View Full Version : Car parking around Aviva Stadium

IsMiseSean
03/08/2010, 5:41 PM
I'll more than likely be driving to the game next Wednesday, where's the best places to park on matchdays? Remember I'll be coming in from the N4!

04/08/2010, 9:54 AM
I used to go early and park on Shelbourne Road but that was closed on saturday. Not sure if they will close a main commuter route out of town on a wednesday evening though. Street parking is your only option.

04/08/2010, 10:05 AM
Same as before street parking. Now the M50's finished, you could try parking up at one of the southside dart stations - I only know Bray really (which you should be ok for parking come evening time as the commuters clear out), and the same should apply at Dun Laoghaire, not sure about the likes of Shankill etc.

stiffler
04/08/2010, 10:19 AM
What about driving from the North?

Are there any dart/train stations that are handy to park at outside the city, with return transport close to Lansdowne?

04/08/2010, 11:37 AM
i always found that parking on serpentine avenue (along south side of AIB HQ) was available. its pay and displayn until 7pm but free after (unless it has changed)

IsMiseSean
04/08/2010, 4:05 PM
Cheers lads, I'll get saving them streets in my sat-nav....

Docboy
04/08/2010, 6:05 PM
Just down from the AIB headquarters you can get parking in the hockey ground, think they're called Pembroke or something. Reckon it's a fiver....

10/08/2010, 10:17 AM
I'd say Killester(head along Collins Avenue, parking round the corner) might be your best bet.

IsMiseSean
12/08/2010, 5:43 PM
I parked on the Mespil Road and got feckin' clamped.... I was in a coach zone or something, they must of clamped 7/8 cars!!

harps1954
12/08/2010, 7:56 PM
Parked in Shelbourne Park Racecourse - they were charging €10, but it was handy and a quick getaway after the game. Left there at 10.00pm and was parked up at home in Ballybofey just before 1.00am, and that was with a 15 minute stop for a bite to eat.

Splurge
06/09/2010, 7:52 PM
Do the Darts go regullary after the game? I've never driven to Landsdowne before so i reckon it'd be safest to park in Bray or even Greystones, driving from Wexford. Do they put on an extra few trains after full time? Would make sense.
There seems to be DART's going at 22:04 & 22:49, i presume these are reliable, probably be safer and handier parking in Gerystones, it's only 11mins further on.

07/09/2010, 9:31 AM
Not all DARTs go to Greystones so I'd go with Bray given the choice, there should be one every 15 minutes or so.

07/09/2010, 9:49 AM
The line from Bray to Greystones is single track, so the max frequency is every half an hour to Greystones. At that time of night, you'd be looking at every 45 minutes. I think the last one does go to Greystones; gets in about 1am. Alternatively, there's a taxi rank right outside Bray DART station; it's E15 on to Greystones.

The P&R in Greystones is excellent; no charge and never more than half full even at the busiest of times.

Splurge
07/09/2010, 10:22 AM
thanks for the help lads, i think ill park in Greystones park and ride, get the 6 or 6:30 Dart in. Then i want to try and get the 22:04 train back to greystones, i might have to leave a few mins before the end, hate doing it but ill have the young fella with me and he has school in the morning.

I presume that should'nt take more than a few minutes to get out from the East stand, purple section, block 311 and walk down to the DART?

07/09/2010, 10:30 AM
I presume that should'nt take more than a few minutes to get out from the East stand, purple section, block 311 and walk down to the DART?

Judging by the first 2 games at the stadium queing for a dart could scupper your plans, you might want to leave 10 mins before to make sure you get that dart.

Splurge
07/09/2010, 10:54 AM
feck, i presumed they'd jusst fill em jammers, feck it, if i dont make that one its only a 45 minute wait until the next, ill see what the walk is like when i get there. Its a shame they dont just throw on a few extra trains at full time, would help a lot.

07/09/2010, 11:06 AM
It was slow getting out of the East Upper after the last game too though if you're going early that mightn't be a problem.

07/09/2010, 11:20 AM
Seems to be this queing system they have for the dart thats the problem because the entrance and platform have increased in size.

Splurge
07/09/2010, 11:51 AM
once last question lads, when i come out that south east corner can i walk up lansdowne rd towards the station or can go down Beattys avenue, its unclear from Googlemaps

07/09/2010, 12:23 PM
Beatty's Avenue runs under the DART bridge. You can't access the station from it.

Splurge
07/09/2010, 12:46 PM
ta schumi, was worried that'd be the case, lansdowne rd it is so. ta lads

corkharps
03/10/2010, 10:05 PM
The Luas Park and Ride from the Mad Cow, does that go anywhere near the ground?

corkharps
04/10/2010, 1:22 PM
Or is there any other suggestions coming from the M7?

05/10/2010, 4:55 PM

not really. it will bring you to oconnell street and then connolly station. you could walk from O'C street which would take about 40 mins or get a dart from connolly to grand canal dock / lansdowne rd depending on where your seat is.