View Full Version : Weekend Updates - July 9th

Pages : 1 [2]

bullit
09/07/2010, 9:12 PM
;) how come the match was called off anyway ? Wouldn't it have been bright enough to play at 9 ?
Are you living in California??? look out the window the odd time:rolleyes:

Ciaran W
09/07/2010, 9:15 PM
So at 9 its stil bright enough to play football.

OneForTheFuture
09/07/2010, 9:15 PM
;) how come the match was called off anyway ? Wouldn't it have been bright enough to play at 9 ?

OneForTheFuture
09/07/2010, 9:16 PM
So at 9 its stil bright enough to play football.

On the green outside your house maybe......

OneForTheFuture
09/07/2010, 9:17 PM
On the green outside your house maybe......

But then again it has been a cracker of an evening.

Ciaran W
09/07/2010, 9:19 PM
Suppose ye

09/07/2010, 9:31 PM
Flood taken off in the 1st half and replaced by a defender-Heary, when Galway were 1-0 down. Flood went straight down the tunnel into dressing room and sat in the stand for the 2nd half, instead of the bench. Rumour going around here pre-match that him and Sheppard were signing for us after the game, wouldn't believe it meself(unless Amond is off somewhere) but that's Flood's last game for Galway I'd say, even if his supposed trial with St. Mirren is unsuccessful.

passerrby
09/07/2010, 9:34 PM
mons win 2 1 yessssssss

bullit
09/07/2010, 9:35 PM
Flood taken off in the 1st half and replaced by a defender-Heary, when Galway were 1-0 down. Flood went straight down the tunnel into dressing room and sat in the stand for the 2nd half, instead of the bench. Rumour going around here pre-match that him and Sheppard were signing for us after the game, wouldn't believe it meself(unless Amond is off somwhere) but that's Flood's last game for Galway I'd say, even if his supposed trial with St. Mirren is unsuccessful.
Are Sligo going hard for the A-Leauge?? Jeebus wheres all this cash coming from?;)

09/07/2010, 9:38 PM
Limerick 5-0 Salthill.

Getting interesting now. Limerick, Waterford and Mons all on 33Pts.

KevBGUFC
09/07/2010, 9:41 PM
Sabotage by a cross-section of fans afraid of what Buttimer might do next is the main line of enquiry being taken by the Gardai following the abandonment of tonight's game at Hunky Dory park, with a second theory claiming opponents of the rugby-ladies ad campaign step up their action from 300 letters of complaint to mild-terrorism!

The Lep
09/07/2010, 10:28 PM
Flood taken off in the 1st half and replaced by a defender-Heary, when Galway were 1-0 down. Flood went straight down the tunnel into dressing room and sat in the stand for the 2nd half, instead of the bench. Rumour going around here pre-match that him and Sheppard were signing for us after the game, wouldn't believe it meself(unless Amond is off somwhere) but that's Flood's last game for Galway I'd say, even if his supposed trial with St. Mirren is unsuccessful.

It said in one of the papers that we could sign him if he doesnt go to St Mirren.

09/07/2010, 10:30 PM
It said in one of the papers that we could sign him if he doesnt go to St Mirren.Saw that, in todays Mirror. As I said, I personally wouldn't believe the rumour, sign one of them maybe but I couldn't see us sign the two.

10/07/2010, 3:17 AM
i'm angry

10/07/2010, 5:53 AM

insurance reasons apparently. If no floodlights the players arent covered for injuries etc... understandable to an extent but horrible for Bohs. Apparently we were well on top and were playing decent stuff. Fixture congestion and more games in hand... gahhh!!!

Dalymountrower
10/07/2010, 8:04 AM
Not paying the bills more like:D

Maybe not so far fetched? I heard a Drogs official brief the press saying that whole areas of the town (and then the whole town) were also hit by power faults. No sign of any blackout in the vicinity of the ground from what I could see.
Paid into stand to avoid the cow shed, must be the most limited view of the pitch from any stand in a any ground anywhere. Drogs are a decent bunch but the whole ground is a joke.

Presumably will be free/or token amount to cover officials expenses in to the replayed game given that they have already pocketed the gate (and paid the bills).

10/07/2010, 9:23 AM
i'm angry

Hello Stuey Byrne!

mandrake
10/07/2010, 10:06 AM
Maybe not so far fetched? I heard a Drogs official brief the press saying that whole areas of the town (and then the whole town) were also hit by power faults. No sign of any blackout in the vicinity of the ground from what I could see.
Paid into stand to avoid the cow shed, must be the most limited view of the pitch from any stand in a any ground anywhere. Drogs are a decent bunch but the whole ground is a joke.

Presumably will be free/or token amount to cover officials expenses in to the replayed game given that they have already pocketed the gate (and paid the bills).

dont be a knob , remember we were left uncovered a few years ago when the lites went out in your one sided ground, ... hope we make you pay in again and beat yis... there was no street lights on or is your head in the clouds that much that you cant see them...

Celdrog
10/07/2010, 10:47 AM
No sign of any blackout in the vicinity of the ground from what I could see.

No - even the hospital lights went out at the same time as the floodlights. It affected half the town.

Dalymountrower
10/07/2010, 11:10 AM
Car Park across the road , houses in the vicinity, traffic lights had power . I`ll take your word for it though that it was ESB`s responsibility.

Dalymount a one sided ground Mandrake?? Good enough for you to rent it from us in your brief European outings. You are right though there was a power cut at a previous Bohs /Drogs game which was delayed by an hour. Seem to remember regular updates being given to the crowd back then unlike last night .

Rasputin
10/07/2010, 11:58 AM
Galway were so so bad last night, they simply didnt care at all.
Their whole performance reeked of putting in the motions.
It reminds me of rats fleeing from a sinking ship down there.
So much for the FAI's chosen child.

dcfc_1928
10/07/2010, 2:04 PM
"Our floodlight failure was better than your floodlight failure!"

Car Park across the road , houses in the vicinity, traffic lights had power . I`ll take your word for it though that it was ESB`s responsibility.

Dalymount a one sided ground Mandrake?? Good enough for you to rent it from us in your brief European outings. You are right though there was a power cut at a previous Bohs /Drogs game which was delayed by an hour. Seem to remember regular updates being given to the crowd back then unlike last night .

danthesaint
10/07/2010, 2:15 PM
insurance reasons apparently. If no floodlights the players arent covered for injuries etc... understandable to an extent but horrible for Bohs. Apparently we were well on top and were playing decent stuff. Fixture congestion and more games in hand... gahhh!!!

do you's not get the points because it was a certain amount time played??
yaz have a big enough squad to handle your fixture congestion anyway

about the pats ucd game
thought UCD deserved something from the game, but delighted we stole the 3pts with the amount of time wasting being done when the scores were level, but i guess the football for ya

ndrog
10/07/2010, 2:25 PM

Of course it wont be free for the next game , you will have to travel up to Drogheda and pay in again .Thems the breaks , and do us a favour and pass a message onto some of your fans that a pa announcement cant be made when we dont have any electricity . And it wasnt just United pk that was out other areas went at the same time .

10/07/2010, 3:24 PM
it doesnt have to be a PA announcement. There are other ways of getting the message out propoerly. Its not too hard a situation to manage in fairness.

10/07/2010, 5:12 PM
Hey Martinho II time to change the signature :D

Longford Town 5-4 Shelbourne will always stay up there ..Mind you if we had the luck late on this game could have being a 4-4 as there were two mervue handballs in the penalty area and a mark sammon screamer that hit the crossbar and didnt cross the line!

10/07/2010, 6:30 PM
When our game against Shels was abandoned a number of years ago we had to give Shels a share of the second gate. That was a league rule at the time apparently, I'd say it still is. Ollie made sure they got their money anyway!

The Lep
10/07/2010, 6:45 PM
When the lights didnt work in Tolka for the shells v Fingal match , refunds was given on the night or free entry to the re arranged fixture. Some got paid twice :)

Ciaran W
10/07/2010, 6:46 PM
Martinho if its going to stay up there you could at least spell it right :P anyone hear any vuvuzelas at the matches ? There was one at rovers pats :D

10/07/2010, 7:03 PM
I think it was the case then that if the game goes over 70 minutes you weren't obliged to give a refund. That may be why the next gate was shared as we didn't give any refunds!

Battery Rover
10/07/2010, 7:22 PM
Athlone Town 0 Finn Harps 0

Athlone down to 10 men Nolan sent off.

Absolutely shocking decision

Battery Rover
10/07/2010, 8:07 PM
Finn Harps 1 up McHugh

sheao
10/07/2010, 9:41 PM
Martinho if its going to stay up there you could at least spell it right :P anyone hear any vuvuzelas at the matches ? There was one at rovers pats :D

There was one in the shed last night.

11/07/2010, 10:01 AM
The only thing shocking about the sending off was that it didn't happen sooner. The guy was a nutcase, lunged in every time. The ref let it go but the Athlone bench tried to calm him down. Didn't work and he got the red he seemed so desperate to get.

In general though, the ref appeared to be out of it on acid throughout the game.

11/07/2010, 12:00 PM
Nolan is a freakin physco, no wonder Nutsy sent him out on loan. He went in high on Brolly everytime, kung fu style for the majority. He went in 2 footed on McHugh, clearly catching him, how could the ref not send him off?

Shocking game of football. Harps could have had 4 by the end of it only for poor finishing. Brolly missing a one on one, McLaughlin having his attempt cleared off the line (really should have scored) and Walsh showing poor control where, had he controlled the ball he had an easy finish from 2 yards.

11/07/2010, 5:03 PM
about the pats ucd game
thought UCD deserved something from the game, but delighted we stole the 3pts with the amount of time wasting being done when the scores were level, but i guess the football for ya
Would agree except about the timewasting; can honestly say I didn't notice much, and didn't hear much complaining from any Pat's fans around me (and Pat's fans are up there with Bohs fans for moaning). Unless you're talking about our injured players not running off the pitch when they were subbed?

Jicked
11/07/2010, 5:15 PM
Rovers won 4-0 against Dundalk, I'm not exaggerating when I say they could have won by seven or eight, and that's with Rovers playing at walking pace for the last 30 minutes. We missed three one-on-ones, Stewart missed two simple headers from five yards out, a goal was wrongly disallowed for offside and Gregg made some very good saves for Dundalk too. Haven't seen Rovers just completely dominate a team like that in years.

11/07/2010, 5:20 PM
The county of Louth and it's "inhabitants" disgracing the whole country of several fronts this afternoon ;)

PartySaint
12/07/2010, 10:17 PM
Would agree except about the timewasting; can honestly say I didn't notice much, and didn't hear much complaining from any Pat's fans around me (and Pat's fans are up there with Bohs fans for moaning). Unless you're talking about our injured players not running off the pitch when they were subbed?

Wow hold on here, we are not that bad

12/07/2010, 10:19 PM

at last some sense!

No other set of fans comes close. :)

danthesaint
12/07/2010, 10:47 PM

time wasting by your keeper, ref had to tell him to hurry up, also from throw ins too, altho i notice as soon as we scored, yaz did see to quicken up :D

13/07/2010, 7:07 AM
Everyone does it UCD no more than anyone else.

I thought we deserved the wi. Created a few chances and took two of them

13/07/2010, 8:34 AM
Bohs fans excel at it even on message boards, which in fairness Pat's fans don't do as much. But at games, ye're up there with the best. I've the videos of the three games this season - the ones in Richmond shot from the gantry beside the Pats fans in the terrace and the one in Belfield shot from just to the left of the away section - and the amount of excessive whining is hilarious. :)

13/07/2010, 8:58 AM
There's about 20 Pats fans who moan constantly at every game home and away. Pretty annoying some of them are too. most stand under the gantry in Rochmond

We ain't near the levels of Bohs fans

marinobohs
13/07/2010, 10:16 AM
Bohs fans excel at it even on message boards, which in fairness Pat's fans don't do as much. But at games, ye're up there with the best. I've the videos of the three games this season - the ones in Richmond shot from the gantry beside the Pats fans in the terrace and the one in Belfield shot from just to the left of the away section - and the amount of excessive whining is hilarious. :)

Nice to have fans TO moan ! if both the UCD fans moaned at the same time someone might hear it ;)

13/07/2010, 10:56 AM
Family website!!! :eek:

redobit
14/07/2010, 1:19 PM
Great win for us against UCD last night. Although we bossed the first half and probably could have been 3 up, I have to say fair play to UCD for coming out and giving a good footballing performance in the second half. They passed the ball well and it made for a good entertaining game overall. In the Showgrounds they played more football in the second half than the table toppers of Shams and Pats put together.

HarpoJoyce
15/07/2010, 8:45 AM
That performance from Rovers in the first half was the best performance I've seen from any other club this season. John Russell, Eoin Doyle, Padraig Amond, Joey Ndo and John Dillon never took the foot off the gas. Russell hit the crossbar after the Amond's first goal. Richie 'Ouch' Ryan did do a job on Paul Corry, who was substituted at half-time.
There was a bit of a hole in UCD's midfield, winger Dwayne Wilson and left back Ciaran Nangle tried to fill it with some runs.

We were alot better in the second half, kept the ball a bit more and shape remained more consistent. Wardy forcing Lauchlan into putting the ball out and then Wardy jumping into the Ultras to get the ball back for a quick throw, pretty funny, better when it resulted in the goal. Every UCD player was back to defend the free kick at the end, didn't stop three Rovers players been closest to the ball when Amond scored again.

Thought Russell was MOTM at the time of his substitution, but maybe Doyle and Amond caught up with him after he went off.
Got a closer look at the cantilevered roof of the Main Stand, I'm luving it.

Thanks to everyone at Rovers for looking after us, I hope to return there in August.