View Full Version : How awful are RTE's panellists?
Spudulika
15/06/2010, 7:35 PM
I'm lucky, in a way, that I can watch RTE's coverage of the world cup as the commentators and co-commentators are first class, and Apres Match is always a hoot, but in the studio.....there has to be a sacking or three.
Tonight Eamo has been spouting off that the North Korean captain plays, first, for Dynamo Moscow, then at half-time just now, that he plays in Moscow - when any goon can read his profile and see he plays in Rostov.
A couple of nights ago Johnny, who I find one of the more literate, states "I know nothing about them, so I can't comment." IT'S YOUR JOB!!!!!!! How hard is it to read a few lines from a researcher and at least make an effort to care. Okay, so it's not the sky league and Ireland aren't there, but please try.
Worse was Souey on the USA team, not alone were they all journeymen playing in nowhere leagues or "not playing at all", but his statement that they wouldn't be good enough to survive as a team in the Premier League! Come on, I know our pundits generally haven't a clue about anything other than what they know - ie Sky league football, but please try to remember that other competitions do exist and give the viewer some decent feedback.
Dietmar Hamann, however, does seem to be holding his own, as does Ronnie Whelan, and Kevin Kilbane is quite good. Liam Brady looks and sounds like he couldn't be bothered (or he's trying to ape Mick McCarthy for miserableness). So there are tiny positives, but the main men just seem to be painting by numbers!
Apologies for the rant and it's probably all been lost on people at home, I just expected more! Blame homesickness!
I will admit the lads dont get it right alot of the time. Dunphy spouts alot of rubbish, most of it sensationalist. Gilesy is a damn good tactical analyst but his widespread knowledge of football players isnt great and he does rely on reverting back to the past, in his day etc. Am a fan of Brady who is usually quite knowledge and Souness does offer something different as a non Irish contributor to the aforementioned three.
But for sheer entertainment, you cannot beat them. Compared to UTV and SKY they are miles ahead. BBC can be decent at times, but I do miss MO'Neill on this years WC coverage.
Where else would find classics like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IlWkUYWSpCw
We probably wont appreciate Billo, Giles and Dunph fully until they are gone.
Sullivinho
15/06/2010, 7:52 PM
Really knowledgeable pundits are few and far between really, especially when it comes to the World Cup. Any viewer who keeps tabs on the lesser European leagues or the Copa Libertadores would probably have a better idea about some of these teams than the TV talent. I'd expect things to improve as the tournament proceeds, hopefully some good heated banter from Dunphy, Giles & Souness.
I agree on Hamann. Very listenable for such a stoic character. Ardiles is supposed to turn up too at some point. Plus, you never know when Souness will make molestation analogies.
Sullivinho
15/06/2010, 7:56 PM
We probably wont appreciate Billo, Giles and Dunph fully until they are gone.
Very true. The dynamic between the three is irreplaceable really.
15/06/2010, 9:03 PM
I'm lucky, in a way, that I can watch RTE's coverage of the world cup as the commentators and co-commentators are first class, and Apres Match is always a hoot, but in the studio.....there has to be a sacking or three.
Dietmar Hamann, however, does seem to be holding his own, as does Ronnie Whelan, and Kevin Kilbane is quite good. Liam Brady looks and sounds like he couldn't be bothered (or he's trying to ape Mick McCarthy for miserableness). So there are tiny positives, but the main men just seem to be painting by numbers!
Apologies for the rant and it's probably all been lost on people at home, I just expected more! Blame homesickness!
I actually enjoy Dunphy, Giles and Souness is top class. I wasnt impressed with Hamann or Kilbane at all, saying nothing of note. Liked Irwin though
Bill O herily was a right pain tonight though, maybe time for him to move on..................
15/06/2010, 9:19 PM
Can't stand rte coverage in general Thats why I watch UTV or BBC but I do switch over at times to see what Dunphy has to say knowing it's usualy contraversial. But the next time I hear Mick mcarthy I defo switching over to rte ..... Can't beat sky
Ciaran W
15/06/2010, 10:57 PM
Ah ya got to love the irish analysts. . I cant stand watching fools like motson, linekar, andy gray, jamie redknapp and that sort.
16/06/2010, 9:15 AM
Ah ya got to love the irish analysts. . I cant stand watching fools like motson, linekar, andy gray, jamie redknapp and that sort.
Don't get me started. The greatest fools on TV are laughing Bill O'Herlihy and "I agree with John" Dunphy. Last night at half time, Dunphy says "I think North Korea will hold on for a draw" when anyone who has watched football would realise that it is in the 2nd half when teams under constant pressure usually crack. There was NEVER a chance of them holding on. Of the 3 Laughing Bill and Dunphy are a joke (Laughing Bill makes a controversial statement which he found on the back of a corn flakes box and that sends Dunphy off on a rant). Giles just says the same old thing time and time again as he pulls at the side of his jacket. So it has been for 30 years and there is no doubt it has worked. It is entertainment but don't mix it up with serious analysis.
What I will never forgive RTE for is that the 3 have viciously attacked every Irish manager since Eoin Hand without any balance in the Panel.
"A night to rejoice" says Laughing Bill following the game in Paris because we had played well. Enough said.
16/06/2010, 9:21 AM
What I will never forgive RTE for is that the 3 have viciously attacked every Irish manager since Eoin Hand without any balance in the Panel.
Your dead right there Owls fan Dunphy has attacked every Irish manager since Charlton , why doesn't he get up an make a job of it...... because he hasn't a clue what hes on about and is only there to make controversial comments.
At least Souness has experience and knows what hes talking about and as someone said earlier hes not Irish and it gives the show a balance when there discussing the Irish team.
I havnt seen Ossie yet but Hamman seems to be making a good job of it but id rather watch a channel with serious annalist's that why I dont watch RTE.
16/06/2010, 9:32 AM
weird that the Irish fans are criticising the RTE panel, and the foreign fans are praising it: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/392580-world-cup-2010-which-tv-station-do-you-trust-to-analyze-the-action
If anyone is on the football365 forum, there's a dedicated RTE World Cup panel thread, well worth a read through
16/06/2010, 10:12 AM
When Saturday Comes had a similar article during the last Euros or World Cup.
16/06/2010, 11:05 AM
stu, there was an article in FourFourTwo around the same time
16/06/2010, 11:26 AM
I think RTE rejoice in their reputation as a straight-talking panel who are not afraid of criticism and controversy, as opposed to the powder-puff analysis offered by the other channels.
I do think the panel, especially Dunphy, are willing to make comments just for the sake of generating controversy, which is part of a wider and rather primitive RTE view that any controversy is good television. That said, I think their willingness to cut close to the bone does mean they are more likely to make the critical comments which we as viewers know to be true, but are not used to seeing on other channels.
I think their positive reputation is more from their willingness to say something is crap when it is crap, and identify somebody as spoofing when they are spoofing, rather than a greater level of insight into the mechanics of the game.
16/06/2010, 1:34 PM
slightly off topic, does anyone know why RTE are not doing radio commentary on the games?
16/06/2010, 1:48 PM
slightly off topic, does anyone know why RTE are not doing radio commentary on the games?
To cheap (:
16/06/2010, 1:51 PM
To cheap (:
16/06/2010, 2:09 PM
I think RTE rejoice in their reputation as a straight-talking panel who are not afraid of criticism and controversy, as opposed to the powder-puff analysis offered by the other channels.
I do think the panel, especially Dunphy, are willing to make comments just for the sake of generating controversy...
I think only Dunphy is really guilty of that, though he's guilty enough for the lot of them. Billo just says what he needs to say to get the panel talking (I really don't get the level of criticism of him here - sure he plays dumb, but it works), while Giles plays it pretty straight. Honestly, what I wouldn't give for a regular panel of Giles and Souness. The latter is willing to be criticial when he's on RTE, knows the game better than Dunphy and isn't as prone to raving wildly about how the most successful managers and players in the game are clowns and chancers.
16/06/2010, 2:28 PM
I think only Dunphy is really guilty of that, though he's guilty enough for the lot of them. Billo just says what he needs to say to get the panel talking (I really don't get the level of criticism of him here - sure he plays dumb, but it works), while Giles plays it pretty straight. Honestly, what I wouldn't give for a regular panel of Giles and Souness. The latter is willing to be criticial when he's on RTE, knows the game better than Dunphy and isn't as prone to raving wildly about how the most successful managers and players in the game are clowns and chancers.
the panel with Brady and Souness yesterday was a bit bland though, it needed someone like Dunphy to inject that wild card comment to get them talking
17/06/2010, 6:38 AM
As I've mentioned on the WC predictions thread it could be worse for you guys you could have the BBC/ITV. Here's Tom Engish on the joke that is English punditry:
IT'S FAIR to say that it's not just ITV that has taken some stick for some of their coverage at this World Cup, particularly the coverage of the tournament's lesser lights. The BBC have been getting it in the neck as well. To give you an example, what I'm talking about here is things like Alan Shearer's self-proclaimed "expert analysis" that amounts to a conveyor belt of cliches and the kind of insight that even a child of six would describe as laughable.
Before the Algeria versus Slovenia game in Group C on Sunday, Shearer seemed to be speaking for the entire BBC panel when he said, "Our knowledge of these two teams is limited." Limited! What the former England striker was saying was that he hadn't done his homework, that he hadn't spoken to any of his vast array of contacts in the game, hadn't tapped into the BBC's huge research machinery, hadn't even bothered, seemingly, to peruse the internet for some background on Algeria and Slovenia or even flick through a newspaper or a magazine. Shearer was content to sit in front of the cameras and tell the viewers that, really, he didn't know much. Hardly a revelation to those of us who have groaned our way through his anodyne commentaries in the past, but embarrassing all the same.
Why do the BBC deem that acceptable? Why is Shearer not taken aside and told, 'Listen, if you can't be bothered doing some research on this game then get lost'. It's a different, and entirely more professional story, on radio where the wonderful 5 Live and, closer to home, the award-winning Radio Scotland present their football coverage in a proper fashion. How does Shearer (but not just Shearer) get away with opting out like that?
And here's another one. The Beeb got carpeted by some viewers for their treatment of that Algeria game. So what happened before the kick-off in yesterday's lunch-time match between New Zealand and Slovakia? In a six-and-a-half minute introduction just one player out of the 22 on show was given a name-check, and here is how it happened.
Lee Dixon: "Slovakia have got some decent players, Hamsik, the pick of them. Young player, plays on the left side."
Gary Lineker: "He's at Napoli."
Lee Dixon: "That's right."
Alan Hansen (chuckling): "Somebody gave you him, by the way."
What Hansen meant, I think, was that his colleagues must have been fed the Hamsik reference by another party, that they couldn't have come up with his name all by themselves. It's not like Dixon or Lineker produced a dossier of facts about Hamsik, a file of information on who he is and where he has been. All they did was mention his name and the fact that he was rather good. That was it. Hansen seemed to think this was worthy of a gently-mocking put-down, as if the other two were some kind of class swots. As such, he was almost revelling in his own ignorance.
There's a lot of this going about, on BBC and ITV. The level of punditry is cringe-making. It's lowest common denominator stuff. Patronising and insulting, much of it. Emmanuel Adebayor's mobile phone started ringing in his pocket live on air the other day. His respect for the viewers didn't even amount to him making sure the thing was switched off. Edgar Davids has been unintelligible, Gareth Southgate hasn't said one interesting thing, Kevin Keegan has been nothing more than a cheerleader for England and Andy Townsend has been his usual bland self, trotting out statements of the obvious with a rapid-fire gusto. "I tell you what, for me, he's gotta hit the target from there!"
And you are paid how much, Andy?
Clarence Seedorf was in the BBC studio the other night for the Italy versus Paraguay match and he was making a point about the positive impact an Italian substitute had made on the game. He was referring to Antonio Di Natale, winner of more than 30 caps for the Azzurri and the leading goalscorer in Serie A in the season just gone, but Seedorf couldn't remember his name. Hadn't a clue. Neither did the blokes alongside him, Hansen among them. "He was the No 10," said a smiling Seedorf, who then reached for a team-sheet on the desk for help before realising that it was the Dutch team-sheet. "That's no use," he laughed. Indeed, Clarence.
Hansen thought this was priceless. "That might be highlight of the World Cup so far," he trumpeted. The programme ended and still nobody had figured out that the No 10 was Di Natale. You would hope that behind the scenes the BBC producers were holding their heads in their hands with embarrassment, but you wouldn't bank on it. Of course, in the squirm factor stakes there are many challengers. Mick McCarthy claimed just before kick-off in the Argentina versus Nigeria game that he'd only just realised that the Juan Sebastian Veron that appeared on his team-sheet was the same Veron who'd played for Manchester United and Chelsea. Quite a statement of ignorance, that.
In fairness to McCarthy, he does have something to offer in his reading of the game. It's just that there is so much that makes you wince in between. What we're getting a lot of from both sides is glib nonsense, lalalala jokes and crass stereotyping. Adrian Chiles is flavour of the month on ITV, but his popularity is not what it was. It wasn't his fault that ITV HD pressed the wrong button at the wrong time during England's opening game and missed Steven Gerrard's goal, but Chiles has been distinctly unconvincing in the anchor role. He wants to be the funny man when the job demands gravitas. He wants to throw in one-liners when he should be attempting to spearhead a proper discussion about a match.
His introduction to England's game against the Americans was mortifying. Wielding a baseball bat and sending a message to America, he said, "Just stick to your sports, why don't you?" Chiles was also seen patting a burger, adding: "We really love Americans, just wouldn't eat a whole one." He made himself look like a clown.
Keegan's summing-up: "It was a very, very good performance, good enough to win any game." This classic piece of Keegan claptrap should have been jumped upon and ripped apart for the nonsensical garbage that it was, but it sailed through pretty much. Chiles doesn't do confrontation – neither does the BBC – and it's a terrible weakness. There is no edge, no passion. It's all so bloody harmless and dull.
ITV needed somebody with a backbone to turn around to Keegan and say to him, 'Okay Kevin, what you're saying there is a load of junk. Explain how getting a draw against a team of journeymen like America is very good, explain the selection of James Milner out of position, explain why the rank ordinary Shaun Wright-Phillips was brought on instead of the classy Joe Cole, explain the failure of Gerrard and Frank Lampard to function together yet again, explain why this negated Wayne Rooney's impact'. Kev didn't do any of that, though.
There are many days ahead when our intelligence will be insulted by "expert analysts" who speak to us like simpletons who've just staggered home from the pub. We could do a lot worse than hitting the mute button from here on in. Or getting the commentary off the radio.
17/06/2010, 7:06 AM
Not a huge fan of Ronnie Whelan, but thought he was excellent yesterday. Like him, I also noticed that there is an awful lot of messed up passing in this world cup, the simple straight passes, and its an ability thing rather than the ball.
endabob1
17/06/2010, 7:24 AM
I agree on Hamann. Very listenable for such a stoic character. Ardiles is supposed to turn up too at some point. Plus, you never know when Souness will make molestation analogies.
Doing the pundit role for SABC here, not bad from the games I've seen him. John Barnes is doing it here on one of the other channels and is actually pretty good, which has really surprised me.
17/06/2010, 11:12 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00mjjxr
Danny Baker - not too bad
Songs that the North Korean fans might chant............................................
18/06/2010, 1:23 AM
Not a huge fan of Ronnie Whelan, but thought he was excellent yesterday. Like him, I also noticed that there is an awful lot of messed up passing in this world cup, the simple straight passes, and its an ability thing rather than the ball.
It's funny reading the Liverpool FC message boards when the RTE panel have been analysing a Liverpool game - they all think there's a grand conspiracy to discredit the club, and doubtless their lowly finish this year is vindication that Billo et al were into some serious dodgy voodoo.
Ronnie has been turned into a pariah - it's almost as if any criticism is treason. I think that's generally the sort of person BBC and ITV panels cater to - the message board lunatic fringe. I'm sure 90% of English fans are fully capable of realising the team's shortcomings and are just as frustrated with the lack of analysis as we are.
Spudulika
18/06/2010, 5:40 AM
BBC and ITV have always been a bit suspect, Sky are just beyond rescue, though the deification of RTE is not justified on current or past form. What the author of the missive (or rather dismissive) on BBC and ITV gets right is the ignorance of anything outside of the known world - ie the sky leagues and the european champions and top four league. He even betrays his own bias when slagging off the USA (re Keegan) and this was evident on RTE. Journeymen, pub team, not good enough for the Premier League - this isn't analysis, it's stupidity and ignorance of the highest degree. Most of the USA players have all travelled far and wide to play football, many were trained in Germany and came through the system there, yet this is deemed "sub standard" - unlike the failure that is the English Academy system.
It's frustrating watching the panel rumble around and Bill doing the stirring, Dunphy bowing to the god that is Giles and Giles "in my day" throw backs. For sure RTE does bring a different colour to it, yet the Irish and British coverage is lagging far behind that you find on German or Croatian tv (Igor Stimac turns to friend and mentor Blazevic during a discussion on the triple yellow in the last world cup and says - "If I were his coach I'd break his neck for that." Blazevic - "If you were the coach of the national team they'd break their own necks with ropes."). While it was okay for the common fan to rejoice in France's defeat last night, purely by being professional the RTE panel should have been removed from it - however they kept playing to the audience like a gurning clowns. Okay, we know France deserve what's coming to them, but at least be professional and show some balance. Every single person I know (abroad) was against France, because of November, but on German, Russian and Croatian tv (thank you Eurovision) it was as if there was a different game going on than that covered on RTE.
18/06/2010, 6:29 AM
Dunphy bites back............................
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ClEq0Q6ycs0
18/06/2010, 7:00 AM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/audio/2010/jun/18/world-cup-daily-podcast-argentina-france
Reaction to the French game, with the always excellent James Richardson and Irelands Barry Glendenning
(Maradona to be the new manager of Liverpool.LOLOLOL - in fact it makes perfect sense!!!)
Straightstory
18/06/2010, 7:57 AM
Dunphy clearly wrong about Mexico's first goal last night. Nobody else anywhere doubting that it was the right decision. O'Herlihy, as usual, slightly bamboozled. I do think the RTE panel is clearly the best - but surely they should have a basic understanding of the offside rule.
18/06/2010, 10:14 AM
The RTE Panel is entertainment masquerading as "calling as it is" and "serious analysis" and is just the subjective views of a self-publicist and father time aided and abetted by a PR man who supports Enda Kenny. The one AND only time where there was an actual divergence of views between mutt, jeff and LAughing Bill was the Saipan affair. Otherwise it's the "I agree with John" and "I agree with Eamonn show" with Laughing Bill bowing to their indepth knowledge.
I don't give a toss about their views on the Premiership or the World Cup etc etc What has always upset me is that for 25+ plus years the national broadcaster has assisted 3 people crucify every manager of the national team without a contrary opinion. Laughing Bill always sharpened the knives and Mutt and Jeff when proceeded to administer the stab wounds. It got to the pitiful extreme that at the end of the French debacle Laughing Bill said it was "a night to celebrate" because the team had played "like the panel said it should always have" and then he signed off with the smug look and inane smile. I had been at the game and only saw it when I got home and had to control myself. Laughing Bill still takes the odd slap at Charlton even though that era is well gone. It is personal between me and him/RTE. They (Dunphy and Giles) are entitled to their opinion but when the compere joins in and RTE don't add balance (belatedly with Souness), it really p++s me off and always had.
18/06/2010, 11:07 AM
Seriously owlsfan, have you watched any of the other punditry teams available? As soon as the alert mail popped into my inbox with the phrase "laughing Bill" I knew it was you!
Just my comparisons so far. On BBC, Shearer is a joke "don't know anything about them", "my expert analysis" :rolleyes:, FFS he asked the question "So when you were segregated, how did you feel about that?" in his real South Africa segment. Hansen has become a parody of what he used to be and complains about being paid to fly to South Africa, stay in a top class hotel, and watch football. In the opposite corner Lineker gurns at the camera and works on his tan. The threat of losing England internationals because of over criticism of the team has nullified their opinions to the point of banality. I've said it before and I'll say it again with regard to critics - once you lose your objectivity, you lose your credibility.
Before the South Africa - Uruguay game, they spent 20 minutes talking about the national holiday in South Africa, and fair enough, it was relevant to the day, and the game itself. But it meant spending less than 10 minutes on the build up to the game, and all that was footage of Pienaar in the Premiership, and a short mention on Forlan's time at United. RTE had spent the same time discussing the South African goalkeeper's contribution to play, and how it aided their counter attacking game, which was based on pace through the middle then moved on to analysing Uruguay. I switched over to BBC to compare and contrast at this point, so I can't say how that went.
I've only seen ITV's team after the England game, Keegan was trying to convince us that the England performance VS the USA would have beaten any other team (Spain? Argentina? Brazil?), as for Southgate, check out what the excellent zonalmarking.net has to say about his contributions to date
from http://twitter.com/Zonal_Marking/statuses/16235055673
Delighted ITV have hired Gareth Southgate to provide insights like, "Sometimes it just feels like...I don't know...go oooon"
from http://twitter.com/Zonal_Marking/statuses/16235141274
Every time Gareth Southgate opens his mouth, his "Winston Churchill / Iain Duncan Smith" gag about Sven seems more and more hypocritical...
I watched the Nigeria - Greece game on a stream from ESPN America. They had Premiership manager Roberto Martinez and South African international Shaun Bartlett in the studio. There was more time given to the ad break than any kind of analysis from two respected, relevant professionals.
An irish born friend of mine is living in Sweden and has access to RTE through eurovisionsports.tv. This is a direct quote from him
I've got the games on RTE and SVT- RTE wipe the floor with any other punditry I've seen.
The panel on RTE aren't perfect, but they're a damn sight better than anything else on offer at the moment.
18/06/2010, 11:17 AM
That 'Shearer goes to meet the real South Africa' yesterday was painful.
18/06/2010, 11:23 AM
Seriously owlsfan, have you watched any of the other punditry teams available? As soon as the alert mail popped into my inbox with the phrase "laughing Bill" I knew it was you!.
- once you lose your objectivity, you lose your credibility.!.
I rest my case.
18/06/2010, 12:05 PM
I rest my case.
Congratulations Lionel Hutz, attorney at law! All you've done is say over and over (and over, and over, etc) that RTE are terrible. Which they're not, and there's evidence that they actually offer one of the best analysis available.
At the very least you could provide some evidence that any of the other punditry options are superior.
Den Perry
18/06/2010, 12:20 PM
Can't stand rte coverage in general Thats why I watch UTV or BBC but I do switch over at times to see what Dunphy has to say knowing it's usualy contraversial. But the next time I hear Mick mcarthy I defo switching over to rte ..... Can't beat sky
can't beat sky...? you having a laugh? Redknapp is a serious pain in the hole
I love the lads on RTE, by far the most entertaining
Spudulika
18/06/2010, 2:02 PM
I have to not complain about RTE now, but has anyone else gotten Eurovision to work? It was down for the last game and I think for this one too. Otherwise I'm stuck listening to two clowns in a lanugage I don't know speaking from a studio a couple of streets away! Help!
Sullivinho
18/06/2010, 2:15 PM
The panel on RTE aren't perfect, but they're a damn sight better than anything else on offer at the moment.
Couldn't agree more.
A N Mouse
18/06/2010, 2:33 PM
I have to not complain about RTE now, but has anyone else gotten Eurovision to work? It was down for the last game and I think for this one too. Otherwise I'm stuck listening to two clowns in a lanugage I don't know speaking from a studio a couple of streets away! Help!
You in dublin?
18/06/2010, 2:55 PM
Congratulations Lionel Hutz, attorney at law! All you've done is say over and over (and over, and over, etc) that RTE are terrible. Which they're not, and there's evidence that they actually offer one of the best analysis available.
At the very least you could provide some evidence that any of the other punditry options are superior.
Well Tets you just have to look at half time on the BBC. Hansen says "now we know how to break the two banks of four. Play it through them (up the middle)"
I swear Giles was on about this a few weeks ago!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!
and the BBC comentary - "He is fluent in English" - WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
18/06/2010, 4:19 PM
Did you actually read what I said? I said it's the constant sniping at the encumbent Irish manager without any balance that has driven me demented over the years. I don't deny that they are entertaining but so is Coco the Clown.
Well Tets you just have to look at half time on the BBC. Hansen says "now we know how to break the two banks of four. Play it through them (up the middle)"
I swear Giles was on about this a few weeks ago!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I thought Giles (supported by Dunphy) were advocating beating defensive teams by getting the ball out wide. They certainly were for the Brazil vs Korea game.
It's a tried and trusted formula. Laughing Bill says something like "Ronaldo is the best player in the world". Giles frowns and tugs at his jacket. Dunphy says he talking rubbish and launches in to a tirade about Ronaldo and Giles supports him and the whole programme is devoted to this theme.
Take an Irish game: Laughing Bill says something like is the style of play helping Ireland or should so and so player be player. DUnphy launches in to a tirade against the Manager and his style of play and Giles agree and the whole programme is devoted to this theme. If the Irish team plays well it is down to the players.
Take a World Cup game. Laughing Bill reads some comment from some obscure journalist or from the back of a Rice Krispies packet. Dunphy goes balistic and Giles says (no matter what the team is, especially if it a latin team) that the team is weak at the back and the game is all about getting the ball down and playing.
Entertaining of course - I watch it since I can't understand the French panelists the BBC have - but at least the latter have Lineker who has actually played at a world cup unlike either of the 3 on the RTE Panel two of whom played when dinasaurs ruled the earth.
18/06/2010, 4:58 PM
I thought Giles (supported by Dunphy) were advocating beating defensive teams by getting the ball out wide. They certainly were for the Brazil vs Korea game.
Well he definitely mentioned it around the start of the Wcup - sorry cant remember the actual game. Had the graphics and the players with the fancy circles and all - was impressive
An obvious tactic - one would only have to see the Mexico - England game to see how easy the Mexicans played it through the english def/mid, but the way Hasen was on about it today was hilarious
18/06/2010, 7:17 PM
Did you actually read what I said? I said it's the constant sniping at the encumbent Irish manager without any balance that has driven me demented over the years. I don't deny that they are entertaining but so is Coco the Clown.Of course I read it, I've read it in every other post from you. Like I said, as soon as I saw the phrase "laughing Bill" in my inbox, I knew it was from you.
I thought Giles (supported by Dunphy) were advocating beating defensive teams by getting the ball out wide. They certainly were for the Brazil vs Korea game.Brazil's first goal came from getting the ball out wide, against a defensive side. Second goal was a through ball outside of the full back, i.e. getting the ball out wide. So Giles was right.
It's a tried and trusted formula. Laughing Bill says something like "Ronaldo is the best player in the world". Giles frowns and tugs at his jacket. Dunphy says he talking rubbish and launches in to a tirade about Ronaldo and Giles supports him and the whole programme is devoted to this theme.Ronaldo's rarely mentioned outside of games he's involved in, this season his absence was discussed in Man United games because they were missing his influence on the game. Kaka was similarly mentioned a few times in AC Milan games.
Take an Irish game: Laughing Bill says something like is the style of play helping Ireland or should so and so player be player. DUnphy launches in to a tirade against the Manager and his style of play and Giles agree and the whole programme is devoted to this theme. If the Irish team plays well it is down to the players.I can't really comment on this since I go to Irish games and miss the commentary on the games
Take a World Cup game. Laughing Bill reads some comment from some obscure journalist or from the back of a Rice Krispies packet. Dunphy goes balistic and Giles says (no matter what the team is, especially if it a latin team) that the team is weak at the back and the game is all about getting the ball down and playing.Usually backed up by footage of said team displaying a weakness at the back. What's wrong with getting the ball down and playing? Arsenal and Barcelona both play that way and it's fantastic to watch.
Entertaining of course - I watch it since I can't understand the French panelists the BBC have - but at least the latter have Lineker who has actually played at a world cup unlike either of the 3 on the RTE Panel two of whom played when dinasaurs ruled the earth.There are no French panelists on BBC - Vieira and Desailly are on ITV. Lineker's about as interesting as dried paint and as for World Cup experience - RTE panelists Irwin, Souness, and now Hamann have all played at the World Cup.
18/06/2010, 7:38 PM
aside from the "who's better/worse than everyone else" debate, is it just me or does Didi Hamann really look like Dominic Monaghan now??
Spudulika
20/06/2010, 9:46 AM
You in dublin?
No, and now I realise that our region is cut off from Eurovision for some reason they can't explain properly other than - we don't have the rights. Bit mad. Had to endure UTV and BBC, as well as Australian and Yank coverage, have to say the Aussies were quite good - great point made by, I think he's Craig Foster, "Australians supporting Serbia who are supporting Serbia, it's better for Germany to equalise so that Australia have a chance to qualify." If you check message boards on Australian football the neanderthals went mental at him - not surprising since their grandparents were run out of ex-Yugo for all sorts. Shows how fragile Australia is.
stojkovic
20/06/2010, 8:35 PM
On balance, all things considered, RTE is far superior to BBC and especially ITV.
Just listen to Adebayor, Keegan, Davids, Hansen, Dixon, Southgate, Shearer etc Woeful.
20/06/2010, 9:03 PM
Jesus thought they were going to have a fight tonight. Dunphy V Souness. 100% agree with Souness. Dunphy was just trying to wind him up tonight.
old git
20/06/2010, 10:02 PM
Jesus thought they were going to have a fight tonight. Dunphy V Souness. 100% agree with Souness. Dunphy was just trying to wind him up tonight.
yeah the same dunphy who not so long ago was mouthing off about player power at chelsea and big name players having the run of the club... terry / drogba / ballack etc and the obsene amounts amounts of money they earn , he fairly changed his tune tonight sticking up for the good upstanding proffesional players :confused:
21/06/2010, 9:13 AM
Only saw the last 15 minutes of the game and the panel discussion afterwards. Apparently it was the referee's fault that the Ivory Coast players tried to break two Brazilian legs because he didn't give handball for the 2nd goal?? Did the Ivory Coast players protest much after that one? As for Kaka's sending off, it looks to me as if he gave the player a dig in the stomach with the elbow. Not the face obviously like the IC player pretended. Souness thought he was sent off because of the protest of the IC players?? I assume it was because it was the linesman or 3rd official saw it. Dunphy thought that because it was Kaka he shouldn't have gotten a second yellow card. Kaka was obviously wound up and you could almost sense something was about to happen. Strangely, the only one I didn't see rolling around the place (and the Brazilians were as bad if not worse) was Droghba or did I miss that bit?
21/06/2010, 9:17 AM
Funny thing is Kaka likes to dive a good bit himself.........................
21/06/2010, 12:23 PM
FourFourTwo's Dublin blogger on RTE's coverage: http://fourfourtwo.com/blogs/worldcup2010/archive/2010/06/21/when-pundits-aren-t-awful.aspx
Noelys Guitar
21/06/2010, 1:30 PM
Dunphy predicted after the Brazil v North Korea match that North Korea would give Portugal and Ivory coast "a right run for their moneyl".
21/06/2010, 2:27 PM
Dunphy predicated after the Brazil v North Korea match that North Korea would give Portugal and Ivory coast "a right run for their moneyl".
to be fair, it was only 1-0 and pretty even at half time. I didn't see the second half, but I'm guessing North Korea fell apart!