View Full Version : Delaney's wages

09/08/2010, 7:47 AM
According to the RTE news report this morning, John Delaney took a pay cut of 17,500 when he signed his new contract. He now earns €420,000 per annum. Thats more than the Taoiseach earns and more than the combined wages of the CEOs of the GAA and iRFU. How can this be allowed to happen when the Association is in the red to the tone of many, many millions. it goes to show the mindset of the so called officers of the FAI. It is no wonder that our game is a shambles in this country, when we have these self-interested imbeciles running the game. Speaking as someone who was involved in grass roots football for many many years, I'm glad to be no longer involved.

09/08/2010, 8:00 AM
It'll be interesting how the usual gimps that jump to his defence, defend this one.

09/08/2010, 8:40 AM
that is a mad salary alright. sure trap is paid twice what maradonna was on with argentina and only capello (£6m, totally mad!) seems to earn more as a national manager. sums up this country as a whole with its ridiculous salaries

Shilts
09/08/2010, 10:44 AM
It is no wonder that our game is a shambles in this country

The game is certainly not in a shambles
Please explain your statement

09/08/2010, 12:06 PM
that is a mad salary alright. sure trap is paid twice what maradonna was on with argentina and only capello (£6m, totally mad!) seems to earn more as a national manager. sums up this country as a whole with its ridiculous salaries

Well the manager's job ins't that attractive to the foreign coaches the FAI craved so I can understand them setting that salary that high (even if I think its ridiculous).

There's simply no excuse for Delaney's salary being so high (when he was effectively promoted up through the ranks from volunteer)

rebelmusic
09/08/2010, 12:15 PM
Delaney's salary is insane...absolutely insane. I'm disgusted to hear that.

On trap's note, the only way we'll get top class managers of the national team is with high salaries. It shouldn't have to be that way, but it is

amaccann
09/08/2010, 12:25 PM
It's a disgrace, but to whom can we report or complain about this? Ordinarily I would suggest a local TD or the government in general, but am I right in that the government can't lean on the FAI at all without being punished by FIFA for "political interference"? UEFA / FIFA certainly aren't going to pressurise one of their own to take a wage cut, so it's hard to see how Delaney could be made accountable, bar (perhaps) media pressure. Perhaps we sould start sending letters to the various soccer editors in the national papers.

Crosby87
09/08/2010, 12:35 PM
I dont think 400,000 for someone who is in charge of the national program is that out of hand honestly. How much do you think that job should be salaried for? Someone is going to do it for free?
And about Trap, we all whined (including me) when Staunton was manager, as he was awful, but i bet he made a lot less.
Would you want to go back to that? As Liam Neeson says in Schindlers List...."Nice things cost money."

09/08/2010, 12:44 PM
anyone know what the heads of the FA, FAW and SFA are on, for comparison's sake?

09/08/2010, 12:49 PM
I dont think 400,000 for someone who is in charge of the national program is that out of hand honestly. How much do you think that job should be salaried for? Someone is going to do it for free?

Do you think a salry of even 200k would be deemed cheap?

amaccann
09/08/2010, 12:54 PM
And about Trap, we all whined (including me) when Staunton was manager, as he was awful, but i bet he made a lot less.
Would you want to go back to that? As Liam Neeson says in Schindlers List...."Nice things cost money."

Is he though? I would classify the likes of Wim Koevermans et al as being those actually in charge of football's development in this country, John Delaney is just the chief executive who takes the plaudits and does the photo-shoots.

09/08/2010, 3:20 PM
17k is a pitiful salary cut when it only brings you down to 420k, but it's what these people earn.

The FAI is a private organisation (albeit a government-supported one). In business, the highest salaries are paid out to the executives who enhance the company's bottom line and for all his failings Delaney has presided over a period where the FAI's turnover has increased dramatically. At the moment, what he brings to the FAI appears to be worth far more than his salary.

It's the same principle that caused the FAI to gamble on Trapattoni's high salary - a million a year (or whatever it is) is a huge amount for them to pay out, but it's peanuts compared to the millions they'd get if they qualified for a major tournament. Countries like Spain and Germany don't have to offer that kind of money because of a) the prestige of the job and b) they're virtually guaranteed qualification anyway.

Similarly, some of the highest-paid executives in the world sit on the boards of charities.

09/08/2010, 3:25 PM
In business, the highest salaries are paid out to the executives who enhance the company's bottom line and for all his failings Delaney has presided over a period where the FAI's turnover has increased dramatically.
Big difference between turnover and the bottom line...

09/08/2010, 3:36 PM
In a for-profit company, yes, but the FAI is essentially a not-for-profit organisation so turnover would be the headline figure.

09/08/2010, 3:52 PM
Well, not entirely. No good increasing turnover from, say, E50m to E75m while in the same period going from a E2m profit to a E10m loss. (I know the point you're making about there being no point increasing profit to E10m when you should have spent it on projects though).

09/08/2010, 4:10 PM
A surplus is handy to build up the FAI cash reserves.

I think he is doing well as CEO. probably almost worth his salary. A reasonable case can be put in his defense to justify the amount.

09/08/2010, 4:10 PM
That's exactly it. The FAI doesn't produce anything so the only real drain on resources is going to be excessive salaries, expenses and debt from building the stadium. Once they have sufficient cash reserves, there's no need to be running at a surplus. I saw Delaney was congratulating himself for making a "profit" last year - it sounds good, but it could just as easily be a result of poor budgeting than improved performance.

09/08/2010, 4:11 PM
The game is certainly not in a shambles
Please explain your statementWelcome onboard JD. Glad you finally joined us.

09/08/2010, 4:27 PM
That's exactly it. The FAI doesn't produce anything so the only real drain on resources is going to be excessive salaries, expenses and debt from building the stadium. Once they have sufficient cash reserves, there's no need to be running at a surplus. I saw Delaney was congratulating himself for making a "profit" last year - it sounds good, but it could just as easily be a result of poor budgeting than improved performance.

I guess the reserves have been eaten into these last 2 years.
The FAI CEO is a nasty place to be. Even if you paid the FAI to do the job there would be people queueing up to stab you. And there are the LOI clubs to control who are habitually prone to anarchy.
Naturally Delaney will promote any positive news and connect it with his office. And if he is smart enough, manage to deflect focus from the problems/ poor decisions. That's basic survival.

Straightstory
09/08/2010, 4:28 PM
Just for organizing the League v Man United fiasco, Delaney should be sacked.

09/08/2010, 4:36 PM
I guess the reserves have been eaten into these last 2 years.
The FAI CEO is a nasty place to be. Even if you paid the FAI to do the job there would be people queueing up to stab you. And there are the LOI clubs to control who are habitually prone to anarchy.
Naturally Delaney will promote any positive news and connect it with his office. And if he is smart enough, manage to deflect focus from the problems/ poor decisions. That's basic survival.
Oh, I wasn't saying he's stupid for highlighting it, just that it's not all that meaningful.

edit: I probably shouldn't contradict myself, but the move back to Lansdowne from Croke Park will naturally reduce turnover by a few million while the actual profit from ticket sales will increase. So turnover is slightly deceptive in this instance, but Delaney has still presided over a period of expansion.

09/08/2010, 6:03 PM
Anyone know what Browne earns at IRFU?

kennedmc
09/08/2010, 6:14 PM
Delaney earns more then the CEO of the GAA and IRFU combined. Both organisations that are ran better then the FAI imo.

What is the increase in revenue that he should be rewarded for? Over the last few years we have matches in Croker and huge TV money from the France and Italy games.

The idea that the bottom line doesn't matter for the FAI is nonsense in that they can't continually operate at a loss.

Can they push out the "it is FAI policy not to discuss the salary of any staff" line at the AGM? I'm sure Delaney already has a few mongrels ready to shout anyone who asks the questions

Sullivinho
09/08/2010, 7:17 PM
He now earns €420,000 per annum.

Assuming that figure is accurate, it's obscene, disgusting and every synonym thereof. I imagined he was on a nice earner but that's atrocious.

09/08/2010, 7:23 PM
The FAI is a private organisation (albeit a government-supported one). In business, the highest salaries are paid out to the executives who enhance the company's bottom line and for all his failings Delaney has presided over a period where the FAI's turnover has increased dramatically. At the moment, what he brings to the FAI appears to be worth far more than his salary.

It's the same principle that caused the FAI to gamble on Trapattoni's high salary - a million a year (or whatever it is) is a huge amount for them to pay out, but it's peanuts compared to the millions they'd get if they qualified for a major tournament.

some seriously deluded people on this site!!!!!!!!!! Delaney has done feck all for Irish football

09/08/2010, 8:19 PM
Irish football /= FAI

The board is concerned about revenue and Delaney's stewardship has seen revenue go up considerably. Ultimately he's responsible for performance on the pitch too but his actual day-to-day role is to schmooze and get people to give him money and he appears to be quite the reptile in that regard. If seeing the financial picture makes me deluded then I guess you can call me David Icke.

09/08/2010, 8:25 PM
Irish football /= FAI

The board is concerned about revenue and Delaney's stewardship has seen revenue go up considerably. Ultimately he's responsible for performance on the pitch too but his actual day-to-day role is to schmooze and get people to give him money and he appears to be quite the reptile in that regard. If seeing the financial picture makes me deluded then I guess you can call me David Icke.

If he was responsible for the the performances on the pitch, he should have been sacked after the Stan debacle. He is certainly lucky that Denis O'Brien came to the rescue and offered to pay the lions share of Traps wages. But for him to be paid more than the Taoiseach is grossly wrong. A wage of €200,000 would be a fair figure.

Crosby87
09/08/2010, 8:27 PM
Do you think a salry of even 200k would be deemed cheap?

Yes. Not cheap for most people but the head of the football operations in a forward country is going to be making more than 200K.
NOW with that said, if I were told the people in charge of Germany, France, Spain and Holland made less, then I would apologize and think 400 was too much.

DannyInvincible
09/08/2010, 8:39 PM
But for him to be paid more than the Taoiseach is grossly wrong. A wage of €200,000 would be a fair figure.

One might argue that the Taoiseach's salary alone is grossly wrong.

Yes. Not cheap for most people but the head of the football operations in a forward country is going to be making more than 200K.
NOW with that said, if I were told the people in charge of Germany, France, Spain and Holland made less, then I would apologize and think 400 was too much.

I think it is the case though that the heads of the football associations in these countries are on a lesser wage. That's the point people have been trying to make and the reason for the distaste.

09/08/2010, 8:51 PM
If he was responsible for the the performances on the pitch, he should have been sacked after the Stan debacle. He is certainly lucky that Denis O'Brien came to the rescue and offered to pay the lions share of Traps wages. But for him to be paid more than the Taoiseach is grossly wrong. A wage of €200,000 would be a fair figure.
Ah come on, Delaney might be a bit of a chancer but to say he's worse than the Taoiseach is just downright insulting. His wages are obviously obscene compared to the average worker but the corporate world operates on a completely different level. And if Delaney's wheeling and dealing does help bring in an extra million to the FAI's kitty, is it not worth shelling out the extra 200k? Not saying he's directly responsible but it's always the top guy who gets the rewards.

09/08/2010, 9:08 PM
Irish football /= FAI

Remind me how the Aviva platinum tickets are selling again? Or the big debt he has run up for the FAI to finance the stadium? Or asking/ordering junior clubs to buy these inflated tickets thereby putting the clubs in debt? etc etc etc

kennedmc
09/08/2010, 9:49 PM
Ah come on, Delaney might be a bit of a chancer but to say he's worse than the Taoiseach is just downright insulting. His wages are obviously obscene compared to the average worker but the corporate world operates on a completely different level. And if Delaney's wheeling and dealing does help bring in an extra million to the FAI's kitty, is it not worth shelling out the extra 200k? Not saying he's directly responsible but it's always the top guy who gets the rewards.

Please remind us of these turnover figures you keep going on about - what are they?
From 2000 to 2008 the country was going through a boom and the place was awash with money. Every sport increased turnover - Not necessarily anything to do with Delaney.

also he is not running a private enterprise. The key question is what people in a similar role get paid. For example the CEO of the GAA, the IRFU or how about the CEO's of the Welsh and Scottish football associations - countries of a similar size to Ireland.

09/08/2010, 9:51 PM
Delaney earns more then the CEO of the GAA and IRFU combined. Both organisations that are ran better then the FAI imo.

really? the rugby has witnessed playing numbers plumet and the club game is on its knees. dont be fooled by the relative success of the national team and the provinces. the success of a sporting organisation should be largely based on whats going on at grass roots level.

09/08/2010, 9:55 PM
Please remind us of these turnover figures you keep going on about - what are they?
From 2000 to 2008 the country was going through a boom and the place was awash with money. Every sport increased turnover - Not necessarily anything to do with Delaney.

also he is not running a private enterprise. The key question is what people in a similar role get paid. For example the CEO of the GAA, the IRFU or how about the CEO's of the Welsh and Scottish football associations - countries of a similar size to Ireland.

you cant have it both ways. when things go wrong its delaneys fault but he cant be credited when things go well either? interesting

btw, when did wales or scotland last qualify for a championsip finals or win a major underage tournament?

kennedmc
09/08/2010, 10:00 PM
The club game has struggled to find its place in a situation where provinces now take precedent. While playing numbers have suffered and the IRFU are working hard to ensure it can be of a sufficient standard to help develop players for the provinces etc.

The IRFU had to do that or else the club game in Ireland would have ended up in a situation like the Airiticity league now and Irish rugby would be in the sh!t....As you point out there is less leisure players in clubs (but not in schools!) but that can be reversed.

a successful nation team is incredibly important for the success of sporting organisation that competes at an international level

09/08/2010, 10:06 PM
I read the 2009 Irish Sports Council review and it said that rugby participation had risen slightly versus a small decline in football & other sports (recession induced) - not surprising given the Grand Slam halo effect I guess.

09/08/2010, 10:13 PM
Remind me how the Aviva platinum tickets are selling again? Or the big debt he has run up for the FAI to finance the stadium? Or asking/ordering junior clubs to buy these inflated tickets thereby putting the clubs in debt? etc etc etc
Everyone knows the Vantage thing was a fiasco - they got way too greedy trying to sell something that was already madly overpriced. Again, I'm not saying everything he's done is amazing or even good - just that he has presided over a period of growth.

Please remind us of these turnover figures you keep going on about - what are they? From 2000 to 2008 the country was going through a boom and the place was awash with money. Every sport increased turnover - Not necessarily anything to do with Delaney.
Turnover of 50 million yoyos: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/leak-in-roof-of-euro366m-stadium-is-just-a-hiccup-insists-fai-2288909.html

Of course the increase isn't solely due to him, but he's been the top guy for the most rapid period of expansion and he is naturally going to get the financial rewards.

Who says the heads of the Welsh and Scottish FAs are worth their wages? The IRFU is a perfect example, though - whatever they pay their chief, it's probably not enough.

09/08/2010, 10:16 PM
I read the 2009 Irish Sports Council review and it said that rugby participation had risen slightly versus a small decline in football & other sports (recession induced) - not surprising given the Grand Slam halo effect I guess.

ok. accepted. was referring really to the decline over the last ten years or so. for example, one senior club I am aware of used to have 11 senior teams but now only has 4. i would suggest that football numbers possibly dont include those playing astro which is currently killing the junior football game here

09/08/2010, 10:20 PM
I don't think Cowen's pay is a fair benchmark. For a start being CEO of the whole country is probably grossly underpaid, but also it opens up enough opportunities to be made for life afterwards in most cases. Not sure about Cowen mind you!#

I'm relatively neutral on this. I think 4 years ago I'd have been calling for his head but from what I can tell from here the FAI is doing very well on many subjective counts and it effing pees me off listening to my rugby mates over here comparing apples to oranges vis a vis the IRFU club & national teams' relative success. The IRFU doesn't have a scenario where the world's biggest league is 150 miles away and salaries are like those of Hollywood film stars. I doubt BO'D would be at Leinster if he could earn 10 times as much playing in UK or France. It's not a dig at rugby but people have to see the reality.

Personally I believe that grass roots football is being looked after by the FAI, hosting the UEFA Cup Final in 2011 was very much down to Delaney's personal lobbying skills and the FAI's commitment to grass roots football - not to mention learning from the "Celtic bid" fiasco. The FAI has successfully teamed up with local authorities up & down the country and has had many totally unheralded successes. I'm sure there are a whole host of reasons to take a dig but I'm of the opinion that the FAI is generally doing more good than harm and is operating against a much stronger headwind than the GAA or IRFU.

09/08/2010, 10:31 PM
ok. accepted. was referring really to the decline over the last ten years or so. for example, one senior club I am aware of used to have 11 senior teams but now only has 4. i would suggest that football numbers possibly dont include those playing astro which is currently killing the junior football game hereBy all accounts another great success of football in Ireland is the volunteering culture it encourages, a valuable "soft" asset in society.

As far as I know (not much!) astro is included in the overall participation numbers. A recent article in an obscure part of the Irish Times (health & education supplement?) highlighted Sporting Fingal and the local county council's recognition that football was the biggest participation sport which surprised me as I thought north Co. Dublin was hardcore GAA.

I'm doing a management post grad degree and am thinking of case studying local authority involvement in SRFC and SF -if anyone has any useful info or perspectives I'm all ears!

I understand that the FAI has come under criticism for inconsistent application of the club licensing rules, but Jesus, at least they have some rules - unlike over here where arguably the world's greatest football club is being tarted about like a child prostitute to a bunch of perverts to Syrian* or Chinese businessmen about whom nobody knows anything. Fiasco.

*Are UK companies in normal businesses even allowed to trade with Syria?

09/08/2010, 11:05 PM
I think it was a good job that he wasn't sacked after the Stan debacle. He has demonstrated that at least he recognises he makes mistakes and is willing and capable of putting something better into place. Also I don't regard the O'Brien cash as luck.
Consider that Delaney might well have a part in attracting such sponsorship like O'Briens. Sponsors like that don't come along with no strings attached if they consider the CEO to be an imbecile.
Before Delaney grabbed the reins, the FAI were an embarrassing administrative shambles, so much so that the Sports Council couldn't trust them with sports grants.

10/08/2010, 12:30 PM
you cant have it both ways. when things go wrong its delaneys fault but he cant be credited when things go well either? interesting

btw, when did wales or scotland last qualify for a championsip finals or win a major underage tournament?

Like what? and give me some CONCRETE examples

10/08/2010, 12:31 PM
I think it was a good job that he wasn't sacked after the Stan debacle. He has demonstrated that at least he recognises he makes mistakes and is willing and capable of putting something better into place. Also I don't regard the O'Brien cash as luck.
Consider that Delaney might well have a part in attracting such sponsorship like O'Briens. Sponsors like that don't come along with no strings attached if they consider the CEO to be an imbecile.
Before Delaney grabbed the reins, the FAI were an embarrassing administrative shambles, so much so that the Sports Council couldn't trust them with sports grants.

Thats embaressing, taking money from a crook
And shipping Berite out to Italy
Delaney is a FF, its not rocket science:rolleyes:

10/08/2010, 3:30 PM
The League winning team gets around 200k. Delaney gets 400k.

Enough said.

10/08/2010, 4:10 PM
Thats embaressing, taking money from a crook
And shipping Berite out to Italy
Delaney is a FF, its not rocket science:rolleyes:

BC, if your opinion had to depend on usage of any aspect of applied science, I fear you would be struck dumb.

10/08/2010, 6:40 PM
BC, if your opinion had to depend on usage of any aspect of applied science, I fear you would be struck dumb.

FUNNY:rolleyes:

Alf Honn
10/08/2010, 11:30 PM

--------

Before Delaney grabbed the reins, the FAI were an embarrassing administrative shambles...

Team 33 :loser:

DannyInvincible
11/08/2010, 12:27 AM
--------

Before Delaney grabbed the reins, the FAI were an embarrassing administrative shambles...

Seriously? :rolleyes:

11/08/2010, 9:14 AM
I think by and large Delaney is doing a good job. We have a top class stadium and a top class manager in place, when were we ever able to say that?!!? Now Im not saying this is all his doing but he is the man at the helm overseeing this. Yes the FAI now have a lot of debt on board and that will be his big challenge in the coming years is the maintenance of this debt in a manner that will not grossly affect grass roots funding. The FAI are still unfortunately prone to the odd gaffe, the Barcelona/Limerick mess, Cork City, Vantage Club pricing (although I see the GAA have now priced their premium tickets at pretty much the same price as the VC - am not sure what realm the people who set these prices are in!).

Having somewhat defended Delaney, I still think the wages are grossly excessive. It is particularly poor reflection on the government who fund these sporting bodies to a significant extent that they let the powers that be in the organisation award themselves wages to that level. Then again we do live in a country where the head of a regulated electricity supply board pulls in a wages of 750k.

11/08/2010, 10:36 AM
--------

Temporary insanity, not a symptom of a chronic administrative shambles.