View Full Version : leinster senior cup 2000/01

14/08/2010, 8:36 PM
quick question for ye lads. I remember us playing Kilkenny City in the Leinster Senior Cup in 2000/01 how come the trophy was never played for that season after I read the stats on the winners of the LSC since it started on wikipedia??:confused:

14/08/2010, 9:33 PM
You're not going completely mad anyway; Wayside Celtic beat us 1-0 in the competition that year. Remember there were about 50 at the game; I got in free in exchange for being accosted to do ball-boy. Fecking James Timmons sent an early shot out of the ground and into the tree that was behind the wall end. Took me ages to find that one...

Pointless nostalgia - UCD team that day was Browne; Timmons, O'Donnell, Kilmurray (Grogan), McNally (Martyn) (the single most bizarre back four we have ever lined up with; I've no idea how the subs worked out); O'Keeffe, J Martin (Kavanagh), McDonnell, O'Mara (his debut after signing from Liverpool); O'Byrne, Fitzpatrick.

Not that any of that answers your question of course...

15/08/2010, 6:28 PM
You're not going completely mad anyway; Wayside Celtic beat us 1-0 in the competition that year. Remember there were about 50 at the game; I got in free in exchange for being accosted to do ball-boy. Fecking James Timmons sent an early shot out of the ground and into the tree that was behind the wall end. Took me ages to find that one...

Pointless nostalgia - UCD team that day was Browne; Timmons, O'Donnell, Kilmurray (Grogan), McNally (Martyn) (the single most bizarre back four we have ever lined up with; I've no idea how the subs worked out); O'Keeffe, J Martin (Kavanagh), McDonnell, O'Mara (his debut after signing from Liverpool); O'Byrne, Fitzpatrick.

Not that any of that answers your question of course...

at last you answered stu!! does any of the expericenced posters know why there was no lsc held that season? I am compliling the statitisics over the last 26 years since we joined the loi and I don't want to include matches where the final wasnt held at all!

16/08/2010, 5:19 PM
at last you answered stu!! does any of the expericenced posters know why there was no lsc held that season? I am compliling the statitisics over the last 26 years since we joined the loi and I don't want to include matches where the final wasnt held at all!

If you're compiling stats on Town games, then surely it doesn't matter whether the Final was played or not ?

After all, the Longford games still happened !

16/08/2010, 5:43 PM
If you're compiling stats on Town games, then surely it doesn't matter whether the Final was played or not ?

After all, the Longford games still happened !
thats a very good point steve! its way too much work changing it so I will leave it as it is...

17/08/2010, 2:19 PM
Almsot certai you asked about this before marty. I think it was the year it got cancelled half way through after a dispute about suspensions

18/08/2010, 5:27 PM
Almsot certai you asked about this before marty. I think it was the year it got cancelled half way through after a dispute about suspensions

you know what dodge I think you are right.. I must have being thinking of a completely different angle at the time.. Would you include that match against Kilkenny City played that year even though the trophy was never played for in the end??

18/08/2010, 6:23 PM
I would yeah.

BTW I searched here. You were looking for info a=on another year when Longford dind't enter

19/08/2010, 12:32 AM
Whilst this subject has been raised, I'll use it to ask a couple of questions.

Firstly - is it true the LSC was dropped because of controversy over LOI clubs (chiefly Bohs) taking advantage of it to burn-up player suspensions, and the ensuing wrangle over whether or not they constituted "competitive" games ?

Secondly - if so, what has been agreed about whether or not LSC games are classed as 'competitive' and can therefore be used in this way ?

HarpoJoyce
19/08/2010, 7:41 AM
Whilst this subject has been raised, I'll use it to ask a couple of questions.

Firstly - is it true the LSC was dropped because of controversy over LOI clubs (chiefly Bohs) taking advantage of it to burn-up player suspensions, and the ensuing wrangle over whether or not they constituted "competitive" games ?

Secondly - if so, what has been agreed about whether or not LSC games are classed as 'competitive' and can therefore be used in this way ?

(1-ish) No it's not true, your loaded question is full of inaccuracies. I've never heard of the LSC not been considered a competitive competition. As LSC games were considered a less priority than other competitions, e.g. First Division Shield and League Cup group games, sometimes individual games in the same round were played at largely different dates. This gave an opportunity for cynical football-goers who HATE football to suggest that a normal and routine suspension served by a player was something more suspicious. In the middle of a season it is a regular occurence that a squad have a continous suspension list.

There was at least one highlighted discussion/process when Jason Byrne (who is now with Bohemian FC) was playing for a feeder club Bray Wanderers, at that time Byrne was a respected goal-scorer. As normal, Wanderers were due to play in a semi-final of the FAI Cup, as Bray Wanderers were cup specialists they also a LSC cup game where Byrne served a suspension handed down by LoI. Wanderers opponents in the FAI Cup protested and Byrne was refused to play in the semi-final by the FAI. This went to appeal and Wanderers lost their appeal. Bray Wanderers felt they were hard done by as it was normal practice for individual players to serve out suspensions over the entire programme of competitions.

Some LoI clubs took an opportunity to remove the LSC from the LoI season, as individuals at those clubs considered it the lowest standing. Their rather narrow-minded approach did not envisage that a cynical view means there will always be a resentment towards the lowest ranked competition. This decision of removal meant that the League Cup was next in the firing line.

(2-ish) The rules have been amended so that individual players' suspensions are indentified with the individual competitions, with the FAI League of Ireland games being the common denominator for shared transgressions.

Hope this helps.

I'm glad to see the competition back on the LoI programme, controversal I know.

seand60
19/08/2010, 4:13 PM
Or maybe when it was decided that Monaghan United could play in it! Think about it.

19/08/2010, 5:13 PM
Or maybe when it was decided that Monaghan United could play in it! Think about it.

monaghan utd actually played in the lsc we played them in the 97/98 season. They beat us away from home that year!

19/08/2010, 5:14 PM
I would yeah.

BTW I searched here. You were looking for info a=on another year when Longford dind't enter

yeah its coming back to me. That would be the mid nineties when we didnt enter it and i asked did we enter in the competition at all that year?

19/08/2010, 9:42 PM
(1-ish) No it's not true, your loaded question is full of inaccuracies. I've never heard of the LSC not been considered a competitive competition. As LSC games were considered a less priority than other competitions, e.g. First Division Shield and League Cup group games, sometimes individual games in the same round were played at largely different dates. This gave an opportunity for cynical football-goers who HATE football to suggest that a normal and routine suspension served by a player was something more suspicious. In the middle of a season it is a regular occurence that a squad have a continous suspension list.

There was at least one highlighted discussion/process when Jason Byrne (who is now with Bohemian FC) was playing for a feeder club Bray Wanderers, at that time Byrne was a respected goal-scorer. As normal, Wanderers were due to play in a semi-final of the FAI Cup, as Bray Wanderers were cup specialists they also a LSC cup game where Byrne served a suspension handed down by LoI. Wanderers opponents in the FAI Cup protested and Byrne was refused to play in the semi-final by the FAI. This went to appeal and Wanderers lost their appeal. Bray Wanderers felt they were hard done by as it was normal practice for individual players to serve out suspensions over the entire programme of competitions.

Some LoI clubs took an opportunity to remove the LSC from the LoI season, as individuals at those clubs considered it the lowest standing. Their rather narrow-minded approach did not envisage that a cynical view means there will always be a resentment towards the lowest ranked competition. This decision of removal meant that the League Cup was next in the firing line.

(2-ish) The rules have been amended so that individual players' suspensions are indentified with the individual competitions, with the FAI League of Ireland games being the common denominator for shared transgressions.

Hope this helps.

I'm glad to see the competition back on the LoI programme, controversal I know.

A tad convoluted and rather opaque an answer to be fair Harpo....:D

So to summarise - are you saying that LOI clubs asked for it to be binned mid season, and then dropped going forwards, as it was essentially a pain in the arse.....?

If so, then why did they agree for it to be relaunched again this year ?