View Full Version : Bray v Drogheda

BrayUnknowns
17/05/2010, 11:43 AM
Friday nights clash against Drogheda really is do or die for the club. We lose and we get cut adrift at the bottom, we win and we ahead of Drogheda on goal difference.

The summer break is only around the corner and we need to pick up points before it. If we could then manage to recruit a few players during the break, regroup we will give ourselves a bit more of a chance of finishing 9th or 8th at a real push.

Strangely enough, both clubs are coming into this on the back of 6-0 defeats, it will be interesting to see how both sides react.

rocket
17/05/2010, 12:12 PM
we were beat yesterday 2-1 by wayside celtic in a friendly game

naoise kennedy
17/05/2010, 12:22 PM
we were beat yesterday 2-1 by wayside celtic in a friendly game
Any info on team and performance etc.

rocket
17/05/2010, 12:39 PM
good few reserve team players got a bit of a run out.we wernt great first half ,second half bit of an improvement but overall not good enough.main highlight was Shane O'Neills goal who took it brilliantly

SupaJon
17/05/2010, 1:19 PM
Right!

This is it.

Our first home points of the season next Friday.

18/05/2010, 2:55 PM
Well Matthews stood down as their manager last night so the club is very much in turmoil at present. Hard to know if this will galvinise the players or if they will totally fall apart. Roll on Friday, really looking forward to this one.

Captain2007
18/05/2010, 4:20 PM
Don't now if their turmoil is any worse than ours Roo, at least Alan Matthews did the honourable thing and stepped down and will give the new manager time and a chance to try and save their season......hopefully it won't galvinise them until after friday.

notever
19/05/2010, 7:59 PM
Lets not worry about them.Let them worry about us.Come on you seagulls give us the three points and put a smile on a few faces............ come on you boys in green.We need the supporters to do their part and r o a r the team to a convincing victory come on e v e r y b o d y.........

Bry Boy
19/05/2010, 9:22 PM
I know everybody here says for the fans to get behind the club,but they cant get behind the club if their geting banned.
Its a joke you reverse this game back 2 years ago and i would say are fans would of filled the green stand,not taking it out on any of the fans here.
its just only gona get worse with the way the club are going and I would say it could be another very very poor crowd this week.

20/05/2010, 8:42 AM
It's not looking good at present...

Bray Wanderers will definitely have six missing for the game against Drogheda Utd. while four others are on the doubtful list. Richie Baker (back), Stephen Brennan (hamstring), David Tyrrell(ankle), David O'Neill (groin), Dean Zambra (knee) and Mark O'Brien (suspended) are definite non starters while late fitness tests will decide on the availability of Robbie Doyle(ankle), Jake Kelly(ankle), Chris Shield (ankle) and John Mulroy (calf).

Speaking yesterday Manager Eddie Gormley said the defeat by U.C.D. was disappointing and that he was now focused on going forward starting with Drogheda.He said "The two of us are scrapping it out at the bottom and its going to be tough and close. The players have worked hard in the week we had free and we are all focused on getting a result on Friday night".

From Bray Wandererse.ie

BrayUnknowns
21/05/2010, 9:53 AM
With an injury list that length, tonight is going to be a big ask. Come on the Wanderers ! do us proud lads

21/05/2010, 1:38 PM
Eat them alive lads!!

BobtheDrog
21/05/2010, 5:51 PM
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/drogs-live

Live audio commentary of tonights match

naoise kennedy
21/05/2010, 9:47 PM
I'm not being bitter, fair play to drogheda they came back for the draw, we should have finished the game.. but .. that ref was a disgrace.. none of tonight's cards should have been given..

Every tackle a bray player made he gave a card but how did he miss at least two elbows to massey's and webby's face and then he had to speak to both linesmen and the fourth official before he sent off that drogheda player, not to mention there big centre half that elbowed webby off the ball..

Yet again robbie and shane ran there socks off, when robbie went wide right his presents was clearly missed up front,, again i have issues with players in the middle that where pushed of the ball too easily but we were short players so i can't complain too much..

A point is a point, we should have had all three but all is not bad...

Hulsey
21/05/2010, 10:12 PM
Absolutely shafted

21/05/2010, 10:17 PM
Can't help but think Shane O Connors sending off has all but ruled out Bray finishing above Drogs.... Many may say way to early but that is a significant point in this season and Bray should have been home and dry!!

rocket
22/05/2010, 10:13 AM
Absolutely shafted
Some really poor decisions robbed us of all 3 points last night, but you cant say the lads didnt give it everything, at 2 0 i tought we were going to go on and get another couple, if we can keep playing with that commitment we will pick up points. Gutted for eddie and the lads.

22/05/2010, 11:48 AM
Last night's preformance by the officials was IMO as bad as the one all those years ago agaist Dublin City when they shafted us out of a place in the Premier. They were just absolutely ****ing terrible. I'm dumbfounded about the amount of decisions they got wrong and kept getting wrong all night. The sad thing is that nothing at all will be done about it.

- Stone wall peno not given of Kenderick blocking the ball with both hands in the box.
- Robbie goal given offside when he was 5 yards onside to make it 3-0.
- Neither of O'Connor's tackles warented a yellow card
- Daz's tackle didn't warrent a yellow card
- Not one Drogheda player appealed for their "peno"
- Elbow to Webby's face missed by all 4 officials.
- Jamie Harris absolutely smashes Massey with an elbow and then stands on him, missed by all four officials again. 4th Official calls the ref over and sends Longer off
- Duffy gets sent off for an elbow but is in the first place missed by the ref and little fat fran the lino who are no more than 10/15 yards away from it, 4th official calls the ref over., nothing appens, the lino 60 yards away then has to make the decision for the ref to send Duffy off.

We were so comfortable last night, played really well and were 2 up unti the ref decided. to step in and do what he did. Absolutely raging about it :mad:

ndrog
22/05/2010, 4:21 PM
That last post is laughable lads . You were by no means comfortable last night , you scored a goal totally against the run of play ! I could make a list like the last post about various bad tackles made by bray players that went unpunished , you could and should have finished the game with 9 men .We deservedly got a draw and should have won the game .Harris scored a perfect goal that was ruled out . In saying that we are terrible defensively and another team would have punished us badly . The only reason we have a chance of staying up is because bray are worse than we are , we need to get rid of the deadwood during the window and bring in a centre half .Do you want to sign jamie harris by any chance ?

The Fox
22/05/2010, 6:49 PM
Well ndrog, you obviously were not at the same game that I was at.
"Bray are worse than Drogheda ????????????????????"
I am looking forward to MNS this week.

Your defence is poor by your own admission. As for your attack - the quickest i saw Glen Fitzpatrick move all night was to try to get Chris Shields sent off for a tackle that wasnt even a foul. As for John Flood and Jamie Duffy - offered no threat all night.
You scored one good goal from midfield and its hard to remember another chance. The Ref gifted you a penalty and that is the only reason that you got a point - cant see how you deserved to win. Maybe you werent at the return fixture earlier in the year - you didnt get out of your half for the whole second half - we had 2 incorrectly disallowed goals.
I am trying to remember which other Bray player might deserve to get sent off - cant I'm afraid. I am guessing that you were 100 yards approx away from all 3 elbowing incidents. - all three could have been red - Harris was by far the worst.
Roll on MNS.

22/05/2010, 7:46 PM
ndrog, I don't know how you feel Drogheda were better than us on the night. For most of the second half we looked more likely to score despite only having ten men. We were comfortable up until that great strike that got ye back in the game.

naoise kennedy
22/05/2010, 8:23 PM
http://www.braywanderers.ie/typo3temp/pics/86824b27fa.jpg (http://www.braywanderers.ie/index.php?eID=tx_cms_showpic&file=uploads%2Fpics%2FDrogs24-Massey.jpg&width=800m&height=600m&bodyTag=%3Cbody%20bgcolor%3D%22black%22%3E&wrap=%3Ca%20href%3D%22javascript%3Aclose%28%29%3B% 22%3E%20%7C%20%3C%2Fa%3E&md5=72f2ed678149e7c1bfc73b23e4a917b3)
http://www.braywanderers.ie/clear.gif
Dane Massey
http://www.braywanderers.ie/clear.gif
Spot the elbow ref.......

rocket
22/05/2010, 8:46 PM
That last post is laughable lads . You were by no means comfortable last night , you scored a goal totally against the run of play ! I could make a list like the last post about various bad tackles made by bray players that went unpunished , you could and should have finished the game with 9 men .We deservedly got a draw and should have won the game .Harris scored a perfect goal that was ruled out . In saying that we are terrible defensively and another team would have punished us badly . The only reason we have a chance of staying up is because bray are worse than we are , we need to get rid of the deadwood during the window and bring in a centre half .Do you want to sign jamie harris by any chance ?
nICE TO SEE THE REF WASNT THE ONLY PERSON IN BRAY LAST NIGHT WITH HIS EYES CLOSED. YOU MUST HAVE BEEN SNOOZING 4 THE WHOLE OF THE SECOND HALF PAL

ndrog
22/05/2010, 8:47 PM
Well ndrog, you obviously were not at the same game that I was at.
"Bray are worse than Drogheda ????????????????????"
I am looking forward to MNS this week.

Your defence is poor by your own admission. As for your attack - the quickest i saw Glen Fitzpatrick move all night was to try to get Chris Shields sent off for a tackle that wasnt even a foul. As for John Flood and Jamie Duffy - offered no threat all night.
You scored one good goal from midfield and its hard to remember another chance. The Ref gifted you a penalty and that is the only reason that you got a point - cant see how you deserved to win. Maybe you werent at the return fixture earlier in the year - you didnt get out of your half for the whole second half - we had 2 incorrectly disallowed goals.
I am trying to remember which other Bray player might deserve to get sent off - cant I'm afraid. I am guessing that you were 100 yards approx away from all 3 elbowing incidents. - all three could have been red - Harris was by far the worst.
Roll on MNS.

As usual we are going to disagree completely on who was the better team . Ryan brennan missed a total sitter in he first couple of mins and harris goal should not have been disallowed imo .I though we played the better football and had more ablility on the ball .Dont know the name of hardly any of your players thats why i didnt name them but there was a couple of on yellows that easily could of walked only for the fact you already down to ten . Some seriously bad challanges coming in from bray players went unpunished . A very entertaining game overall though and im happy with result after going 2 down .

SupaJon
24/05/2010, 9:37 AM
What was the story with the gardai hauling out that slightly overweight and shirtless Drogheda supporter in the 2nd half?

Great performance by the lads. I though Chris Shields had his best game yet.
I was sitting right in front of where Massey was elbowed by the Drogs player that went unnoticed by the lino.
He got fantastic abuse from the crowd!

The support was fantastic and you could see at the end how much the lads appreciated it.
Not impressed by the amount of elbows been thrown around by the Drogheda players though. Nasty stuff.

KK77
24/05/2010, 9:44 AM
Never thought we would win this game to be honest. People were talking before the game about Drogheda being in turmoil well hello we are in turmoil as well if anyone hasn't already noticed. To blame the officials as well is petty imo. Plenty of decesions went against Drogheda as well. Not looking good at all now not that it did beforehand. Drogheda might well benefit from Matthews doing the honourable thing and stepping down.

notever
24/05/2010, 10:01 AM
Being honest I think a draw was at the end of the day a fair result of the match. However I must say Padraig Sutton must be the worst referee I have ever seen in the L.O.I. I am not blaming him for us losing a two goal lead but he was bad for both teams .He completely lost control and it was farsical to see the way he ran from one side of the pitch to the other blowing loudly on his whstle before he sent off a player he originally didn't see fit to even book.... laughable is what it was.And if I ever encounter that refereee again it will be too soon. I think he is from Clare,he should go back there and stay there because he is not good enough for the Premier Division...Pat Kelly and Co. please note.I can't wait to see M .N.S. to-night I just hope they show the was he ran around the pitch like a headless chicken before he sent off the Drogheda player.

Hulsey
24/05/2010, 10:32 AM

Could have won the game? Without the "ref" you wouldn't have even got a draw. Was clear that he didn't want us to win with his disgusting award of that "penalty". Thats 4 points we've had stolen from us againat you lot due to incompetatnt officials this year (2 goals ruled out in the away game). And yes Harris had a goal ruled out but so did Robbie Doyle who was called offside on what looked like an outswinging cross that he ran onto.
And on the Harris offer, you's can keep him or do the decent thing and put him down. If an animal acted the way he did on Friday it would have been destroyed. Utter utter filth

ndrog
24/05/2010, 9:33 PM
Jesus man will you keep your conspiracy crap to yourself . Do you think for one second Dufc gets decisions given to us over any club especially Bray . Disguisting penalty ? Ha ha i hope you watched mns .Clear cut as can be my friend ..

Hulsey
25/05/2010, 12:09 AM
Where did I say that theres a conspiracy against Bray to help Drogheda? Just said the ref looked like he didn't want us to win which is my opinion of Friday. Did indeed watch it and it you thought that was clear cut you should get your eyes tested the arms were down by his side very very harsh penalty to be given against a side