PDA

View Full Version : Why did you start following your club?

Pages : [1] 2

ped_ped
15/07/2010, 12:29 PM
Inspired by a post in the Man United friendly thread, what made you start following your team?

Parents, brought along by a friend? Or a glamour friendly? :p

I started following Limerick in the papers and match reports about two years back, but couldn't get into a game. Finally got an excuse to get into one when Limerick hosted Pat's in the Ford Cup. Hardly a glamour friendly but a big enough time for a Limerick team that were consigned to a midtabl finish from the offset. We lost 1 - 0 but I was hooked and Colin Scanlon's chip of the Pat's keeper that bounced over the bar nearly killed me :p

So yeah, I'm a relative newbie.

Boo_Boy
15/07/2010, 12:34 PM
I realised when I was around 10 that sitting on your arse on a Saturday afternoon watching Man Yoo was boring.
That's around the time I started going to all the Rovers home games, before then it was just something my dad and I did every few weeks.

pineapple stu
15/07/2010, 12:35 PM
Where's the option to add a poll?

Fire ahead with stories alright, but it'd be interesting to break it down between, say -

a) brought to games at a young age by parent/older relative fan
b) went to a glamour friendly
c) wanted to support local team
d) local team coming to your school or junior football club and
e) Other

Option c for me.

Louth4sam
15/07/2010, 12:48 PM
First games i remember were a Liverpool friendly and European cup match against Kispest Honved in 1991. Brought to LOI games earlier by my dad but don't remember them really. Started going to games properly a year or two later because all my friends went.

poster
15/07/2010, 12:48 PM
A

Wasn't much to do in the 70's in Sligo either. Then electricity and the TV came and ruined it all.

Mr A
15/07/2010, 12:53 PM
Mixture of a) and c) for me.

Jofspring
15/07/2010, 12:57 PM