View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Algeria - Saturday, 29th May 2010 - Friendly - RDS

Pages : 1 2 [3]

MuckaTucka
28/05/2010, 8:51 PM
Green was excellent for the most part, good instincts re alertness, anticipation, control and distribution.

I don't know it seems he just played it backwards all the time, but I did watch it on a hazy stream.
Aldo and Green both made their debut for Ireland at 27.

Sullivinho
28/05/2010, 8:54 PM
You'd be fair ****ed off if you were Anthony Stokes right now, knowing that Cillian Sheridan's 6 goals last season are being preferred to Stokes' 22 goals. Wasn't even given a minute.

Very disappointed for Stokes. I think Sheridan's value as a target man gives him the edge in Trap's eyes.

The Algerians will get at least one bad hiding at the WC.

Ciaran W
28/05/2010, 8:55 PM
2 great wins for us :D

28/05/2010, 8:55 PM
That Manuela has lovely eyes.

lostinbrum
28/05/2010, 9:02 PM
High quality Sky feed, you have to install Veetle but its well worth it...will probably go down around 75 minutes but worth it
http://www.veetle.com/frameworked/index.php/channel/view#4bfacb8f76c3f

Thanks for that link. Quality stream.

28/05/2010, 9:26 PM
Goals here.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSS5Klrj2iI

dantheman
28/05/2010, 9:32 PM
That Manuela has lovely eyes.

I can't stop thinking about her

28/05/2010, 9:47 PM
anyone know what happened here?? Pressure getting to James McCarthy? *wink*

http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/57/53/c2/c0db830e249ebd1a5136dffe266938239a8f9dfa58.jpg
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/d6/e4/67/401e42e22e523e26eaaddeb740c163741fb6f3049f.jpg
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/41/2d/76/fd17bcf982f1b26e15908a3b716048f6c44d384944.jpg

28/05/2010, 9:49 PM
Just back, was impressed with the display tonight.
Sledge and Westwood were excellent. By and large WW's command of the aerial threat was superb. Nice to keep a clean sheet, despite an inexperienced back four. Kelly is looking more and more reliable at right back. Green and Cunningham did well on their debuts.
Was good to see O'Dea play a significant amount of time, didnt see what happened JOSH but trust its not too serious. DOD did well, a couple of hairy moments but looked more composed than McShane did on Tuesday for example.
Duff as ever did well, great ball in for the second goal. Lawrence was quieter tonight but did ok.
Keane looked particularly sharp, couldve had another 2 goals.
Disappointed Stokes didnt get a run out, certainly didnt see the value of keeping keane on for the last 20 mins. Sheridan did little of note.

Overall, optimistic for the future (although we've had that feeling in the past after good friendly results), really are progressing well under Traps guidance and we move on in good stead with our ultimate aim should be top spot in our group. Considering the two teams we beat this week will be in SA, it is slightly tinged with saddness tonight that we are not.

EDIT: Fcuking embarrassing clowns running on in the first half. Was in the north stand, didnt see where the Irish lad came on from but it did appear to be the north stand. what a langer!

28/05/2010, 10:00 PM
Watched it on Sky. Their commentary was cringeworthy as it harked ad nauseum to how England would fare againt Algeria. They asked Trap about it, they asked Liam Lawrence about it, they asked Robbie about it and I was delighted to hear Robbie, who few would claim to be mensa material, fairly eloquently tell them he couldn't give a flying one how England get on against Algeria.

Delighted we kept a clean shean sheet.

Sullivinho
28/05/2010, 10:07 PM

James is eager to impress with a strong run!

Did the Algerian supporter run on to challenge him or was he having a bit of craic too? Fairly moronic anyway. This kind of thing was old after the very first time it ever happened.

28/05/2010, 10:09 PM
I'd say one of them had a bit of crack anyway..

Jicked
28/05/2010, 10:22 PM
James is eager to impress with a strong run!

Did the Algerian supporter run on to challenge him or was he having a bit of craic too? Fairly moronic anyway. This kind of thing was old after the very first time it ever happened.

Just ran on for a laugh. Awful stuff from the security. What the hell is the point in police being at the game, not to mention the security/stewards. One steward walks on to the pitch after that knob had time to run the length of the pitch.

Another very impressive performance considering we had nothing to play for and the guys must have had one mind on the beach. Robbie yet again was the stand out man, looked very sharp around the box, could have had a hat-trick (has he ever scored a hat-trick for Ireland?). It's a joy watching that guy score for Ireland, the word legend is used flippantly now but he certainly is that. Only person who will have gone down in my estimation was Liam Lawrence who I thought was poor tonight. Apart from that nothing to complain about and I'm sure we'll see the benefits of playing such a stable side for 2 years in our next campaign.

theworm2345
28/05/2010, 10:25 PM
Another very impressive performance considering we had nothing to play for and the guys must have had one mind on the beach. Robbie yet again was the stand out man, looked very sharp around the box, could have had a hat-trick (has he ever scored a hat-trick for Ireland?). It's a joy watching that guy score for Ireland, the word legend is used flippantly now but he certainly is that. Only person who will have gone down in my estimation was Liam Lawrence who I thought was poor tonight. Apart from that nothing to complain about and I'm sure we'll see the benefits of playing such a stable side for 2 years in our next campaign.
San Marino (as I recall McShane won the penalty for one of the goals), which was the first since Connolly v. Liechtenstein

28/05/2010, 10:27 PM
According to Aldo, a cracked skull, if necessary, is a fair trade off for a goal.
He's a hard man, Aldo.
Not to mention sterility.

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/05/28/article-0-09CE1AF7000005DC-623_468x316.jpg

Jicked
28/05/2010, 10:35 PM
Man I wish Trapp was younger. The team are progressing so well under him

Don't worry, this man will have unfinished business to take care of in Paris for Euro 2016 ;)

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/64/156264705_4abe9f0242.jpg?v=0

28/05/2010, 10:40 PM
J Robbie yet again was the stand out man, looked very sharp around the box, could have had a hat-trick (has he ever scored a hat-trick for Ireland?).
The BBC are reporting that Robbie scored a hat trick.

Razors left peg
28/05/2010, 10:42 PM
The BBC are reporting that Robbie scored a hat trick.
never let the facts get in the way of a good story!

28/05/2010, 10:42 PM
Not to mention sterility.

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42593000/jpg/_42593071_ohnaldridge203.jpg

"You calling me sterile?"

Crosby87
28/05/2010, 11:00 PM
Why did that guy run on the field giving the finger? Thats a funny pic.

fionnsci
28/05/2010, 11:51 PM
Sure, great friendly performances are usually completely misleading (Denmark, Sweden) but I can't help but feel really positive after these two games. That Trap lad seems to know a thing or two about football.

By the by, the Irish lad on the pitch got arrested, didn't see what happened to the Algerian but he was only a few rows in front of me.....quite surreal.

MeathDrog
29/05/2010, 12:26 AM

http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/57/53/c2/c0db830e249ebd1a5136dffe266938239a8f9dfa58.jpg
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/d6/e4/67/401e42e22e523e26eaaddeb740c163741fb6f3049f.jpg

Imagine that. Someone wearing a hoody in Ballsbridge.

29/05/2010, 1:29 AM
Why did that guy run on the field giving the finger? Thats a funny pic.
the game was held up while the players waited for the stewards to catch him, so the crowd started booing him, and the other idiot that ran on as well. His reaction was to pull down his hood (it was up when he ran on to the pitch) and start flipping off the crowd.

29/05/2010, 1:52 AM
Keiren Westwood: Very little to do, so kinda hard to rate him. Claimed every high ball in the 6 yard area, and made one smart save low down in the second half. I didn't realise until tonight that he kicks with his left foot, which is rare for a goalkeeper

Stephen Kelly: Considering most of their play came down the right wing, he and Lawrence dealt with it very comfortably and had a good understanding with each other on that right side
Sean St Ledger: Absolute rock. Won everything that came near him, and made some absolutlely fantastic tackles
John O'Shea: Solid beside St Ledger, pity he had to come off so early in the game
Greg Cunningham: Looked a little uncomfortable in the first half, but settled well in the second half. Considering it was his first 90 minutes of senior football, had remarkably little to do. I would have told my team to fire long balls at the 19 yeard old debutant all game long. Has now played more for the Ireland senior team than his own club's senior side

Liam Lawrence: Continued on from Tuesday, worked hard and now a definite alternative from set pieces
Glenn Whelan: Little anonymous, but a lot of their play bypassed central midfield so he didn't see much of the ball
Paul Green: Brave finish for the goal, worked really hard, and tried to keep things moving in midfield. Faded a little towards the end. When everyone is fit, it'll be a choice between him and Miller for backup centre midfield
Damien Duff: Didn't work as well as I would have hoped with Cunningham, especially in the first half. Seemed a little tired after a long season, but still got the assist for Keane's first goal

Robbie Keane: Very quiet in the first half I thought, and then two goals in the second. Would have had four on another night. We'll miss him when he's gone
Kevin Doyle: Didn't get a lot of change from the centre half who was stuck to him for the game. Will have better nights

Subs
Darren O’Dea: Apart from one suicidal tackle in the second half, he did alright. Probably fourth choice (at best) for starting centre half
Keith Fahey: Thought he might start, but only got 15 minutes or so. Seems to have a bit more bite than Duff, but needs far more time to make an impact on the game
Cillian Sheridan: Didn't do much but the game was all but over when he came on
Keith Andrews: Could have had a goal from a trainging ground set piece, did he touch the ball apart from that?
Joe Murphy: One smart save to keep a clean sheet for the home side. Can't be many players with longer times between first and second caps?
Shane Long: Honestly don't know if he touched the ball, was on the opposite side of the pitch to me

A solid win, that could have been more, against a team that will do nothing in the World Cup. The England assistant manager was in attendance, and will have nothing to worry about. Algeria are a poor side that won't cause any trouble. How they knocked out Egypt (the African Champions) is beyond me.
The positives this week are obviously the emergence of Green, and Cunningham as squad players, so I'd call these so-called meaningless friendlies a success. The team is now clearly built to not lose a game and take whatever chances come the way of the strikers, be it from a set piece or from creative play by the wingers. A lesser forward line than the one possessed by the current team would struggle to score with these tactics, so let's be appreciative of them while they're still playing.

Passed the new stadium on the way back into town, hope to be in attendance for the opening in just over two months' time.

29/05/2010, 2:42 AM
I'd agree Algeria are not a great side, I was looking up their players on Wikipedia and they did not seem to have any 'superstars', not many playing for 'top clubs' but then I suppose you could say that about a fair few of the team we fielded,
But still a good result, they are ranked above us, we seem to be solid as a team/squad and we are certainly not short of options, we have a good system and a good manager who knows his football. looks promising for the future, touch wood!!
I thought Robbie took his first goal well, it would have been so so easy for him to put that over the bar but he kept it down well.

29/05/2010, 2:47 AM
This is what really happened :p

Algeria 6-0 Ireland World Cup 2010 friendly match

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YOh6pZU_L8&feature=related

29/05/2010, 10:31 AM
In all honesty Algeria were brutal. We had a very comfortable night and we're never really tested bar the opening few minutes of the second half and a couple of minutes prior to the penalty. Everyone put in a decent night's work and a 3-0 win is good confidence booster.

29/05/2010, 12:33 PM
Algeria had 6 uncapped players last night.
They have already proven their worth as a team, in qualifying (in hostile circumstances) over Egypt.
If they can keep their discipline, they can win a game at the finals.

And a chip of Aldo's block, Paul Green
"I'd take a knock like that to score for my country any day. I don't think I was knocked out but it was just like a little split second. I didn't know where the ball had gone to be honest."

Noelys Guitar
29/05/2010, 12:49 PM
Impressed with the way we have performed in the last two games. The amount of work our players put in is really impressive (Lawrence and Duff covering back especially). The emergence of Green and now Cunningham. I thought Green looked like a 50 cap player rather than a second cap player. And he is a direct stand in if Whelan or Andrews get injured or lose form. (McCarthy and Gibson are different types of players). Green looks like a David Moyes type player and would not be surprised to see him end up at a club like Everton. Also good to see Kelly improving. Two very worthwhile games.

Crosby87
29/05/2010, 12:53 PM
Thats funny Tets, the Algerian guy looked like someone straight out of the 80s show Miami Vice, like he is a rogue Colombian or something haha.
A few weeks ago a young fan ran on the field at a Philadelphia Phillies game and he got tased by a cop, which opened up a national debate on if that should be the regular policy (most players seemingly supported it). I wouldnt be surprised to see that at the world cup if it should occur. I know one thing, these young punks who act all retarded and tough out there, once tased, they fall like bricks and start begging and crying for the device to be removed 100% of the time.....

mandrake
29/05/2010, 3:00 PM
i think if theres one thing we all learned tonight its that you cant trust goalies that wear tracksuit bottoms.
i always said that, its as if they are afraid to dive ....!!!!

boovidge
29/05/2010, 4:06 PM
Thats funny Tets, the Algerian guy looked like someone straight out of the 80s show Miami Vice, like he is a rogue Colombian or something haha.
A few weeks ago a young fan ran on the field at a Philadelphia Phillies game and he got tased by a cop, which opened up a national debate on if that should be the regular policy (most players seemingly supported it). I wouldnt be surprised to see that at the world cup if it should occur. I know one thing, these young punks who act all retarded and tough out there, once tased, they fall like bricks and start begging and crying for the device to be removed 100% of the time.....

Totally disproportionate response imo, I wouldnt want to see that sort of pain inflicted on another human being just because he's had a few too many drinks and run onto a sports field.

theworm2345
29/05/2010, 4:10 PM
Totally disproportionate response imo, I wouldnt want to see that sort of pain inflicted on another human being just because he's had a few too many drinks and run onto a sports field.
The kid who did it at the Phillies game wasn't drunk, he was just some douchebag who thought he was so important that him running on the field and holding up the game was just fine. He deserved to be tazed, but this is the proper way to deal with pitch invaders.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJEFY87w_Uw

boovidge
29/05/2010, 4:18 PM
The fact that these guys are attention seeking ****s is not in question.However, when the crime is simply running onto a sports field whilst heavily outnumbered by security guards and or police, is it justifiable to use a potentially lethal weapon against him? I would say it's not.

Crosby87
29/05/2010, 4:22 PM
As far as the crime only being running on to the field,
A few years ago two meth heads who were a father and son combination ran on to the field and beat the living daylights out of the first base coach in Kansas City. The ump and first baseman took a step back at first, not knowing what to do....you can see it on youtube.
I think the concern is that one day one of these idiots will have a knife or worse, and thats why many players were happy to see that douche bag in Philly tased.
Also Boovidge I think the point of the taser is that it is not lethal, thats why it was invented, to subdue someone without causing them permanent harm...But in any case, i am in favor of it b/c it is hilarious watching someone get tased. i.e the internet sensation a few months ago of "Dont tase me,bro!"

theworm2345
29/05/2010, 4:35 PM
The fact that these guys are attention seeking ****s is not in question.However, when the crime is simply running onto a sports field whilst heavily outnumbered by security guards and or police, is it justifiable to use a potentially lethal weapon against him? I would say it's not.
If you read the back of the tickets for games here, most say you cannot go on the field. It is trespassing and in Texas you can shoot someone for trespassing. As far as I'm concerned if you decide to run on the field you deserve whatever you get.

As far as the crime only being running on to the field,
A few years ago two meth heads who were a father and son combination ran on to the field and beat the living daylights out of the first base coach in Kansas City. The ump and first baseman took a step back at first, not knowing what to do....you can see it on youtube.
I think the concern is that one day one of these idiots will have a knife or worse, and thats why many players were happy to see that douche bag in Philly tased.
Also Boovidge I think the point of the taser is that it is not lethal, thats why it was invented, to subdue someone without causing them permanent harm...But in any case, i am in favor of it b/c it is hilarious watching someone get tased. i.e the internet sensation a few months ago of "Dont tase me,bro!"
That was, in fact, here in Chicago at a White Sox game. The police eventually found a folded up pocket knife one of those two idiots had dropped. Those two were the definition of red neck trailer trash. Tasers can be lethal, but usually only if you have a heard condition or something. If you have a heart condition you shouldn't be putting yourself in a position to get tazed though.

boovidge
29/05/2010, 5:27 PM
The security guards are there for a reason and should use proportional force. Tasers have killed on a number of occasions and there use should be restricted to more severe cases. Let's not forget that if we take away the hype and build up of these events, they are only sporting matches (unless Ireland are playing) and the relatively short delay of a sporting event is not equal to a man's life and is certainly not an excuse for police/security guard brutality. There is also a big difference between trespassing by breaking and entering into a private residence in order to commit acts of aggression, and trepassing by running onto a sports field in order to make an idiot of yourself infront of a crowd. Obviously if the individual in question was threatening anyones life or property then a more severe responsewould be warranted.

29/05/2010, 5:31 PM
i thought Westwood had a good catholic game.

EastTerracer
29/05/2010, 5:34 PM
I do think the guys who run out on the pitch are complete idiots but have to agree that a taser is not an appropriate response. The recent baseball clip is below:

PW6-jwh9xd0

Remember when Jack Charlton has to intervene in Giants Stadium to stop security from laying into an overexcited Irish fan after the Italy game? I don't condone people going on the pitch after a game either but on that day I can definitely understand the emotion.

29/05/2010, 5:39 PM
I don't quite get what's wrong with physical force. Why do well-trained security people need to use tasers to subdue a pitch invader? Peter Schmeichal would laugh at these people.

29/05/2010, 5:41 PM
agreed ET - there is no way streakers or pitch invaders should be tased. It is the typical North American overreation if you ask me. When i moved over here this story was huge a year or so later. Absolutely tragic. The guy had no english, had no idea what was going on and suffered from depression.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Dzieka%C5%84ski_Taser_incident

http://www.cbc.ca/news/interactives/map-tasers-canada/

seanfhear
29/05/2010, 6:11 PM
It should be the job of the Centre backs to take out interlopers onto the pitch.

No matter how brutal their actions the referee should not be allowed to book or send them off.

Centre Backs getting this agression out of their system at the start of the game might be no bad thing;)

Sullivinho
29/05/2010, 7:56 PM
agreed ET - there is no way streakers or pitch invaders should be tased. It is the typical North American overreation if you ask me. When i moved over here this story was huge a year or so later. Absolutely tragic. The guy had no english, had no idea what was going on and suffered from depression.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Dzieka%C5%84ski_Taser_incident

http://www.cbc.ca/news/interactives/map-tasers-canada/

Desperately sad story. Heavy-handedness + potentially lethal weapon does not a good combination make.

DeLorean
02/09/2016, 12:03 PM
Bumping thread.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ymx2GEGHf4w

DeLorean
13/09/2016, 8:11 AM
Closed thread.