View Full Version : Con Murphy's question tonight.
16/08/2010, 7:32 PM
Are Sligo Rovers Barcelona in disguise?
It's a real pity he's a Shams fan. You could get to like him.
redobit
16/08/2010, 9:25 PM
Cant believe we havent been on the TV this season, some of the ball we have been playing is just quality.
Well Red
16/08/2010, 9:29 PM
Several of the lads in RTE sports are actually massive Sligo Rovers fans.
Ciaran W
16/08/2010, 11:34 PM
Redobit, i hate the way they never show fingal or Sligo on the tele,there are the two best footballing sides in the league.
poster
17/08/2010, 1:02 AM
Cant believe we havent been on the TV this season, some of the ball we have been playing is just quality.
Pat's away was on RTE. Anyone know when RTE are starting to show live games again?
Fivesilver
17/08/2010, 7:06 AM
Redobit, i hate the way they never show fingal or Sligo on the tele,there are the two best footballing sides in the league.
Ah stop Ciaran - how are we supposed to hate you properly if you keep saying stuff like that. :D
Ciaran W
17/08/2010, 9:19 AM
You dont have to hate me ;)
Dixie Dean
17/08/2010, 9:21 AM
My season ticket says Sligo Rovers and then they put out Barcelona in Rovers jersey's.
I want my money back
redobit
17/08/2010, 9:56 AM
Ya shows how daft MNS can be really.
Con makes a comment like that and then 3 experts talk more about how much good football we play.
Heres an idea - Shows us playing some decent football and nevermind chating about it!
Well Red
17/08/2010, 10:28 AM
My season ticket says Sligo Rovers and then they put out Barcelona in Rovers jersey's.
I want my money back
Nice one
Several of the lads in RTE sports are actually massive Sligo Rovers fans.
But they like to keep it quiet...
(See Ciaran? ;) )
Ciaran W
17/08/2010, 4:17 PM
Ah well i like the way they play their football and they get great home crowds for such a small place like Sligo, is it such a crime to like them ?
poster
17/08/2010, 4:40 PM
for such a small place like Sligo, is it such a crime to like them ?
In fairness we should be getting an extra thousand or so the way we're playing.
oldrover
17/08/2010, 9:13 PM
Of course there are decent shams fans. Yes the bitored attract some 10% of the local population not many teams could match that. sorry about your troubles tonite but the team which has played the best football all season won.Would have more sympathy for shams had they not engaged in poaching players like Turner and Fenn.
CRFC&SRFC
17/08/2010, 10:14 PM
Didnt think rovers were anywhere near our best tonight.Really missed ndo to put foot on ball. Himself and Ryan are the reason we're playing some of the best football in league. For once we got a bit of luck against a Dublin team..Work rate excellent tonight and hope they can keep momentum going into Pats game. I expect them to man mark Ryan as they did in showgies. Huge game for both clubs
25/08/2010, 11:49 AM
Poor Ciaran isn't too popular with his Hooped pals
http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/showthread.php?12295-Ciaran-W-and-other-foot.ie-Posters
poster
25/08/2010, 1:00 PM
Poor Ciaran isn't too popular with his Hooped pals
That forum's what happens when you let animals near computers.
Fivesilver
25/08/2010, 5:15 PM
Amusing little chaps over there.
"Like it or not there is a picket in place. If you cross it there might be consequences for you on here. Thats all I am saying."
http://www.bpwrap.com/wp-content/duty_calls.png
Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/08/2010, 8:19 PM
If they're all picketing it how do they know who is posting on it?
25/08/2010, 8:52 PM
If they're all picketing it how do they know who is posting on it?
"Comrades," he said, "I trust that every Rovers fan here appreciates the sacrifice that Comrade Napoleon has made in taking this extra labour upon himself. Do not imagine, comrades, that reading foot.ie is a pleasure! On the contrary, it is a deep and heavy responsibility. No one believes more firmly than Comrade Napoleon that foot.ie is a cesspit of anti-Rovers propaganda which should be avoided at all costs. He would be only too happy to never visit that site again. But sometimes a Rovers fan might make the wrong decision, comrades, by posting something not in the public domain to score points in a petty argument and then where should we be?"
25/08/2010, 9:43 PM
Well, tell Rory about him - he'll sort him out.
Rasputin
26/08/2010, 7:06 AM
That forum's what happens when you let animals near computers.
I was quoted in that hilarious thread.
Thumbs up all round.
Oldred
27/08/2010, 1:22 AM
As someone who stood in Milltown on the last day I feel sickened by the attitude of the young Shams fans. We went into the centre of the field that day to do what little we could to keep shams as they were. It grieves me to see the animosity that the "new" fans of both clubs have adopted. As a fan of football in this country, and this country alone, we will never go forward while such venom is involved.
01/09/2010, 4:39 PM
It grieves me to see the animosity that the "new" fans of both clubs have adopted. As a fan of football in this country, and this country alone, we will never go forward while such venom is involved.
The "animosity" and "venom", is mostly one-sided.
sligo23
01/09/2010, 4:46 PM
It is yeah:rolleyes:
poster
01/09/2010, 9:39 PM
Always, always dismays me the how blind Shams fans are to the set of dopes that follow their club. I wonder have they copped on to why every time they come to Sligo there's always extra security at the ground and the Centra across the road has security at the door and a Garda(i) on a bike constantly outside the shop? This ONLY happens when Shams come to town. I know it's only a percentage of them, but I'm always astounded at the amount of Shams fans who ignore it and pretend there's no problem at all.
As someone who stood in Milltown on the last day I feel sickened by the attitude of the young Shams fans. We went into the centre of the field that day to do what little we could to keep shams as they were.
Young Sligo fans today wouldn't get onto the pitch, they'd unfurl a hilarious banner instead.
It is yeah:rolleyes:
It is yeah
02/09/2010, 1:48 PM
What pitch?. Is that not leased from SDCC so , technically, is it not an allotment?. We might see spuds growing in it next year.
02/09/2010, 4:13 PM
I wonder have they copped on to why every time they come to Sligo there's always extra security at the ground
There's actually a sizeable crowd there for a change.
the Centra across the road has security at the door
This would be standard practice in most popular shops throughout the world, football-related or not.
a Garda(i) on a bike constantly outside the shop?
They want something to do. Earn those big salaries instead of getting it handed to them for doing nothing.
This ONLY happens when Shams come to town. I know it's only a percentage of them, but I'm always astounded at the amount of Shams fans who ignore it and pretend there's no problem at all.
We don't ignore it and we don't pretend there's no problem, we just don't overhype it like others do. In most cases in life, you're innocent until proven guilty. In our case, we're all considered guilty, innocent or not.
Oldred
02/09/2010, 5:26 PM
We don't ignore it and we don't pretend there's no problem, we just don't overhype it like others do. In most cases in life, you're innocent until proven guilty. In our case, we're all considered guilty, innocent or not.
And paranoied too!
poster
02/09/2010, 9:20 PM
There's actually a sizeable crowd there for a change.
We never have as much security for Bohs, or when Derry used to bring 400+ down.
This would be standard practice in most popular shops throughout the world, football-related or not.
Again, I only see it when Shams are in town.
They want something to do. Earn those big salaries instead of getting it handed to them for doing nothing.
Again, I " " " " " " " ".....
Maybe you do need to over-hype it so that your club can do something about these people that follow your club?
02/09/2010, 10:51 PM
We never have as much security for Bohs, or when Derry used to bring 400+ down.
Neither club are on the receiving end of a one-sided rivalry.
I only see it when Shams are in town.
I see it every day.
Maybe you do need to over-hype it so that your club can do something about these people
The only thing over-hype does, is encourage it to happen again. Firm but fair is the way to police football crowds, not one extreme or the other.
poster
02/09/2010, 10:57 PM
Mypost, I really think if Shamrock Rovers took a harder stance on the trouble makers it would at least help to eradicate the problems.
The amount of security at a game doesn't matter about any rivalries. It's scaled on the possibility of trouble. Shamrock bring alot of support, the majority being good lads/ladies wanting to just support their team, but they still bring alot of troublemakers. That's why our security is always higher when Shams visit.
02/09/2010, 10:58 PM
Neither club are on the receiving end of a one-sided rivalry.
There's a difference between not liking a club and thinking you have any rivalry with it but if it makes you feel any bigger then work away