View Full Version : Town get Shamrock Rovers at home in Cup

fitzpatrick10
07/06/2010, 6:54 PM
town got shamrock rovers at home,, dout we will make much money wif all the guards needed to contain the rovers fans

07/06/2010, 7:07 PM
town got shamrock rovers at home,, dout we will make much money wif all the guards needed to contain the rovers fans

hahaaa

Town Legend
07/06/2010, 10:08 PM

Was just going to say that myself. We might make a few euro on the gate but then that will all go out the gate with the guards and extra security needed to curtail the louts!! All local businesses will have to board up their premises now for the weekend.

07/06/2010, 10:29 PM
Jaysus you'd swear it was Al Qaeda coming to town. There's plenty of places will be delighted to take their money.

Town Legend
08/06/2010, 1:31 PM
Well not out in Tarmonbarry where they wrecked the place

08/06/2010, 2:04 PM
Im sure things will be alright once their not aload in full of drink there shouldnt be any trouble after that once things are organised properly and with so much time to plan for it im sure everything needed will be in place.

Im sure its only a small majority that cause any type of trouble and if they kick off again so soon after the Dundalk incident then they will surely be flung out of the Cup so all in all things should run off fairly smoothly.

L.T.F.C.
08/06/2010, 2:17 PM
Im sure its only a small majority that cause any type of trouble and if they kick off again so soon after the Dundalk incident then they will surely be flung out of the Cup so all in all things should run off fairly smoothly.
A small majority? Is there such a thing?
They most certainly will not be flung out of anything!

08/06/2010, 11:51 PM
who about we use the ''guards will have a heart attack'' thread to discuss their fans and this thread to talk football? no point saying the same things on both threads

Ciaran W
09/06/2010, 1:05 AM
Really looking forward to this one :) and no i wont be up to cause trouble ;)

09/06/2010, 9:28 AM
Really looking forward to this one :) and no i wont be up to cause trouble ;)

i'll fight you anyway :D

Ciaran W
09/06/2010, 11:42 AM
Hahaha no i might break a nail ;)

09/06/2010, 3:28 PM
i'll fight you anyway :D

nice to see you back mate

09/06/2010, 5:05 PM
welcome back acornvilla..

Cabs88
09/06/2010, 10:30 PM
Pleased with the draw, on a purely footballing perspective its a great draw.. The negative stereotypes of rovers fans is bordering on ignorance in some cases, one incident and they get tarred with one brush..
Back to the football, ya want to see the best players in the league and lets face it historically speaking rovers are the biggest draw in Irish football.. Hoping for a draw and then beat them in Tallaght ;-)

(Either that or similar to the first time I saw Shamrock Rovers in Longford - 2000/1 season and keith o connor overhead kick led us to a 2-1 victory!

10/06/2010, 1:39 AM
Hahaha no i might break a nail ;)
i'll break it for you :P

10/06/2010, 8:15 AM
We haven't lost a domestic cup, including Setanta Cup, game in Flancare for over 8 years by my reckoning. Bohs in 2001. That's good going but I can see that particular run coming to an end unfortunately.

10/06/2010, 10:15 AM
(Either that or similar to the first time I saw Shamrock Rovers in Longford - 2000/1 season and keith o connor overhead kick led us to a 2-1 victory!
That was a great game - possible the game we genuinely arrived in the premier. I'd settle for a draw as well - make some money from the replay.

10/06/2010, 11:10 AM
I'd settle for a draw as well - make some money from the replay.

That would be great id love a trip to Tallaght

10/06/2010, 2:51 PM
Cousins has banned talk of the Cup in the dressing room so that the players are 100% concentrated on keeping the good league run going. I think this is a top class move from the gaffa and it looks like hes going to be a good manager after all. Sorry Tony :o

14/07/2010, 4:35 PM
Rovers ultras are making up big banners for this game im reliably told by my Dublin friend.

Bosco
14/07/2010, 6:52 PM
Hardly suprising since it is a cup game and thats what Ultras generally do anyway...

15/07/2010, 3:32 PM
Hardly suprising since it is a cup game and thats what Ultras generally do anyway...

welcome back bosco you have bein much missed...;)

Bosco
15/07/2010, 4:26 PM
Ha...thanks Marty...after my performance in the Market Bar I thought I might make a comeback....

05/08/2010, 5:14 PM
When's this game being played? what weekend and which day on that weekend?

06/08/2010, 1:21 PM
When's this game being played? what weekend and which day on that weekend?

The FAI Ford Cup Fourth Round matches will be played on the weekend ending August 29.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101035:fai-ford-cup-round-four-draw&catid=18:fai-ford-senior-cup&Itemid=51

06/08/2010, 1:33 PM
Got that much alright. I know it's usually Saturday for us but for some reason I have a feeling someone said it was on the Friday night....please let it be on the Friday night.

06/08/2010, 3:11 PM
I've heard alot of rumors that it will be the friday night but like i said only rumors

Cabs88
08/08/2010, 8:21 PM
from what ive heard we'll be playing a few friday nights from now on

09/08/2010, 1:37 PM
from what ive heard we'll be playing a few friday nights from now on

hope that isnt true

09/08/2010, 3:24 PM
from what ive heard we'll be playing a few friday nights from now onAh feck. Had been planning on going to this game since the draw was made but can't if it's Friday as it clashes with our game.

The Insider
09/08/2010, 3:34 PM
Was chatting to one of the committee members and its defo Fri. As was mentioned before our next few games are going to be on a Fri night, it was Cousins that requested it, let teams have the same hassle as the Town have of travelling to a game on a Fri night.. Hope it works in our favour then.

09/08/2010, 4:43 PM
I think the derry game on the 18th of sep. has been moved to a friday night thats what a derry fan told me anyway

09/08/2010, 7:46 PM
Was chatting to one of the committee members and its defo Fri. As was mentioned before our next few games are going to be on a Fri night, it was Cousins that requested it, let teams have the same hassle as the Town have of travelling to a game on a Fri night.. Hope it works in our favour then.

heard this from one of the finn harps lads today by text. We might get better publicity for playin on a friday than what we have done in the past

10/08/2010, 10:32 AM
I assume the bogball is in full swing on Saturday evenings too? It'll be interesting to see how it goes - crowds can hardly go down!

Also, the clubs previous unofficial official excuse for not going Friday was that our players wanted compo for time off work - is this no longer an issue or was it just an excuse?

10/08/2010, 12:24 PM
I can't see it helping

Keen2win
10/08/2010, 12:33 PM
It is, and it stops me going to a good few matches

harpstilidie
10/08/2010, 1:12 PM
Why start this week? :( i was intending on heading down this Saturday. Only found out yesterday that the game has been moved so now I can't go. Sickening!

11/08/2010, 7:44 PM
well all,

I was asked on behalf of the club to request anyone in section o or all over the ground to resurrect their flags that ye have for the Shamrock Rovers match.. We need to have the place looking well especially if it will be on mns or its live.thanks a million

L.T.F.C.
11/08/2010, 8:09 PM
well all,

I was asked on behalf of the club to request anyone in section o or all over the ground to resurrect their flags that ye have for the Shamrock Rovers match.. We need to have the place looking well especially if it will be on mns or its live.thanks a million

Well if the club requests it...

12/08/2010, 12:08 PM
im the only 1 that brings a flag these days :o

going off topic for a second did anyone else the the Town scarf on sky last night!!!!!

12/08/2010, 7:44 PM
yeah it was ronnieb that was wavin the scarf! i got a text from sligoman about him being seen on sky and was unfortunately unable to see the match live as was workin quite late! an awful pity I didnt see him at all!

13/08/2010, 8:04 AM
and quite fetching I looked in it as well I may say.

Ciaran W
15/08/2010, 11:52 PM
Should be heading down to it :)

16/08/2010, 1:07 PM
Should be heading down to it :)

Any idea on a rough number of Hoop fans heading down yet? All the Rovers fans ive been talking to seem to be coming.

Ciaran W
16/08/2010, 1:22 PM
Minimum 500 id say, id be hoping for around 700.

16/08/2010, 3:17 PM
will many be staying down for the night or going back home, tell everyone all the nightclubs in town do 2 euro drinks :P

Ciaran W
16/08/2010, 3:55 PM
Id say most will just head straight back. . How long of a drive is it ?

16/08/2010, 4:12 PM
will many be staying down for the night or going back home, tell everyone all the nightclubs in town do 2 euro drinks :P

They wont be in the mood for night clubs after we beat them :D

16/08/2010, 4:57 PM
Id say most will just head straight back. . How long of a drive is it ?

you can drive up from longford to the m50 in a hour near lucan.. add ten fifteen mins or more depending where in dublin where you live and thats your journey time!

Ciaran W
16/08/2010, 5:23 PM
Il be getting the bus from tallaght.