View Full Version : Longford v City - Sat 3rd July

Pages : 1 [2]

Rocky77
07/07/2010, 2:45 PM
Again, he'd almost certainly be unavailable for the game either way. If he's on loan he won't be allowed play against them, if he's had his contract torn up by Rovers to allow him join us I'd be surprised if there wasn't a 'gentleman's agreement' that he's not play against them in the Cup.

Tallanted
08/07/2010, 8:14 PM
Cowan is defo only on loan til end of season. He can't play against rovers

Town Legend
09/07/2010, 8:48 PM
:cool:

but in all seriousness we were compltely out played 1st half and should have been 3 or 4 down but second half and the passing game of Cork seemed to leave them and we just kept plugging away and got the reward for it.

Performers of the night : Lee , Victor , Jason oladalea qho made a fantastic impact as did hynes. JP Mcdonagh was a welcome return and tried hard as did Mark Salmon as always...

5 in a row undeafeated now and one things for sure we defo won't lose against mervue :)

Whats that Kieran? With stupid statements like that no wonder I don't read your blog.....desperate journalism!!! Nothing is a 'sure thing' in football......one thing even a mediocre journalist would know.

The Insider
10/07/2010, 12:05 AM
Whats that Kieran? With stupid statements like that no wonder I don't read your blog.....desperate journalism!!! Nothing is a 'sure thing' in football......one thing even a mediocre journalist would know.

Agree with you there Town Legend. I didn't like that cockiness, Mervue are one of the sides that have always caused De Town problems and I dont think many fans were taking them for granted, well the real ones weren't. That blog is a joke and comedy material for most and its an insult to proper journalists to call him a journalist. Journalists go to games.

L.T.F.C.
10/07/2010, 3:13 AM
Agree with you there Town Legend. I didn't like that cockiness, Mervue are one of the sides that have always caused De Town problems and I dont think many fans were taking them for granted, well the real ones weren't. That blog is a joke and comedy material for most and its an insult to proper journalists to call him a journalist. Journalists go to games.

I've been looking less and less at this forum, and thank god, cos with a post like that, it reminds me of how idiotic people can be. "An insult to proper journalists to call him a journalist." Ever heard of a tabloid or the Irish Independent? Pure slurry from those rags! And I think that Kieran's blog is improving apart from syntax, grammar etc., the rest is enjoyable. And having a blog doesn't make you a journalist.

10/07/2010, 3:29 AM
people just like to feel big picking on a kid, grow up boys...

The Insider
10/07/2010, 11:23 AM
I've been looking less and less at this forum, and thank god, cos with a post like that, it reminds me of how idiotic people can be. "An insult to proper journalists to call him a journalist." Ever heard of a tabloid or the Irish Independent? Pure slurry from those rags! And I think that Kieran's blog is improving apart from syntax, grammar etc., the rest is enjoyable. And having a blog doesn't make you a journalist.

I never called him a journalist, its a tag he and others have put on him. Its a cheap rip-off of other websites where he gathers his information.

And as for the kid thing, he was big enough and brash enough to spread a **** and bull story about Town players after a recent match. Even MNS won't let him post on their page (although he posts on it now using another name).

I couldn't care less about him, de Town is more important to me at the moment and after last nights shambles against Mervue lets hope we turn it around against our friendly (in the loosest terms) rivals from down the road. Speaking to a few that were at the game we were all over the place. As I said before Mervue are one of those dodgy teams for us and I was actually worried about a potenial banana skin.

10/07/2010, 12:16 PM
Well Lads , I wasnt expecting to be coming on talking about my blog all I want to do is talk about the Town and football but since ye brought it up.......I myself have never refereed to my self as a journalist , its true I want to become one thats why I run my blog so people can see what I can do and so far its worked well as the blogs is getting 600 views a day and I have been on the radio twice and im working for several other sites and pages so I have made a fantastic start.....

As for the Town ...... I wasn't at the game but to be 4-1 down and to come back to 4-3 hit the crossbar in the 90th minute and almost get something from the game well that shows great heart and determination so im proud of the lads and cant wait for us to beat Athlone! (I know your going to give out about that statement but I dont care because thats my prediction and im sticking by it)

L.T.F.C.
10/07/2010, 2:51 PM
I never called him a journalist, its a tag he and others have put on him. Its a cheap rip-off of other websites where he gathers his information.
Now, this is the reason I've been looking less and less at this forum, encasulated in two sentences. Do you know anything? You brought up journalist so lets talk about it. Journalists rarely write pieces without looking at what some other journalist wrote, rewording it and branding it as your own. So, if Kieran is guilty of this, he'll be fine in the journalism world, and if he does do his own work, he'll be very successful.

10/07/2010, 4:54 PM
Now, this is the reason I've been looking less and less at this forum, encasulated in two sentences. Do you know anything? You brought up journalist so lets talk about it. Journalists rarely write pieces without looking at what some other journalist wrote, rewording it and branding it as your own. So, if Kieran is guilty of this, he'll be fine in the journalism world, and if he does do his own work, he'll be very successful.

It was a shambles last night. Yet again Shanahan was beaten by a lob from ex town player Evan Connolly for the goal. Victor EKanem nearly missed his goal his shot hit the inside of the post just about and went in after Chris Deans headed back in a Brady corner.

But then the heavens opened. Dan Cunningham younger brother of the Cunningham lad that won his first Ireland cap made it two one his shot beat Shanahan in the middle of the goals. Tierney just before half time made it three one which beat Shanahan after a mistake from Hyland. Three one half time.
16 mins into the second half,Lynch who came on as sub hits a freekick over the wall into the net It was now 4-1. JP McDonagh made it 4-2 after a Don Cowan pass to him. Lester hits a long freekick which was brilliantly headed in by Chris Deans for 4-3. We had two clear penalty shouts and hit the crossbar from Mark Sammon.

It was very disappointing for Don Cowan not to play from the start. Cousins was heard from outside the changing rooms by one of the younger lads tearing into the lads at half time. Athlone will be very tough now and Town will have to start again from scratch. I can understand why people were raving about Mervue.
Town have a shocking record against Mervue away.They have won only one game out of four and lost three. The only time we won was one of the last games of last season with a screamer from Gary Curran. If we are not careful, I am afraid Mervue may go from strength to strength and overtake us.

Town Legend
13/07/2010, 6:59 PM
people just like to feel big picking on a kid, grow up boys...

Not like that at all Acornvilla. Its just the muck he comes out with on here. I'm surprised he hadn't set up another Facebook page to get rid of Cousins!!

13/07/2010, 8:05 PM
If I have an opinion or a point of view il say it exactly as i feel im not afraid to speak my mind whereas others on this site just post to keep others happy.

14/07/2010, 7:33 AM
If I'd wanted to deal with petty squabbles I could've stayed at home with actual toddlers. Enough already.

Attack the post (or content of blog), not the poster. Perhaps a bit less cross promotion of other sites/ things too.

Frank76
15/07/2010, 10:37 PM
Keep your stupid opinions to yourself Kieran!! Bad enough you spouting crap on here without coming in the Athlone pages to spout it too!!

L.T.F.C.
16/07/2010, 5:35 AM
If I'd wanted to deal with petty squabbles I could've stayed at home with actual toddlers. Enough already.

Attack the post (or content of blog), not the poster. Perhaps a bit less cross promotion of other sites/ things too.

Jaysus Macy! Only for you we wouldn't know what to do! Thanks for sorting it. Top Man.

16/07/2010, 7:15 AM
Jaysus Macy! Only for you we wouldn't know what to do! Thanks for sorting it. Top Man.
Would you rather I moderated like some of the other forums on here where you can't say boo?

17/07/2010, 3:29 AM
boo...

17/07/2010, 1:57 PM
Locked. Well done dummies.