View Full Version : Tonight's Latest - 21/5/10 - Also Details on TV Coverage
CSFShels
21/05/2010, 10:41 PM
Fair play to Wexford tonight, weren't much use at all, but managed to grind out a win with hard work. Fans as alway got behind their team well, although they're a tad bit mental. I do feel obliged to point out though that the chap from London (well he sounds like he is, correct me if I'm wrong), has to be the most disgusting person I've ever had to listen to at a football game. Sexist, racist pig.
21/05/2010, 10:56 PM
Peter Cherrie.
That is all.
PartySaint
21/05/2010, 11:45 PM
Great win tonight but soured by the horrible tackle on Gareth Coughlan, All my best to Gareth hope to see you in a Saints jersey soon
danthesaint
22/05/2010, 2:35 AM
Doesn't the fact that the ref saw and dealt with it mean no further action will be taken?
yeah i heard too tonight, if he was booked nothing else can happen, which is down to poor refereeing and poor rules
Is tonight the night Pats fans are thinking maybe just maybe ?
nah bohs to still win the league imo
tonights game, good start by bohs, due to a fault of our keeper
quigo tackle altho disgraceful its not quigo imo, he isnt the typo of player
stuey byrne goal was a cracker
jason byrne, heary, and anto murphy the amount of bitching and moaning they do in a footie match is unreal
im discussed with anto murphy and brian murphy for telling bermo and couglan to get up even tho they were genuinely injured. what a disgrace they are.
Ciaran W
22/05/2010, 2:43 AM
First half was pretty boring tonight. . Second half was brilliant though :D fingal well deserved there point but it was disappointing not to hold onto the lead
Jicked
22/05/2010, 2:45 AM
we were f*cking atrocious. Missing a few players through injuries and suspension but nowhere near good enough. Heres hoping Nutsy sorts it out but i think the league is down to Pats and Dundalk. Rovers and ourselves have gone backwards, i just hope we can sneak third.
Jesus that's cringeworthy. You hope you can "sneak third"? Fecking hell.
You're the two time champions but pretending to throw the towel in already. Rovers are what two points off the top? Both Rovers and Bohs are up against pats/dundalk who have never been in a title race, and have much smaller squads, but we're all expected to listen to your rubbish about it being a two horse race less than half way through?? I'd imagine the vast majority of people here can see that you don't actually expect Bohs to be in a battle for 3rd, and are just talking sh*te in the hope you can turn around later in the season and say "you all wrote Bohs off" and things like that.
Like I said, it really is cringeworthy, like your statement earlier that the tackle on Coughlan wasn't as bad as was being made out.
Lamper.sffc
22/05/2010, 2:55 AM
First half was pretty boring tonight. . Second half was brilliant though :D fingal well deserved there point but it was disappointing not to hold onto the lead
What a great second half. Was just a great display from both teams. End to end stuff. I have to say that that was the best game iv been to so far this season. How it didnt finish 4-4 ill never know. Fair play to the Shamrock rovers fans, in the second half they really spured their team on, never stopped singing. Really made for a great atmosphere. Still unbeaten against Rovers and in Tallaght :)
danthesaint
22/05/2010, 2:55 AM
bohs 2 games in hand are against bray, i reckon 6 pts, if they win and us and rovers lose/draw in ours its still all to play for.
Jesus that's cringeworthy. You hope you can "sneak third"? Fecking hell.
You're the two time champions but pretending to throw the towel in already. Rovers are what two points off the top? Both Rovers and Bohs are up against pats/dundalk who have never been in a title race, and have much smaller squads, but we're all expected to listen to your rubbish about it being a two horse race less than half way through?? I'd imagine the vast majority of people here can see that you don't actually expect Bohs to be in a battle for 3rd, and are just talking sh*te in the hope you can turn around later in the season and say "you all wrote Bohs off" and things like that..
Ah relax FFS. Am i not entitled to express an opinion? I thought we were terrible and all i said is i think the league is down to Pats and Dundalk. I said the same thing on the Bohs mb FFS. The way we played tonight (and not just tonight) was not good enough for a team that wants to be champions. If you disagree and still think we'll win the league then good for you. I hope we do. Either way stop worrying and cringing about what i am posting here and stop trying to insinuate that i am not genuinely disillusioned with our performance and title hopes.
Like I said, it really is cringeworthy, like your statement earlier that the tackle on Coughlan wasn't as bad as was being made out.
Where did i say that here? I said it on the Bohs mb after i had seen it once and the stream i was watching it on wasnt great plus i was at work. Either way I took it back after i had seen a few replays. My only statement here was that i didnt think it was too bad at first but it got worse the more i saw it. No inconsistencies here im afraid. Is that a problem for you too? You need to stop cringing all the time over nothing. Stop getting your knickers in a twist and stop tryig to pick arguments with me.
Dalymountrower
22/05/2010, 9:39 AM
Great win tonight but soured by the horrible tackle on Gareth Coughlan, All my best to Gareth hope to see you in a Saints jersey soon
Yep best wishes to him, any Bohs fans I`ve spoken to were disgusted by the tackle.
Beaten 3-1 by Pats in Inchicore last year too. Wouldn`t begrudge Pats or Dundalk a title but would still feel that the clubs with the biggest, most experienced ,squads will tell in the end. Bohs and Rovers ( and possibly Sligo when the get their act together) would stil be favourites imo.
Wouldn`t begrudge Pats or Dundalk a title but would still feel that the clubs with the biggest, most experienced ,squads will tell in the end. Bohs and Rovers ( and possibly Sligo when the get their act together) would stil be favourites imo.
Pats and Dundalk maybe have a slight chance if they can keep the runs going and maybe add a bit of quality in July(a striker in our case) Sligo IMO have absolutely no chance of winning the league...will be a great achievement if they can finish in top 4 from thier current standing.I think they are the most overrated team in the league,Pats and Fingal way better(just my opinion)
Rasputin
22/05/2010, 10:23 AM
Sligo IMO have absolutely no chance of winning the league...will be a great achievement if they can finish in top 4 from thier current standing.I think they are the most overrated team in the league,Pats and Fingal way better(just my opinion)
The way we are now in the league we really dont have a hope in hell of winning or challenging for the league.
Its a shame because if you look at our team on paper we should be up there without a shadow of a doubt.
But in reality the team hasnt clicked or built up any form of consistancey or any real sign of a game plan.
We have one of the best squads in the country but one of the most over rated managers in the country also.
Nice guy but utterly clueless when put up in comparison to a tactically savy manager like Fenlon.
hoopy
22/05/2010, 10:24 AM
What a great second half. Was just a great display from both teams. End to end stuff. I have to say that that was the best game iv been to so far this season. How it didnt finish 4-4 ill never know. Fair play to the Shamrock rovers fans, in the second half they really spured their team on, never stopped singing. Really made for a great atmosphere. Still unbeaten against Rovers and in Tallaght :)
I'd say at this moment in time Fingal have the best right side in the league, certainly the best I've seen this season. It's not often that Danny Murphy gets totally destroyed. Great saves by both keepers as well. Dissappointed with conceding but it would've been a travesty had Fingal lost the game. As for Quigley, it's no secret he wants out've Bohs already 'training's too hard'(you couldn't make it up), so it'll be interesting how Nutsy deals with it.
22/05/2010, 10:33 AM
I'd say at this moment in time Fingal have the best right side in the league, certainly the best I've seen this season. It's not often that Danny Murphy gets totally destroyed. Great saves by both keepers as well. Dissappointed with conceding but it would've been a travesty had Fingal lost the game. As for Quigley, it's no secret he wants out've Bohs already 'training's too hard'(you couldn't make it up), so it'll be interesting how Nutsy deals with it.
I thought Danny Murphy did pretty well, can only think of him being beaten badly once and he got away with pulling the man down. It was an excellent game of football, Rovers could have been 2 up in the first 10 minutes, after that Fingal probably had the better of the first half and the second half was very open. Mannus pulled off 2 of the best point blank saves I've ever seen live, it was a pity he made a couple of errors on crosses and one of them cost the equaliser.
Ciaran W
22/05/2010, 10:47 AM
When we playaed fingal in the cup last season it was a great match so il be lookin forward to playing them again :D the hooperman and fingal fox fight was a good laugh too Haha.
Lamper.sffc
22/05/2010, 11:41 AM
When we playaed fingal in the cup last season it was a great match so il be lookin forward to playing them again :D the hooperman and fingal fox fight was a good laugh too Haha.
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055917130&page=2
Post 24:(
I think freddie took a dive though:D
Ciaran W
22/05/2010, 12:01 PM
Is fingal's number 10 alan kirby ? He had a stormer and so did number 7
Doomofman
22/05/2010, 12:03 PM
How are people saying Quigley isn't that type of player... He just proved he is ffs... That would be like someone murdering someone, but it's ok because he doesn't usually murder people...
22/05/2010, 12:06 PM
http://vimeo.com/11936361
Highlights of Dundalk V Sligo
Lamper.sffc
22/05/2010, 12:41 PM
Is fingal's number 10 alan kirby ? He had a stormer and so did number 7
Yep. Last season's fans player of the year. He is our Paul Scholes.;)
7 was Conan Byrne. That was one of his better perormances this season. Starting to get back to his best.
danthesaint
22/05/2010, 1:08 PM
How are people saying Quigley isn't that type of player... He just proved he is ffs... That would be like someone murdering someone, but it's ok because he doesn't usually murder people...
when can you remember him putting in a tackle like that before??
Doomofman
22/05/2010, 1:16 PM
It doesn't matter if he hasn't done it before... I'll go back to my murder analogy... If a person murders someone, but hasn't done it before... Does that mean they're not a murderer? NO.... So use the same logic with Quigley... He showed he's a scumbag by putting in a malicious, leg breaking tackle like that... Whether he's done it before or not...
Ciaran W
22/05/2010, 1:25 PM
Ye kirby controlled the game. Chambers had another good performance, hes been impressive so far
danthesaint
22/05/2010, 2:20 PM
fair play to the bohs fans for the gavin out and FAIlure banner
MuckaTucka
22/05/2010, 3:21 PM
Not covered here at all, but it finished 2-2 between Galway and UCD. Cracking game; easily the best this season (maybe the opening day win in Drogheda gets the vote, but that would purely for the fun of winning 3-0). 2-2 at half time, but the second half was even better than the first, and it only finished scoreless cos of two superb keeping performances.
Thought the officials were poor; neither linesman seemed to understand the offside, and Galway's equaliser seemed to me to be straight out of the 1950s charge-the-keeper-into-the-net school. Our own equaliser was hilarious though, with Bazza slipping for a back-pass and being tackled two yards out.
Thought we maybe had more of the game - think Bazza was certainly the busier of the two keepers - but can't really argue with a draw in the end.
Good game at Terryland with good football by both sides on a shocking pitch.
I wouldn't agree with two superb keeping performances. Ryan made two good saves, but was at fault for the second goal and could've done more for the first. I thought UCD's keeper Brennan looked a bit suspect under the high ball as shown by Flood's goal amongst others.
Speaking from a Galway perspective, felt it was harsh taking McBrien off after only 30 minutes. Doesn't do much for his confidence and Creaney coming in did nothing of note. I feel we've a real problem on the left side, and look to be missing O'Brien a lot. Meynell doesn't offer the same attacking option as Conneely on the other side which means that we look pretty predictable.
To be honest it's hard to know who had more of the game, it was end to end stuff. One team attacks then the other. Good fun though.
gufc2000
22/05/2010, 3:50 PM
Mervue 1-0 Athlone FT
Curran 85'
22/05/2010, 4:32 PM
fair play to the bohs fans for the gavin out and FAIlure banner
Derry fans had a banner
"FAI Care About...
1) Money
2) Barstoolers
999) Clubs
1000) Fans"
22/05/2010, 4:43 PM
Derry fans had a banner
"FAI Care About...
1) Money
2) Barstoolers
999) Clubs
1000) Fans"
Fairplay on that, was appreciated by the massive travelling support. :D
Less appreciated were the busy ball axe of a steward that was near us and that lad "chalky" in the programme could do with having a word with himself. (your own article was decent)
Overall though, a very good trip, we were very well looked after and I hope we were watching the end of season top 2 last night. :D*
*we weren't. :o
Fester
22/05/2010, 6:39 PM
Mervue 1 - 0 Athone FT
Gareth
22/05/2010, 9:55 PM
If you check out the photo sequence captured by Declan Furey, you'll get to see Barry Ryan's slip up!!
http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/12012/2/
Derry fans had a banner
"FAI Care About...
1) Money
2) Barstoolers
999) Clubs
1000) Fans"
Jeez, if it wasn't for Delaney ye wouldn't be in the league. That's gratitude for you.
23/05/2010, 8:03 AM
He showed he's a scumbag by putting in a malicious, leg breaking tackle like that... Whether he's done it before or not...
But the fact that he'd never made a horrible tackle like that until Friday before meant he was not a scumbag? He became a scumbag when he made that tackle?
Yes. If that was the case
(although I've seen him do a couple of shocking lunges before when he's been frustrated)
for the record I don't believe it was malicious. He had no reason to feel malice towards Coughlan
23/05/2010, 9:52 AM
Jeez, if it wasn't for Delaney ye wouldn't be in the league. That's gratitude for you.
What worse than being talked about? Not being talked about.
PartySaint
23/05/2010, 10:15 AM
Mad to see people tipping us for the league, Squad is too small, Europe is still the aim
23/05/2010, 6:54 PM
Good game at Terryland with good football by both sides on a shocking pitch.
I wouldn't agree with two superb keeping performances. Ryan made two good saves, but was at fault for the second goal and could've done more for the first. I thought UCD's keeper Brennan looked a bit suspect under the high ball as shown by Flood's goal amongst others.
I meant the good keeping peformances in the second half.
Thought the pitch looked horrendous but played fairly well.
Headed out to the Mervue-Athlone game on Saturday too. Athlone were appalling in the first half; I've never seen a team with so little interest in attacking. They improved a lot in the second and had a shot off the line in injury time, but still a deserved win for Mervue. Looks like a similar season to last season for them.
24/05/2010, 12:25 PM
Cracker of a game in Waterford Friday. Our best performance by a distance. Continued from our second half against Derry and played them off the park. Absolutely gutted we didnt get the wiinner, we'd enough chances to win 4 games. Unfortunately we just can't seem to put them away.Waterford created nothing at all, very surprised.
The difference from the game earlier in the season, where they hammered us, was astounding. I don't know if they were just poorer on the night or if that's how they are playing regularly at the moment but expected more.
Good atmosphere too and as an added bonus George was useless and got subbed.
If we can hold this form we'l do well. I worry that we seem to up it for the bigger teams though, hopefully we can carry it through to the next few games
blue til i die
24/05/2010, 12:57 PM
Cracker of a game in Waterford Friday. Our best performance by a distance. Continued from our second half against Derry and played them off the park. Absolutely gutted we didnt get the wiinner, we'd enough chances to win 4 games. Unfortunately we just can't seem to put them away.Waterford created nothing at all, very surprised.
The difference from the game earlier in the season, where they hammered us, was astounding. I don't know if they were just poorer on the night or if that's how they are playing regularly at the moment but expected more.
Good atmosphere too and as an added bonus George was useless and got subbed.
If we can hold this form we'l do well. I worry that we seem to up it for the bigger teams though, hopefully we can carry it through to the next few games
First half was good, second half wasnt great. City definately should have won, we created very little, not a great performance. The early sub killed us, losing our most creative players, and having to change everything around didnt help.
Didnt think the disallowed goal was offside and was equally happy to see georgie taken off. Injuries are killing us at the moment but hopefully should clear up soon. Cummins had a good game too.....want to swap for georgie? :D
First half was good, second half wasnt great. City definately should have won, we created very little, not a great performance. The early sub killed us, losing our most creative players, and having to change everything around didnt help.
Didnt think the disallowed goal was offside and was equally happy to see georgie taken off. Injuries are killing us at the moment but hopefully should clear up soon. Cummins had a good game too.....want to swap for georgie? :D
Yeah, I was completely baffled by that offside call, but the officials were appalling in general.
Cummins is simply outstanding, his work rate has been incredible all season. Absolutely delighted we got him and wont be letting him go easy. What's that for ye now, 1 in 4 since George signed :D
24/05/2010, 2:44 PM
Mr A what you got to remember is that Derry will bring more fans than any other team to the first division this year, and has been previously posted playing Harps is the easiest ç9 points a year for us, when was the last time you beat Derry still waiting waiting waiting ?.????????????????True as all that might be, whats that got to do with Mr A's point though?
In reference to the original point, the FAI applied sanctions that were harsher than ever meted out previously, and then fudged their own process to get us back in. So I'd call it all square. That said, I'd personally prefer if our fans waited a few seasons before preaching from the rooftoops about fairness, particularly given so many of them refused to have a bad word said against our old board right to the bitter end.
In terms of the banner, the FAI might put money first, but the Vantage Club, George the Greek, Eircom Park and countless other boo-boos would indicate that they rarely deliver.
The FAI's 'punishments' were actually probably doing you a favour as the end was nigh for Wellvan anyway. It may saved you a Cork type situation of a long slow demise.
Anyhoo the point is- people may say that Delaney and the FAI don't give a toss about the league- but what happened with Wellvan proves they certainly do as they bent over backwards to keep senior football in Derry. You can argue the rights and wrongs of what happened and how it was done, but they certainly showed an interest.
saint dog
24/05/2010, 4:51 PM
Both Rovers and Bohs are up against pats/dundalk who have never been in a title race, .
how the hell did you work that out
WoodquayBoy
24/05/2010, 11:31 PM
Galway's equaliser seemed to me to be straight out of the 1950s charge-the-keeper-into-the-net school.
or, having watched it again on MNS, straight out of the 1950s keeper-can't-catch-the-ball school. Not a hand laid on him, no complaints from him or the defenders. Just poor keeping, Then again, considering the equaliser ye got, I'm in no position to mock the display of a goalkeeper. And the peno was very harsh.
As for, to quote Pat Fenlon, "the incident", it was disgraceful and how Hancock missed the seriousness of it I have no idea. Then again, Padraig Sutton missed a headbutt about 1 foot from where he was standing in the Bray-Drogs match, sums up refereeing standars in the league really. Back to Quigley, also think his challenge on Kenna was shocking. I don;t know many players who jump from a standing position and bend their leg 90 degrees behind them. He had to know Kenna was there, he had to know what he was doing . . . .
And finally, the First Division gets poor enough coverage, but to not even mention the scores this week was poor form
25/05/2010, 1:04 AM
That said, I'd personally prefer if our fans waited a few seasons before preaching
You need to find a new club to support. :)
Anyhoo the point is- people may say that Delaney and the FAI don't give a toss about the league- but what happened with Wellvan proves they certainly do as they bent over backwards to keep senior football in Derry.
Fudging the Derry situation is not the same as giving a toss about the league though :confused:
As for, to quote Pat Fenlon, "the incident", it was disgraceful and how Hancock missed the seriousness of it I have no idea.
Great picture by the |Pats photographer. Absolutely NO WAY that hancock didn't see the challenge
http://i920.photobucket.com/albums/ad49/stpatsimages2/PatsvBohsmay2010081.jpg
He was probably blinded by those awful, awful boots.
danthesaint
25/05/2010, 9:59 AM
He was probably blinded by those awful, awful boots.
who's quigo's or coughlans?? :)
25/05/2010, 10:03 AM
who's quigo's or coughlans?? :)
Im guessing both as both are the same boots. :P
danthesaint
25/05/2010, 10:07 AM
Im guessing both as both are the same boots. :P
i know, was messing, maybe thats the reason behind the tackle
Jicked
25/05/2010, 10:08 AM
[/B]
how the hell did you work that out
How do you think I worked it out? Neither the Pats or Dundalk squad or management have been in a title race before, Bohs have been in several and Rovers will have learnt a lot from last year's title race.
That experience and the much bigger and better squads at Bohs and Rovers mean they've still got to be the two favourites for me since we're not even at the halfway stage.