View Full Version : Pool 3 - Table, Fixtures, Results 2010

stann
28/06/2010, 1:44 AM
Time for this again, but I'm doing it up from scraps, not having got sent any details at all yet.
Hopefully I have the pool numbers right.
Fixtures to be added asap, and yiz can update your results as they happen then, and the table with them.

Table as at...

Pool 3

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Bray Wanderers 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
FC Carlow 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Shamrock Rovers 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
UCD 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Waterford United 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Wexford Youths 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

We're supposed to be down at Wexford for the first game, w/e Sun July 11th, and Rovers are at Bray per their website, so I guess that means Carlow and UCD are playing each other, don't know who's at home there though.
Our game is expected to be moved though, apparently there's some other big game going on somewhere on the 11th...

Youths4Ever
06/07/2010, 6:16 PM
WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 11th JULY 2010 – SERIES NO. 1
Bray Wanderers v Shamrock Rovers
U.C.D. v FC Carlow
Wexford Youths v Waterford United

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 18th JULY 2010 – SERIES NO. 2
FC Carlow v Bray Wanderers
Shamrock Rovers v Wexford Youths
Waterford United v U.C.D.

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 25th JULY 2010 – SERIES NO. 3
U.C.D. v Shamrock Rovers
Waterford United v FC Carlow
Wexford Youths v Bray Wanderers

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 8th AUGUST 2010 – SERIES NO. 4
Bray Wanderers v Waterford United
Shamrock Rovers v FC Carlow
Wexford Youths v U.C.D.

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 15th AUGUST 2010 – SERIES NO. 5
FC Carlow v Wexford Youths
U.C.D. v Bray Wanderers
Waterford United v Shamrock Rovers

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 22nd AUGUST 2010 – SERIES NO. 6
FC Carlow v U.C.D.
Shamrock Rovers v Bray Wanderers
Waterford United v Wexford Youths

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 29th AUGUST 2010 – SERIES NO. 7
Bray Wanderers v FC Carlow
U.C.D. v Waterford United
Wexford Youths v Shamrock Rovers

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 12th SEPTEMBER 2010 – SERIES NO. 8
Bray Wanderers v Wexford Youths
FC Carlow v Waterford United
Shamrock Rovers v U.C.D.

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 19th SEPTEMBER 2010 – SERIES NO. 9
FC Carlow v Shamrock Rovers
U.C.D. v Wexford Youths
Waterford United v Bray Wanderers

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 26th SEPTEMBER 2010 – SERIES NO. 10
Bray Wanderers v U.C.D.
Shamrock Rovers v Waterford United
Wexford Youths v FC Carlow

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 3rd OCTOBER 2010 – QUARTER- FINALS

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 10th OCTOBER 2010 – SEMI-FINALS

WEEKEND ENDING SUNDAY 17th OCTOBER 2010 – FINAL

Youths4Ever
06/07/2010, 6:16 PM
our first game against Waterford is confirmed for Tuesday 13th in Ferrycarrig Park at 7.30pm

ForzaForth
13/07/2010, 8:49 PM
Result from tonight: Wexford 1, Waterford 2.

Youths4Ever
13/07/2010, 9:26 PM
Ian Sinnott with the goal for Wexford

stann
14/07/2010, 12:46 AM
Gavin Falconer and Robbie Farrell with Waterford's.

Round about 20 mins for the first, then Wexford's just after the restart, and the winner about 87 or so I believe.

stann
15/07/2010, 6:58 PM
Doing this up now as it might be the only time we'll be at the top! :D
Could do with the clubs getting the finger out though. If you know anyone involved with running the various club websites, you might mention that neither Wexford, Bray, Rovers or UCD have anything on the games, if indeed they did all get played this week. Some, though, have nothing since last season. Sadly Carlow don't even seem to have a site anymore.

Table as at... 15-07-2010

Pool 3

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Waterford United 1 1 0 0 2 1 3
Bray Wanderers 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
FC Carlow 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Shamrock Rovers 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
UCD 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Wexford Youths 1 0 0 1 1 2 0

BTW, tiny match round-up, hopefully soon to be added to, here (http://www.waterford-united.ie/young-blues-off-to-flying-start/).

fcc2008
16/07/2010, 8:14 AM
UCD 2-2 FC Carlow ...
UCD opened the scoring from a free kick (34mins) ... Carlow restored parity 5mins into the 2nd half through an Eric Molloy header ...
UCD were awarded a penalty around the hour mark, which they converted, but Carlow levelled again with 5mins remaining through Shane Clarke ...

Youths4Ever
16/07/2010, 12:11 PM
wexford have no reports on the games but the fixtures are there with no update to the table yet. Accordin to website Wexford playing Rovers tomorrow in Ferrycarrig Park at 2pm

Topman
16/07/2010, 1:05 PM
UCD 2-2 FC Carlow ...
UCD opened the scoring from a free kick (34mins) ... Carlow restored parity 5mins into the 2nd half through an Eric Molloy header ...
UCD were awarded a penalty around the hour mark, which they converted, but Carlow levelled again with 5mins remaining through Shane Clarke ...

Good start lads, well done

GreenStar
16/07/2010, 2:25 PM
Monday 12th July:
Bray 0-5 Rovers

Youths4Ever
17/07/2010, 3:54 PM
Wexford v Rovers result from today 0-0

18/07/2010, 3:55 PM
UCD won 4-2 away to Waterford I see on Waterford's twitter updates.

Iorfa2MaccaJim
18/07/2010, 5:23 PM
Anywhere I can get an updates table after this weeks round of games ?

Cheers.

18/07/2010, 6:09 PM
Based only on the results here:

P W D L F A PTS
Rovers 2 1 1 0 6 1 4
UCD 2 1 1 0 6 4 4
Waterford 2 1 0 1 4 5 3
Carlow 1 0 1 0 2 2 1
Wexford 2 0 1 1 2 3 1
Bray 1 0 0 1 0 5 0

stann
18/07/2010, 9:51 PM
UCD the better side at the RSC today alright, but some sloppy goals conceded from our point of view. Absolutely rotten day for it too.
Report, complete with obvious crap pun, will be up here (http://www.waterford-united.ie/blues-u-20s-learn-harsh-lesson-from-students/) shortly.

Topman
18/07/2010, 9:56 PM
FC Carlow 4
Bray 1

stann
18/07/2010, 10:27 PM
First two full series completed so...

Table as at... 19/07/2010

Pool 3

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Shamrock Rovers 2 1 1 0 5 0 4
FC Carlow 2 1 1 0 6 3 4
UCD 2 1 1 0 6 4 4
Waterford United 2 1 0 1 4 5 3
Wexford Youths 2 0 1 1 1 2 1
Bray Wanderers 2 0 0 2 1 9 0

GreenStar
19/07/2010, 7:52 AM
First two full series completed so...

Table as at... 19/07/2010

Pool 3

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Shamrock Rovers 2 1 1 0 6 1 4
FC Carlow 2 1 1 0 6 3 4
UCD 2 1 1 0 6 4 4
Waterford United 2 1 0 1 4 5 3
Wexford Youths 2 0 1 1 2 3 1

According to this thread, Rovers results have been 5-0 v Bray and 0-0 v Wexford so the table should read F - 5, A - 0.

stann
19/07/2010, 9:47 AM
You're right, duly amended.
Too trusting, that's me... :D

BTW, can anyone from UCD confirm the goalscorers in our game? Whelan with the first, was it? Then Belhout (2) and O'Connor.
Belhout, in particular, looks like he could be a cracking player.

19/07/2010, 3:18 PM
BTW, can anyone from UCD confirm the goalscorers in our game? Whelan with the first, was it? Then Belhout (2) and O'Connor.
Belhout, in particular, looks like he could be a cracking player.

Belhout got a hat trick according to our official site and O'Connor the other one.

stann
20/07/2010, 9:57 AM
Cheers Schumi.
Feck, that's some impressively one-sided reporting, superb! :D
"The other lot got a goal somewhere I think, not sure really, but anyway, wait 'til you hear about our third..." :D

20/07/2010, 11:59 AM
Feck, that's some impressively one-sided reporting, superb! :D
"The other lot got a goal somewhere I think, not sure really, but anyway, wait 'til you hear about our third..." :D

The way all match reports should be. :)

Topman
23/07/2010, 1:45 PM
FC Carlow
v
Waterford United FC

Kick Off @ 2.00pm Saturday

Venue: Hawkins Lane, Tullow, Co. Carlow (Parkville United FC)

Topman
24/07/2010, 5:15 PM
FC Carlow 3
Waterford United 3

stann
26/07/2010, 9:04 AM
Table updated with our result below.
Reece Rooney, Andrew Power and James Starmer the scorers for Waterford.
Mini reportette, complete with totally one-sided slant, here (http://www.waterford-united.ie/blues-u-20s-take-point-in-6-goal-thriller/). :laugh:

Table as at... 26/07/2010

Pool 3

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
FC Carlow 3 1 2 0 9 6 5
Shamrock Rovers 2 1 1 0 5 0 4
UCD 2 1 1 0 6 4 4
Waterford United 3 1 1 1 7 8 4

26/07/2010, 1:51 PM
Never mind.

FlapjackJoe
26/07/2010, 2:23 PM
UCD 2-2 Bray

Ermmmm, wasn't that the A Championship game between the teams?

UCD were due to play Shamrock Rovers in the Underage League this weekend...

26/07/2010, 5:43 PM
Sorry, you're right. I saw the score earlier and it seemed to fit the games in hand in stann's table so I didn't bother checking!

HarpoJoyce
29/07/2010, 12:30 AM
UCD U20 0:1 Shamrock Rovers U20

Fast game, UCD had chances to win it but after the goal The Purples could have scored a couple of times on the break but for John Kelly, UCD 'keeper, brother of Michael a UCD defender.

GreenStar
29/07/2010, 7:35 AM
UCD U20 0:1 Shamrock Rovers U20

Fast game, UCD had chances to win it but after the goal The Purples could have scored a couple of times on the break but for John Kelly, UCD 'keeper, brother of Michael a UCD defender.

To be fair, 'The Purples' as you call them had several really good chances long before the goal was scored and maybe should have gone in at half time with the lead. Good game though, no more than you would expect between these 2 teams in fairness.

HarpoJoyce
29/07/2010, 12:37 PM
Certainly I did not expect the visitors to perform to the level they did, they have been also rans in LoI underage tournaments.
The last time UCD plaed Shamrock Rovers on that very pitch we beat the same team four goals to nil in 2008.
This win against the current holders does elevate the team to a status above so many other clubs with an established Under-age environment.
Bray Wanderers, St. Patrick's Athletic, Shelbourne, Limerick FC, Salthill Devon, Finn Harps are all clubs that I would expect a good performance from and a serious threat.

GreenStar
29/07/2010, 12:57 PM
Certainly I did not expect the visitors to perform to the level they did, they have been also rans in LoI underage tournaments.
The last time UCD plaed Shamrock Rovers on that very pitch we beat the same team four goals to nil in 2008.
This win against the current holders does elevate the team to a status above so many other clubs with an established Under-age environment.
Bray Wanderers, St. Patrick's Athletic, Shelbourne, Limerick FC, Salthill Devon, Finn Harps are all clubs that I would expect a good performance from and a serious threat.

Fair comments there. Rovers did look at this at the end of last season and, as has been said in the media already, the emphasis this year was on signing young, quality players. This can be seen through the first team and the A-Championship/Under-20 teams. Hopefully this will bear fruit for the club in the near future.

stann
30/07/2010, 1:37 PM
Table updated ahead of this weekend's games so...

Pool 3

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Shamrock Rovers 3 2 1 0 6 0 7
FC Carlow 3 1 2 0 9 6 5
UCD 3 1 1 1 6 5 4
Waterford United 3 1 1 1 7 8 4

GreenStar
31/07/2010, 4:48 PM
Rovers 2-1 Waterford

stann
03/08/2010, 8:21 AM
Daniel McGuinness with two for yourselves, Paul Horan with our one back. Sounded like a decent game.

No other results in as yet, so might as well go ahead...

Pool 3

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Shamrock Rovers 4 3 1 0 8 1 10
FC Carlow 3 1 2 0 9 6 5
UCD 3 1 1 1 6 5 4
Waterford United 4 1 1 2 8 10 4

Blues v Bray is set for the RSC on Sunday at 2.00pm. Switched as Bray's seniors and 'A' side were also due to play at home the same weekend, apparently.

Youths4Ever
07/08/2010, 11:10 AM
Wexford v UCD Sunday @12 Ferrycarrig Park

GreenStar
08/08/2010, 12:41 AM
Carlow v Rovers,
Monday 9th August,
Tullow, 7.30pm.

ForzaForth
08/08/2010, 3:43 PM
Result from today: Wexford 2, UCD 1.

stann
09/08/2010, 11:40 AM
Wow, good result for the Youths.
Excellent match at the RSC yesterday, no goals though: Waterford United 0-0 Bray Wanderers (http://www.waterford-united.ie/blues-u20s-held-scoreless-by-bray/).

Pool 3

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Shamrock Rovers 4 3 1 0 8 1 10
FC Carlow 3 1 2 0 9 6 5
Waterford United 5 1 2 2 8 10 5
UCD 4 1 1 2 7 7 4
Wexford Youths 3 1 1 1 3 3 4
Bray Wanderers 3 0 1 2 1 9 1

Topman
11/08/2010, 10:49 AM
FC Carlow 2
Rovers 1

HarpoJoyce
11/08/2010, 10:58 AM
UCD v Bray Wanderers(?) Thurs 12th, 7pm.
This match will be played on one of the pitches at the Road entrance, opposite the Sports Centre.
The most favoured one is known as Roebuck 3 (R3).

HarpoJoyce
13/08/2010, 12:15 AM
UCD U20 2:1 Bray Wanderers U20

Bray U20 won a peno from a counter-attack just befor e half-time, scored. UCD had dominated up to then, I was told.

I arrived for the second-half, UCD put on a couple of forward subs, Daniel Corbett (sp?) and Brνan O'Broclαn. James Scallon and Samir Belhout with the college goals.

stann
13/08/2010, 12:19 AM
This one more up-to-date than the official mail out at least! :D

Seriously though, the official ones are way off. Whatever about the two midweek games, they have us down as only having played 4 times, even though we played our 5th match of the season against Bray last Sunday. Poor.

As at 12/08/2010

Pool 3

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Shamrock Rovers 5 3 1 1 9 3 10
FC Carlow 4 2 2 0 11 7 8
UCD 5 2 1 2 9 8 7
Waterford United 5 1 2 2 8 10 5
Wexford Youths 3 1 1 1 3 3 4
Bray Wanderers 4 0 1 3 2 11 1

HarpoJoyce
13/08/2010, 12:56 AM
This one more up-to-date than the official mail out at least! :D

Seriously though, the official ones are way off. Whatever about the two midweek games, they have us down as only having played 4 times, even though we played our 5th match of the season against Bray last Sunday. Poor.

As at 12/08/2010 .......

There may be a difficulty with some of the games that have been played.
Take this example, from the shamrock rovers website
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/teams/under-20s-section/1534-latest-u20-league-table-12-08-10

"Rovers lie in second place in Pool 3, one point behind leaders FC Carlow.

Under 20 League of Ireland
POOL 3 LEAGUE TABLE

P W D L F A GD PTS

FC Carlow 4 2 2 0 11 7 +4 8

Shamrock Rovers 4 2 1 1 7 2 +5 7

Waterford United 4 1 2 1 7 8 -1 5

U.C.D. 4 1 1 2 7 7 0 4

Wexford Youths 3 1 1 1 3 3 0 4

Bray Wanderers 3 0 1 2 1 9 -8 1

Table correct as at Tuesday, 10th August"

The above table doesn't include a shamrock rovers : Blues game, played at the end of July. Unless there is a difficulty with that game.

stann
13/08/2010, 1:19 AM
Yeah just looking through it again, that's the game they've missed out alright, apart from the two most recent this week that is. Rovers won it 2-1 at Tallaght.
Can't think of a reason why though, didn't hear of any difficulties with it anyway, and talking to our manager afterwards he had no issue with the result at that stage.

Rasherboy
16/08/2010, 12:01 PM
Fc Carlow look a decent side looking at their results,any players of note in their side?any making it into their A side?I watched their A side v Pats on Sat,good side that play nice football,a young fella that came on with about 10 to go caught my eye,looked about 17,good passer,anyone know who he is

Darkglasses
16/08/2010, 8:36 PM
Are Wexford playing Bray this mid-week? Finding it very hard to get info about when the games are on...

You'd think with our club finances being fairly tight it would be worth their while letting the fans know when the games are on :/

Youths4Ever
17/08/2010, 5:04 PM
Are Wexford playing Bray this mid-week? Finding it very hard to get info about when the games are on...

You'd think with our club finances being fairly tight it would be worth their while letting the fans know when the games are on :/

our next under 20 is away to Bray Wednesday 18th 7.45pm kick off

stann
17/08/2010, 8:30 PM
Are ye playing us down here at the RSC after that then, Y4E? On Sunday probably?

As I'm full of questions tonight, would you know if the Ben Ryan in both your squads of late is the same lad we had in the 20s last year? He was from Kilkenny I think. Tidy player.