off. He considers his punishment as akin to what happened to political activists in Franco's Spain :rolleyes: - hence the fake Spanish waiter speak, even though the foreigners we get on this board (remember the Iranian?) can write better English than most of us. It appears he is coming back simply to wind people up. :mad:

Nail on the head I'd say Lopez. This "Avid from bo selecta" routine is shoddilly done too. Amadán feckin' mor.

Littlest Hobo
23/04/2004, 12:49 PM
Are you Hobo from the Huddleboard? I think we should be told... ;)

:D PP Huddleboard :confused: ??? Naw you must remember the four legged mutt on itv all those years ago? :D

There's a voice that keeps on calling me.
Down the road. That's where I'll always be.
Oh, every stop I make, I make a new friend.
Can't stay for long. Just turn around, and I'm gone again.
Maybe tomorrow, I'll want to settle down.
Until tomorrow, I'll just keep movin' on.
So, if you want to join me for awhile,
just grab your hat, and we'll travel light. That's hobo style.
Until tomorrow, the whole world is my home."

23/04/2004, 12:51 PM
Huddleboard :confused: ??? Naw you must remember the four legged mutt on itv all those years ago? :D

I must be. There's a poster on the Celtic fans' messageboard with the exact same name as you. Two for the price of one, 'twould seem...

:) PP

lopez
23/04/2004, 2:28 PM
Amadán feckin' mor.Tá sé!!!! :D

23/04/2004, 4:52 PM
Personally as a member of the Irish Nazi party myself.

Quick, somebody tell Conor that there's another Fianna Failer here. :)

sylvo
24/04/2004, 1:31 PM
[QUOTE=carnstien] I can guarentee you that Kilbane, Breen and Holland would all be playing for England if they were good enough.

Oh can yer now, Holland yea that little sing song before Ipswich's play off about the head of the biggest parasite family in the UK proved the fact that if the tan's came in for him he would have gone for them, but Kevin Kilbane and Gary Breen both knocked them back when they tried to get them for their underage team's, both of them made it clear that they were Irish at a very young age, suppose you can guarentee that all us secound generation Irish fan's would rather go and watch the tan's and Ireland is just a secound choice for us because none of us are any good at smashing up people's city's.

slow2anger
25/04/2004, 9:57 PM
"There's a voice that keeps on calling me.
Down the road. That's where I'll always be.
Oh, every stop I make, I make a new friend.
Can't stay for long. Just turn around, and I'm gone again.
So, if you want to join me for awhile,
just grab your hat, and we'll travel light. That's hobo style.
Until tomorrow, the whole world is my home."
Great memory!

lopez
26/04/2004, 8:45 AM
[suppose you can guarentee that all us secound generation Irish fan's would rather go and watch the tan's and Ireland is just a secound choice for us because none of us are any good at smashing up people's city's.C'mon Sylvo. After that visit to the 12 Pins in Finsbury Park, I know there are number who have 'opted' for Ireland as perfectly capable of smashing up bars as any Tans. :D

Littlest Hobo
26/04/2004, 10:28 AM
Great memory!
Remember it all so well. ;) Sure those where the days :D

26/04/2004, 11:50 AM
[QUOTE=carnstien] I can guarentee you that Kilbane, Breen and Holland would all be playing for England if they were good enough.

Oh can yer now, Holland yea that little sing song before Ipswich's play off about the head of the biggest parasite family in the UK proved the fact that if the tan's came in for him he would have gone for them

That doesn't prove anything other than the fact that Matt Holland considers himself half-English. Which he is. So what? Colin Healy and Ian Harte (to name just two) are always, always, always too busy trying to look moody before a match to sing our anthem. Does that make them any less Irish? No, it just makes them lazy and/or superficial. Instead it falls to English born players like Kevin Kilbane and David Connolly to give it some volume.

sylvo
26/04/2004, 1:40 PM
That doesn't prove anything other than the fact that Matt Holland considers himself half-English. Which he is. So what? Colin Healy and Ian Harte (to name just two) are always, always, always too busy trying to look moody before a match to sing our anthem. Does that make them any less Irish? No, it just makes them lazy and/or superficial. Instead it falls to English born players like Kevin Kilbane and David Connolly to give it some volume.

Bud not worried really about who's been singing what anthem, just not having people having a dig about secound generation Irish people like Breen and Kilbane playing for Ireland as a secound choice, and wanting to play for a team as their first choice that has'nt beaten us in 19 year's.

eoinh
26/04/2004, 4:17 PM
forget the arguments about us being the english b team. Frank Stapleton reccomended him which has to be mean hes crap.

27/04/2004, 12:08 PM
Bud not worried really about who's been singing what anthem, just not having people having a dig about secound generation Irish people like Breen and Kilbane playing for Ireland as a secound choice, and wanting to play for a team as their first choice that has'nt beaten us in 19 year's.

I agree 100% with you about Kilbane and Breen. Ditto for Phil Babb while we're at it. But where I disagree with you is on your criticism of Matt Holland, who considers himself to be half-Irish and half-English. There's a perfectly good reason for this. He is half-Irish and half-English. So why shouldn't he sing the English national anthem??? :confused:

I wouldn't personally because it has nothing to do with me but Matt Holland has an English parent. End of story for me.

davyboy
27/04/2004, 12:14 PM
if he declares, have a look at him, if he doesn't, IMO the days of Charlton scrounging the english leagues in search of Irish surnames is long gone and we can do without pandering to those who'd rather be playing for someone else.
what about morrison? gets on my wick