View Full Version : Markets Fiekd
LK37oldskool
22/06/2010, 12:26 PM
According to todays Local a deal will be signed by the end of the week between Pat O'Sullivan and BNG for the purchase of the Markets Field.A fee of between 2/3 million has been mentioned.Is it a slow news week locally or is it dreamland for us! This news on top of the new signings is turning the week into one of the best in a long time. Anybody heard different on this story?:)
bluewhitearmy
22/06/2010, 12:33 PM
Ive heard the same please let it be true would be one of he best weeks in a long long long time.
22/06/2010, 12:36 PM
I just checked the sites of the Leader, the Post and the Independent, and it's not there, or on Spin southwest, West Limerick 102 or on Limerick 95fm.
Where did you hear it?
If this is true, it would be incredible news, and I've been wondering why Limerick were bringing in players of the quality they are when their current ground isn't acceptable for Prem Division football.
22/06/2010, 12:38 PM
Best of luck with this lads. would be great news for ye and the league
LK37oldskool
22/06/2010, 12:43 PM
its on the front page of Limerick Leader web site.
LK37oldskool
22/06/2010, 12:44 PM
http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/Limerick-soccer-to-return-to.6376472.jp try this link.
22/06/2010, 12:46 PM
LIMERICK FC chairman Pat O'Sullivan will this week wrap up a deal for the purchase of the Markets Field from Bord na gCon for a figure thought to be close to €3m.
The Ballylanders native, who got involved with Limerick FC in June of last year, has been attempting for some time to put a deal together to return the club to the spiritual home of Limerick soccer, and following a recent meeting with Minister of Sport Mary Hanafin, it is understood that a deal has been agreed in principle between the parties.
A source close to the discussions between Mr O'Sullivan and the greyhound board has said that "negotiations are at an advanced stage, and both parties hope to reach an agreement this week".
www.limerickleadler.ie understands that an offer in the region of €2m-3m will be agreed this week.
It is 26 years since senior soccer moved away from the Markets Field, and Limerick FC have made their return to the site a priority over the last 12 months.
Mr O'Sullivan revealed earlier this year that Bord na gCon and the FAI had "funded the preparation of a set of plans" for the site, which is located off Mulgrave Street in Garryowen. Gilroy McMahon, the firm of architects behind the redevelopment of Croke Park, were commissioned to produce plans for the 5.3 acre site.
It is thought that there is also potential for the site to become something of a community centre, as Mr O'Sullivan alluded to in a recent interview with the Limerick Leader.
"This is a really top class 8,000 seater stadium which could then incorporate the VEC and there are other sports bodies that are interested in it," he said, adding: "That corner of the city needs something so we are working along those lines".
Mayor of Limerick Kevin Kiely, who met Minister Hanafin with Mr O'Sullivan, confirmed that an offer had been made but no contracts signed as of yet, but said he wished to "commend" Mr O'Sullivan for his interest in Limerick soccer.
"Pat O'Sullivan has done more in 12 months than anyone has done in the last 100 years and I'd like to commend him for that," said Mayor Kiely.
The current owners of the Markets Field, Bord na gCon, are set for a move to a new €18 million premises on the Dock Road in September.
http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/Limerick-soccer-to-return-to.6376472.jp
limunlim
22/06/2010, 12:52 PM
This is fantastic news!what a week.Well done to PoS and the rest of the staff, huge credit is due to them!C'mon the super blues!:ball:
bluewhitearmy
22/06/2010, 12:53 PM
Shows what great work is been done off the field these days.
If this happens a massive well done to Pat O'Sullivan and all the lads working behind the scenes at the club is in order.
Edit: Got there before me limunlim
super news reason we got the players coz we got xtra budget of 1700e weekly
thomas72
22/06/2010, 3:03 PM
i cant believe this we BOUGHT the markets field for 3mill we are the man city of ireland :D
all jokes this is the best week for limerick fc in years when this goes through when do you think we wiill move back prob start of next season ya?????
what a week
22/06/2010, 5:11 PM
best of luck lads.. hopefully this is the end of your nomad days and ye will be back in the premier division before too long.. some very impressive signings..
fieldofmarkets
22/06/2010, 10:54 PM
holy cr*p...please let this happen. Fair play to Pat O'Sullivan and all involved if it does.
23/06/2010, 12:10 PM
More great news. I should leave the country more often. Always seems to be good news when i'm away :confused:
thomas72
23/06/2010, 6:17 PM
does anyone know what plans limerick have for the markets field
how many seats going in??
there is massive space in the ground what will pat o sullivan do??
if i remember right there is two bars in the ground up stairs and down big plus for the club
bluewhitearmy
23/06/2010, 7:38 PM
does anyone know what plans limerick have for the markets field
how many seats going in??
there is massive space in the ground what will pat o sullivan do??
if i remember right there is two bars in the ground up stairs and down big plus for the club
ive heard the plan is an 8,000 all seater.
limunlim
24/06/2010, 4:19 PM
I am only speculating, but I would imagine that the down stairs bar would be converted into dressing rooms. I would doubt if there would major work done in the stadium immediately due to the cost of purchasing it. Although I could be completely wrong about both!
serpico
26/06/2010, 12:12 PM
I am only speculating, but I would imagine that the down stairs bar would be converted into dressing rooms. I would doubt if there would major work done in the stadium immediately due to the cost of purchasing it. Although I could be completely wrong about both!
there isint very much room on the poplar side or behind the garryowen goals,so must of the work will probably be on the stand side.un less they turn the pitch around?
LFC in Exile
26/06/2010, 7:04 PM
€2-3m for property that is not zoned for development in the current environment? Seems way too much. Perhaps mention of FAI and Minister suggests that this is a way of funding Bord na gCon without giving them a grant and LFC are simply passing the money through.
The property was hardly worth €3m 4 years ago.
Just hope overpaying for the property doesn't hinder the ability to develop what is really an awful ground in which to watch a football match. The days of watching a match from outside a greyhound track are long gone.
bluewhitearmy
26/06/2010, 7:48 PM
Not in Derry and not a dog track but RSC.
LFC in Exile
28/06/2010, 10:48 AM
Not in Derry and not a dog track but RSC.
You've demonstrated my point perfectly. A sh1tty place to watch a match.
28/06/2010, 12:01 PM
As suggested by someone before the 3m might include developing the ground. 3m is a lot for a ground that was suggested to be worth in the region of 1m only a few months ago. I would presume the dog track will be removed as there is no reason for Limerick to have one. Also i don't think the deal is done yet so it might not even come to 3m.
I was asking Pat about it at the Cork game, and he said "The news about this ISN'T True.. Yet" So at the moment there is no ties being made with it.
An RIP piece on Markets Field on Morning Ireland this morning, even with a few punters bringing up football games past, RTE didn't bother to mention it. No mention of it becoming a football ground.
Lads, there was a piece on the rte news last night by Cathy Halloran about the Markets Field closing. There was absolutely no mention of any further use for the grounds and it gave the impression to the average person that the place was ready for the demolition boys?
Market's Field
15/07/2010, 1:35 PM
And you think Cathy O'Halloran knows what's going on????
Monkfish
15/07/2010, 2:25 PM
to the average person that the place was ready for the demolition boys?
Thats modern Ireland alright, full of average people.
Rip it up and start again I say.
Targetman
16/07/2010, 2:46 AM
According to local newspapers (Limerick leader and the Limerick post) negotiations are ongoing between Pat 'O Sullivan and Board naGan. Board naGan obviously want to sell to the highest bidder, but a return to the markets field for the super blues would see a significant increase in attendance numbers. Apparently a local business man wants to buy the property as well to turn it into a youth centre for Garryowen, but let’s hope a deal can be reached for Limerick FC as this could be a turning point in Limerick football that the supporters have been waiting for. If such a deal went ahead, we could organise our own glamour ties with Barca and chant about the morons such John Delany and the FAI while raking in the cash!
ped_ped
16/07/2010, 11:43 AM
Yup, provided our capacity is below whatever arbitrarily picked number the FAI claim they can't authorise . . .