View Full Version : Cousins Resigns?

Frank76
22/05/2010, 12:26 AM
Rumours flying about that Tony Cousins handed in his resignation tonight after Longford's humiliating defeat to Mons. :question: Anyone over there hear this?

The Insider
22/05/2010, 12:34 AM
No, he didnt resigned,whether or not he'll do it in the next few days remains to be seen. Gough resigned last year after a defeat to Monaghan. Was chatting to one of the journos earlier that was talking to Cousins after the game and she said he never mentioned resigning. He knew how frustrated the fans were but he wanted to change things in the transfer window.

22/05/2010, 8:51 AM
I dont think he will resign myself to stubborn

22/05/2010, 2:07 PM
No, he didnt resigned,whether or not he'll do it in the next few days remains to be seen. Gough resigned last year after a defeat to Monaghan. Was chatting to one of the journos earlier that was talking to Cousins after the game and she said he never mentioned resigning. He knew how frustrated the fans were but he wanted to change things in the transfer window.

the insider you are dead right there are a lot of frustrated fans there there are left over after the mass exodus from the good days.. I would get tony a chance but I think there has to be a reshuffle of backroom staff as something is amiss at the moment..

22/05/2010, 4:42 PM
the insider you are dead right there are a lot of frustrated fans there there are left over after the mass exodus from the good days.. I would get tony a chance but I think there has to be a reshuffle of backroom staff as something is amiss at the moment..

Ive asked this question before but what do people here make of Philip Coffey as a possible Town manager. He took over for 2 games last season and we gained 4 points (now they were very poor sides but still...). Hes been around the club for a long while now , he knows what the club stands for and what it means to be involved with the Red and Black army.

Surley he should be given his chance especially since theres a lack of managers out there because lets face it Matthews isn't coming back after that all I can think of is a certain Roddy Collins because the likes of Damien Richardson wouldn't go near us.

22/05/2010, 4:46 PM
Anyone localish up to the task lads??

Lot of people flagged Longford at start of season as a potential disaster area with the signings and that.

22/05/2010, 4:55 PM
Ive asked this question before but what do people here make of Philip Coffey as a possible Town manager. He took over for 2 games last season and we gained 4 points (now they were very poor sides but still...). Hes been around the club for a long while now , he knows what the club stands for and what it means to be involved with the Red and Black army.

Surley he should be given his chance especially since theres a lack of managers out there because lets face it Matthews isn't coming back after that all I can think of is a certain Roddy Collins because the likes of Damien Richardson wouldn't go near us.
Depends, if he's the one doing the coaching at present then no.

Anyone localish up to the task lads??

Lot of people flagged Longford at start of season as a potential disaster area with the signings and that.

We're not spending an awful lot in fairness, same as last year. I don't know what the finances are like at present but we've some good sponsors thankfully. Can't think of anyone local off hand really who'd be willing to do it. I'm not writing off Cousins totally yet but he has to improve things on the pitch and he should stop blaming the players all the time. As a former world class manager once said "Im the gaffer. The buck stops with me."

22/05/2010, 4:59 PM
Money aside, I was more thinking how hard are the Lesters and the Deanses and the Hynes of the world going to try in a Longford shirt.

Also, my apologies, I only read the thread title, read it wrong and thought he had actually resigned. :o

How would ye rate our chances next week then?? Traditionally exactly the type of game we lose!

22/05/2010, 5:12 PM
Can't fault Lester I must say. He's been our best player. The other two haven't done an awful lot though they've scored a few each. If we can sort our defence and that's pretty unlikely, we can be competitive but we just seem to gift the opposition goals every single game. All in all ye should be confident really.

Rocky77
22/05/2010, 8:03 PM
Not like Frank to be wrong with one of his 'exclusives'...

What next? We've been stripped of our Cup wins cos Digger didn't meet the height requirement for a Cup Final goalkeeper?!

Frank76
22/05/2010, 10:20 PM
I think Des cawley would be a better option than Coffey if Cousin's walks or is pushed.

22/05/2010, 10:31 PM
I was more thinking how hard are the Lesters and the Deanses and the Hynes of the world going to try in a Longford shirt.

I think those 3 players have given it their all. Lester has been a bit off in recent weeks but he cant run the midfield all on his own whereas Deans is only getting back into the first team and seems to be playing quite well and apart from his mistake last night Philly Byrne's been fantastic if you ask me.

The Insider
22/05/2010, 10:57 PM
A lot of people were surprised to see Deans at right full last night, he shouldve been centre half with Philly, thats our best partnership. Felt sorry for Hynes last night, shouldve scored on for their keeper brought off a cracking save. I agree with you Kieran about Lester, hasnt been that good in the last few games, heard he did nothing in Finn Park. On the manager situation I have to disagree about Philip Coffey, the two games he was in charge for last yr were against Finn Harps and Kildare County (we were lucky in that game). Im willing (for now) to give Cousins a chance, he has said lots of times about other managers in the division been given more than season to prove themselves, so Im hoping he will prove himself. We have three league games and the cup before the transfer window, Id like to see a bit of pride and passion in the jersey in those games.

L.T.F.C.
23/05/2010, 12:34 AM
I think those 3 players have given it their all. Lester has been a bit off in recent weeks but he cant run the midfield all on his own whereas Deans is only getting back into the first team and seems to be playing quite well and apart from his mistake last night Philly Byrne's been fantastic if you ask me.
Come off it!
Don't start me on Hynes, has no more given his all.

23/05/2010, 9:21 AM
Come off it!
Don't start me on Hynes, has no more given his all.

Hynes is possibly one of our worst striker ever. Hes tries to be so berbatov like with little lazzy flicks and trying to pull off these tricks........... HYNES YOUR WELL OVER 6 FOOT AND A BEAST OF A MAN USE YOUR STRENGTH OR GET LOST.

He was delighted to go off VS Monaghan I seen it for myself because he gave a quick smile to himself when he came towards the dugout and did you see him carring his leg around as if he had been hit by a car what a waste of space.

As bad a Darren Mckenna was he scored goals.

The Insider
23/05/2010, 10:04 AM
Hynes makes McKenna look world class, the one thing about Darren was that he would try,although not the most mobile. Hynes doesnt seem to give a damn at all, no club that he has been with before have glowing words of praise for him either. What Shels and Derry fans have said about him is not repeatable. I know strikers struggle but this guy is not even bothering to try. A lot like some of the other players..

23/05/2010, 10:13 AM
Hynes makes McKenna look world class, the one thing about Darren was that he would try,although not the most mobile. Hynes doesnt seem to give a damn at all, no club that he has been with before have glowing words of praise for him either. What Shels and Derry fans have said about him is not repeatable. I know strikers struggle but this guy is not even bothering to try. A lot like some of the other players..

like i said at least Mckenna scored , top scorer for us one season. But the one thing that really enoyed me at Mckenna was when ever he headed the ball into the air he would spin around in circles not knowing where it was , oh god that really annoys me such bad awareness but lets not turn this into a conversation about mckenna.

The Insider
23/05/2010, 10:55 AM
You brought his name up :) Doesnt matter if he did ballet on the pitch he scored goals and put in more of an effort than Hynes. To think fans thought himself and Glynn would click, Ive never seen a strike force not working together like those two and even himself and Freeman.

23/05/2010, 12:35 PM
We need a goal scorer what about that mcgee lad thats just been released by athlone he grabbed 12 goals last season.

23/05/2010, 6:46 PM
McKenna was a lazy ****er as well, dunno where ye are getting this idea about him working hard. I could be wrong but I think Hynes is our top scorer this season. He's one of the players least deserving of criticism in my opinion.

23/05/2010, 7:09 PM
McKenna was a lazy ****er as well, dunno where ye are getting this idea about him working hard. I could be wrong but I think Hynes is our top scorer this season. He's one of the players least deserving of criticism in my opinion.

Are you serious he deserves every bit of criticism he gets he doesn't give a damn about the club once he dose enough to get by and get paid hes happy.

23/05/2010, 8:20 PM
He might not exactly burst his balls, but who has this season? John Lester is about the only one I've seen give 100% every game. As I said, I still think there's other players more deserving of criticism than Hynes.

The Insider
23/05/2010, 9:14 PM
League goals hes level with defender Chris Deans on 3. He scored in the Leinster Senior Cup as well.. Kieran from talking to Athlone lads Noel McGee is a cracking player but his attitude stinks. Btw Frank have you started a thread on your own forum about Place resigning yet?
I've missed one game, that was Finn Harps (need to earn a wage) and Lester has been very hit and miss. Last few games apart from Waterford he has been poor, heard he was bad in Finn Pk. The way things are at the mo there are very few that have really impressed week in week out. Can pick the ones out that are either not up to it or just picking up a wage. One of the supporters said Fri night that they should be paid by performance..

23/05/2010, 10:10 PM
We need a goal scorer what about that mcgee lad thats just been released by athlone he grabbed 12 goals last season.

I could never see Noelly crossing over to ye! (famous last words!!)

23/05/2010, 10:34 PM
I could never see Noelly crossing over to ye! (famous last words!!)

many have done it and you never thought they would eg. colm jinks so id be careful with statements like that they can easily blow up in your face.

Town Legend
23/05/2010, 11:10 PM

In a previous post when I mentioned McGee as a possible signing you weren't too gone on him! What has he done to change your mind on thinking he'd a be a possible addition?

howsyourtouch
23/05/2010, 11:57 PM
god noel mcgee has some attitude...played against him a few times when he would be sent down to the under 21s and him and the manager would spend more tie shouting at each other...

24/05/2010, 7:27 AM
many have done it and you never thought they would eg. colm jinks so id be careful with statements like that they can easily blow up in your face.

You dont know Noelly so ;)

24/05/2010, 10:27 AM
In a previous post when I mentioned McGee as a possible signing you weren't too gone on him! What has he done to change your mind on thinking he'd a be a possible addition?

Ah no im still not sure just asking what do ye make of him but if his attitude is as bad as every one says then he may stay away we have enough players like that already.