View Full Version : FAI Cup 2010
18/05/2010, 10:17 AM
Home draw against either Tolka Rovers or Tralee Dynamos.
Guaranteed progress to next round which offsets the lack of attraction to the tie, which will have bugger all of an attendance.
Hopefully a nice draw at home to Rovers in the next round...:ball:
18/05/2010, 10:24 AM
Glenville v Bohs
Dublin Bus v Shels
Drogheda v UCD
Cork City v Bluebell
Longford v Waterford
Limerick v Tolka Rovers or Tralee
Galway v Malahide
Shamrock Rovers v Wexford
Derry v Bray
Tullamore v Salthill
Finn Harps v Crumlin/Bonagee
FC Carlow v Monaghan
Dundalk v St Pats
Belgrove v Avondale
Sporting v Mervue
Sligo v Athlone
I suppose Dundalk v Pats is the tie of the round. I think the last 16 will be:
Bohs, Shels, UCD, Cork, Waterford, Limerick, Galway United, Shamrock Rovers, Derry, Tullamore, Harps, Monaghan, Dundalk, Belgrove, Fingal and Sligo.
Tullamore to be my shock result of the round...theres always one isn't there...
18/05/2010, 11:16 AM
Are Tolka Rovers the crowd that were knocking out all round them last year??
Also Rovers away would be far nicer. Shamrock Rovers in Jackman Park = Not Good.
18/05/2010, 11:26 AM
Are Tolka Rovers the crowd that were knocking out all round them last year??
Also Rovers away would be far nicer. Shamrock Rovers in Jackman Park = Not Good.
No, you're getting them mixed up with Crumlin United, who KO'd Shels, and drew with Waterford before losing a replay to them.
Don't agree with you about Rovers away-I believe you'd put near on 2,000 in the Jacks for that one, and have a realistic chance of putting on over on them at home. Let the Gardai do what they're paid to do and all would be fine.
18/05/2010, 11:30 AM
Let the Gardai do what they're paid to do and all would be fine.
Paid by the club to do if they're inside the ground though!!
2000 people at Limerick Rovers in Jackman would either be carnage or cost the club money. I know it happened in 2001 without a hassle but that was in the pre Green Street era and was on Wednesday at 2 o'clock which also dilluted the scum somewhat.
18/05/2010, 11:39 AM
Days like that are what the club must aspire to though (that, and friendlies against Catalonian Giants), and be able to manage. I think that in general Rovers fans are a grand bunch and shur I might even go to that game myself if it came off... ;)
Inside the ground would be fine. I'd be pretty confident of that. Outside, as I said would be a job for the well paid boys from Henry Street.
Monkfish
18/05/2010, 2:44 PM
Guaranteed progress to next round
I think not, its a no win situation for the team and given a bad day who knows? we scraped a last minute winner against a Cobh team held together with bluetack a few weeks back.