View Full Version : Airtricity league:13th and 14th August
Ciaran W
13/08/2010, 11:38 PM
Happy fingal won tonight :D
hoops1
13/08/2010, 11:40 PM
Ye seems one player clouted the other after one of the goals.The player then tried to walk off got as far as the sideline and was told to get the hell back on by the Drogheda staff.
Entertaining all the same.
Ciaran W
13/08/2010, 11:43 PM
Poor owl fella. . He threw his jersey on the ground after the game
DaveyPats
14/08/2010, 12:15 AM
Pats just didn't turn up tonight, can't say that anyone played well.
Credit to Bray, fully deserved the win. Huge game for us next week now.
Ciaran W
14/08/2010, 1:30 AM
Great win tonight :D i love this league more and more after every game,its f*cking amazing :)
14/08/2010, 2:07 AM
mr cooke will be very pleased with how harps played,
question, do opposing managers and fai heads have to pay into games, cooke and his friend/assistant or whatever i'm 99% sure didn't pay to get in
Jicked
14/08/2010, 3:33 AM
I'll be having a bit of Galway at 10/1. They've played very well against Bohs so far this season, Bohs have reportedly had another falling out with the players after asking them to cancel their contracts for next year and Connors will be fired up for his usual own personal cup final, and he'll be on the wind up even more after what's happened with Bohs these past few weeks.
Easiest money I've made in a long time. I put a decent wedge on (for me) and at no stage at all did I think that one wouldn't come through, even when the first and second bloke was sent off. Hopefully some other people took advantage of those crazy, crazy odds.
Meanwhile, the Hoops are having a party, which just makes things more enjoyable.
rocket
14/08/2010, 9:12 AM
Pats just didn't turn up tonight, can't say that anyone played well.
Credit to Bray, fully deserved the win. Huge game for us next week now.
Bray played really well, never gave pats a second on the ball and scored three really good goals, not giving up just yet.
SupaJon
14/08/2010, 9:30 AM
Bray played really well, never gave pats a second on the ball and scored three really good goals, not giving up just yet.
Loved the way the "Going down" chants from Pats fans were replaced by "We are staying up!" from the home section!
Cracking game.
What's with the Pats fans hatred of Gary Dempsey?
14/08/2010, 11:55 AM
Whilst playing for Pats last season he backed Galway to beat them in a double along with Newcastle or man City. Got banned! Galway won other didn't. Dempsey didn't play the game however!
danthesaint
14/08/2010, 12:07 PM
Whilst playing for Pats last season he backed Galway to beat them in a double along with Newcastle or man City. Got banned! Galway won other didn't. Dempsey didn't play the game however!
not just that, some fans think he didnt pull his weight in last years team that were nearly relegated
poster
14/08/2010, 12:20 PM
friend/assistant or whatever i'm 99% sure didn't pay to get in
He was a bit young to be his assistant AV!
All managers have LoI match cards, so they get in free, which is fair enough I think.
14/08/2010, 12:41 PM
mr cooke will be very pleased with how harps played,
question, do opposing managers and fai heads have to pay into games, cooke and his friend/assistant or whatever i'm 99% sure didn't pay to get inSee 2nd line of my sig;)
14/08/2010, 1:20 PM
See 2nd line of my sig;)
but we all know i cant spell :)
White Horse
14/08/2010, 2:03 PM
Happy with the win tonight but Dundalk could have easily made it 1-1 if they hadnt have missed an open goal in the first half.
I'm as gutted as you are happy. We owned the ball in the 1st half without creating too many chances. Tipton will have nightmares about missing his sitter.
Fingal's threat was always going to be at set plays and our defence went to sleep for the goal. Everyone in the ground (apart from the Dundalk defence) know Cahill would swing it to the near post.
Dundalk are struggling with confidence and I thought Fingal controlled the game thereafter.
By the way, apart from the slow ballboys, I thought the game was very well organised by your club. Very professional stewarding though I bet they cost you a few quid. The attendance was poor. I really don't know how Fingal pay the players wages. How do you stay within the salary cap?
GalwayRed
14/08/2010, 5:54 PM
Great win for us last night. Monaghan shot themselves in the foot with the early red card. Looked a disgusting tackle by Sean Brennan from where I was sitting and Sean Byrne had to be stretchered off. Two great finishes from Casso for our goals. He was helped in the first one by some shocking defending but the second finish was outstanding. We were fairly well in control of the game up until the last 10 mins where we conceded a soft goal. Casso went off injured and we had to play with 10. Thought we were going to throw it away but a great win in the end.
We have Wexford, Salthill, Longford, Harps, and Athlone now so if were going to have a go at third spot nows the time to make a move. Results didn't really go our way with Cork, Waterford, and Limerick all winning last night.
Great wins for Galway and Bray as well.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/08/2010, 7:35 PM
Rovers 2 up at half time. O'Grady and Amond with 2 goals in the last 2 minutes of the half
14/08/2010, 8:15 PM
I was talking to Aidan "Jacko" Smyth in Longford today and he was telling me that him and Shay Kelly are part of the backroom staff at Shels now is Barry Ferguson still at Drogheda?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/08/2010, 8:19 PM
3 0. Blinkhorn
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/08/2010, 8:24 PM
4 0. Foran
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/08/2010, 8:34 PM
Nope.. No match on the box...
Should be a pretty obvious outcome as far as the title race games go tonight... SHOULD be three points for Pats, Rovers and Bohs realistically... Dundalk will likely continue their descent through the league and lose to Fungus and Sligo/UCD will probably be a drab 0-0 or 1-1 draw...
4-0 in the end. Sounded drab enough
14/08/2010, 9:08 PM
Have to say, I know we're still missing half a team, but Sligo are genuine title contenders. That was the best I've seen anyone play against us this season; 4-0 was fully merited. Only consolation I can really take is that we were still trying towards the end, and created three or four good openings in the last five minutes, albeit when Sligo were relaxing with the job done. Keep an eye out for the first goal in particular on MNS; would be surprised if it doesn't win Goal of the Month; cross from the left met with a rifle volley into the corner.
Four points from eight games for us since beating Fingal in July. But very tough to recover from a hammering like that ahead of Fingal next week...
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/08/2010, 9:51 PM
Can't see us catching Shams but if we can win in Inchicore on Friday we've a great chance of second. Playing some great stuff.
14/08/2010, 10:13 PM
did the salthill -v- athlone match finish 1-1?
14/08/2010, 10:19 PM
You're on the internet and you can't check that for yourself? :p`
It did, yeah. No scorer details on livescore; Aertel notes "To follow" scored for both sides, but somehow knows that Salthill scored on 34 and Athlone equalised on 46.
poster
14/08/2010, 10:29 PM
Couldn't believe we were that comfortable! A 4-0 win, with Doyle, Peers, Russell and Ryan not starting. I don't think we'll win the league, but we'll have a big say in who does!
Bring on the Shamrock!! :cool:
14/08/2010, 10:39 PM
By the way, who was that I was tlaking to in Mooney's before the match? The lad who had the dream last night where Boco scored a goal and went over to the stand holding up four fingers, maybe to signal a 4-0 win? Barsteward!!! :p
Battery Rover
14/08/2010, 11:21 PM
You're on the internet and you can't check that for yourself? :p`
It did, yeah. No scorer details on livescore; Aertel notes "To follow" scored for both sides, but somehow knows that Salthill scored on 34 and Athlone equalised on 46.
Daryl Horgan for Salthill
Andy Faran for Athlone
Couldn't believe we were that comfortable! A 4-0 win, with Doyle, Peers, Russell and Ryan not starting. I don't think we'll win the league, but we'll have a big say in who does!
Especially if you rest players :rolleyes: ;)
An even better looking table tonight than last night..
14/08/2010, 11:40 PM
What, you reckon that defeat nipped in the bud our certain 12-match winning-streak to claim the title at the death from you?
(Or you just don't like us...)
It's always better to be sure...
Rasputin
15/08/2010, 9:33 AM
What a game, great atmosphere and general buzz around the club.
Coming into some great form when we face shams at home in the semi final of the LC, cant wait.
redobit
15/08/2010, 2:21 PM
Great result for Rovers last nite. Was expecting a lot more from UCD.
We have a great squad in place. To be able to bring subs on like Blinhorn and Doyle as well as having Ryan and Russell in the stand and Peers on the bench shows the quality of player at the club. Great competition for every position and Cookie is not afraid to make tough decisions and put players that deserve it into the team.
To massive games ahead in the next week, Shams in the semi of the LC and a real six pointer against Pats on Friday nite.
danthesaint
15/08/2010, 3:51 PM
Can't see us catching Shams but if we can win in Inchicore on Friday we've a great chance of second. Playing some great stuff.
why not, renters have to go to inchicore and i think dalyer as well, few pts easily dropped in those games.
think it would be cruel for us to lose out on europe spot considering how we played all season.
Doomofman
15/08/2010, 4:01 PM
4-0 in the end. Sounded drab enough
Look at my other predictions... lol... At least I got one out of four right...
Sigh
Rasputin
15/08/2010, 5:10 PM
think it would be cruel for us to lose out on europe spot considering how we played all season.
Pats played horrible all season, worst brand of football in the league.
Thats not to say you havnt benefited from it, but I certainly wouldnt say you deserve anything.
danthesaint
15/08/2010, 5:17 PM
Thats not to say you havnt benefited from it, but I certainly wouldnt say you deserve anything.
how can ya say that we scored the most goals* and conceded less goals than anyone this season. We have been up there since the start.
prior to last weekend
Rasputin
15/08/2010, 5:22 PM
how can ya say that we scored the most goals* and conceded less goals than anyone this season. We have been up there since the start.
prior to last weekend
Everytime I have watched you in the Showgies or on the telly yee have been horrible to watch.
Its effective but its not pretty.
redobit
15/08/2010, 6:06 PM
why not, renters have to go to inchicore and i think dalyer as well, few pts easily dropped in those games.
Find that a strange comment dan. Considering Pats league position surely you should be looking up (win the league) as opposed to down (scraping in to europe). There is still a quarter of the season left too.
peadar1987
15/08/2010, 8:49 PM
I'm not a fan of this view that to deserve anything, you have to play like Barcelona. Having a solid back line, deep-sitting central midfielders, and powerful strikers to feed on crosses and long balls is just as much "good football" as passing the ball across the back four thirty times until the opposition get confused enough for you to launch a counter attack, and if you do it right, it's just as deserving of praise and results.
danthesaint
15/08/2010, 8:55 PM
Find that a strange comment dan. Considering Pats league position surely you should be looking up (win the league) as opposed to down (scraping in to europe). There is still a quarter of the season left too.
no i just meant the top 5 is so tight at the moment, just meant it would be cruel for pats to lose out on european spot considering we havent been outside of the top 3 for most of the season
green army
15/08/2010, 9:55 PM
Everytime I have watched you in the Showgies or on the telly yee have been horrible to watch.
out of the 20 odd games this season, how many times have you seen pats play?
16/08/2010, 12:59 AM
Pats have played in the twenty (odd games)
Rasputin
16/08/2010, 9:13 AM
I'm not a fan of this view that to deserve anything, you have to play like Barcelona. Having a solid back line, deep-sitting central midfielders, and powerful strikers to feed on crosses and long balls is just as much "good football" as passing the ball across the back four thirty times until the opposition get confused enough for you to launch a counter attack, and if you do it right, it's just as deserving of praise and results.
Yes because I am clearly advocating "passing the ball across the back four thirty times until the opposition gets confused".
I am advocating attacking football not necessarily possession football.
It still will not change my perspective that Pats brand of football this season is pure muck.
Horrible on the eye but effective like I have stated over and over.
Its not to say its talentless but it is certainly not worthy of praise from a spectator perspective.
Rasputin
16/08/2010, 9:14 AM
Between the Setanta Cup and League I would say probably around 4-5 times this season.
But that is not counting watching them on the Telly.
We've had 3 league games on TV, and one of them was aganst Sligo
peadar1987
16/08/2010, 10:05 AM
Yes because I am clearly advocating "passing the ball across the back four thirty times until the opposition gets confused".
It still will not change my perspective that Pats brand of football this season is pure muck.
Its not to say its talentless but it is certainly not worthy of praise from a spectator perspective.
Perhaps not from your perspective, but you don't speak for all spectators. I find it very worthy of praise, if it's done well.
16/08/2010, 11:20 AM
Between the Setanta Cup and League I would say probably around 4-5 times this season.
But that is not counting watching them on the Telly.
In fairness lads, in the absence of Premiership-style coverage, what other basis is there for holding an opinion on another team's footballing style barring games at (your) home and the on TV. T4/5 games is a reasonable basis.
PartySaint
16/08/2010, 1:50 PM
My eyes like it
HarpoJoyce
16/08/2010, 5:44 PM
Sligo Rovers 4:0 UCD
Same ol', same ol' from Rover and Paul Cook. Midfielders supplying fast paced forward runners, Boco and McCabe linking well, Alan Keane firing in crosses, Ndo hanging back and dealing with any break-outs from UCD's defence.
John Russell and Eoin Doyle were part of the crowd that stuffed UCD last month, I'm glad Russell wasn't available/didn't play and Doyle only played for a little piece.
There are only two Premier Div. grounds where UCd won't pick up points, Richmond Park and The Showgrounds............ and that's where the comparison ends.