View Full Version : The guards will have a heart attack!
Keen2win
07/06/2010, 6:54 PM
Shamrock Rovers at home in the cup!
fitzpatrick10
07/06/2010, 6:55 PM
hard luck keen2win, bet ya 2 it:P:P
Keen2win
07/06/2010, 6:58 PM
What date will the tie be played?
07/06/2010, 7:07 PM
29th of August whooooo im over the moon this is the second biggest if not biggest money spinner we could have got..... fantastic......
so many things to look forward to including the return of Dessie Baker he was supose to come back for that preseason friendly but was injured so fingers crossed this time
whoooo im so excited :D:D:D
Keen2win
07/06/2010, 7:09 PM
Is fitzy right that a lot of money will have to be spent on security?
07/06/2010, 7:10 PM
Is fitzy right that a lot of money will have to be spent on security?
Someone has to pay the guards lol
07/06/2010, 7:47 PM
I hate Rovers visits for the simple reason that the guards and our security have a tendency to go completely overboard thus instantly creating a hostility amongst their fans. They'll likely have a good few down so they will have to be segregated but there's a right way to do it and there has to be proper toilet facilities, shop and chipper etc. Honestly would have much preferred to meet them in Tallaght.
07/06/2010, 8:32 PM
I hate Rovers visits for the simple reason that the guards and our security have a tendency to go completely overboard thus instantly creating a hostility amongst their fans. They'll likely have a good few down so they will have to be segregated but there's a right way to do it and there has to be proper toilet facilities, shop and chipper etc. Honestly would have much preferred to meet them in Tallaght.
Absolutely spot on. Our stewards don't know how to deal with big travelling crowds and along with the guards will go completely over board on it. Their fans will get ****ed off with being treated like animals and it'll no doubt lead to a bit of trouble. If anyone from the club reads here, make sure they're segregated, but don't try cage them in like animals like has happened in the past. Give them proper facilities unlike the way Shels fans were treated last season and let everyone enjoy the game.
L.T.F.C.
07/06/2010, 8:54 PM
Absolutely spot on. Our stewards don't know how to deal with big travelling crowds and along with the guards will go completely over board on it. Their fans will get ****ed off with being treated like animals and it'll no doubt lead to a bit of trouble. If anyone from the club reads here, make sure they're segregated, but don't try cage them in like animals like has happened in the past. Give them proper facilities unlike the way Shels fans were treated last season and let everyone enjoy the game.
The guards in conjunction with LTFC decide what kind of security we have, so don't blame it all on Longford. And Shamrock Rovers have their bad reputation to deal with too so not all our fault.
And we have chippers and and toilets and separate entrances for them the last time they were here. If not the last time in the past anyway! :P
07/06/2010, 10:04 PM
I mentioned both the guards and the club in fairness and often times the guards are the ones telling the club to expect trouble. They have an element that give trouble certainly but it could be sorted out easily enough by asking Rovers to bring down a few of their stewards, I seem to recall us doing that before and everything going off smoothly.
07/06/2010, 10:39 PM
The gaurds will have a heart attack!
But gourds don't have hearts.
fitzpatrick10
07/06/2010, 11:45 PM
Absolutely spot on. Our stewards don't know how to deal with big travelling crowds and along with the guards will go completely over board on it. Their fans will get ****ed off with being treated like animals and it'll no doubt lead to a bit of trouble.
i no its nt right to paint ever1 wif the same brush but most(not all) rovers fans cause trouble!!!! lookin for fights.. why else do you think so many guards are around.. do you not remember the fights dat broke out in flancare years back when we played these!!!
08/06/2010, 1:23 AM
There was a two minute incident at half time in a league game 6 years ago. Nothing before or since. Naturally the response of those in charge was OTT, as it probably will be in August.
08/06/2010, 2:14 AM
There's only ever been 10-15 troublemakers amongst them, in Flancare anyway. They usually bring at least 300 down, that's by no means most of them. There has been other incidents in the town itself and buses being turned back by the Gardai a couple of times alright. I don't have any huge affinity for Rovers and neither do I want to criticise LTFC really as quite often it's been the guards that have them worked up about the amount of trouble they believe is coming but ott security is counter-productive I feel.
08/06/2010, 9:16 AM
Couldnt agree with you more the stewards/guards will of course have to segregate them but dont cage them in and treat them like wild animals thats only asking for trouble. As pointed out by someone I was talking to last night its usually the stewards and guards the kick off with because of the way their treated they rarely start up on the opposition fans.
08/06/2010, 3:04 PM
i no its nt right to paint ever1 wif the same brush but most(not all) rovers fans cause trouble!!!! lookin for fights.. why else do you think so many guards are around.. do you not remember the fights dat broke out in flancare years back when we played these!!!
Would you please start thinking before you post. "Most" Rovers fans cause trouble you say. Since when was 20 people out of a crowd of 400 considered as "most"? Fights don't break out between the 2 sets of fans, their few bad apples get ****ed off being treated like animals.
L.T.F.C.
08/06/2010, 4:39 PM
I feel compelled to ask: How would you deal with the Rovers Fans? They have a terrible reputation, and they only have themselves to blame. This thug element is fine, we all have it, but why has it taken so long for Rovers to deal with its problems?
So, how would you set up Flancare to deal with the travelling support?
08/06/2010, 10:05 PM
See my 1st post in this thread.
I feel compelled to ask: How would you deal with the Rovers Fans? They have a terrible reputation, and they only have themselves to blame. This thug element is fine, we all have it, but why has it taken so long for Rovers to deal with its problems?
So, how would you set up Flancare to deal with the travelling support?
The first thing I would attempt to do is to talk to the Rovers board about how best to handle it. Ask for them to put people on the gates to point out known trouble makers from entering the ground. After that it's about proper segregation, proper facilities and respect from both sides. In my experience, the cops in this country are clueless with dealing with crowds - not just in Longford, as I've been to several Dublin Derbies too where I could've told them where the flash points would be and they haven't bothered policing. It's either no cops or full riot squad. The club would be much better trying to put aside preconceptions of Rovers and trying to work with them and the cops altogether. Not sure that will happen though - is there a will on any side?
They were down several times before any trouble, one incident (which was six of one, half a dozen of the other imo) and the next time we cage them in ffs. It's been down hill from there...
There's nothing either club can do about trouble in town or tarmon or where ever. People have freedom of movement - that most definitely simply down to the cops.
Town Legend
10/06/2010, 10:25 AM
Well I've heard the Town are asking the FAI to either provide security themselves or to get Rovers to send down there own fellas to deal with them as they'd have better knowledge on who the trouble makers are within the travelling support.
10/06/2010, 11:46 AM
Rovers brought their own stewards on one of their last trips down and everything went smoothly from recollection. I'd imagine a bit of time away from playing each other competitively would have done no harm and there's closer on field ties with Rovers these days with a good few of our squad and staff having Rovers connections and some more players possibly on the way from them too.
passerrby
10/06/2010, 1:24 PM
Well I've heard the Town are asking the FAI to either provide security themselves or to get Rovers to send down there own fellas to deal with them as they'd have better knowledge on who the trouble makers are within the travelling support.
if you have to ask the fai or anybody else to sort out your security concerns you are basically saying that your club is not capable of providing the required safety and security measures so should not be playing in the LOI
with a small bit of organisation and cooperation im sure this game will be no different than any other
P.s. its shamrock rovers not the taliban
pps best of luck in the cup
Town Legend
10/06/2010, 1:24 PM
Rovers brought their own stewards on one of their last trips down and everything went smoothly from recollection. I'd imagine a bit of time away from playing each other competitively would have done no harm and there's closer on field ties with Rovers these days with a good few of our squad and staff having Rovers connections and some more players possibly on the way from them too.
Agree with all the above but all that could go out the window if the Town actually beat Rovers!! Now losing to de Town while we were a force is bad enough for them but to lose to a struggling First Division Town team might push some of their bad boys over the edge!!!
Town Legend
10/06/2010, 1:25 PM
if you have to ask the fai or anybody else to sort out your security concerns you are basically saying that your club is not capable of providing the required safety and security measures so should not be playing in the LOI
with a small bit of organisation and cooperation im sure this game will be no different than any other
pps best of luck in the cup
Its up to Rovers to pin point the trouble makers in their crowd! Not the Town's.
Town Legend
10/06/2010, 1:41 PM
The Town stewards will have no problem f*cking out the louts before, during or after the game. But sure then you'll have them crying over how they were treated like animals by the Town stewards! We've had it before with them so I think it would be wise of the Town to request some Rovers stewarts to point out the trouble makers just to cover their own behinds! Sure don't they do it in internatonal football when England played Germany and the English sent over pictures of the trouble makers and stewards to Germany to keep them under control. So if its done in international football passerrby why not in the Airtricity league.
I don't agree - it's away of removing tension. There's been accusations of heavy handedness against "our" stewards in the past, so bring in independents or there own automatically removes one provocative element.
The Tallaban?
The Town stewards will have no problem f*cking out the louts before, during or after the game. But sure then you'll have them crying over how they were treated like animals by the Town stewards!
Some have been only too keen, that's been half the feckin problem imo!
passerrby
10/06/2010, 4:13 PM
as i said in my post a little cooperation is all thats needed but my point is why would a loi club have to ask the fai for assasitance in running a match that every other club do every other week
and in dublin its the taliban
10/06/2010, 7:49 PM
I must say that our stewards are top quality I remember last season or possibly the season before when we beat Athlone that the Athlone fans kicked off amongst themselves outside in the car park and the stewards were there like a light. They broke up the trouble put some of the lads in a taxi and had them whisked away while they held a few others for the guards so I dont doubt our stewards for one minute but im sure we all making a mountain out of a molehill and that there will be no trouble whatsoever and we will all enjoy the occasion.
as i said in my post a little cooperation is all thats needed but my point is why would a loi club have to ask the fai for assasitance in running a match that every other club do every other week
I'm not sure as of now, but up to a few seasons ago the Dublin premier clubs all outsourced their security/ stewarding to Frontline, for every game, so it's not exactly unprecedented in the League of Ireland.
passerrby
11/06/2010, 2:55 PM
firstly there is nothing wrong in cooperatating with the visiting team to seek assistance in stewarding
secondly there is nothing wrong with using a private company to carry out your security requirements
and finally i was responding to the post that indicated that the club may request the fai to oversee the security ,that would be wrong and would be sending out the wrong impression of your club
11/06/2010, 4:09 PM
I don't think the club will ask the FAI to oversee anything, they never have before. Occasionally the FAI involve themselves if they foresee any potential problems. Most likely Rovers and LTFC will cooperate and everything inside the ground will go off fine from a crowd point if view. It's not for another two and a half months there's no point in anybody getting too worked up about it for a good while yet.