View Full Version : Soccer Thugs in Croke Park

Pages : 1 [2]

13/07/2010, 8:03 AM
....what the gardai actually said is even more nonsensical. The IT said that the gardai won't take action unless a compliant is made (even though strictly they don't need a complaint to be made to investigate and forward a file). Which pushes the onus on the ref himself to take it forward, which, in my mind, is an absolute disgrace and dereliction of duty by the guards.
Well at least they're feckin consistent. I'd be fairly peed off if they started taking action here, when they've failed for years to do anything in football...

Celdrog
13/07/2010, 1:52 PM
Don't want to worry anyone but Maxi is being mobilised.

MeathDrog
14/07/2010, 12:17 AM
You can handpass the ball over the bar, but it must be kicked into the goal if it's in your hands.

Graham Geraghty would have something to say over that.

Spudulika
14/07/2010, 5:03 PM
Crap.

We haven't won the PD title for years, we've won little enough in that time, and referees decisions have played their part in that down through the years. We didn't invade the pitch to attack the ref. We have to live with it.

You brought up the comparison with what happened in Paris. It's 3 years before we can qualify for the next tournament, in front of a global audience. Everyone saw what happened in Paris. Louth can go back to Croker next year in front of a few thousand people. There's no comparison.

And you neatly sidestepped the statement by poor you'ing and then lording a world cup over a championship a county hasn't won in 53 years.

Since you're a Rovers fan the question is this: would you rather Rovers win the Champions League or Ireland reach the World Cup finals. All sport is insular, all politics local, if you don't believe that then can I come live in your world please???

edit: Just read the Meath statement - it would have been a penalty as Sheridan's dive (from a phantom hand) seemed to have swayed the referee - not the square ball and push in the Louth defenders back just before it. Oddly the Meath board have shown such a lack of cop on that they're making a mockery of the sport - not only Septic Bladder can be so crass, classless, dumb and embarassing!

ArdeeBhoy
16/07/2010, 10:18 PM
Speaking to a Tyrone fella who knows Sludden and was having a few pints with him up North on Monday night, he said Sludden knew he 'had got it wrong' and that plenty who were out were giving him stick.....

Spudulika
17/07/2010, 9:34 AM
Speaking to a Tyrone fella who knows Sludden and was having a few pints with him up North on Monday night, he said Sludden knew he 'had got it wrong' and that plenty who were out were giving him stick.....

In fairness to the man he did note in his report that he had made a mistake. I watched the Sunday Game only yesteday online and the next time I meet Colm O'Rourke he's getting a slap. I cannot understand how anyone can be so biased and so interested in lying can be in any way respected. Sludden made a massive mistake, he admitted it and Louth are in the qualifiers - Meath had a chance to raise themselves and the GAA above a scummy level and showed their lack of class. But what does around....

18/07/2010, 9:16 AM
Since you're a Rovers fan the question is this: would you rather Rovers win the Champions League or Ireland reach the World Cup finals. All sport is insular, all politics local

This is not a question. Firstly I shouldn't have to choose, as I would be delighted with either achievement, but more accurately, Rovers, as with every other LOI club, have zero chance of winning the CL in my lifetime or any other lifetime. I have other clubs in other leagues across Europe to do that for me.

You compared the Louth incident to the global outcry that followed the Ireland-France incident. The France incident was seen throughout the world and made EU summits, the Louth incident was seen on RTE, and made the Joe Duffy show. They're simply not on the same planet in terms of importance. It's already more or less blown over.

18/07/2010, 11:26 AM
They're simply not on the same planet in terms of importance.
In terms of importance to who? Sport fans don't obey some universally agreed hierarchy of importance. I'd say that for some of the people in croke park, Louth winning a leinster final is more important than any other sporting achievement (save Louth winning an All-Ireland). You applying your individual hierarchy of importance has no relevance to them.

What annoys me about what happened is that the (relative) importance of the occasion is what is used to justify their behaviour. "It would have been our first win in 50 years", "it was in bloody injury time", "he threw the ball over the line" etc.

18/07/2010, 11:40 AM
Im sick of the GAA commentator's trying to blame football for booing in Croke Park. Yesterday on TV3 during the Dublin game they said it's a real shame to hear this booing going on while free's are been taken it seem's to have crept into the game over the last couple of weekends!........more or less saying the football fans have influenced it.........you look at a tape of a Dublin game in Croke Park from anywhere from 2000 onwards and you will hear it going on and thats where it started the Dublin GAA fans not football fans......if only fifa could sew for slander :party:

18/07/2010, 12:43 PM
Im sick of the GAA commentator's trying to blame football for booing in Croke Park. Yesterday on TV3 during the Dublin game they said it's a real shame to hear this booing going on while free's are been taken it seem's to have crept into the game over the last couple of weekends!........more or less saying the football fans have influenced it.........you look at a tape of a Dublin game in Croke Park from anywhere from 2000 onwards and you will hear it going on and thats where it started the Dublin GAA fans not football fans......if only fifa could sew for slander :party:

Crept in like all the diving, the tactics, the wing backs, the yellow and red cards, the fitness training, the camps abroad......................and anything else the gah like to copy from football

ArdeeBhoy
18/07/2010, 1:47 PM
Ha ha. A Limerick person advising the rest of Ireland on social niceties and behaviour. Irony Alert, surely.

19/07/2010, 9:17 AM
Ha ha. A Limerick person advising the rest of Ireland on social niceties and behaviour. Irony Alert, surely.

jesus, mary and joseph -do you not have a facebuke campaign to tend to? go on now.

ArdeeBhoy
19/07/2010, 11:14 PM
Blasphemy or spelling. You decide?

20/07/2010, 7:15 PM

do you not have a facebuke campaign to tend to? go on now.

Blasphemy or spelling. You decide?

And so, the big match debate ends after a week and 63 posts. What was the fuss about? :confused:

Jinxy
20/07/2010, 11:56 PM
Crept in like all the diving, the tactics, the wing backs, the yellow and red cards, the fitness training, the camps abroad......................and anything else the gah like to copy from football

That's a bit of a stretch now.

Den Perry
26/07/2010, 11:44 AM

I agree totally. Last year, I think Waterford were playing Kilkenny - I can't remember exactly, and Michael Duignan said something along the lines of he didn't like to hear booing at a hurling match and it was something that you'd associate with soccer!!!!!