View Full Version : Cork AUL 2010/11
casilles
18/05/2011, 5:52 PM
no glenbuck have my club to look after all im saying is give credit where it is due, I say the same about the mount and will be cheering them on tonight as I have always done ;-)
Horse24
18/05/2011, 10:29 PM
Well done Kinsale - eff the begrudgers!
A bit harsh to say anything against Ballyvolane - they did what they could over the season
junglegym
19/05/2011, 9:28 AM
Congrats to all involved with Kinsale on winning the league again.
Pub Talk::bottle:
A couple of seasons ago, people were saying Kinsale are an ageing team and their time will be up as the Kingpins of the AUL. Then ye turn around, bring in a couple of new players, win back to back League titles and are very close to a historic triple. Really and trully the pub talk at the moment is " What's the secret ? " I sat down with an older bunch of commandos lately and discussed it. After a lenghty debate, we still had no answers. I suppose the habit of winning is just hard to get out of. Really and trully I'm stumped.
When I look at the table 6 goals in 14 games is a great credit to all involved.
the owl
19/05/2011, 9:34 AM
Congrats to Kinsale on winning the league, well deserved. Nothing you can do about the backlog of games although it prob does make sense to move the Mossie to the end of the season. Kinsale have proved it over the years that they now set the standard that the teams behind them should be striving for. My bet for club of the year, without a doubt.
Very harsh comment on Ballyvolane, a proud club and one that i know personally. A long time in the AUL and has always fullfilled all fixtures with club men who have been involved with the Aul longer than most in here. This year they were left down, i feel by new signings who just upped and left when the going got a bit tough. To use the phrase "disgraceful" to me is highly disrespectful. I hope they regroup and keep going because its a club with a proud history and good guys involved.
thebooboys
19/05/2011, 9:51 AM
Unfortunately must concur, great season from Kinsale. Hopefully Wilton will prove that there is hope and they are beatable come AOH Final Day.
Also, Best of luck to our B team come county cup final day vs Hibs A in a few weeks.
As for Leeside A, hopefully next year will be better. Some decent names being linked with us so hopefully will improve.
As for me could be hanging up my boots, so possibility that all, if any, future comments from me come as a spectator rather than a player.
Innishvilla
19/05/2011, 11:13 AM
Must agree Boo... I don't think Douglas Hall will care as according to an earlier post MSL don't give a crap about the AUL so...
maninthemiddle
19/05/2011, 11:43 AM
they would be far better than douglas munster junior and not as far off as people think with douglas seniors.
competitions like the new one you mentioned though are never taken really seriously and therefore its a bad barometer as is the muster senior cup or pre season friendlies obvioulsy. its only in a league campaign or serious cup competition that you can judge for me.
Horse24
19/05/2011, 12:01 PM
Kinsale improve so that means other teams are worse? That makes no sense. My example would be the year Arsenal went unbeaten for the season....that Man U team from back then was better than the Man U team that won the league now. Just because a team goes unbeaten does not mean the other teams are bad...................I would just like to point out to Shilts that Blackstone are not in that list of 36 games...........just thought I would mention it!!!!!
Horse24
19/05/2011, 12:02 PM
Oh yeah.........forgot to add............do I see ghostly re-appearing of Littleman on the last few pages????????????????
thebooboys
19/05/2011, 12:10 PM
The MSL vs AUL debate is had every year. My own opinion on it remains the same. Apart from Avondale, Douglas Hall+Rockmount I think best AUL Prem can compete with the rest of MSL Prem+certainly MSL 1st. As a previous poster stated, we won't know until AUL or MSL teams meet competitively. There are quite a few AUL teams who would love to go MSL + pit themselves against the "bigger" teams.
thebooboys
19/05/2011, 12:22 PM
I was gonna debate it with you but decided what's the point. Your only posting crap here and crap on the MSL pages so not hard to see what your playing at.
Innishvilla
19/05/2011, 12:40 PM
On that debate - as stated before impossible to tell as in cups it is one off games. But I would expect there are a couple of sides in the AUL would be able to compete fairly well win Prem/Div 1 of MSL with all the ups and downs that will of course happen. One thing I would say that would be interesting is that the likes of Kinsale, Leeside (and previously Gratten) would be less likely to lose top players to MSL if they were in the top divisions - hence they would actually be in a position to be stronger than currently.
But on looking at junior sides I would also think the likes of Douglas Hall Juniors wouldn't be out of place in the lower senior divisions too...
qwertyui
19/05/2011, 1:09 PM
Lads the people who were striving behind the scenes to help Ballyvolane i'm sure did all they can. Not knocking them for a second and exclude them from my comment. But the players and people who committed to the club for the season and haven't turned up are a disgrace. Now there may be circumstances with fellas having to head away for work and all that and if that is the case with all of them then i'll take back the comment. But for another Cork AUL premier league team to go to the wall with one game left in the season is a joke. These guys won a mossie linnane two years ago. It's just disappointing. It gives the AUL knockers more ammunition.
The MSL AUL debate always rears it's ugly head! We can compete with Avondale/Douglas Hall and Rockmount on a once off basis but not over the course of a season?! Just as well we don't play these teams every week!! Standard is obviously higher but as someone mentioned if we went up we would also improve. I would put the Cork AUL Premier ahead of the MSL Junior without a doubt but once again the only way to find out for sure is if we played.
maninthemiddle
19/05/2011, 3:20 PM
having reffed in aul premier and reffed in munster junior league premier i can tell you that the aul premier is far superior to 95% of munster junior premier without a doubt for me. just an opinion. sorry for fuelling a debate that has been done. im only new and wasnt aware it was done to death before.
Fantasista
19/05/2011, 5:16 PM
First of all no disrepect to anybody but I think it is fair to say it is a fact that the MSL premier is a big cut above the AUL premier primarily because more it is more attractive to better players just saying in general there is allways an exception to the rule. But i do think if Kinsale went into the MSL it would raise theyre profile bit and attract more players so I couldnt see why they couldnt complete these things dont happpen over night also is the MSL/AUL agreement over this year?????
Horse24
19/05/2011, 7:03 PM
It is true redandwhite - what happened to you in the last fortnight? You a Ringmahon/Douglas Hall/Cardiff fan? Stirring on both sides of the fence.
The reason why teams dont fold as much in MSL as AUL is the fact MSL are operating at a more elitist level. I am not critising them - its just true. The new grassroots team are looked after by the AUL. It has its pros and cons but if a group of lads want to play ball in a proper league - then someone should be there to look after them.
Society in general is at fault for teams folding. The day of the volunteer is dead and what do our footballing authorities do - make life harder for the few volunteers left.
Things like making volunteers ask unemployed players for fine money you know they dont have, (which could have issued by paid referees who act without any comeback)raising fees by 20% without explanation during the worst recession in history.....
I hope they cop on before it goes too far and they lose volunteers forever.
The club hopping player wont realise until it is too late and no club wants him, that loyalty is a two way street.
maninthemiddle
19/05/2011, 10:49 PM
Well said horse in fairness. I agree with what you are saying but in defence of refs there are not to many fellas take it up or are willing to put up with the abuse. whatever about tackles if a fella abuses me then it's a card and I don't bat an eyelid to that.
I've always thought a much fairer system would be that I get to call you a ***** as well. Lol.Its a balls that we don't have to answer in fairness but can you imagine the amount of time dealing with it all for little gain. It's the way it has to be in fairness.
All i can say is that I'm always available on the day of a match to talk at full time or half time. I'm not going to tell fellas to go away once they are reasonable and not too worked up.
maninthemiddle
19/05/2011, 10:53 PM
Forgot to say I heard nothing about pay increase. In fact its the opposite possibly but don't want to discuss that here.
thebooboys
20/05/2011, 10:00 AM
Greenmount Rangers looking for manager according to AUL site
Horse24
20/05/2011, 11:55 AM
Wrote for 20 mins in reply maninthemiddle....................and lost it!!!
I shall re-find the enthusiasm and try again later!!
Dixie's Cousin
20/05/2011, 12:05 PM
Anyone know who won the Leeside and Kinsale game this morning?? And how many points to Kinsale need to win that league or is it won already??
Cas heard today ye will have a change of manager next year is this true? Why is Derek leaving? Is he taking over someone else and is Danny or yourself I'm led to believe gonna be taking the job??
Rumours bout transfers all over the place already few of our team being linked with Castleview but that's only natural with our manager taking over there next year, heard he's bringing in one or two more quality players aswell..
Heard all the old grattan team are going back to get the club going again and if this is true fairplay to the lads like shinkwin the sullivans figo and all them
Heard cas yer keeper Crow is off to Leeside and figo also being linked with them, 2 fierce signings if through
Oh and Ivan skillington I heard just may be off to Castleview next year aswell, watch this space!!!
Mario i cant see a player like Skillington joining Castleview unless he had an interest in playing senior - as this is invariably where any good players that Mr Daniels signs are going to end up anyway - so is he signing players for the senior teams managers benefit
Radiostar
20/05/2011, 12:06 PM
Just would like to have my say on the argument regarding backlog of league games, there are valid points on both sides, of course the clubs with the backlogs are not to blame for the amount of games they are left with at the end of the season, but you have to look at it from the other teams who are challenging for the league in those divisions, it is hard to take seeing your rivals getting some easier games at the end of the season.
I do agree that all divisional cups should be held off till the end of season not just Mossie Linnane, this way all teams will have something to play for at the end of the season.
maninthemiddle
20/05/2011, 1:34 PM
no bother chief. happens to the best of us...
League 1 is still up for grabs between Carrigtohill and Springfield. anyone hear result of springfield game last night??
On the AUL / MSL debate, i have no doubt about it that if Kinsale,Leeside,Wilton where to go into the MSL senior next season, they would all attract players, build bigger and better squads and hold their own in the division for the year.
qwertyui
20/05/2011, 5:37 PM
Leeside lost to Coachford two weeks ago and Park recently. Wilton drew with Park last week. All teams with nothing to play for. Throws your theory out the window lads.
Radiostar
21/05/2011, 7:40 AM
Bluey, Springfield drew 1 all with Glen Celtic.
maninthemiddle
21/05/2011, 8:30 AM
League 1 is still up for grabs between Carrigtohill and Springfield. anyone hear result of springfield game last night??
On the AUL / MSL debate, i have no doubt about it that if Kinsale,Leeside,Wilton where to go into the MSL senior next season, they would all attract players, build bigger and better squads and hold their own in the division for the year.
and wouldnt it be great to see as well and be good for soccer at local level.
i for one would absolutely love to see and ref in one league for soccer in cork. it would end all the debating as well but that would be no fun i suppose.
sorry aboutb the deleted post. all over the p[lace this morning.
Fantasista
21/05/2011, 1:54 PM
Things are very interesting in league 1 at the moment any one know the run in springers and carrig have left
Learpholl
21/05/2011, 2:39 PM
Things are very interesting in league 1 at the moment any one know the run in springers and carrig have left
Think Springfield have 4 games left:
Away to Fairview tomorrow
Home to Leeside B on Thursday
Home to Postal next Sunday morning
Away to Carrigtwohill last game of the season Tuesday week.
Carrigtwohill just have the Springfield game left.
So it looks like it will go down to the last game as Springfield should easily win at home to Leeside B and Postal. It'll be tough for them against Fairview tomorrow morning though. But even if they lost that but won the other two, they could win the league on the last day against Carrig still. Have played against both this season and think Springfield are the better side. Going to be difficult for them playing so many games in such a short space of time though.
Learpholl... (should easily win at home v Leeside B)
I would not be counting on 3 pts there for Springfield, Leeside B will give springfield a v good game and fancy to take pts down there on thurs, finalist of County Cup and last game before that so lads will be well up for it and help out our good neighbours Carrig!!
thebooboys
21/05/2011, 6:44 PM
Welcome to foot.ie Learpholl. Great 1st post..... Another Stirrer I see...... if you think Leeside B will be a walkover for Springfield you could regret that statement. The B's have already drawn against Springfield at home in a competitive game, and taken 4 pts from Carrig, wouldn't underestimate them. Plus, Leeside will be looking to get our Carrig neighbours over the line. Who are u involved with yourself??
thebooboys
21/05/2011, 6:45 PM
Plus the B team keepers in great form....... Keepers!!!!!
Fantasista
21/05/2011, 7:55 PM
Think carrig had a great start to the season but springfield have a lot of experience in that side think there is a good few ex wanderers from last year think they will just have enough to finish the job
Radiostar
21/05/2011, 9:26 PM
I agree that springfield have a lot of experience from the wanderers, but we have the points on the board. I think fairview and leeside will put it up to Springfield. If Springfield do win the league then they will have well deserved it, we have set them a big target. The last game is in our place too, and only leeside have taken points from ballyadam this season so it's not an easy place to come and win either.
the owl
22/05/2011, 2:45 AM
Havin played with Leeside in the past, never did we giv a team an easy ride of it home or away. so to disregard Leeside like that is a little disrespectful considering Jeremy and the lads took 4 points off us this season. Dont know who ur involved with but theres still alot of football to be played.
Learpholl
22/05/2011, 11:51 AM
Sorry lads, didn't mean to be disrespectful to Leeside in any way and wasn't trying to cause trouble or "stir" either. Was just my opinion on how I thought the games would go and the reason I thought Springfield would win was because they are going for the league so would obviously be well up for it and Leeside don't have a whole lot to play for in the league. With it being played near their cup final also they may rest people or give others who werent playing a run out to see who deserves a starting spot at Turners Cross. Genuinely didn't mean to sound like Leeside B werent a good team and probably should've explained myself a bit more.
So anyone know how the Springfield Fairview game went this morning?
Horse24
22/05/2011, 1:12 PM
Can someone from Springfield give me their perspective on the Fairview game this morning before I comment??
dodgy_knee
22/05/2011, 1:28 PM
Can someone from Springfield give me their perspective on the Fairview game this morning before I comment??
What was the result?
Radiostar
22/05/2011, 2:04 PM
Horse, it's a disgrace what happened this morning, Springfield would not play on fairviews pitch because grass was too long for them, and when asked to play on blarney streets pitch also refused because it was not fairviews pitch. Not the first time they have done this either, last time they were awarded 3pts, maybe that's why they were at it again. The aul better have a good look at this, very clear to me what they are at.
thebooboys
22/05/2011, 2:59 PM
Would it not be the refs call?? Experienced managers at Springers......
You are joking me, springfield up to that crap again that is unreal, agree with booboys experienced managers. I was out there last week when leeside played fairview grass was small bit high in places but there was no problems in playing the game. And they wouldnt play on Blarney St pitch either?? how many where springfield missing so??
Learpholl
22/05/2011, 4:03 PM
Thats crazy that they refused to play. Its not like a bad pitch was going to help Fairview who are a good footballing team who like to pass the ball around. Seems ridiculous to me that they could get 3pts for it.
MainManRam
22/05/2011, 7:36 PM
Hi Lads,
been away for a while but have kept a close eye on the boards. Alot of the same going on. I have not been playing with Springfield A for a while due to new baby syndrome so I can put a bit of balance on this issue:
This is coming straight to you lads. Springfield traveled up this morning to Fairview only to find when they got there that the grass was well above boot level. You can throw insults at Springers all you want but I don't think its too unfair for Springers to expect a soccer pitch, at this time of the season, to be in good nick. Its not that hard to get a tractor a cut a pitch lads. To be giving out about Springers is comical if you ask me. One poster said they were out there last week and the pitch was high. One week later its not going to get any shorter ffs. Surely it would be more in line to tell Fairview to get their act together.
The adjoining pitch was like a billiard table by all accounts and yes attempts were made to play on that pitch- which Springers had absolutely no objection what so ever in fact putting the idea forward- but Fairview could not get permission.
The biggest point of all- Springers did not just decide that the game was off- that decision was made by the man in black. The ref turned up and indicated that the pitch was not in a playable condition. That is all that matters here.
To be suggesting that the AUL should look into this is hilarious. The big cover up of Springers & the referees :) give me a break. If the pitch is not playable then the club at fault should be looked into. Lower division footie is bad enough facilities wise without clubs not being able to cut the grass ffs.
By all accounts there was alot of personnel abuse directed towards Springfield personnel also, which is disgraceful imo.
Don't hate the player- hate the game lads. Cut the grass ffs and you don't have an issue. Springers want to play football- if people have an issue with that then the future of AUL football is a very grim one.
MainManRam
22/05/2011, 7:39 PM
What happened at Fairviews pitch this morning was a complete joke and of very bad taste. Like Leeside, we played there last week and there was no prob. Yes the grass was a bit long but it was the same for both teams. So how in the space of a week could it be decided that it was too long ????? And to refuse to play on the pitch beside it beggers belief ! This isnt the first time this has happened with this club and the aul would seriously want to ask questions as to why a team would travel from cobh all the way out there and refuse to play on two seperate pitches ????? 22 players, 2 pitches, 1 referee and no match !!! To be fair, Fairview wanted to play the game but were denied. If Springfield get 3 points from this then its a disgrace. What next, the ball isnt round enough !!, the lines are not straight enough !!! the grass isnt green enough !!!
If carrig, leeside and every other team had no prob playing out there, then why did Springfield refuse ?
If they did refuse Owl- do you think they could possibly get the points?? Don't you think the refs report would indicate that and the points would then be awarded to Fairview. Obviously the ref was of the same opinion!!! Otherwise he would have indicated to Springfield that if they did not tog out Fairview would be awarded the win. SERIOUSLY. You said yourself the grass was long. Cut the fecking grass for superman's sake.
pacman
22/05/2011, 8:52 PM
Lads,
If it was the ref who called the game off then it has nothing at all to do with springfield.
In fairness a team cant decide whether a game goes ahead or not only the ref can.
Sounds to me like fairview are trying to save a few quid by not getting it cut
Horse24
22/05/2011, 9:15 PM
As I read down the posts from my last one, they were valid....then got silly towards the end.
I wasnt there but its our pitch too and our responsibility too.
From the Fairview account and another independent one the pitch was playable. Both teams were willing to play. A decision was made that baffled many.
The other pitch issue doesnt come into it - Fairview couldnt get permission.
We got the grass cut middle of last week - 10 days ago. We thought it was playable.
We are not trying to "save a few bob" and Im insulted by that. I typed a reply a few times but not sure its worth it.
To Carrig & Springers, we didnt mean it to happen and would wish it hadn't.
I hope they replay it.
pacman
22/05/2011, 9:35 PM
As I read down the posts from my last one, they were valid....then got silly towards the end.
I wasnt there but its our pitch too and our responsibility too.
From the Fairview account and another independent one the pitch was playable. Both teams were willing to play. A decision was made that baffled many.
The other pitch issue doesnt come into it - Fairview couldnt get permission.
We got the grass cut middle of last week - 10 days ago. We thought it was playable.
We are not trying to "save a few bob" and Im insulted by that. I typed a reply a few times but not sure its worth it.
To Carrig & Springers, we didnt mean it to happen and would wish it hadn't.
I hope they replay it.
Horse, Owl said he played their last week and the grass was a bit long, that would have been 3 or 4 days after ye got it cut. Leeside lads also said it was a little long last week presumably after the cut also.
Surely that would suggest it wasnt cut correctly 10 days ago. I'll retract the 'save a few quid' comment even though it was not intended as an insult. I think its somewhat reasonable for a team with one game left not to pay out scarce money for a fresh cut just to get a single game out of it.
And in fairness if a pitch was cut ten days ago there should be no problem playing a game so it has to come down to how the pitch was actually cut
Horse24
22/05/2011, 9:44 PM
Horse, Owl said he played their last week and the grass was a bit long, that would have been 3 or 4 days after ye got it cut. Leeside lads also said it was a little long last week presumably after the cut also.
Surely that would suggest it wasnt cut correctly 10 days ago. I'll retract the 'save a few quid' comment even though it was not intended as an insult. I think its somewhat reasonable for a team with one game left not to pay out scarce money for a fresh cut just to get a single game out of it.
And in fairness if a pitch was cut ten days ago there should be no problem playing a game so it has to come down to how the pitch was actually cut
I cant answer that. I didnt see it. We try to provide the best we can for any visiting side - it gives you a sense of pride.
pacman
22/05/2011, 10:07 PM
We try to provide the best we can for any visiting side - it gives you a sense of pride.
I don't doubt that horse!
maninthemiddle
22/05/2011, 10:20 PM
If ref called it then that's that and it's a replay. If springers refused to play then it's up to aul and god knows what will happen.
the other pitch next door is immateial.