View Full Version : Who is your "hero"?
01/08/2010, 12:29 AM
Just wondering if people have any heroes or anyone they look up to, celeb or not.
prince20
01/08/2010, 12:52 AM
Gary Breen :)
01/08/2010, 2:34 AM
My dad. Almost exactly a year to the day after breaking 2 vertebrae and his ankle and being told he would be lucky to walk again, he won a team silver in the world veterans road race. Determination and guts galore. He is my hero.
poster
01/08/2010, 2:39 AM
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/112/274548540_bfab6e0703_m.jpg
theworm2345
01/08/2010, 3:55 AM
http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/4237/78195195.jpg
http://onefortheroad.blogs.ie/images/BertieAhern.jpg
Paddyfield
01/08/2010, 9:00 AM
My son.
He was born 13 weeks early and weighed 2LBS and was only given a few hours to live due to collapsed lungs.
He will be 3 next week and has no side effects from his prematurity. He will play for Rep of Ireland and will appreciate it unlike Stephen Ireland.
Spudulika
01/08/2010, 9:27 AM
Can't top Paddyfield and am only shallow in that sense - he'll be too good for Ireland and be hunted down and brought to Germany (your son) to play for their World Cup winning sides of 2026, 2030, 2034. Meanwhile in Ireland John Delaney announces he will step down as CEO of the FAI, only to be asked by Taoiseach Cecilia Ahern-O'Driscoll to stay on for another term - the Blackrock Clinic say they will continue to allow the FAI squat in the hospital while Mr. Delaney continues searching for the cure to his crippling disease of being one of the few people born without a personality or integrity.
On topic, my heroes are Billy Bonds and Charlie Nash.
01/08/2010, 11:00 AM
Mine are
Bill Hicks
Connolly and larkin
Keane and Mcgrath
Strummer, Mcgowan, Sineid, and Ozzy
Meadows and Loach
01/08/2010, 12:05 PM
Timmy O'Toole.
Because he fell down a well and can't get out.
don ramo
01/08/2010, 12:28 PM
thought your suppose to look up to your heros ;)
My favourite hero!
http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQk6cAi84Z9feX8EzYEY-GlV9VEnxpoiwACKavuHhVJnIz3gVE&t=1&usg=__06pWDu_FJdDae9z85oj9bQZ01ug=
danthesaint
03/08/2010, 12:28 AM
Douglas Reynholm what a legend lol
You there! Computer man! Fix my pants! :D
my dad, he had to have emergency life saving surgery 2 weeks ago and he has survived the operation and is now attempting to come to terms with blindness which he is facing with remarkable courage and still went out for his few pints saturday and sunday of the bank holiday weekend less than 2 weeks after being minutes away from death.
my mother for how she dealt with the entire above situation
the surgeon, consultant and registrar at galway clinic for saving lives every day
Jimmy McNulty from the wire
Fernando Torres
Hitman
03/08/2010, 5:06 PM
Daniel Kitson.
04/08/2010, 1:06 PM
Absolutely idolised Paul McGrath growing up, thought he was flawless.
Maurice Fitzgerald.
Ian Brown during the teens and early twenties along with Uaneen Fitzsimons.
04/08/2010, 5:44 PM
Just wondering if people have any heroes or anyone they look up to, celeb or not.
Another word that used to mean something and now mostly just refers to so-called personalities. It used to refer to someone who faced danger or adversity and displayed courage, namely heroism, for some greater good.
In those terms it would be John Hume for me. Stuck to his non-violent principles while fighting against bigotry, violence and oppression on both sides.
Docboy
04/08/2010, 5:54 PM
Diego Maradona & Paul Gascoigne were certainly my two football heroes growing up. Both completely messed up and both on another planet ability-wise. At least Diego seems to have pulled himself back from the brink, I fear for Gazza.
On a different tack, Che Guevara, for giving up a relatively easy career in medicine to fight for something that he believed in, flawed and all though it was.
Lev Yashin
04/08/2010, 7:27 PM
Another word that used to mean something and now mostly just refers to so-called personalities. It used to refer to someone who faced danger or adversity and displayed courage, namely heroism, for some greater good.
In those terms it would be John Hume for me. Stuck to his non-violent principles while fighting against bigotry, violence and oppression on both sides.
I think thats maybe why it was put in inverted commas in the thread title.
Mine are those who compete in the paralympics...i cant fathom what it is like to lose/be born without a limb or a sense. but to overcome that and go on to compete.
I'd love to think i would do the same but the reality is i'd probably eat myself to an early death.
Den Perry
05/08/2010, 12:01 PM
Mine are Joey Barton, Ashley Cole and John Terry
05/08/2010, 3:33 PM
What a great thread lads
By god were you wrong :)
My footballing heroes were and are Cantona and Keane, music Francis Rossi and Freddie Mercury. Dont really have any life heroes to be fair just lot of people i respect greatly
I was wrong unfortunately. Very wrong. I suppose the whole idea of heroism would have been whooosssh! when I was growing up. I think I'm too cynical and unfortunately a bit dim in certain areas to acknowledge actual heroes.
05/08/2010, 9:49 PM
http://info-wars.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/IvorCallely.jpg
jinxy lilywhite
05/08/2010, 11:00 PM
my 102 year old grandfather
Still has his wits
06/08/2010, 12:02 AM
my 102 year old grandfather
Still has his Twits
Does he call you that coz you're a dundalk fan? Bless him, he's my hero too now!
06/08/2010, 12:15 AM
Magicme, she told Adrian Kennedy how it is.
Ciaran W
19/08/2010, 12:48 AM
It was Theirry Henry :o but then i lost interest in Gaa.
19/08/2010, 10:14 AM
Enrique Iglesias
Wolfie
20/08/2010, 2:32 PM
Cool Dog. As Tina Turner pointed out in her 80's hit:
"We don't need another hero,
we've got cool dog and we've beer-o"
20/08/2010, 3:55 PM
Cool Dog. As Tina Turner pointed out in her 80's hit:
"We don't need another hero,
we've got cool dog and we've beer-o"
But it ended up infringing on one she'd recorded before.
My hero is a guy named Richard Feynman, the celebrated American Nobel-Prize-winning physicist, bongo player and science writer.
He was recruited into the Manhatten Project straight out of his PhD programme. While there, he parallelised calculations on a truely elderly calculating machine, always exited the base via a hole in the fence but returned through the main gate, pointed out that uranium was being stored in a ridiculously unsafe manner, took the **** with the censors, accidentally determined that one of the facilities he inspected would explode if a particular point failed, cracked safes for fun and during the first test of the bomb figured out that the windscreen of the bus would block anything harmful to his eyes at that distance meaning he alone actually watched the bomb go off.
He shared the Nobel Prize in physics with two other guys when they all solved the same problem at the same time. The other two had 20-page, dense mathematical proofs. Feynman invented a new kind of diagram (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feynman_diagram).
While a professor at Caltech, he came up with the idea of nanotechnology, became an accomplished bongo player, led the way on quantum computing, drew strippers on napkins, vetted high school maths textbooks and wrote some of the best popular science books ever written.
He was on the panel which investigated the Challenger shuttle disaster. His minority report (http://science.ksc.nasa.gov/shuttle/missions/51-l/docs/rogers-commission/Appendix-F.txt) on that should be required reading for every engineer. He argued that the o-ring seals failed at low temperature, and offered experimental evidence (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qAi_9quzUY).
zSZNsIFID28
22/08/2010, 11:46 AM
Current 'hero'.. James Richardson. The ultimate presenter, his intros to his Guardian podcasts are the stuff of legend.
theworm2345
23/08/2010, 2:56 AM
Mine are Joey Barton, Ashley Cole and John Terry
Are you sure you don't want to throw Stephen Manchester in there as well?
It used to refer to someone who faced danger or adversity and displayed courage, namely heroism, for some greater good.
http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/4237/78195195.jpg