View Full Version : James Corden - Honorary Irishman
greendeiseboy
14/06/2010, 10:36 AM
James Corden should be made an honorary Irishman.
On his new show on ITV he has what he calls a World Cup World Chart made up of all teams in the finals and represented by a person who supports but not necessarily from that country.
Anyway on the first show on Saturday night James announced that there was one team missing from his chart and that was France as they should not be at the World Cup as they are cheats.
Therefore he put Ireland on the chart and brought on an Irish supporter to represent us for the 5 weeks of the show as in his opinion we should be there and not them.
He interviewed the lad last night who sounds as though he from up North somewhere.
This to me was one of the best gestures made by an English supporter on our behalf ever.
I think James should be honoured in some way for this by us Irish supporters. As a token gesture I am now supporting England for the World Cup.
The show also has a facebook book page so maybe we could post something on that to show our appreciation. I have also e-mailed the show.
By the way this thread is a bit of fun and if the mods feel it should be moved then fair enough.
14/06/2010, 12:23 PM
Heard about that alright. Nice gesture but now the tournament has started its time to let it lie. Trust me am still far from happy about it but nothings gonna change now. Focus is on the campaign ahead. Will be interesting to see what the Slovaks are like in the WC.
As for supporting England, wouldnt say ill support them, in fact dont mind seeing them do well. Just dont want them to win it outright. However, as ever it looks like the English's greatest enemy are themselves. From a top notch qualifying campaign a year ago, it seems to be falling apart a bit now.
Torn-Ado
14/06/2010, 1:17 PM
Who's james corden?
The big lad from Gavin and Stacey.
P.S - really time to get over it now lads :D
14/06/2010, 1:29 PM
people are actually watching this rubbish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sullivinho
14/06/2010, 1:30 PM
Never heard of the guy before but fair play to him, great stuff.
When the tornament ends, it should of course be buried forever. Until then, France are fair game for this kind of discourtesy and I'll enjoy their exit. The tearier the better. I think Irish fans are entitled to that.
greendeiseboy
14/06/2010, 1:46 PM
P.S - really time to get over it now lads :D[/QUOTE]
To be fair I think most of us are but seen as the Cup is on now it has become topical again. You have to remember as well that the controversy wouldn't have had the same coverage or impact over there as it had here at the time.
It's all a bit of fun as I said in the opening post and not to be taken seriously and fair dues to him for taking our side on it.
As regards supporting England, I have a lot of family and good friends over there and also support an English team so what business would I have supporting the likes of Spain, Holland, Germany or anyone else. As well as that there are a fair few of the players with strong Irish connections so its not a problem for me to back them.
The one thing in the past that put me off shouting for them was the hooligan element but thankfully that has mostly gone and it was good to see them mixing and having the craic with the USA supporters on Saturday.
kev mcq
14/06/2010, 3:01 PM
Why stop there...let's get him in the next squad incase England call him up.
gilberto_eire
14/06/2010, 3:37 PM
As regards supporting England, I have a lot of family and good friends over there and also support an English team so what business would I have supporting the likes of Spain, Holland, Germany or anyone else. As well as that there are a fair few of the players with strong Irish connections so its not a problem for me to back them.
The one thing in the past that put me off shouting for them was the hooligan element but thankfully that has mostly gone and it was good to see them mixing and having the craic with the USA supporters on Saturday.
That drives me crazy, the worst of the anti-England brigade are the very same people who sit in pubs wearing Liverpool/United/Arsenal jerseys and cheering on Rooney/Gerrard etc... but when it's England suddenly their ''patriotic'' side comes out. Talk about hypocrisy. I'm going for England and i don't even support an English team.
In relation to their supporters in days gone by, i think it's harsh to blame that on the average supporter, these guys are just scumbags who grew up in areas where the club is the ''gang'', we can even see it here with a few clubs, the only reason the numbers are so small is because there's not much tradition of following LOI football. I'd say % wise the numbers here would be about the same as in England(20-30k at a game, few 100 trouble makers... here:1-2k at a game, 20-30 troublemakers)
. I'm going for England and i don't even support an English team.
i feel sorry for you that you didnt feel as happy as i did on Saturday when Rob Green fumbled the ball. It gave me so much pleasure (in a bar which was packed with England fans).
I hope England do okay but i love when they dont. A semi-final exit on penalties would be fantastic. :)
http://ui08.gamespot.com/1735/failed_2.jpg
14/06/2010, 4:11 PM
clip of what happened
s3AMnhAOcXI
Razors left peg
14/06/2010, 4:47 PM
That gave me a good laugh anyway, fair play to him
ArdeeBhoy
14/06/2010, 5:47 PM
Ingleland football fans and James Cordon are about as 'entertaining' as each our;generally big, loud and an over-inflated opinion of themselves......
Btw, fair play to the producers of that show though, the Irish input is just a little 'joke' at France's 'expense'. Why shouldn't the boot be on the other, er, foot?
Adrock
14/06/2010, 5:51 PM
Taking of English tv I'm sure it been said before but has to be worth saying again that Jim Beglin is every bit as excellant a co-commentator as Mark Lawrence is an irritating dips**t.
14/06/2010, 8:21 PM
I don't think it was intended as a nice gesture, just something that added humour to his show and an opportunity to take the **** out of the French.
amaccann
14/06/2010, 11:40 PM
An English media-person making insults about the French? Gadzooks, stop the presses! Seriously, it's small crumbs of comfort we're reduced to if we're latching onto the "jokes" of the too-easily xenophobic English.
I'd rather move on at this stage & use our wronging as a catalyst for the next campaign, not wallow in the past. Oh wait, we're Irish, that's all we do.
James Corden is also a grade A príck (Patrick Stewart is no better in fairness though).
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NIBUWqSTp90
Sullivinho
15/06/2010, 12:51 AM
Riker would have decked him.
Closed Account 2
15/06/2010, 12:59 AM
He looks like a fat Robert Green
James Corden is also a grade A príck (Patrick Stewart is no better in fairness though).
"and then all his clothes fell off"
Drumcondra 69er
15/06/2010, 11:38 AM
"and then all his clothes fell off"
"On the grass...."
Colbert Report
15/06/2010, 11:42 AM
Picard was being a much bigger ***** there. I don't see what the fat guy did wrong.
15/06/2010, 12:31 PM
When the tornament ends, it should of course be buried forever. .
You're young and naive if you think that. You get a shot at only about 18 World Cups in your life. We've made only 3 out of the ones there have been. They are as rare as hen's teeth for countries like Ireland. We've also only made one Euro Finals ever. You have to get over it of course but you never forget it like I have never forgotton the goal that should have been in Brussels in the rain. Buried forever ? Only when I am buried forever.
Sullivinho
15/06/2010, 12:55 PM
The only time I'll be considering France with anything like the level of animosity I do now is the next time we meet them. That's the only thing that'l be capable of raising it. Other than than, I'm burying it. Apart from Henry, who I'll always regard as an insincere pr**k.
Carry the bitterness around for life and take it to my grave? Hell no.
amaccann
15/06/2010, 1:54 PM
On a slightly related note, is anyone watching the start of the Ivory Coast game and their hearts are breaking as you look at all those tricolours in the crowd? All those flags of green, white and orange ... sigh. My brain keeps tricking itself briefly and thinking "oooh, Ireland are ... oh. Wait. No."
Junior
15/06/2010, 3:09 PM
not wallow in the past. Oh wait, we're Irish, that's all we do.
Im beginning to think that making the above statement (or its equivalents) is all the Irish do...........
back of the net
15/06/2010, 4:20 PM
For me stewart comes across as a right w*nker there, i dont see wat corden did wrong at all.
Real lack of class by stewart taking a shot at cordens weight in front of the audience - just comes across as a drunk obnoxious old ****
15/06/2010, 5:01 PM
i feel sorry for you that you didnt feel as happy as i did on Saturday when Rob Green fumbled the ball. It gave me so much pleasure (in a bar which was packed with England fans).
I hope England do okay but i love when they dont. A semi-final exit on penalties would be fantastic. :)
As Gilberto said, I don't support an English team but I'd like to see them do well and will be 'kind of' supporting them throughout. In saying that, Green's fumble = hilarious.
15/06/2010, 8:26 PM
You get a shot at only about 18 World Cups in your life. We've made only 3 out of the ones there have been. They are as rare as hen's teeth for countries like Ireland. We've also only made one Euro Finals ever. You have to get over it of course but you never forget it like I have never forgotton the goal that should have been in Brussels in the rain. Buried forever ? Only when I am buried forever.Not to mention the legacy that not qualifying denied us. A potential new generation inspired by the BIG at a World Cup, the funding for the FAI...
15/06/2010, 9:08 PM
Taking of English tv I'm sure it been said before but has to be worth saying again that Jim Beglin is every bit as excellant a co-commentator as Mark Lawrence is an irritating dips**t.
Totally opposite opinion to me. i cant listen to Beglin at all, but like Lawro. He gave a great quote the other day which I liked - "Maradona managing Argentina is like Gazza managing England", thought that was good:)
boovidge
15/06/2010, 9:14 PM
As far as supporting England is concerned I want to see them do well because there's a great atmosphere over here during the world cup. I'm at uni and all the students pack into the bar during the England games- great fun. I'd probably want to see them get knocked out at the semi finals stage though. Not sure I could handle an England win.
Everyone has their reasons for supporting/not supporting a team, i just find it amusing when someone comes up with tenuous reasons for cheering against England. Maybe they'll give a reason like "The Empire" and then cheer on France or Spain-not spotting the irony. Or maybe the classic "they think theyre going to win it"- i live in England and haven't heard one person say that England are going to win the world cup. Hate England all you want-just don't come up with BS reasons to try and legitimise it.
Colbert Report
15/06/2010, 10:59 PM
Maybe they'll give a reason like "The Empire" and then cheer on France or Spain-not spotting the irony
Funny, I don't seem to remember the part about French or Spanish occupation of Ireland in my history textbooks.
boovidge
16/06/2010, 1:02 AM
Funny, I don't seem to remember the part about French or Spanish occupation of Ireland in my history textbooks.
That's clearly not what I was suggesting. If you direct hatred towards a certain country and use their imperialist past as justification you have to be consistent across the board, you can't just pick and choose. I was directing my post at anyone here, it just makes me laugh what reasons people come up with to hate a football team.
Razors left peg
16/06/2010, 6:32 AM
As Tommy Tiernan once said, I dont hate England... I just like to see them lose at things like football and war :)
16/06/2010, 6:37 AM
That's clearly not what I was suggesting. If you direct hatred towards a certain country and use their imperialist past as justification you have to be consistent across the board, you can't just pick and choose. I was directing my post at anyone here, it just makes me laugh what reasons people come up with to hate a football team.
You do know about Irish history and the 800 years and all...................
Anyway I have no problem supporting England, but they do make it hard to be liked especially since they are so up their own a.............
ArdeeBhoy
16/06/2010, 9:33 AM
What RLP & Benno said....
Junior
16/06/2010, 2:56 PM
Or maybe the classic "they think theyre going to win it"- i live in England and haven't heard one person say that England are going to win the world cup. Hate England all you want-just don't come up with BS reasons to try and legitimise it.
True, they are not completely deluded, though getting to the semi finals is almost taken as a given.
In truth Id be happy enough if they went out at the Group stages, though its unlikely I know. Perhaps a 2nd round defeat to Germany will have to do.
rebelmusic
17/06/2010, 11:36 AM
You do know about Irish history and the 800 years and all...................
Anyway I have no problem supporting England, but they do make it hard to be liked especially since they are so up their own a.............
Wholeheartedly agree. The media ruins england's chances of being supported by other countries imo. They get hyped up to stupid proportions and it always seems to be english yobbos in a pub shouting their brains out when they do supporter reports. I am hoping england meet france at some stage, beat them, and get knocked out in the next game :)
Drumcondra 69er
17/06/2010, 6:28 PM
Totally opposite opinion to me. i cant listen to Beglin at all, but like Lawro. He gave a great quote the other day which I liked - "Maradona managing Argentina is like Gazza managing England", thought that was good:)
I said that in the boozer as soon as he got the job, hardly great insight.
Might prove us wrong though after today's result! Still think they'll get done at the back by anyone decent in the knock outs.....
17/06/2010, 7:22 PM
I said that in the boozer as soon as he got the job, hardly great insight.
Might prove us wrong though after today's result! Still think they'll get done at the back by anyone decent in the knock outs.....
yeah but unfortunately you dont work for the BBC:p
Pity, he'd probably do better than that Northern bloke with the specs!
18/06/2010, 6:20 AM
Pity, he'd probably do better than that Northern bloke with the specs!
Yeah, nice guy and all but another example of BBC using personality over indepth analysis
Straightstory
18/06/2010, 8:09 AM
Actually, if you knew your history, you'd know that the 'occupation' of Ireland (perjorative term) was originally a Norman 'invasion'. (And that word isn't very accurate either, as the Norman lords were invited in by Irish chieftains). Which actually leads us back to our rivalry with the French...
18/06/2010, 8:33 AM
perhaps france aren't that good after all? Perhaps we shoudl really have beaten them easily and not made such a big deal out of the fact we went 1-0 up in paris......
Den Perry
18/06/2010, 8:45 AM
An English media-person making insults about the French? Gadzooks, stop the presses! Seriously, it's small crumbs of comfort we're reduced to if we're latching onto the "jokes" of the too-easily xenophobic English.
I'd rather move on at this stage & use our wronging as a catalyst for the next campaign, not wallow in the past. Oh wait, we're Irish, that's all we do.
For God's sake, have a sense of humour
Damn it. I didn't realise that the video I posted on the first page is actually an edited version of what took place. It makes Corden look like the victim alright, but in the full video Corden was implying that Patrick Stewart was a pedofile. Stewart's comeback was painful, but it wasn't just a tirade of random fat jokes.
perhaps france aren't that good after all? Perhaps we shoudl really have beaten them easily and not made such a big deal out of the fact we went 1-0 up in paris......
this certainly crossed my mind yesterday too, Paul.
18/06/2010, 4:39 PM
I believe Lineker said at the end of the Mexico vs France game "that they'll be dancing in the streets of Mexico City...and Dublin as well". :)
Well, not quite but thanks for the thought.
18/06/2010, 5:00 PM
this certainly crossed my mind yesterday too, Paul.
This crossed my mind too, about 7 months ago infact:)