View Full Version : Derry

Monkfish
17/08/2010, 9:03 AM
Need I say more? Big interest around the town already it seems. Big game = big crowd = big loss. :p

Take a draw but if we pox a win and we peg em back to 4 points......:D

17/08/2010, 9:31 AM
Big game = big crowd = big loss

This is most likely what will happen but........

According to the Derry fans Derry have been very poor since the break in June so no reason Limerick couldn't get a win here.

I'm going to go for it to be a 1-1 finish with att: 800

17/08/2010, 10:12 AM
1-0 Limerick.

There'd be nothing better than an edgy last 10 minutes with Derry pouring on the pressure, but we hold out for a win.

17/08/2010, 11:24 AM
I like the ad in the Chronicle today for the match. Its something different.

Castletroy_Blue
17/08/2010, 12:15 PM
I reckon we will beat Derry. Unlucky not to get a point against them last time they came down, and we are now a much better team. Hopefully Steve O firing on all cylinders will make the difference. Limerick 2 - 1 Derry, and the title momentum well and truly with the Super Blues.

LK37oldskool
17/08/2010, 12:31 PM
This has to be the biggest game this season if not the biggest in the last few years.Could be a defining moment in the clubs history!!! A win will surely push us on to promotion i believe. 2 nil to the Super Blues and over 1000 to witness it. :D

17/08/2010, 12:38 PM
1-0 Limerick.

There'd be nothing better than an edgy last 10 minutes with Derry pouring on the pressure, but we hold out for a win.I really struggle to see us pouring on the pressure against anyone at the minute.

We also won't know how to defend SteveO.

17/08/2010, 12:47 PM
We also won't know how to defend SteveO.

Just aswell he's doubtful then. :excruciating:

LK37oldskool
17/08/2010, 2:07 PM
Just aswell he's doubtful then. :excruciating:

Pray tell?

bluewhitearmy
17/08/2010, 3:57 PM
Pray tell?

He has a groin injury not sure if he will play Friday.

Could be without John Sullivan and Timmy Kiely too and Dave O Leary out for 3 weeks after a horrible tackle against Mervue.

Monkfish
17/08/2010, 4:35 PM
Step up Mr Clarke. Your time is now!

ped_ped
17/08/2010, 9:42 PM
O'Flynn, O'Leary and Sullivan are massive losses. Lucky for us we have a decent squad.

Guess it all depends on HOW bad this bad patch of Derry's really is?

17/08/2010, 10:27 PM
For friday night people, arrive early. If you can get out to Knockalisheen or to ticketmaster and buy your tickets early.

skyguy19
18/08/2010, 10:03 AM
steve was carrying that injury at the mervue game, you could see he was struggling, but dont think we will beat Derry without him, hope Im wrong

bluewhitearmy
18/08/2010, 10:30 AM
Steve may make it for Friday yet but even if he doesn't i think Clarkey and JT have enough to cause problems.

I agree with Monkfish on the big crowd thing though.

Monkfish
18/08/2010, 11:28 AM
i think Clarkey and JT have enough to cause problems.

4-5-1 JT to play off Clarke out wide, change roles every 10 mins. Derry wont know what to do. Stevo to come on 10 mins before the end to score. Limerick 1 - 3 Derry.

:bigsmile:

18/08/2010, 1:31 PM
Are Peter White and Sean Kelly available or are they injured? With O Sullivan and O Leary out i think it will be important to have a strong defense so having Kelly at right full and White sitting infront of the back 4 like he has in previous games would set us up nicely i think. Will be hoping for a line up like this:

...................Ryan...................

Kelly.....Purcell....Rogers.....Deady

.................White...................

...Ryan........Lyons..........Tracey

........Tierney/OFlynn......Clarke....

Edit: I forgot about Heary. Thought he did very well last week, much better than the previous week. Maybe put White at right full and Heary in front of the back four.

bluewhitearmy
18/08/2010, 7:31 PM
Are Peter White and Sean Kelly available or are they injured? With O Sullivan and O Leary out i think it will be important to have a strong defense so having Kelly at right full and White sitting infront of the back 4 like he has in previous games would set us up nicely i think. Will be hoping for a line up like this:

...................Ryan...................

Kelly.....Purcell....Rogers.....Deady

.................White...................

...Ryan........Lyons..........Tracey

........Tierney/OFlynn......Clarke....

Edit: I forgot about Heary. Thought he did very well last week, much better than the previous week. Maybe put White at right full and Heary in front of the back four.

Sullivan will be available.

19/08/2010, 10:41 AM
Sullivan will be available.

Thats good news. He has really impressed me in the last couple of games. His work ethic has been excellent.

Xile
19/08/2010, 11:19 AM
Sorry guys, but can't make this one. :(

Monkfish
19/08/2010, 12:00 PM

...and why not?

19/08/2010, 12:07 PM

Oh sure, you're at all the glamour matches away to Salthill and Wexford, but when tiny little Derry come to town, you couldn't be bothered. Tut tut tut.

harpin
19/08/2010, 12:07 PM
For friday night people, arrive early. If you can get out to Knockalisheen or to ticketmaster and buy your tickets early.

Can I buy them in town tomorrow afternoon or will I have to wait til the van opens outside Jackman

Xile
19/08/2010, 12:20 PM
...and why not?

Have to support a few friends of mine :(

bluewhitearmy
19/08/2010, 12:20 PM
Can I buy them in town tomorrow afternoon or will I have to wait til the van opens outside Jackman

Can buy em in Ticketmaster in town but i think there is a charge.

harpin
19/08/2010, 12:40 PM
Can buy em in Ticketmaster in town but i think there is a charge.

Cheers where in town is that?

19/08/2010, 12:46 PM
Cheers where in town is that?

In where empire music used to be. In the discount store.

KevB76
20/08/2010, 8:02 AM
Jackman Park

Arrangements for Limerick FC v Derry City, Friday 20th August

Wednesday 18th August 2010

The following arrangements will be in place for Limerick FC's match against Derry City on Friday 20th August:

•No parking in the ground. Supervised parking will be provided at Value Centre, Carey's Road.
•Purchase Tickets Early. Tickets are available from Limerick FC's office at Knockalisheen House, from Ticketmaster outlets and online at www.ticketmaster.ie
•Ticket Box will be located on the green area opposite the entrance to Jackman Park.
Ticket Box will open at 6:45pm.
•Gates Open 7:00pm
•Please comply with any instructions from stewards or other authorised personnel.
Thank you for your co-operation.

LK37oldskool
20/08/2010, 9:02 PM
have to say that was brutal tonight. :mad:Every big game at home this year Limerick have bottled it.We'll be back to the same couple of hundred heads for the rest of the season. They gave Derry far to much respect.Another year in Div1 i'm afraid.

20/08/2010, 9:25 PM
Ya absolutely ****e. Limerick set up to be defensive at home. ****ing ridiculous setting up like that. Limerick hadn't got to second in the league by sitting back and defending. Never ever looked like scoring. A couple of chances that Derry defended well. We let them have all the ball and paid the price. Much deserved win. Derry celebrated big time at the final whistle and rightly so. I said in another thread if they win tonight they will go on to beat Waterford next week and win the league handy in the end. Looks like this will be the case.

Waterford 1pt
Cork 3pts
Monaghan 1pt
Derry 6pts

Thats 11 pts given up at home to teams at the top. That is way too high a tally if you ask me and Cork are yet to come to Jackman Park again.

Tonights match was nearly a carbon copy of the game against them earlier in the season. The tactic didn't work then and it didn't work tonight. G

I get the feeling even if we make the playoffs we will bottle it in those big games.

thomas72
20/08/2010, 10:05 PM
have to say that was brutal tonight. :mad:Every big game at home this year Limerick have bottled it.We'll be back to the same couple of hundred heads for the rest of the season. They gave Derry far to much respect.Another year in Div1 i'm afraid.

spot on. yet again when the big games arrives limerick and the manager bottle it and to be honest limerick GAA footballers are the same winning line in sight and bottle it same with hurling. it runs through limerick city sporting capital my arse. o sullivan in the middle of the field was the best player on show and scully takes him off everyone around me could not believe it. sean kelly right full your better off havin sean kelly the cyclist a RF shocking headless chicken. clarke did not do a tap should of been hooked at half time. bobby ryan might aswell go to pike now harmless all he wants is his money and the end of the week.

limerick writing on newspapers begging to come down and support them when they get the crowd they yet again fail to turn up how do they expect to get support

20/08/2010, 10:22 PM
Agree with you Thomas, O Sullivan was one of only two players actually playing well. Purcell was the other. Heary couldn't handle the pace of the game at all. I think White could have done a much better job than him had he been on since the start.

I think Clarke really messed his chances up of starting again for the next couple of games. Every time Clarke seems to get a few starts he gets very lazy. He was excellent when he came on against Athlone, wasn't up to too much against Mervue but worked hard and was non existent tonight. Same goes for O Flynn. The one thing i will say in their defense is that they seemed to be asked to play very defensive and anytime either of them got any bit of ball they where totally isolated.

thomas72
20/08/2010, 10:26 PM
Agree with you Thomas, O Sullivan was one of only two players actually playing well. Purcell was the other. Heary couldn't handle the pace of the game at all. I think White could have done a much better job than him had he been on since the start.

I think Clarke really messed his chances up of starting again for the next couple of games. Every time Clarke seems to get a few starts he gets very lazy. He was excellent when he came on against Athlone, wasn't up to too much against Mervue but worked hard and was non existent tonight. Same goes for O Flynn. The one thing i will say in their defense is that they seemed to be asked to play very defensive and anytime either of them got any bit of ball they where totally isolated.

just thinking there scullys interviews over the last month saying he reckons limerick are the best team in the league is he mad iv seen derry twice now and there far superior to limerick

20/08/2010, 10:30 PM
Yes far far far superior. Wouldn't say the same about the other teams but definitely Derry are way ahead of Limerick.

fieldofmarkets
20/08/2010, 10:41 PM
Gutted, awful performance. Derry deserved the win, even if it appeared we were asleep for their goalscorer to race through. Every big game, every big crowd, we don't show up...that's too much of a pattern now lads, that's a Scully problem. I was hoping O'Flynn would be out for JT & Clarke to start up front. Stevo is a big name but he has been awful the last few games (tonight, Mervue, Athlone). I was happy enough to see the 3 changes being made so early but its always a risk and they wouldn't have been needed if the starting 11 hadn't been so wrong or the team had been prepared properly or a decent gameplan was used.

Derry were in the Savoy Thursday night....obviously took the prep very seriously and have the money to spend. (I'm assuming perhaps incorrectly that a 2 night stay is not normal for a 1st division game).

Great crowd...and unlike the 1400 against Cork on Good Friday it was heavily a home crowd, makes the performance even more disappointing. Feck it, playoffs are still a possibility, lets hope we finish 3rd and have to play away.

Daydreamer
20/08/2010, 10:43 PM
hi Lads, I was at the game tonight and thought Kelly did ok against there lad as he was a really good player...one of the bst wingers i have seen in Loi, Did not see anything special in sullivan to be honest , he passed it well when it came to him but did not win any tackles and looked to be strolling . i would have brought Judge on earlier for Heary and maybe Kiely and JT FOR THE pace, Btw the shed was unusually quiet tonight

bluewhitearmy
20/08/2010, 10:57 PM
hi Lads, I was at the game tonight and thought Kelly did ok against there lad as he was a really good player...one of the bst wingers i have seen in Loi, Did not see anything special in sullivan to be honest , he passed it well when it came to him but did not win any tackles and looked to be strolling . i would have brought Judge on earlier for Heary and maybe Kiely and JT FOR THE pace, Btw the shed was unusually quiet tonight

Thats because we are sick of the same old s**t every year .

We were crap absolute crap Stevo too comfortable with his 2 year contract maybe? Doesn't look to me like he gives a f**k.

Any junior 3b teams want Sean Kelly?

Wont get promoted will fold under any kind of pressure.

Boroman
20/08/2010, 11:04 PM
Thats because we are sick of the same old s**t every year .

We were crap absolute crap Stevo too comfortable with his 2 year contract maybe? Doesn't look to me like he gives a f**k.

Any junior 3b teams want Sean Kelly?

Wont get promoted will fold under any kind of pressure.
I agree i think O'flynn thinks his a big time charlie never wants to put in work...Limerick were lacking a play maker i thought Ryan would be that type of player but doesnt look so hopefully i am wrong...Why all doom and gloom ye lost but ye still have a great chance for promotion..this has been the best season in years for limerick

20/08/2010, 11:09 PM
Every big game, every big crowd, we don't show up...that's too much of a pattern now lads, that's a Scully problem.

Been happening long before Scully took over.

20/08/2010, 11:18 PM
We were crap absolute crap Stevo too comfortable with his 2 year contract maybe? .

I agree i think O'flynn thinks his a big time charlie never wants to put in work.

In fairness, Dave Ryan smashes the ball up in the air, and by the time it gets to him, he had a Derry defender behind him and one either side of him, and no Limerick player within 20 yards. There's not much he could do tonight with the way he was marked.

Targetman
20/08/2010, 11:30 PM
Derry totally outclassed us in the first half and should have been one up at half time. I thought we shaded the second half and in fairness I thought we were unlucky not to take a point. Derry are defiantly a superior side and played most of the football, but as I said we can count ourselves unlucky.
I would agree that Sullivan was our best player and he clearly didn’t look too impressed at being subbed and rightly so.
Steve-o def wasnt up to it tonight and same again against Mervue, but if he turns around and gets a hat trick against Fingal or Longford everyone will be saying how he is the best striker in the league. Form is temporary, class is permanent and he will be back scoring goals soon you can be sure.
Similar story with Bobby Ryan, has played very well in recent games, and played poorly tonight. Any time he got the ball to feet tonight he had 3 Derry players around him so he couldn’t doo much.
People are forgetting that Derry are by far and away the best team in this league and should have had it well rapped up before they came to Jackman. There is too much doom and gloom surrounding this result. We need to pick ourselves back up and stop feeling sorry for ourselves. We can pick up enough points in our remaining games to finished 2nd or 3rd and then take the playoffs as they come.

fieldofmarkets
20/08/2010, 11:44 PM
Been happening long before Scully took over.

You're right Jofspring, but he should be taking control of it and getting it sorted.

bluewhitearmy
21/08/2010, 1:22 AM
Derry totally outclassed us in the first half and should have been one up at half time. I thought we shaded the second half and in fairness I thought we were unlucky not to take a point. Derry are defiantly a superior side and played most of the football, but as I said we can count ourselves unlucky.
I would agree that Sullivan was our best player and he clearly didn’t look too impressed at being subbed and rightly so.
Steve-o def wasnt up to it tonight and same again against Mervue, but if he turns around and gets a hat trick against Fingal or Longford everyone will be saying how he is the best striker in the league. Form is temporary, class is permanent and he will be back scoring goals soon you can be sure.
Similar story with Bobby Ryan, has played very well in recent games, and played poorly tonight. Any time he got the ball to feet tonight he had 3 Derry players around him so he couldn’t doo much.
People are forgetting that Derry are by far and away the best team in this league and should have had it well rapped up before they came to Jackman. There is too much doom and gloom surrounding this result. We need to pick ourselves back up and stop feeling sorry for ourselves. We can pick up enough points in our remaining games to finished 2nd or 3rd and then take the playoffs as they come.

Fact is there is doom and gloom because people could have told you last week exactly what would happen in front of a crowd this week.

Win the next 2 games hopes get up again Cork come to town big crowd and the exact same will happen again.

The lads are good players but are bottlers.

osarusan im sorry but i think people are too quick to defend Steve at times at times today he just didnt bother to even challenge or Derry player had it a yard away from him and he just watched them take it out instead of hassling.

Monkfish
21/08/2010, 1:53 PM
End of the day we were beat by a much better team, everything from the players on the pitch to the managers tactics were all in Derrys favour. I thought Sean Kelly and Bobby Ryan were particularly poor during the game but no point in pointing fingers cause they were all bad (JT done ok when he came on)

No take a deep breath everyone.......last week we were the best team in the league and were gonna finish first. Today we are $hit and will be lucky not to get relegated, come on lads, reality check. Playoff spot is there for the taking. So we lost to a team better then us, we'll get over it (i just hope to Christ the players do by the Longford game)

FairBall
21/08/2010, 1:59 PM
I thought Scully probably should have gone for five in midfield. It would have given us a better chance of doubling up on their wingers and would have helped put a stop to them knocking the ball around in front of our back four. I felt for Kelly because their no. 11 was excellent and he could have used some help in dealing with him, a constant threat in the air and with the ball at his feet. Also Paddy and Rogers were caught by the pace of the Derry strikers all game, its the main weekness between them and Derry I thought exposed it very well because it never alowd them to get confortable and it showed even when Rogers was in possession. There was no option on the bench for Limerick to combate that either. Scully is a good manager and all, and i dont like to get on his case, but sometimes I find he's to rigid with the 4-4-2 formation...it offers no tatical edge against these teams who know exactly how were gonna line up and play, and that they can rely on us not to change from that.

bluewhitearmy
21/08/2010, 2:48 PM
I thought Scully probably should have gone for five in midfield. It would have given us a better chance of doubling up on their wingers and would have helped put a stop to them knocking the ball around in front of our back four. I felt for Kelly because their no. 11 was excellent and he could have used some help in dealing with him, a constant threat in the air and with the ball at his feet. Also Paddy and Rogers were caught by the pace of the Derry strikers all game, its the main weekness between them and Derry I thought exposed it very well because it never alowd them to get confortable and it showed even when Rogers was in possession. There was no option on the bench for Limerick to combate that either. Scully is a good manager and all, and i dont like to get on his case, but sometimes I find he's to rigid with the 4-4-2 formation...it offers no tatical edge against these teams who know exactly how were gonna line up and play, and that they can rely on us not to change from that.

For the start of the season we played 4-3-3 and have again recently so dont think thats true.

blueblood
21/08/2010, 10:30 PM
Have to agree why all the doom n gloom as alot of people predicted derry would win. i dont think Lims botttled it because there was a big crowd we often loose in front of a big home crowd because its usually a big game against a big team, Derry are a big team. i dont agree we never looked like scoring Stevo hit the post and i think Tracey fired over from about 6 yards after some lovely play and Clarke could have had a penno in the first half and Doherty pulled off 1 or 2 decent saves and we'd a couple of close ones aswell in the 2nd half. I think stevo tried his best under pressure and could have picked up a yellow for tackle in the 2nd half. Derry were out early for the 2nd half and scored almost from the kick off, i dont think we were fully concentrating on the game at the time and Davey Ryan didn't even attempt to save it. Big deal we lost to the league leaders in a game that could have went either way and having to play the last 15 mins with 10 men didn't help eithre, Derry were never going to loose 3 games in a row. And so what if Scully says we're one of the best teams in the division I think we are. So cheer up ttheres a long way to go and we'll have to hopefully settle for a play-off place

bluewhitearmy
21/08/2010, 11:43 PM
Have to agree why all the doom n gloom as alot of people predicted derry would win. i dont think Lims botttled it because there was a big crowd we often loose in front of a big home crowd because its usually a big game against a big team, Derry are a big team. i dont agree we never looked like scoring Stevo hit the post and i think Tracey fired over from about 6 yards after some lovely play and Clarke could have had a penno in the first half and Doherty pulled off 1 or 2 decent saves and we'd a couple of close ones aswell in the 2nd half. I think stevo tried his best under pressure and could have picked up a yellow for tackle in the 2nd half. Derry were out early for the 2nd half and scored almost from the kick off, i dont think we were fully concentrating on the game at the time and Davey Ryan didn't even attempt to save it. Big deal we lost to the league leaders in a game that could have went either way and having to play the last 15 mins with 10 men didn't help eithre, Derry were never going to loose 3 games in a row. And so what if Scully says we're one of the best teams in the division I think we are. So cheer up ttheres a long way to go and we'll have to hopefully settle for a play-off place

After calming down i suppose its fair enough about the doom and gloom.

But there was nothing at all Dave could have done about the goal Farren took it to early for Dave to set and was very close in both Midfields fault for letting Derry go straight through and Defence for letting Farren through so easily.

FairBall
22/08/2010, 1:19 PM
For the start of the season we played 4-3-3 and have again recently so dont think thats true.

Who was that against? I have seen it changed late in a few matches to the 4-3-3 when were chacing a game but its always the same set up at the begining no matter who we play or how the opposition play.

bluewhitearmy
22/08/2010, 1:25 PM
Who was that against? I have seen it changed late in a few matches to the 4-3-3 when were chacing a game but its always the same set up at the begining no matter who we play or how the opposition play.

First 6 or 7 games we played 4 3 3 with Hickey Jt and Clarkey.

Played it more recently in a few games with Kav Jt and Kiely cant remember exact games except Cork in Turners.