View Full Version : Moses

28/10/2001, 10:19 PM
What the hell did Moses think he was up to today, chasing onto the pitch after the ref?! I'm sure loads of us felt like it after his performance, but it's something you just CAN'T do!
I was told he stood outside the refs dressing room for half an hour after the game, probably true, seeing as I saw him passing Frankie sulls just after 530. City will be lucky not to get a big fine for this. Stupid stupid stupid.

ccfcman
28/10/2001, 10:58 PM
<Message Deleted>

Ccfcman, you're on one. - Vetinari

29/10/2001, 8:34 AM
2 things:

Where were the stewards to stop him getting on the pitch, not to mention near the ref? It took Deccie Daly to stop him at the last second.

Also, he's proved now that he's all guff and no action. What a prat! The way he was running towards the ref and then when he was getting closer (and started realising that he might actually get to him) he started slowing down! The big baby was afraid, he didn't know what to do!

Once a Legend - now annoying.

29/10/2001, 9:31 AM
Originally posted by scottyshedender
Some people might see what he did as being passionate for ccfc
True, and I felt like doing exactly the same myself, like I said so did many others, but we all knew- with one exception- what the consequences could be and that it was wrong, so we didn't.

29/10/2001, 10:51 AM
O'Neill made some really bad judgements, he was not consistant at all. very poor sending off Anthony Buck, the two yellows were questionable to say the least. This type of performance from a ref should not be allowed, and the free kick should not have been given towards the end, Anthony Buckley was standing between the player and the ball, with his back to the player, he was feet away from his own touchline, his objective was to lose the player, not to get on the other side off him, so why would he want to foul the player, is he not allowed to stand his ground. Make no mistake the ref was brutal, all eyes on Chorus during the week to see the state of that ref.:mad:

yiddo
29/10/2001, 11:06 AM
first of all moses was wrong to run on the pitch. however we all do things we regret in the heat of the moment.I am sure that lots of people in the cross felt like having a few words with Mr O'Neill.
The real problem at the Cross is the lack of stewarding. these guys just stand around and move the kids off the wall and chase them off the pitch. When they are really needed like yesterday they are nowhere to be seen. Think back to april 2000 last home game Johnny C was elbowed by a opponent. A the next corner kick to city at the shed end this guy walks onto the pitch from the corner of the shed past a steward who was watching him and only coughlan stopped him from attacking the guy who elbowed caulfield. Meanwhile the steward is still leaning on the wall. I took the number of his bib and mentioned it to a director. His reply was "what do you expect. they're only getting 20 quid a game"
Both the steward and the director are still involved with city. nothing changes!

29/10/2001, 11:40 AM
I agree 100% with you face, I really felt like throttling O'Neill after his performance, but you an I know that its the wrong thing to do. It could get the club in huge trouble.

29/10/2001, 11:44 AM
One other thing. Look what happened in England with the ref in the Man Utd - leeds game. He didn't send Robbie Keane off, so he's dumped down to division one. I know that happened O'Neill before after the Ollie Byrne incident at the Cross- he was in div1 for the rest of the season I think. What odds on it not happening this time?! If players can be punished for breaking the rules, refs should be too. O'Neill failed to send a Bray player off when he was the last man and fouled a city player. Something has to be doen about this guy. Also, who thinks that Gunthers continuous outbursts about refs after almost every game might have something to do with this?

29/10/2001, 12:16 PM
appeal the free kick yesterday. Also ... what is the refs name, is it Jimmy O'Neill or Hugh O'Neill. To be honest the club would look abit stupid if they dont appeal it or take some course of action.:mad:

29/10/2001, 12:18 PM
Jim O'Neill was the ref.

I'd say the most the club could do is appeal the sending-off. But they wouldn't get anywhere.

29/10/2001, 3:19 PM
the ref can be brought to book for those decisions. I suppose we are biased but for a neutral watching the game, it was plain to see some of those decisions very very poor, bad for the run of the game, and didn't reflect the way the game was going. I feel if the club doesn't do anything it is like admitting to the offences that were meant to have been commited, and by not contesting it, the ref's action wont be questioned, and enable him to just continue to referee games with mediocre, average, middle off the road, second-rate being the name of the game. Even if there is nothing done about it ... just so that the powers that be know that shoody, second-rate refereeing IS notice in the cross, and IS an issue that should be addressed.:mad:

29/10/2001, 6:54 PM
I felt that after yesterdays actions, Moses would be embarrases to open his mouth again for quite a while. I also thought he would be 'blackballed' by people and ignored.

both not the case in Cobh today. He was as vocal as ever and the idiot kids seem to adore him even more now! Kinda odd methinks!!!!

29/10/2001, 7:03 PM
The 'Yes kids' who follow him will continue to do so until someone shouts him down, which I don't see happening.

rebel yell
29/10/2001, 9:47 PM
Can someone explain who Moses is? I gather he's a fan. If so he
should be banned for life by the club. However I also don't agree
with refs needing escorts off the pitch like what happened at the X against Bray. The ref's job is hard enough without being hounded by baying fans.

Gerry Desmond
30/10/2001, 8:37 AM
Originally posted by rebel yell
Can someone explain who Moses is? I gather he's a fan. If so he should be banned for life by the club.

Hear, hear, rebel yell!!
Is he a member of the OFFICIAL supporters club? If so, they have a decision to make IMO.

Gerry

Sid
30/10/2001, 11:17 AM
Some little knacker threw a coin at the lines man at the very end of the Cobh game. We won 2 - 0, and IMHO the lines man didn't do too much wrong, just goes to show some of the scum who are supporting our club.

30/10/2001, 11:38 AM
Originally posted by Gerry Desmond

Is he a member of the OFFICIAL supporters club?
He is, I think. He definitely used to be because he used to have some position in the SC.

30/10/2001, 2:07 PM
It's good to see that no one though Moses did the right thing in running after the ref. i do believe though that ref's performances should be looked at and they should be "relegated" for screwing up. After all there can be a lot at stake...

Citymark
30/10/2001, 3:04 PM
Wasn't at the game but was listening to commentry on radio One. Both commentators..Eoin Hand and Gabriel Egan both thought that the ref had got it wrong.

To be honest, if Moses did run on the pitch to abuse the referee, he should be punished. City could get dropped points or fined. If it was a European game UEFA would have already fined us.

I think it is time that Moses is banned. He has being abusing players and officials (both city and opposition) for years now. Racist abuse and comments have no place within soccer. Banter and humour is OK but that sort of stuff is not necessary. I remember him giving Pat Morely stcik back in the days of Bishopstown. (not much has chnaged since). Morley came close to clocking him one!

30/10/2001, 5:13 PM
Originally posted by rebel yell
Can someone explain who Moses is? I gather he's a fan.

He is the loud ignorant voice in the ****, I mean Shed, shouting down Morley at every home game.

Gunthers Mask
30/10/2001, 8:01 PM
Moses can be annoying sometimes but the majority of the time he is a laugh when he is not at the Cross the atmosphere suffers as a result ie Dundalk home match.As for banning the man get real Moses is harmless and I know what I'm on about as moses/jim lived in my locality for a number of years and I also know him from the supporters club.

yiddo
30/10/2001, 8:30 PM
ok we all know moses was wrong on sunday. he lost the head. we all do from time to time. but banned for life. a bit extreme i think. maybe there are other agendas afoot. lets face it last sunday like every other sunday there wouldn't have been any chanting/singing in the shed without moses. if he didn't start the chants himself the songs/chants were in response to something he said. he pays his fiver and is entitled to voice his opinion like the rest of us. next time he abuses morley why doesn't someone start chanting for morley?? I mean moses is only 1 man.

Just one more thing no way will moses be banned as city need all the fivers they can get.

rebel yell
30/10/2001, 10:51 PM
I don't think any fan has any right to encroach or throw anything on the pitch, regardless of what good crack they are or how many fivers they've got. Doing so is juvenile and cowardly.
I remember Ireland v Spain at Flower Lodge when Rovers fans threw bottles onto the pitch. Doubtless they thought that was 'good crack' too having paid their money and availed of the opportunity to besmirch the name of Cork Football.:mad:

Snatch
31/10/2001, 11:01 AM
I feel a little out numbered here but I must speak up in support of Moses. He has been an inspirational fan at the Cross for years and was vital in creating the atmosphere at so many matches. He is one of my heros.
What is with all this political correctness amongst City fans lately?
I can't help wondering are some of the members of the forum jealous because they go to more away games yet Moses is still the favourite fan!

Seanie
31/10/2001, 11:21 AM
We should all make the trip down to Waterford to investigate the Dickie and Jimmy alliance - must be great drinking buddies while they exchange ideas on how to con us next. Bet they don't drink Guiness or even our very own Murphy's or Beamish!

01/11/2001, 2:28 PM
I don't support banning him for life, he is a big part of Cork City, but he needs to cop on. If any other fan had done what he did, they would most likely have been banned for life. I know the guy, and I like him, but he can't do what he did. It could cost the club dearly. As for the Morley issue, it's about time moses and everyone else who's at it stopped gettin on Pats back. He's been a great servant for the club.

Gunthers Mask
02/11/2001, 11:35 AM
Snatch as for Moses being a good fan I say Yes.As for Moses being your hero I say get a life.Moses is just one man and if people don't like him they should say so.Maybe city should make him a director that way we could control his behaviour!!As for banning Moses that is harsh but if he continues to run onto the pitch and act the fool the club may have to think seriously about it.A shame cos he is a good supporter and the majority of the time a real laugh