View Full Version : EA Sports Cup Tuesday 11th: Cork City

09/05/2010, 10:56 PM
Many going to head down to this? Its a week day but handy trip all the same. If Bolands injury isn't too bad it would be nice to see how he gets on against one of the supposed better teams in this division. Nice to see Robbie get a start in this too.

Going to go for Cork 0-1 Limerick.

10/05/2010, 9:05 AM
Hope to see a crowd down, can't see there being too many coming out from here.

Will ye play ye're strongest team? Dunne has said we'l start some fringe players, small squad and a lot of games lately. Be good to see if some of the younger lads are up to it.

Hopefully a good game anyway!

KevB76
10/05/2010, 12:38 PM
I have horrible memories of my last trip to Turners Cross (I think that was a League Cup match as well).
We played a 6-4-0 formation and still lost 3 nil despite a heroic performance form Jimmy Fyffe.
At least there was only about 160 people to witness it.

I'm looking forward to it this time round though.

10/05/2010, 12:40 PM
I have horrible memories of my last trip to Turners Cross (I think that was a League Cup match as well).
We played a 6-4-0 formation and still lost 3 nil despite a heroic performance form Jimmy Fyffe.
At least there was only about 160 people to witness it.

I'm looking forward to it this time round though.
292 actually :D Was on the same night as the CL semi final. Hopefully we can beat that by a few hundred this time. And hopefully the same score!

KevB76
10/05/2010, 12:43 PM
You already embarrassed us at home, I cant see Scully allowing that to happen again. I'm predicting a 2 nil win for the Super Blues !

bluewhitearmy
10/05/2010, 1:22 PM
Hope to see a crowd down, can't see there being too many coming out from here.

Will ye play ye're strongest team? Dunne has said we'l start some fringe players, small squad and a lot of games lately. Be good to see if some of the younger lads are up to it.

Hopefully a good game anyway!

Scully named 6 or 7 that won't be playing so a reserve team id say.

bluewhitearmy
11/05/2010, 7:59 PM
2 nil up at the moment Purcell and Kelliher.

Boroman
11/05/2010, 8:35 PM
3 nil now kavanagh.looks like its nearly over brillint result well done limerick

limunlim
11/05/2010, 9:28 PM
This was a very good win. i hope it will give a bit of confidence for when we go down in a few weeks, although that will be a different kettle of cats

11/05/2010, 10:47 PM
Ya great result and performance tonight. Kelleher and Kavanagh hassled the Cork back four all the first half as they seemed to try play it out from the back every chance they got. Good header across the box that looped in for Purcell. Kellehers goal was some lovely link up play between himself and Kavanagh which he finished very well into the corner of the net. Cork made a few subs at the start of the second half and started to cause a bit more trouble with Limerick catching them on the break. Thought Kavanagh had messed up by not slotting the ball through for Kelly but he finished very well with a placed shot from outside the box which caught Devine flat footed. McGrath impressed me with a few nice touches when he came on.

Ryan, Kelly, Clinton, Purcell, Roche, Hughes, Balogh, Lyons, Judge, Kelleher, Kavanagh.

Subs Used: Tracey, White, McGrath.

11/05/2010, 11:21 PM
Great performance. Robbie and Kav were different class.

The defence looked solid too in the 2nd half when pressed although Dave Ryan had hardly a save to make.

Robbie's goal was sublime. Any idea where the highlights will be shown? There appeared to be a camera there.

Monkfish
12/05/2010, 9:48 AM
Robbie surely looking good to start Friday? was fantastic, whole team had a good night in fairness.
Fine attendance too it has to be said, credit to Cork there.

harpin
12/05/2010, 10:06 AM
Draw for next round??

bluewhitearmy
12/05/2010, 11:05 AM
Monaghan at home in Q-Final.

12/05/2010, 11:22 AM
Very good chance of progression. Hopefully Limerick will continue their good run of form in the Cup and League. If we can make the semi-final there is no reason Limerick can't give it a good go and hopfully a cup final on the cards. I know some people will say its only the League Cup but a cup is a cup.

LK37oldskool
12/05/2010, 12:15 PM
Brillant result last night,well done to the Super Blues.Nice run going now,hopefully thay can take this good form into Friday night.Anyone heard a date for the QF?

12/05/2010, 12:28 PM
Brillant result last night,well done to the Super Blues.Nice run going now,hopefully thay can take this good form into Friday night.Anyone heard a date for the QF?

Tuesday 1st of June 7:45pm.

12/05/2010, 12:56 PM
We have the pleasure of travelling down to you on June 1st.

abbeyvale
12/05/2010, 8:34 PM
EA SPORTS CUP QUARTER-FINAL DRAW

Derry City v Shamrock Rovers

Limerick v Monaghan United

Sligo Rovers v St. Patrick's Athletic

Waterford United v Dundalk

Ties to be played on Tuesday, 1 June, with a 7.45pm kick-off for all games

13/05/2010, 10:33 AM
Great performance. Robbie and Kav were different class.

The defence looked solid too in the 2nd half when pressed although Dave Ryan had hardly a save to make.

Robbie's goal was sublime. Any idea where the highlights will be shown? There appeared to be a camera there.

Our games are recorded for the manager, that might have been the camera you saw.

KevB76
13/05/2010, 12:42 PM
We have the pleasure of travelling down to you on June 1st.

Visiting Jackman Park is a pleasure !?!

13/05/2010, 2:35 PM
Dam forgot to put a sarcastic face in there! :D