View Full Version : I can't believe it!

liam88
07/04/2004, 5:42 PM
On the Old Firm Fans forum (open to both sets of fans), all the 'Gers are having a party over Chelseas result. Apparently there is some big link between chelsea, Rangers and Lenfield-as far as I can see they all wear blue and all have English/British fans..........any other takers?
Someones been posting up pictures of joint Rangers/Chelski/Lunfield badges.

Does this mean Celtic can party if Charlton (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=4121396347&category=53611)

Man Utd (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=4121398708&category=53611)
Leeds (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=4121400267&category=53611)
Poto (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=4121672702&category=53612)
Forest
or Liverpool win? :rolleyes:

Duncan Gardner
07/04/2004, 6:23 PM
Plenty of Chelsea support Celtic as well. This Rangers link is exaggerated.

lopez
07/04/2004, 10:30 PM
I can't believe Depor have just come back to beat Milan 4-0. Not relevant here I know...but I don't care. :D :D :D :D

08/04/2004, 9:30 AM
Does this mean Damin Duff will be booed now?

ccfcman
08/04/2004, 10:35 AM
the huns and the chelsea head hunters are reputadly involved/have some contact in the combat 18(or 17) crowd who tore the life outta lansedown rd

Declan_Michael
08/04/2004, 2:40 PM
I think you should look more at how English clubs have changed in the last 30 years. If you take Liverpool, in the 1970s for instance there were tons of union jacks with the word 'Liverpool FC' emblazoned across the middle - flying in the Kop. I'm sure the same can be said about all other English clubs during that period. In fact if you go to any English ground on saturday you will see a few Union Jacks/St george's flag. The fact that English clubs ( at least Man Utd/Lpool) have a huge global fan base since 1990's means you are now more likely to see a tricolour/Norweign/Japenese flag. If Chelsea and Arsenal continue on their winning ways - 10 years down the line Ashburton Grove and SB will, I'm sure be full of tricolours.

Never been aware of any link between Chelsea and Rangers and don't think its time to 'play up' religious connontations when it certainly dosen't exist with clubs outside the Old Firm.

08/04/2004, 3:07 PM
Never been aware of any link between Chelsea and Rangers

Then why were the Rangers management accusing Chelsea fans rather than their own knuckledraggers of being behind crowd disturbance in the away end (including pelting the referee with coins, bottles, etc.) at Pittodrie last season? And - by the way - that's just one example from the recent past.

and don't think its time to 'play up' religious connontations when it certainly dosen't exist with clubs outside the Old Firm.

Aaah, Declan me old mucker, I think it must be all of 24 hours since we've had a run-in. And I've missed you. ;) I'll spell it out for you: Celtic have never been a Catholic club. We have welcomed all to the fold irrespective of creed, race and colour. Our greatest manager to date was a Protestant. So too half of the 1967 European Cup-winning team. And players, managers and staff, before and since. On and on, ad nauseam.

The other lot, on the other hand, still go on about being a Protestant club. Face facts; the first Catholic player of the modern era they signed was in 1989. And how we all laugh when they sing "f*ck the Pope" and other such ditties continuously. Why, the strains of this and other anti-Catholic bigotry were clearly heard only last Sunday in the recent Old Firm game. I know you have your issues with us, but please, don't tar us with the same brush as our "friends" from the west of Glasgow...

:D PP

Declan_Michael
08/04/2004, 3:21 PM
Then why were the Rangers management accusing Chelsea fans rather than their own knuckledraggers of being behind crowd disturbance in the away end (including pelting the referee with coins, bottles, etc.) at Pittodrie last season? And - by the way - that's just one example from the recent past.

Aaah, Declan me old mucker, I think it must be all of 24 hours since we've had a run-in. And I've missed you. ;) I'll spell it out for you: Celtic have never been a Catholic club. We have welcomed all to the fold irrespective of creed, race and colour. Our greatest manager to date was a Protestant. So too half of the 1967 European Cup-winning team. And players, managers and staff, before and since. On and on, ad nauseam.

The other lot, on the other hand, still go on about being a Protestant club. Face facts; the first Catholic player of the modern era they signed was in 1989. And how we all laugh when they sing "f*ck the Pope" and other such ditties continuously. Why, the strains of this and other anti-Catholic bigotry were clearly heard only last Sunday in the recent Old Firm game. I know you have your issues with us, but please, don't tar us with the same brush as our "friends" from the west of Glasgow...

Actually, I was trying to make a constructive point.

Look, lets end this Celtic stuff. I have nothing against the club. I, being Irish used to have a soft spot for them. Maybe, a got older and wiser :D and a little bored/upset with the being seem as a 'big' Irish club at the expense of the Eircom League.

As for the religious connotations I not disputing the faith of Old Firm players (nor do I care) but you cannot deny that Celtic are PERCEIVED to be supported by catholics - hence the fact that people in ROI (with 98% odd of the population being RC) support them rather than Rangers. I am not saying people from other faiths do not support Celtic but I would think that the vast majority are Catholic! Not to mention that Celtic were formed by a Priest!

PS Good look to Celtic tonight :D

liam88
08/04/2004, 3:21 PM
Celtic have never been a Catholic club.

Don't think ya can quite say that. We've never been closed to other religions and we've always welcomed a vast multitude of culture but essentially we were started by Catholic monks and have strong Catholic roots.
Bit like Belfast Celtic who were started as a Catholic club but signed any good player unlike rivals Lumfield did at the time.
Anyway, I'll be in Cobh for the next week or so, so I won't be posting.
Ciao for now and happy Easter everybody.

08/04/2004, 3:27 PM
Actually, I was trying to make a constructive point.

Look, lets end this Celtic stuff. I have nothing against the club. I, being Irish used to have a soft spot for them. Maybe, a got older and wiser :D and a little bored/upset with the being seem as a 'big' Irish club at the expense of the Eircom League.

As for the religious connotations I not disputing the faith of Old Firm players (nor do I care) but you cannot deny that Celtic are PERCEIVED to be supported by catholics - hence the fact that people in ROI (with 98% odd of the population being RC) support them rather than Rangers. I am not saying people from other faiths do not support Celtic but I would think that the vast majority are Catholic! Not to mention that Celtic were formed by a Priest!

PS Good look to Celtic tonight :D

Aaah ****e, you can't go all soft on me now... :D

As ever, when someone tries to be reasonable with me, I agree with them wholeheartedly. You are, and I do. And thanks for the good luck message.

We'll call it an honourable draw. :)

08/04/2004, 3:28 PM
Don't think ya can quite say that. We've never been closed to other religions and we've always welcomed a vast multitude of culture but essentially we were started by Catholic monks and have strong Catholic roots.
Bit like Belfast Celtic who were started as a Catholic club but signed any good player unlike rivals Lumfield did at the time.
Anyway, I'll be in Cobh for the next week or so, so I won't be posting.
Ciao for now and happy Easter everybody.

Happy Easter yourself. Have some of the black stuff for me. And glue yerself to that telly tonight and next Wednesday night.

Mon ra Sellik and Up the Ramblers! :D

liam88
08/04/2004, 5:25 PM
Happy Easter yourself. Have some of the black stuff for me. And glue yerself to that telly tonight and next Wednesday night.

Mon ra Sellik and Up the Ramblers! :D

Hehe cheer mates :) will do!
I'll only catch the second half tonight though becaus I'll be at Church for Maundy Thursday-I'll say some prayers fo the team though eh? :D
Cya lads-have a great Easter

RebelBhoy
08/04/2004, 6:12 PM
is the match on the tv at all

Beavis
08/04/2004, 9:16 PM
Just on the subject of Chelsea, I remember an undercover documentary on Chelsea hooligans (in the same seris as the Lazio one yiz probably remember)
who were involved in that Combat 18 b*llox and also used headover for the Orange marching season in Belfast to dish out abuse and start trouble with the Nationalists.
I think it's fairly well known that they are/were associated with loyalism...back when I was in school everytime one lad wore in his Chelsea hat he got abuse the whole day long :D

It's a bit strange seeing Duffer kiss the crest when he scores too :(

lopez
08/04/2004, 10:14 PM
Yes,DG/FB.....as my acquaintance Jerry Kilburn(old Irish thug,in all the hoolie books!),would say,"You're talking f****** S****" (& he's right,even as a Kerryman!).........................
There's a story about Jeremiah that Sylvo told me. He's outside SB and he sees Duff. 'O'right Duffer' he goes. Duff responds with a wave, to which these five lads from the North behind Jerry start singing that old English folk hit, 'No Surrender to the IRA.' Jerry's own recolection of what follows is that he done a Rambo and battered all five of the c*nts. :rolleyes: Anyway, it's ironic that this club has a such a far-right following when it's now owned by a Scooby Doo.

BTW ccfcman, Combat 18 weren't involved in Dublin. It's then leader, presently staying at one of the German lady's guesthouses for the murder of one of his fellow comrades, Charlie 'more chins than a Chinese phone directory' Sargent, was so miffed that none of his boys were involved in that episode that he contacted the Screws of the World - or some such rag - and told them he was the man behind it, even though he was at home in his fascist commune in England's answer to Montana, Colchester. 'Fraid it was just the usual muppetts. After all it doesn't take too much of a genius - or a brave man - to start a riot with 2000 tan c*nts around you, does it? But then it doesn't sound as good either.

Footie_Fan
08/04/2004, 10:23 PM
,no-one,apart from him has waved a tricolour @ SB & lived to tell the tale....

I'm pretty sure I have seen people waving tricolours with Duffer's face in the middle at Stamford Bridge.

sylvo
09/04/2004, 12:46 PM
Hav'nt been taaaa Stamford Bridge in year's, last time i was there it reminded me a little of the the picture's of the main sqaure in Nerumberg, when that Austrian with the silly tash drove through the place. There was lot's of people with shaved head's with their right arm's waving to the sky.
I've been told all this has changed due to the champagne and land rover type's from surrey jumping on the band waggon.
Mind you from some of the state's that yer see on the tube's going to and from SB i don't think it's changed all that much.
As my esteemed workmate and former Spurs top gezzer Cyrille da squrille alway's sing's when one of his hated topic's of conversion turn's up ''chelsea''
''ard on da telly, yer only ard on da telly''.
Liam you to have a good easter, and don't be touching the black stuff, because that would then be underage drinking.

Duncan Gardner
09/04/2004, 8:13 PM
Yes,DG/FB.....as my acquaintance Jerry Kilburn(old Irish thug,in all the hoolie books!),would say,"You're talking f****** S****"

More bull**** from the fat bald cnut.

While I was was watching Chelsea regularly (unlike you, before Liam 88 was born, never heard of Jerry from Kilburn), there were many who also supported Celtic. As you would expect- Chelsea's core areas, Battersea, Hammersmith, Acton etc. have a large Irish/ Scottish migrant population. Have these people disappeared , or started supporting Arsenal? I think not.

Never saw anyone wave a tricolor in the Shed in the late 80s- though neither in the North Bank, Chicken Run or Shelf, and for fairly obvious reasons. The IRA were pretty active then and it didn't do to wind up the locals.

I doubt anyone would give it a second thought now.

Chelsea fans did have a dodgy fanzine with those from Rangers and Linfield. It hasn't appeared for some years, I believe. Most Chelsea fans will never have heard of Linfield. And the Chelsea UVF Nazis smashed up Lansdowne in 1995? Don't think so. The England hoolie following is from all over the country, those who kicked it off are as likely to be from Banbury or Yeovil or somehwere. Unless of course you have have some evidence other than some guy lending you a hoolie book in a pub :)

Beavis
09/04/2004, 8:42 PM
those who kicked it off are as likely to be from Banbury or Yeovil or somehwere.

Aston Villa fans seem to have been involved.Assumption purely based on the fact that the Garda seized missles concealed in a Georges Cross with A Villa written on it.

Duncan Gardner
10/04/2004, 8:43 AM
If you don't believe Jerry from Kilburn's "bull****", why are you quoting him as an authority? What is he, professor of Burberry studies at Headhunter University?

Chelsea have always had many Scottish, Irish and as a result Celtic-supporting fans. They didn't wave tricolors around at English matches in the 70s and 80s because, unlike you, most of them have some wit. The only part of Stamford Bridge on which I'll defer to your greater knowledge is the Police room, given your various evictions from the ground :)

You've told us previously on this forum that the 1995 riot was planned by, variously, Combat 18, the BNP and UVF. Now it's the top Northern boys? Make your mind up. Alternatively, read the newspaper reports of the time. They'll tell you those arrested and/ or thrown out of the country were from all over England. Including Aston Villa, as suggested above.

lopez
10/04/2004, 11:21 AM
Never saw anyone wave a tricolor in the Shed in the late 80s- though neither in the North Bank, Chicken Run or Shelf, and for fairly obvious reasons. The IRA were pretty active then and it didn't do to wind up the locals.
Tricolour was brought out at Highbury at the few times I saw them in the early eighties. But then Arsenal did have seven Irish players in or about the first team. :p And it was either the locals or certain Arsenal fans that defaced the wanted poster for a Provo that escaped in 1980 (forgotten his name but the poster had two photos - one clean shaven, other with blanket style beard) with republican slogans as you queued to get into the East Stand. Interesting that Charlie Sargent was a Gooner, but spent most of his time at Chelsea. Gooners I know claim he was threatened long ago although this was probably for his shoulder -rubbing with the 'hunters than his far-right politics.

BTW, muchas gracias for your text of congratulations on Wednesday night. :D

More revisionist claptrap...Arsenal have always been an 'Irish' club in London(with tricolours).....
This is also revisionist claptrap. :p Arsenal are an English club, period! The fact that a fair few people of Irish descent - many who think they're as English as bad railways - does not make it Irish. My last visit to a league game in October 1981 enlightened me to this. Arsenal were playing Man Ure and I was in the North Bank listening to Frank Stapleton getting a load of abuse, much of it anti-Irish. So you can come up with HB, Con and a few others that are Gooners and Irish. What about Jerry, that old boy who hangs around with him, PC, Homer and Tony Boloney?

Most clubs have far -right supporters. The difference is that at some - principally Man Ure - they are small, keep a low profile or f*ck off and support someone whose more accomodating of their politics. After all Leeds have a reputation for racist fans but that hasn't stopped you following them. Nor do I think that Chelsea's far right links are a mirage. But I do think that this is confined to a minority, albeit one quite powerfull to attack an editor of a Chelsea fanzine in Prague, almost killing him, and get away with it. It may be the case that with Roman the Jew in charge, there are even less of them now.

sylvo
10/04/2004, 11:44 AM
[QUOTE=lopez]Tricolour was brought out at Highbury at the few times I saw them in the early eighties. But then Arsenal did have seven Irish players in or about the first team. :p And it was either the locals or certain Arsenal fans that defaced the wanted poster for a Provo that escaped in 1980 (forgotten his name but the poster had two photos - one clean shaven, other with blanket style beard) with republican slogans as you queued to get into the East Stand.

That would be Gerry Tueate, he was from Cavan, I remember all those poster's all over London back in the early 80's, I remember people dragging the poster's down and putting them up in their room's.
As for the scum @ LR in 95 they did indeed come from every tan club not just the northern one's, the best bit's of timber i seen flying backward's and forward's that night was from the garda over a all them tan head's, just a shame they were a bit slow off the mark and did'nt do it to em while we were in the stadium.

lopez
10/04/2004, 6:54 PM
As for the scum @ LR in 95 they did indeed come from every tan club not just the northern one's, the best bit's of timber i seen flying backward's and forward's that night was from the garda over a all them tan head's, just a shame they were a bit slow off the mark and did'nt do it to em while we were in the stadium.
Now, now: That's not fair Sylvo. We need to play by tan rules. How about bringing in some armoured cars and assault soldiers and shoot the f*ckers in the backs as they run for cover...just like what they did to us at Croke Park in 1920. :D

sylvo
10/04/2004, 7:09 PM
Hopefully first sign of any antanacisim in Portugal, the local fuzz will take a zero tolarance stance with them and have the burberry body bag's ready for em along with the water cannon's, riot gear and sub machine gun's.

Duncan Gardner
18/04/2004, 9:49 AM
I have never visited the Police @ SB...I was ejected in error,& allow to return,though...

1995...Relying on mutal acquaintances in the know,you fat-wit,who you have even been to see cricket & ' popular beat combos' with.....as ever,you DON'T check your facts!I have never previously mentioned the various strands of the osc SC's you allude to.....

Aye, that's right, your eviction at Stamford Bridge was mistaken identity. They thought you were Dickie Attenborough trying to blag in.

A pre-arranged off involving England's top boys, the BNP and unionist paramilitaries isn't a 'fact' of course, unless you can offer some evidence of it; but your droning on about it unfortunately is :confused:

Paddy Ramone
19/04/2004, 8:36 AM
[QUOTE=lopez]Tricolour was brought out at Highbury at the few times I saw them in the early eighties. But then Arsenal did have seven Irish players in or about the first team. :p And it was either the locals or certain Arsenal fans that defaced the wanted poster for a Provo that escaped in 1980 (forgotten his name but the poster had two photos - one clean shaven, other with blanket style beard) with republican slogans as you queued to get into the East Stand.

Their manager in the early eighties a certain Terry Neill was certainly no Republican sympathiser. He signed a Unionist petition opposing the Anglo-Irish agreement. One their Northern Irish players Sammy Nelson was a Protestant. The other Irish players were all Catholic.

About Chelsea having Rangers links. I think it only dates back to 1985 when they played Rangers at Stamford Bridge in a benefit match for the victims of the Bradford fire disaster. The National Front supporters who followed Chelsea developed an affinity with the other Blues.

Back in the early seventies Chelsea had stronger Irish connections than Arsenal. Damian O'Neill the guitarist with the Undertones is a famous Catholic Chelsea fan. On the other hand Henry Cluney(Duncan Gardner knows him), the ex-guitarist with another famous NI punk band Stiff Little Fingers supports both the Gunners and Rangers.