View Full Version : Match Updates: (29th-30th May)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

29/05/2010, 8:17 PM
Limerick down to 10

Town Legend
29/05/2010, 8:18 PM
Limerick down to 9 men

Hughes s/o 90 mins
Judge s/o 91mins

29/05/2010, 8:19 PM
Limerick down to 9 now

blue til i die
29/05/2010, 8:21 PM
Longford Town 1 up Mooney 89 mins

:) :) :)

fieldofmarkets
29/05/2010, 8:27 PM
goal on 89' and then 2 swiftly sent off....was it all around the same incident?

Town Legend
29/05/2010, 8:30 PM
I wasn't able to make it to the game tonight so couldn't tell you to be honest but I'd safely say the sendings off had connection with the Town goal as texts of the goal and red cards came through fairly quickly to my phone.

Keen2win
29/05/2010, 8:30 PM
Apparently we scored and they all started fighting with each other, wish it was against Shels and there would have been video footage :P

Stupid GAA games stopping me going to a lot of the games!

Town Legend
29/05/2010, 8:31 PM
Result: Longford Town 1-0 Limerick FC

29/05/2010, 8:33 PM
2-1 Drogheda

placid casual
29/05/2010, 9:04 PM
This has to rank as one of the worst league's in recent memory.
I've seen 2 decent teams this season .UCD and Sporting fingal.
Assuming Rovers dont win the league, I hope either one of them wins it cos at least the league will be won by a team with a modicum of skill and aesthetic.
The utter rubbish on offer from both sides earlier today in that cesspit of a ground was painfull to watch, but dundalk and pats losing has restored some humour to the day.

29/05/2010, 9:29 PM
Limerick's 2 lads sent off were for fighting with each other after our goal! Check our forum for my little report...

29/05/2010, 9:29 PM
We comfortably outplayed Dundalk. We could and should have scored more.

29/05/2010, 9:50 PM
City rampant against the Blues to go seven clear.

Two goals in the first half, but could have scored four in the second(three ruled offside).

GOC10 is the Tino Asprilla of Waterford. Since they signed him they've only won once.

shep
29/05/2010, 10:12 PM
Fair play to UCD...most impressive performance i have seen this season from an opposing team,you deserved your win and it could have been worse for us...we badly missed Liam Burns and Ross Gaynor.Our defense was a shambles........fair play to the oul Drogs!!!!!

Ezeikial
29/05/2010, 10:42 PM
UCD are by some distance the most improved team I have seen in the 2nd round of games. At Oriel in the 3-0 win for Dundalk, UCD were "pretty" on the ball but very poor defensively without it. Totally different tonight - whenever UCD lost the ball they chased and harried and were super defensively as a team, while retaining the fluid passing style that they showed previously.

Full value for the win tonight and an another goal or even two would not have flattered. Dundalk badly missed Liam Burns in defence and the cutting edge of Ross Gaynor. If UCD play consistently as they did tonight, they will be a major force over the rest of the season

WoodquayBoy
29/05/2010, 10:52 PM
I presume Setanta didn't show the afters that went on?

After Cronin tried to do a Quigley on Sean O'Connor, he went up to SOC after the final whistle to have a further go. Whatever he said SOC didn't approve and pushed him off, to which Cronin then shoved Sean O'Connor. Both teams clashed, with Pat Flynn desperately trying to get at Killian Brennan or Anto Murphy (I couldn't see which it was), and Pat Fenlon trying to get stuck in to a few Rovers players and jabbing fingers at everyone. Fenlon had to be restrained by his own team, Pat Flynn was grabbed by Barry Murphy to calm him down. It was very heated, a few players shoved to the ground, referee had to come running back over to try to restore order but just ended up in the melee.

After that Bohs came out to warm down, in front of Rovers fans who were being kept back. Fenlon decided to lead the warmdown himself and took the opportunity to start telling Rovers fans how he's going to win five-in-a-row with Bohs. Extremely professional thing to do when you tried to f**k off 6 months ago, your team is struggling badly and you've been lucky to get a point at home. Jason Byrne then started to dance around in front of Rovers fans who were slagging him off which Fenlon seemed to find hilarious. Rovers came out to warm down, only for Killian Brennan (or was it Murphy?) to walk out of his way through the Rovers squad and do the classic 14 year old boy move of dropping the shoulder as you walk in to someone. Rovers pushed him away which meant Fenlon and the Bohs squad came running over from the other side of the pitch to square up to the Rovers team again this time in an almost empty stadium.

They're a classy lot.

Happy enough with a point all the same and to escape without any broken legs, should have won it but Bohs were able to throw a limb in front of every goal bound shot at the last second. What can you do, today was further evidence in my book that Bohs are struggling big time and are nowhere near their first title winning side, or even the team from last year.
Yeah, and your lot are a bunch of angels.

29/05/2010, 11:24 PM
We.

Are.

Good. :) :) :)

Was talking to Billy Brennan afterwards. He was saying we shoulldn't get carried away but... I was nodding - visions of Setanta Cup, [I]maybe[\I] sneaking Europe at a stretch. Billy then said "We can win this thing,"

Best season even so far! Lovin' it. Rusty is God.

29/05/2010, 11:32 PM
We.

Are.

Good. :)

Was talking to Billy Brennan afterwards. He was saying we shoulldn't get carried away but... I was nodding - visions of Setanta Cup, [I]maybe[\I] sneaking Europe at a stretch. Billy then said "We can win this thing,"

Best season even so far! Lovin' it. Rusty is God.

congrats UCD - great set of results and performances lately. I cant but be impressed (and believe me, im trying ;) ).

wexfordned
29/05/2010, 11:37 PM
Cronin's tackle today was shocking. Setanta showed a little bit of the afters at the end. Could clearly see several Shamrock players surround Anto Murphy & one of them grabing him around the throat.

However I fully expect Jicked to show how the tv pictures were doctored with & point out how it was all Bohs fault.

Shamrock FC/fans/board are a credit to league & an example to us all

30/05/2010, 12:00 AM
congrats UCD - great set of results and performances lately. I cant but be impressed (and believe me, im trying ;) ).
You should take your chance for some anti-UCD stuff while you can - I am buzzing after that. And still drinking while watching the goals over and over while Welcome to the Jungle plays. Buzzing man...

Buzzing. Ultimate proof barstoolers are wrong.

bullit
30/05/2010, 12:02 AM
City rampant against the Blues to go seven clear.

Two goals in the first half, but could have scored four in the second(three ruled offside).

GOC10 is the Tino Asprilla of Waterford. Since they signed him they've only won once.

GOC approaches the "promised land" once again,and as usual refuses to enter

Jicked
30/05/2010, 12:20 AM
Cronin's tackle today was shocking. Setanta showed a little bit of the afters at the end. Could clearly see several Shamrock players surround Anto Murphy & one of them grabing him around the throat.

However I fully expect Jicked to show how the tv pictures were doctored with & point out how it was all Bohs fault.

Shamrock FC/fans/board are a credit to league & an example to us all

So you don't take any issue with anything I said? I clearly said one of the main men involved in the afters was Pat Flynn, of Shamrock FC (oooh, it's like a dagger to my heart), just as you could pick out people like Cronin from Bohs?

I never said Rovers were angels as my good friend WoodquayBoy said (btw WB, Pat Sullivan just went under the knife this week - out for even longer than we thought that night, hope you're still delighted for him), in the first scuffle like I said it was both teams. In the second though it was definitely Bohs who instigated it, you couldn't possibly argue with that could you? That second time it was just handbags, but don't try to make out that I'm making things up, I think I've been pretty level headed in what I had to say about it.

Sidefx
30/05/2010, 12:21 AM

After Cronin tried to do a Quigley on Sean O'Connor, he went up to SOC after the final whistle to have a further go. Whatever he said SOC didn't approve and pushed him off, to which Cronin then shoved Sean O'Connor. Both teams clashed, with Pat Flynn desperately trying to get at Killian Brennan or Anto Murphy (I couldn't see which it was), and Pat Fenlon trying to get stuck in to a few Rovers players and jabbing fingers at everyone. Fenlon had to be restrained by his own team, Pat Flynn was grabbed by Barry Murphy to calm him down. It was very heated, a few players shoved to the ground, referee had to come running back over to try to restore order but just ended up in the melee.

After that Bohs came out to warm down, in front of Rovers fans who were being kept back. Fenlon decided to lead the warmdown himself and took the opportunity to start telling Rovers fans how he's going to win five-in-a-row with Bohs. Extremely professional thing to do when you tried to f**k off 6 months ago, your team is struggling badly and you've been lucky to get a point at home. Jason Byrne then started to dance around in front of Rovers fans who were slagging him off which Fenlon seemed to find hilarious. Rovers came out to warm down, only for Killian Brennan (or was it Murphy?) to walk out of his way through the Rovers squad and do the classic 14 year old boy move of dropping the shoulder as you walk in to someone. Rovers pushed him away which meant Fenlon and the Bohs squad came running over from the other side of the pitch to square up to the Rovers team again this time in an almost empty stadium.

They're a classy lot.

Happy enough with a point all the same and to escape without any broken legs, should have won it but Bohs were able to throw a limb in front of every goal bound shot at the last second. What can you do, today was further evidence in my book that Bohs are struggling big time and are nowhere near their first title winning side, or even the team from last year.

Bullsht; Cronin went over to apologise, offered a handshake to SOC who reacted badly then the other sh1t started - get your facts straight :rolleyes:;)

Jicked
30/05/2010, 12:43 AM
Like I said in my second post, Cronin went over to SOC, but I didn't hear what was said and the extremely heated reaction suggests there was a bit of animosity there. Either way one of two things happened,

Cronin: "Sorry about the tackle it was out of order"
SOC: Shrugs him off, tells him to do one
Cronin: Shoves SOC, leading to everyone getting involved.

Or,

Cronin: "You made a meal of that"

How are my facts wrong, I was about 10 metres behind them?

Sidefx
30/05/2010, 12:52 AM
Like I said in my second post, Cronin went over to SOC, but I didn't hear what was said and the extremely heated reaction suggests there was a bit of animosity there. Either way one of two things happened,

Or,

I have no idea what was said however Cronin clearly offered his hand to SOC who reacted badly, for someone who did not hear what was said you seem to have a definitive view on what might have been said; I could engage in some verbose lip syncing as well but whats the point...

RoversHead
30/05/2010, 1:28 AM
This has to rank as one of the worst league's in recent memory.
I've seen 2 decent teams this season .UCD and Sporting fingal.
Assuming Rovers dont win the league, I hope either one of them wins it cos at least the league will be won by a team with a modicum of skill and aesthetic.
The utter rubbish on offer from both sides earlier today in that cesspit of a ground was painfull to watch, but dundalk and pats losing has restored some humour to the day.No I cant agree with that.Ive seen a lot of good football so far from UCD ,SLIGO,FINGAL,DUNDALK and these sides have to be given credit. Pats bored me Bohs and Rovers have dissapointed but in fairness teams have put it up to them.I expect Fingal and Bohs to close the gap with their games in hand.This will lead to a few points seperating all but two sides at the halfway stage.The notion that the league is bad this year comes mainly from supporters of clubs who expected a two horse race.Im loving it.

danthesaint
30/05/2010, 2:07 AM
Correction - a €5k fine with €3k of it suspended...

its well for some, maybe we should let our opposition fans attack out goalkeeper twice to make up for it. same fine at the end of the day........model club well done..........

on the pats v drog thing, drog are ****in shocking i swear to god.
beat by these 3 time this season holy god
i wish i could give drogs credit, but they dont deserve it, we deserved to get beat tonight, just for the attitude

placid casual
30/05/2010, 7:31 AM
No I cant agree with that.Ive seen a lot of good football so far from UCD ,SLIGO,FINGAL,DUNDALK and these sides have to be given credit. Pats bored me Bohs and Rovers have dissapointed but in fairness teams have put it up to them.I expect Fingal and Bohs to close the gap with their games in hand.This will lead to a few points seperating all but two sides at the halfway stage.The notion that the league is bad this year comes mainly from supporters of clubs who expected a two horse race.Im loving it.

Yeah sligo are doin very well this year:hypnotized:

Whoever finishes ahead of Rovers this year will win the league. its just the quality on offer in general in the league which is dissapointing.
what a way to miss the point there pal eh!

Rasputin
30/05/2010, 10:28 AM

Or,

I was going to stay clear of your inane rant but this post is just hilarious.
How you can say you dont know what was said but yet you give two detailed exchanges which could have happened and state its one or the other that happened is beyond me.
This out of a whole myriad of possible exchanges between the two players.
Anyway nobody cares what was said or who started what or what player didnt invite another to his party.

30/05/2010, 11:13 AM
Crazy league this year, 6 points between first and 6th. Any team that can win four or five games in a row will pull clear. It could be an amazing finish over the last few weeks.

Straightstory
30/05/2010, 11:27 AM
Nightmare scenario: The ultimate '**** ground, no fans' teams UCD and Sporting Fingal finish first and second in league.

Dalymountrower
30/05/2010, 11:30 AM
Crazy league this year, 6 points between first and 6th. Any team that can win four or five games in a row will pull clear. It could be an amazing finish over the last few weeks.

Agreed. it will be whoever can sustain a run and sustain injuries to key squad members . Having seen every team play twice, I would still think that the league winner will come from either of the two Rovers and Bohs .
As for the standard this year I would think that the standard of coaching has improved, teams look fitter and are less likely to be intimidated by so -called bigger clubs.

30/05/2010, 11:52 AM
Nightmare scenario: The ultimate '**** ground, no fans' teams UCD and Sporting Fingal finish first and second in league.

I dont think so - both teams play great football, and isnt that what its all about at the end of the day?

30/05/2010, 12:20 PM
I dont think so - both teams play great football, and isnt that what its all about at the end of the day?

No. It's about having hulking stands you can't fill and a hugely impressive couple of thousand fans instead of a couple of hundred.

oriel
30/05/2010, 2:40 PM
UCD were very impressive last night, in the season we are going back to europe, their play at times had an almost continental look about it, crisp passing, excellent movement, fitness & clinical finishing. Granted we allowed them space all over the park, and we were hopeless, actually as bad as many dark day displays of the FD, but take nothing away from their display last night.

We were beaten by a much better side.

PS my first visit to the ground, some people think its a not a proper lge ground, I loved it, very compact, excellent pitch, decent view, lovely drive in and safe to park...........dodgy burgers though (and I had to have two to make sure !!)

30/05/2010, 3:15 PM

Indeed. Some people seem more interested in watching crowds than football.

30/05/2010, 4:17 PM

In fairness, there were some pretty interesting cumulonimb- oh...

RoversHead
30/05/2010, 4:58 PM
Yeah sligo are doin very well this year:hypnotized!Win their game in hand and they will be six points off top spot at the halfway mark,Rovers Bohs and Drogs have shown the lack of quality while Bray through no fault of their own have been out of their dept.Every other side has improved.

ndrog
30/05/2010, 6:19 PM
its well for some, maybe we should let our opposition fans attack out goalkeeper twice to make up for it. same fine at the end of the day........model club well done..........

on the pats v drog thing, drog are ****in shocking i swear to god.
beat by these 3 time this season holy god
i wish i could give drogs credit, but they dont deserve it, we deserved to get beat tonight, just for the attitude

Here we go ffs ! Keep on suckin that sour grape pal . Pats were the ones who ****in shocking tonite .You offered nothing going forward , you had a good bit of the ball but did nothing with it .We were hungrier and wanted to win . You cant give us credit ? you then state we deserve to win , surely we deserve credit for winning dont we ? You post is confusing tbh . 3 out of 3 against pats so far .Nice ..

Youths4Ever
30/05/2010, 6:35 PM
Wexford 3-2 Mervue. Mervue played the better football to be fair but we stuck in there and got a last minute winner. very impressed with Mervue then seem to have moved on from last year (was not at game earlier in the season) and played some very nice football at times

Sean South
30/05/2010, 7:11 PM
It's the general geeky nature of many of the users of this site. Every time I read this forum there is always a few UCD supporters saying stuff like " I counted 243 at our game" or "I counted 583 fans and a dog at the Galway game" then Patrick Dunne or gufct will say "that didn't include season ticket holders"

danthesaint
30/05/2010, 7:59 PM
Here we go ffs ! Keep on suckin that sour grape pal . Pats were the ones who ****in shocking tonite .You offered nothing going forward , you had a good bit of the ball but did nothing with it .We were hungrier and wanted to win . You cant give us credit ? you then state we deserve to win , surely we deserve credit for winning dont we ? You post is confusing tbh . 3 out of 3 against pats so far .Nice ..

i didnt say you deserved to win, draw would have been a fair result, both teams were gick last night, if paul byrne put his chance in, it might have been a different result not to be, no sour grapes here bud, if we got beat by the better team id say it, but we didnt.....

PartySaint
30/05/2010, 8:23 PM
Worst performance of the season so far

The league is still between Bohs and Rovers, Fingal might push them

ndrog
30/05/2010, 8:36 PM
i didnt say you deserved to win, draw would have been a fair result, both teams were gick last night, if paul byrne put his chance in, it might have been a different result not to be, no sour grapes here bud, if we got beat by the better team id say it, but we didnt.....

The team that put the ball in the net 2 times instead of 1 won the game i.e Drogs . Pats didnt look like winning the game at any stage and Drogheda actually did , if your post is not sour grapes i dont know what is bud .

Flume
30/05/2010, 8:48 PM

We deserved to lose last night. Didn't do enough to win the game and the attitude was shocking. Drogs took advantage and deserved the 3 points.

PartySaint
30/05/2010, 9:02 PM
The team that put the ball in the net 2 times instead of 1 won the game i.e Drogs . Pats didnt look like winning the game at any stage and Drogheda actually did , if your post is not sour grapes i dont know what is bud .

Youse didnt derseve to win the game but why do you care?? We have won games this season that we havent deserved to win and i couldnt gove a toss if people say on the internet that we didnt deserve to win them, just enjoy the result

KUFCMan
30/05/2010, 9:31 PM
Does anyone know who scored all the goals today in the Wexford Youths

KUFCMan
30/05/2010, 9:33 PM
Does anyone know who scored all the goals today in the Wexford Youths V Mervue game today.No livescore site has it and extratime didnt seem to do it.Very shoddy for the 1st Division as usual!

danthesaint
30/05/2010, 9:35 PM
Does anyone know who scored all the goals today in the Wexford Youths

From LOI website

Shane Dempsey scored a late winner for the second week running as Youths twice came from behind in this five goal thriller.

Evan Connolly put Mervue in front from a fourth minute penalty after Patsy Malone had handled inside the box.

Though Danny Furlong levelled on 17 minutes, Connolly struck again five minutes later to restore Mervue's lead.

Youths staged a late rally with Shane Sinnott equalising when squeezing the ball home from Dean Broaders cross on 78 minutes.

Dempsey, who scored Youths' late winner at Shelbourne last week, then won it in dramatic fashion three minutes into stoppage time at the death when finishing off Furlong's cross

marinobohs
31/05/2010, 9:57 AM

They're a classy lot.

Usual nonsense from foot.ie answer to Hans Christian Anderson (I still laugh at Bohs fans pitch invasion to kidnap Twigg at Tallaght :p) . Fairly clear what happened, bad tackle by Cronin who went over to the player to see if he was alright, was pushed away and squared up. All players rushed in and handbags all round (couple of half hearted swings but nothing serious). Silly testosterone stuff at the end of a tough commited derby. More embarassing for both sides than anything.

RE fenlons "professionalism", how quickly you forget O'Neills role in the Oriel debacle, his post match comments on Saturday about frees and penos reeked of class as well (not). By the way Nutseys five fingered salute was about the five throphies he has won at Bohs not five in a row titles (bit early to be celebrating that just yet ;)) but hey you guys know all about Bohs right ? keep on making it up - real "classy"