View Full Version : v Limerick
30/05/2010, 9:23 AM
Smaller crowd then I expected though....... What would you say was at it maybe just under 200
30/05/2010, 9:40 AM
I would have said 200 myself, but don't tell me you expected much more considering the dross on show of late?
30/05/2010, 10:21 AM
. Too much hoofball too with nothing coming out of it. Wasn't at all pleased.
WTF!!!!!!!!! Jesus I thought Longford were FANTASTIC and really played great stuff in the second half.
Who is the number 11, he was a joy to watch all game, doing a lot of work all over the field, pity he didnt have his shooting boots on
And number 6? A rock in defence, and gave it up to a few Limerick forwards as well
Was surprised with this game, as wasnt expecting much - but left at end on a high, was great entertainment from both teams (from a neutral Pov), and was good to see the Longford fans support their team in the end. Think the match and the Limerick support really had everyone on edge!
Wonder is Cousins doing a good job or not? He obviously has a decent team to work with, but is he able to manage them?
By the way - have a thumbing hangover!!! (God I hate Longford town:p)
30/05/2010, 10:36 AM
Fair play to ya bennocelt for coming to it, you're welcome any time! :)
11 is Cathal Brady, has fantastic pace and usually has the beating of opposition left backs, can be hit and miss though but played very well last night alright.
6 is John Lester, usually a midfielder but has been playing centre half a bit this season. Our best player so far this season imo.
Up to now, Cousins hasn't done a good job. As I've said before on here, he has good players, but our attitude and organisation are appalling. Last night our attitude was first class, our organisation still needs work though as Limerick looked like they could score any time they came forward, especially in the 1st half.
30/05/2010, 12:03 PM
I thought Longford were FANTASTIC and really played great stuff in the second half.
Who is the number 11, he was a joy to watch all game, doing a lot of work all over the field, pity he didnt have his shooting boots on
And number 6? A rock in defence, and gave it up to a few Limerick forwards as well
Was surprised with this game, as wasnt expecting much - but left at end on a high, was great entertainment from both teams (from a neutral Pov), and was good to see the Longford fans support their team in the end. Think the match and the Limerick support really had everyone on edge!
Wonder is Cousins doing a good job or not? He obviously has a decent team to work with, but is he able to manage them?
I totally agree with you bennocelt I thought we were fantastic second half and the match was fantastic entertainment.
Brady was top class and Johnny was a rock at center half (I was worried at times his pace would let him down but his strength and just his pure presence makes up for it)
Yes the supporters were starting to get very frustrated early on in the 1st half when we started to play long ball tactics but once we got the ball rolling again the support was fantastic.
After we missed the peno I thought Limerick would hammer us but if anything it made the players pick it up another level fair play to the likes of Lee , Lester and Hynes they were fantastic after the missed peno and helped pick up the rest of the team.
I dont think Limerick could believe how resilient we were after the missed spot kick and I think thats why one or two of their plays started to lose their head which lead to the two sending offs.
As for Cousins we will have to see can he manage this very well equipped squad hopefully he can and we will be even stronger after the transfer window.
When we win we always do it in the most exciting way possible eg. Harps , Waterford , Limerick they were fantastic games and I couldnt have been happier coming out of Flancare last night.
The cup is next and we will have a feel good factor going into it and since its the cup a few supporters that have deserted us in recent weeks might come back and make it another special night in the Flansiro.
CMON DE TOWN!
30/05/2010, 4:03 PM
I am on still a high after last nites tremendous victory! Mick Lee had a stormer in defence.. Nice to see Limericks Sean Kelly raising to our bait!! Also not mentioned was there was three limerick cheerleaders who I believe will be a regular occurence at home and away gamess.. They certainly made viewing the stand very interesting indeed!:D
It was good craic talkin to the Limerick fans in the spiral tree who told me who these lassies were!:)
Section o had a lot more people due to the likes of pauro seven and Ronnie B making special visits! It was like the good old days of section o and the banter was witty and relentless!
Cabs88
30/05/2010, 4:19 PM
Delighted with the result obviously and I thought we did well in the second half put it doesnt paper over the cracks.
Yet again Hynes was woeful his touch was poor and for a target man he won nothing. Playing 5 in the middle might have meant keeping a tight 3 to nullify their midfielders but it isolated Hynes meaning he was exposed more to the poor player he is.
Cathal Brady missed two absolute sitters, and you would have to say Glynn on form would have tucked at least one of those away.
Defensively apart from one or two moments of indecision we did well and philly byrne and chris deans communicating and talking to the players really contributed to an assured performance, that said was a bit worried seeing Vic come on near the end.
Mick lee had a great game, and should hold onto that left back spot.
A great night though, and games like that remind ya why ya put up with the drivel of recent weeks
30/05/2010, 5:15 PM
I thought Hynes played myself. He was completely isolated by Freeman and Brady for most of the night but won more headers than I've ever seen him win and did his best to hold it up. He worked hard as well. One of his better performances imo.
L.T.F.C.
30/05/2010, 5:21 PM
I'd agree with Cabs88 there, it doesn't paper over the cracks. I was very frustrated during the match, we're fúcking shíte. The midfield played so bloody deep they were on top of our defence so our defenders couldn't play it out and make a meaningful attack. Hoofing it away every time up to Hynes is no addition, that would make Rooney look shíte too so I wouldn't blame him totally even though he didn't cover himself in glory.
Lets be honest here folks, if we played like that against any team with a tad of discipline or skill, we'd be hockeyed.
30/05/2010, 6:50 PM
First game of the season for me, great to be back. Good banter with the Section O lads and 100% record so far.
30/05/2010, 7:40 PM
First game of the season for me, great to be back. Good banter with the Section O lads and 100% record so far.
You must be our Lucky Charm :D
30/05/2010, 7:45 PM
I thought Hynes played myself. He was completely isolated by Freeman and Brady for most of the night but won more headers than I've ever seen him win and did his best to hold it up. He worked hard as well. One of his better performances imo.
I would have to agree with you there DE TOWN while Hynes was far from world class he worked harder than usual especially after the Penalty miss and did hold up the ball quite well. Freeman offered very little and was surprised Glynn didn't get on but a wins a win im not going to complain I just cant wait for the Cup game now. WOOO CMON DE TOWN
howsyourtouch
31/05/2010, 11:33 AM
im sorry lads but that hynes lad was useless! Just because he worked hard does not mean that he is good eougfh,sure working hard when its under 14 is only ok,but at senior football if he cant do something simple like hold up the ball then what hope has he got and anyone saying he had a good game is deluded!seems all your have to do is run aimlessly for 90 minutes for some people out in flancare to think you play well..
31/05/2010, 2:03 PM
He was completely isolated for pretty much the whole game. Freeman contributed nothing and Brady ran around a lot, but neither of them were anywhere near Hynes when the ball went up to him. It was a thankless task for him but he made the most out of the crap ball he got and did his best to hold it up and lay it off.
31/05/2010, 2:14 PM
He was completely isolated for pretty much the whole game. Freeman contributed nothing and Brady ran around a lot, but neither of them were anywhere near Hynes when the ball went up to him. It was a thankless task for him but he made the most out of the crap ball he got and did his best to hold it up and lay it off.
But I woudnt neccessarily think thats the players fault, more the manager?
31/05/2010, 3:37 PM
But I woudnt neccessarily think thats the players fault, more the manager?
That he was isolated?
31/05/2010, 3:39 PM
The system?
31/05/2010, 3:42 PM
That was the first time I've seen us play that system under Cousins, and while I think it can work well, it must include our wide men getting closer to the main front man than they were the other night. Freeman (no.10, left winger the other night) has never and probably will never contribute anything, regardless of what position he plays. I'd agree that it was Cousins fault that Hynes was so isolated.
howsyourtouch
31/05/2010, 10:00 PM
if he knew his job was to lay off the ball and give flicks on for the night but knew the other two wide men weren getting closer to him he should have pulled closer to one of them! im not saying totally pulled to the wing just pulled into a position that he would be effective in,its called using a bit of sense! this would have left more space for the other wide man to burst into after hynes had flicked the ball on for the other winger to try and get on it and cross it in! I just dont like the way he plays as he is too slow at getting into dangerous positions and when he is in the position he was in the other night what are the other lads goin to do but huff it up to him and hope! when got the ball down the other night and ran at them on the wings we destroyed them and id like to see more of this in the future! imagine mcglynn in where hynes was the other night?the pace up front would have killed the game off a lot earlier than we did!
howsyourtouch
31/05/2010, 10:03 PM
and im not just being negative here, dont get me wrong! just like to see when the town get it down and play football as opposed to some of the muck we have had to see this year! but knowing cousins we will probably have to wait another 5 or 6 games to see the same team again!the fact cousins still doesnt know his best team is a bit shockin to say the least!
31/05/2010, 10:15 PM
Yeah of course Glynn would have worked perfectly in that system alright, sure he's someone who can win headers for us all day long and he's strong in possession...Daisy couldn't give a ****, putting him up front on his own is asking for trouble.
howsyourtouch
31/05/2010, 10:40 PM
please read what i said again!! i said play him but play football and dont just use him as a pawn to lump balls at all night!target practise its like watchin sometimes!who can hit the big fella up front! play him and do what were good at by playing it on the ground,example being waterford and limerick matches!? we dont have the strenght in the middle to be winning the second ball that is goin to be constantly falling from playing a long ball game either! all a long ball game does is create scraps for it in centre mid and against most teams in the league they would boss us in this respect so use our natural speed on the wings and up front and play to our strenghts!
01/06/2010, 11:54 AM
There seems to be alot of negative comments after our win I though we would all just be happy with the win. I do agree that the long ball tactic is useless and id much rather see us play football like we can and have VS Waterford and second half VS Limerick but a win is a win and at the moment we should just take them whatever way they come.
03/06/2010, 9:57 AM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/3604/
intereview with craig mooney here after his winner for us last saturday night!