View Full Version : Midweek Games 3rd & 4th May

Pages : 1 [2] 3

04/05/2010, 10:45 AM
Beat Derry of course!!

GalwayRed
04/05/2010, 11:03 AM
We were very poor last night, as has been the case all season. Limerick deserved the win because we just didn't do enough to score. It was such a poor way to concede though. Deano lost his bearings from a corner and left Cahill an easy enough finish. Our bus had a couple of bricks thrown at it after leaving the ground.

L.T.F.C.
04/05/2010, 7:31 PM
Wexford One up Five minutes in courtesy of a penalty!

04/05/2010, 7:36 PM
Derry 1 up, McLean

dcfc_1928
04/05/2010, 7:39 PM
So is that our first ever league goal against Harps, or is it our 49th? :)

corkharps
04/05/2010, 7:47 PM
The ref is supposably loosing control of this game. 4 bookings even before a reported bust up on the way into the tunnel!

corkharps
04/05/2010, 7:48 PM
So is that our first ever league goal against Harps, or is it our 49th? :)

Which are the bookies paying out on?

04/05/2010, 7:51 PM
Our bus had a couple of bricks thrown at it after leaving the ground.

Heard something about this alright. Think it is known who one of the lads that did it is and he has only ever been to a handful of games. Not sure whats going to be done about him from here as i wouldn't know much about the goings on within the club but hopefully he's banned from Jackman and his name given to the Garda.

On the game, i thought it was a very poor Shels team, one of the worst ive seen. Even the team Shels had down here when first relegated put up a better fight. Shels didn't get going till the last few minutes of the game. Limerick fought harder and put in a lot of work. If Tierney had stayed on i think we might have even had another goal in us (even though Kelleher and Hickey did good jobs on there own relieving the pressure from the back), he was causing the Shels defence all kinds of problems.

dcfc_1928
04/05/2010, 7:55 PM
Which are the bookies paying out on?

Hopefully they'll be paying out on a Derry victory..............

04/05/2010, 8:02 PM
McDaid makes it 2-0 to City.

04/05/2010, 8:10 PM
Harps down to 10. Minnock sent off.

Fester
04/05/2010, 8:36 PM
Cork City F. 1 - 0 Salthill D. FT
S. Fingal 1 - 0 Bray FT
Galway 0 - 0 Sligo FT

Fester
04/05/2010, 8:39 PM
Finn Harps down to 9 men

Fester
04/05/2010, 8:42 PM
Waterford 0 - 0 Athlone T. FT
Longford 0 - 1 Wexford Youths FT
Derry City 2 - 0 Finn Harps FT

04/05/2010, 8:48 PM
New Derry, Old Derry? The more things change the more they stay the same. :)

dcfc_1928
04/05/2010, 9:20 PM
New Derry, Old Derry? The more things change the more they stay the same. :)

http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/9569/foreverb.png

04/05/2010, 9:34 PM
We didn't half make hard work of Salthill tonight, Davin O'Neill scored with 10 left.
The Salthill keeper was MOTM, made a string of excellent saves including an amazing point blank save from Cummins near the end.

04/05/2010, 9:42 PM
Jesus lads, ye must have offered the ref double money tonight.

The first time I have ever claimed a referee to be biased but that was beyond a joke tonight.

Firstly, McLean's first free was easily blocked by our wall, the ref calls it back, books walsh and moves the ball 2 yards more central to the goal and on the edge of the box.
Mclean celebrates by running at James Doherty and screaming in his face whilst his team mates tried to pull him away. On his way to his own half he launches at Mickey Funston, hitting him with his elbow flooring Mickey. The ref only books him.

This led to the nasty scenes at half time where both sets of players went at it in the tunnel. The ref stayed on the pitch out of sight so he doesn't have to see anything.

After picking up a soft yellow in the first half Minno picked up a pointless second yellow and left us at 10 men. McCallion makes the same exact tackle and yet only a free is awarded, no booking.

some of the decisions by the ref were downright disgraceful throughout the night.

The second for Derry came from an embarrassing mix up in our defence.

Matty Crossan was sent off in a tussle with a Derry defender in the Derry box during a Harps corner kick, both men were at it yet Matty gets a second booking and his marching orders.

Really ****ed of after tonight but it's amixture of the result and the fact that we just can't seem to create never mind score in a match.

The truth of the match was, had we played another 3 days we wouldn't have looked like scoring.

04/05/2010, 10:02 PM
We didn't half make hard work of Salthill tonight, Davin O'Neill scored with 10 left.
The Salthill keeper was MOTM, made a string of excellent saves including an amazing point blank save from Cummins near the end.

Was he called Mannion? A fairly heavy chap?

If so, then perhaps the .......eh..good-natured banter ...from Limerick fans about his weight has spurred on his professionalism.

wonder88
04/05/2010, 10:13 PM
excellent point for Galway considering how many players we were missing. Shepperd was brilliant again and special mention to Tom King and our kepper as well. We need some of our injured players back asap as we only had 3 subs tonight. Terrible attendance again; 940 about 150 from Sligo I would say.

gufc2000
04/05/2010, 10:21 PM
excellent point for Galway considering how many players we were missing. Shepperd was brilliant again and special mention to Tom King and our kepper as well. We need some of our injured players back asap as we only had 3 subs tonight. Terrible attendance again; 940 about 150 from Sligo I would say.
It doesn't help though when its the third Monday in a row we've been at home...and a Friday home game sandwiched in between. We don't have a home game til Friday 2 weeks now afaik

Aaron
04/05/2010, 10:21 PM

The first time I have ever claimed a referee to be biased but that was beyond a joke tonight.

Firstly, McLean's first free was easily blocked by our wall, the ref calls it back, books walsh and moves the ball 2 yards more central to the goal and on the edge of the box.
Mclean celebrates by running at James Doherty and screaming in his face whilst his team mates tried to pull him away. On his way to his own half he launches at Mickey Funston, hitting him with his elbow flooring Mickey. The ref only books him.

This led to the nasty scenes at half time where both sets of players went at it in the tunnel. The ref stayed on the pitch out of sight so he doesn't have to see anything.

After picking up a soft yellow in the first half Minno picked up a pointless second yellow and left us at 10 men. McCallion makes the same exact tackle and yet only a free is awarded, no booking.

some of the decisions by the ref were downright disgraceful throughout the night.

Matty Crossan was sent off in a tussle with a Derry defender in the Derry box during a Harps corner kick, both men were at it yet Matty gets a second booking and his marching orders.

Really ****ed of after tonight but it's amixture of the result and the fact that we just can't seem to create never mind score in a match.

The truth of the match was, had we played another 3 days we wouldn't have looked like scoring.

Walsh clearly ran out and blocked before it was hit. McClean was stupid celebrating the way he did, but he'll learn from it. Have to say it was a poor Harps performance. As you said, you could have played on and still wouldnt have scored

harpstilidie
04/05/2010, 11:21 PM
Walsh clearly ran out and blocked before it was hit. McClean was stupid celebrating the way he did, but he'll learn from it. Have to say it was a poor Harps performance. As you said, you could have played on and still wouldnt have scored

You're right...Walsh did run out and block the ball but the ref should have made that tool McClean take it from the same spot as before not closer to the goal and more central as Sam said. I can't believe for the life of me why McClean was not sent off. It was bad enough going and celebrating like that but to then go and hit Funston and only get booked? Unbelievable! I've seen bad refs but he just takes the biscuit!

Doesn't take away from the fact Harps were very disappointing and the only effort on target the whole game was directly from a corner :(

04/05/2010, 11:41 PM
Well done Derry, keep it up.

rednwhitearmy
04/05/2010, 11:47 PM

Mickey funston was running around the pitch kicking lumps out of the derry players..also at half time as he was going of the pitch he pushed a derry player and then trip up a derry player, that is why the assistant ref ran into the area going into the changing rooms,i think a lot of people were surprised to see him come out for the 2nd half...also your man doherty was taunting young mc clean before the match that he would not score a goal tonight, so what does he do scores a goal so he went over to let him know

05/05/2010, 12:20 AM
As others have mentioned, Walsh clearly infringed on the free. In my view you don't get enough of them given.

McClean was over the top in the celebration, but Doherty might want to lay off the mind games. His tackling was right enough to shackle McClean.

Who was the player that collapsed in a heap near the centre circle away from the ruckus. Good to see McQ sprint 20 yards to get involved, sadly it was the most effective run he made all night......

As for Minno, he made a number of tackles and was expressed warnly by the ref both before and after he got the first yellow.

The last line on your post is very true, very very toothless Harps side.

05/05/2010, 7:29 AM
Minno should never have been playing, he hasn't trained with the side never mind played in 5 weeks and even then he only managed a first half against Shels.

Doherty had McLean in his pocket, ye used to think Hargy was the dogs boll*x when he was a right dirty pr!ck in Muckerville yet when one of yer own players gets the same treatment it's ok for your players to attack him? McLean was doing nothing up until that in open play.

That player that "collapsed in a heap" was Mickey Funston, the player that got a slap from McLean on his way back to the half way line.

As for the infringment on the free, that's fair enough then so but why move it 2 yards to a more central position?

I suppose to get beat 2-0 by a side with over 3 times our budget is fair enough, you would expect Derry to win this division at a canter with the kind of money they are paying out. I was truely shocked to hear the Derry budget last night. I bet over half of the Premier Division managers would take your arm off for that kind of resources.

05/05/2010, 8:12 AM
Minno should never have been playing, he hasn't trained with the side never mind played in 5 weeks and even then he only managed a first half against Shels.

Doherty had McLean in his pocket, ye used to think Hargy was the dogs boll*x when he was a right dirty pr!ck in Muckerville yet when one of yer own players gets the same treatment it's ok for your players to attack him? McLean was doing nothing up until that in open play.

That player that "collapsed in a heap" was Mickey Funston, the player that got a slap from McLean on his way back to the half way line.

As for the infringment on the free, that's fair enough then so but why move it 2 yards to a more central position?

I suppose to get beat 2-0 by a side with over 3 times our budget is fair enough, you would expect Derry to win this division at a canter with the kind of money they are paying out. I was truely shocked to hear the Derry budget last night. I bet over half of the Premier Division managers would take your arm off for that kind of resources.What is our budget? I've no idea btw.

05/05/2010, 8:23 AM
Was he called Mannion? A fairly heavy chap? No, according to the Examiner the lad was called Forde, only looked about 15 and not the tallest but played superbly.

VinnyDCFC
05/05/2010, 8:24 AM
I suppose to get beat 2-0 by a side with over 3 times our budget is fair enough, you would expect Derry to win this division at a canter with the kind of money they are paying out. I was truely shocked to hear the Derry budget last night. I bet over half of the Premier Division managers would take your arm off for that kind of resources.

Eh? Were you chatting to Philip O'Doherty last night?
If not, where did you get your figures from and what are they?

Excuses excuses......

05/05/2010, 8:26 AM
Eh? Were you chatting to Philip O'Doherty last night?
If not, where did you get your figures from and what are they?

Excuses excuses......

£7 grand stg per week.

VinnyDCFC
05/05/2010, 8:32 AM
£7 grand stg per week.

Where did you get your figures from?

05/05/2010, 8:46 AM
Where did you get your figures from?

Check it out and come back to me

05/05/2010, 8:51 AM
Check it out and come back to meThats the point, its not publicly available until the accounts are signed off.

VinnyDCFC
05/05/2010, 8:51 AM
I have no way of checking it out, I'm asking you where did you get your figures from?

Redie
05/05/2010, 9:03 AM

Why the hell wasn't yer left back in goals again last night.:mad:

05/05/2010, 9:05 AM
I have no way of checking it out, I'm asking you where did you get your figures from?

A taxi driver outside badgers obviously.

WoodquayBoy
05/05/2010, 9:22 AM
No, according to the Examiner the lad was called Forde, only looked about 15 and not the tallest but played superbly.
Ronan Forde. They have 3 keepers - Ronan Forde, Ronan Burke and Martin Mannion, and Forde is by far the best of them. As for Terryland, cracking point for us considering the players we were missing. Barry Ryan the MOTM by a country mile, if it wasn't for him, Sligo would have scored 3 or 4. Good turnout by Sligo fans - doubt we would bring 150 up there midweek - but a pity a few of them thought mocking those who have lost their lives at seas in Galway was a good idea (quite personal to me). I can imagine what would happoen if we turn up with 'Ronnie Dunbar - boyfriend of the year' flags in the fairgrounds in July

Flexy
05/05/2010, 11:42 AM
A taxi driver outside badgers obviously.

Sam what you have to remember is the difference in the crowds derry get compared to Harps if Derry average 2k people per match at average of 10 per head thats 20k stirling per fortnight or £10k per week the budget is including Kennys salary and 18 players on the books, my mathematics makes that £3k profit for away trips etc per week before any sponsorship or fund raising activities takes place. Our budget has been severley cut this year, £7k for rhe whole club is reasonable for the crowds we get

05/05/2010, 11:50 AM
S my mathematics makes that £3k profit

Hope you're not a maths teacher. Few points

Of your 2,000- deduct just over a 1000 as season ticket holders for which due to the Wellvan fiasco we didn't get any money for
Moving to the remaining thousand- Average for concessionaries is around 60% so that means average revenue is less than a tenner a head.
From that, deduct 17.5% VAT on gate receipts.
Not 18 players on the books, 21.

I could go on, but you get the idea.

05/05/2010, 11:55 AM
Sam what you have to remember is the difference in the crowds derry get compared to Harps if Derry average 2k people per match at average of 10 per head thats 20k stirling per fortnight or £10k per week the budget is including Kennys salary and 18 players on the books, my mathematics makes that £3k profit for away trips etc per week before any sponsorship or fund raising activities takes place. Our budget has been severley cut this year, £7k for rhe whole club is reasonable for the crowds we getIs that you Pat? :)

Seriously though, I wouldn't waste too much time trying to calculate the breakeven on a wage bill provided by hearsay.

dcfc_1928
05/05/2010, 12:17 PM
No, according to the Examiner the lad was called Forde, only looked about 15 and not the tallest but played superbly.

I think he's David Forde's nephew (ex-Derry/Galway keeper, now playing at Milwall)

05/05/2010, 12:19 PM
but a pity a few of them thought mocking those who have lost their lives at seas in Galway was a good idea (quite personal to me). I can imagine what would happoen if we turn up with 'Ronnie Dunbar - boyfriend of the year' flags in the fairgrounds in JulyI'll let someone from Forza Rovers clarify it if they wish but I think you may have mis-understood the message in that display...

brandy86
05/05/2010, 1:22 PM

There was a tussle between Crossan and Deery but nothing to warrant a booking until Cossan decided to land a sly punch into the stomach of Kevin Deery.

Unfortunately for Crossan he did it in full view of the referee.

In this instance the ref made the correct decision.

05/05/2010, 1:31 PM
There was a tussle between Crossan and Deery but nothing to warrant a booking until Cossan decided to land a sly punch into the stomach of Kevin Deery.

Unfortunately for Crossan he did it in full view of the referee.

In this instance the ref made the correct decision.

I'll take your word for that. I like the majority of folk in the ground was baffled at the decision.

Is there any video footage going to be online any time soon of the game? I would love to see some of the highlights again, if Im wrong with my take on the refs decisions then I will gladly eat humble pie.

corkharps
05/05/2010, 1:32 PM
Thats the point, its not publicly available until the accounts are signed off.

Surely POTM?

WoodquayBoy
05/05/2010, 2:04 PM
I'll let someone from Forza Rovers clarify it if they wish but I think you may have mis-understood the message in that display...

Apologies if I did, just hit a raw nerve. It was the Galway City crest and not the United one, on the display, and said Fisherman's End (rather than United end) which, given our link with the sea, and the tragedy that goes with it, struck me as not being about United. As I said, apologies if I got it wrong, I have form for over-reacting!!

Candystripe
05/05/2010, 2:28 PM
Seemed to be Harps came to stop Derry's teenagers from playing and expressing themselves the way they have been in recent weeks.You cant fault them for that but how anyone can say that it was Derry that was physical is beyond a joke.

For the entire game harps players were leaving the boot in after half their tackles and the ref had warned players time after time.

For the re-taken free for the goal!!!! FFS what did you expect the ref to do when as McLean hit the free Doherty? was within two feet of him.

I agree that McLean should have just celebrated the goal without winding the player up.

It looked like it was actually Scoltock that blocked Funston after the goal,but Funston did hit 2 Derry players as the players were leaving the pitch.

I was shocked at how low the Harps crowd was,no way did you's even fill section A never mind section B.A poor home crowd as well for a derby game but I suppose we cant complain when it's a Tues night and I'm sure all clubs in Ireland would be happy with that.

With Waterford dropping points again I'm getting more confident that we can be in the top two at worst come the end of the season and with the great football the youngsters are playing it's a joy to watch.

05/05/2010, 2:34 PM
For the re-taken free for the goal!!!! FFS what did you expect the ref to do when as McLean hit the free Doherty? was within two feet of him.

I agree that McLean should have just celebrated the goal without winding the player up.

It looked like it was actually Scoltock that blocked Funston after the goal,but Funston did hit 2 Derry players as the players were leaving the pitch.

1. Doherty was at the other side of the pitch not beside McLean, he purposely ran across the pitch at Doc.

2. Blocked Funston? It was as the Derry players were running back into their half, Mickey was on the half way line. How do you block someone that was standing still?

Candystripe
05/05/2010, 5:15 PM
Obviously then it wasn't Doherty that ran at the free kick which is why I put the ? in my post.But something must have been said for McLean to run over and goad him and I'm not condoning it BTW.

I'm sure it was Scoltock that did bump into Funston after the goal.

Sam, Derry's teenagers played you's off the park,that you must admit.As for our players budget-I've heard it's around the £5k mark and not the £7k you're suggesting.

Are you's looking forward to returning next Monday? :)

Oh and were you impressed with our giant video screen? Wasn't it great to see the replays of the free kick for the goal a few times lol