View Full Version : Kilbane in Irish team
How anyone can continue to knock him is beyond me. IMO should be guaranteed a place in the irish team for WC Qualifiers.
Vote on...
NigeSausagepump
01/04/2004, 2:03 PM
I am one of Kilbane's harshest critics and don't think he's produced the goods consistently enough on the left flank for us. However, I thought he was very effective last night and looked far better in the central midfield role than Holland. His clattering challenge on Nedved inside the first few minutes was great stuff, just like the famed Overmars tackle of a few years ago. I'd definitely give him another few runs in central midfield - if he can reproduce his form of last night, then yes I'd have him in the first team. If it's left flank or bust, then I'd leave him on the bench and play Duffer on the left.
Declan_Michael
01/04/2004, 2:11 PM
Sick of the criticism he gets. Would rather question Harte, Dunne's, Connolly's inclusion.
only1kilbane
01/04/2004, 2:17 PM
bit of a disgrace that people are still questioning whether he is an automatic choice in our team. The passion and guts he showed in the last few games is what we are sorely missing in centre mid since judas' departure. Hopefully if he keeps it up in the next few friendlies it will shut the doubters up. I think him, duffer and kenny are the most important cogs in our team now. All we need to do is find somebody alongside him who can thread few a few decent passes for keano and the like !
shouldn't be any doubt by now
01/04/2004, 3:07 PM
it should be pointless debating this at this stage, i can't see how anyone could pick an irish eleven at the moment without him in it.
01/04/2004, 3:15 PM
I will have always liked Kilbane, he is at the match and
he trys.
He works hard and is a far better player than many give him
credit for.
Nice to see it's 100% so far. :)
01/04/2004, 3:23 PM
while he doesnt exactly set the world on fire,is well worth his place as he has
pace for a big fella(cliche no 1),and always gives 100%(cliche no 2)
01/04/2004, 3:41 PM
he trys.
have you been drinking tricky, or have you suddenly turned swiss :D
01/04/2004, 3:41 PM
I can't vote until I see Miller and Delap more in an Ireland shirt because we have to choose 4 players from the following 6 IMO: Duff, Kilbane, Reid, Miller, Kavanagh, Delap. Duff is actually the only cert for the team. We need someone to hold the midfield together and that should be either Delap or Kavanagh (preferably the latter). That leaves 2 players to choose from Kilbane, Reid, Miller and Delap/Kav. It really is impossible to vite until we see 4 of them play together for 90 minutes without Holland.
hally11
01/04/2004, 3:44 PM
keep da galloping major in.he is havin a good season too dis year with everton!
he trys.
I wouldn't go that far but have always thought he over criticised. He been excellent in few games he played central midfield though. IMO he more skillful than given credit for or maybe just can see the work he doing when at the game.
01/04/2004, 3:52 PM
I wouldn't go that far but have always thought he over criticised. He been excellent in few games he played central midfield though. IMO he more skillful than given credit for or maybe just can see the work he doing when at the game.
:D :D :D
hally11
01/04/2004, 3:55 PM
tiktok:D:D:D
Ozymandias
01/04/2004, 4:22 PM
Zinidine Kilbane to stay....Hollands days are numbered I think
finlma
01/04/2004, 4:38 PM
I was a regular critic of Kilbane but I have to eat humble pie and say fair play to the boy, he's playing great stuff and deserves his place.
01/04/2004, 4:47 PM
24-0 in favour of Kilbane. Who says he's got no support? :D
the scout
01/04/2004, 8:42 PM
defo still got something to offer.energy levels still impressive.still a few tricks up his sleeve.solid member and his place would not even be doubted at this stage.
only1kilbane for mayor :D
Beavis
01/04/2004, 9:46 PM
I was a regular critic of Kilbane but I have to eat humble pie and say fair play to the boy, he's playing great stuff and deserves his place.
How fickle the irish public are.Humble pie to all of yous please.Just 4 short months back I defended the lad here practicaly on my own.Let that be a lesson to yous Beavis is always right even when I'm wrong...
01/04/2004, 9:56 PM
If we play Kilbane who do we leave out? Choose two from the following players considering either Kavanagh or Delap will be needed to play the Cunningham of the midfield: Reid, Miller, Kavanagh, Delap. Therefore we have to leave out one player between Kavanagh and Delap, and one between Reid and Miller. What'ya think?
Bare in mind I haven't named Holland, Carsley, Healy, Kinsella, McPhail.
Who needs that fella from Cork now? ;)
Whose the fecker who ruined the 100%?
btw Kavanagh & Miller are not tested at international level yet so unless get more game sunlikely to figure in a starting XI.
Holland should be the fall guy in the midfield, or is he so anonymous people forget he's even in the team?
Since he left Sunderland he's really come on. In fairness, it wasn't his fault he was seemingly first name on the team sheet when he was woefully out of form. That was the managers.
liamon
02/04/2004, 11:12 AM
Whose the fecker who ruined the 100%?
Twas me!
I just like to disagree with the moral majority as a matter of principle. ;) :D
02/04/2004, 1:02 PM
If we play Kilbane who do we leave out? Choose two from the following players considering either Kavanagh or Delap will be needed to play the Cunningham of the midfield: Reid, Miller, Kavanagh, Delap. Therefore we have to leave out one player between Kavanagh and Delap, and one between Reid and Miller. What'ya think?
Bare in mind I haven't named Holland, Carsley, Healy, Kinsella, McPhail.
Who needs that fella from Cork now? ;)Reid's no centre mid. If he plays there again, it'll be with two or three centre-mids behind him, ala Duff.
Kavanagh needs more testing, as does Miller, but we'll see. The arguement is that Kilbane deserves his place in the squad, not the team necessarily. His form is good though, so he's probably going to start for now, unless Kerr decides to experiment.
Holland's a good player, so don't write him off just yet. I'd like to see how he works with Kavanagh for a start.
And that Cork fella'd still be starting. :)
My argument was that as things stand Kilbane be guaranteed place in team on performances in last 6 months or so.
02/04/2004, 2:37 PM
btw Kavanagh & Miller are not tested at international level yet so unless get more game sunlikely to figure in a starting XI.
Either is Delap. Unless you want to stick with the invisible Holland we have to play either Kavanagh or Delap. We cannot have a midfield of Duff-Miller-Kilbane-Reid, its too attacking and we wouldn't get away with it.
Reid's no centre mid.
Well he palys there for Forest so I don't see why not.
And that Cork fella'd still be starting.
I'm talking about another Cork fella, never mind. :rolleyes:
02/04/2004, 3:01 PM
One has to admire Kilbane. Although he was getting stick for his performances for Sunderland and Ireland, he kept plugging away. He is now a huge favourite with the Everton fans, being voted Player of the Month for the last couple of months,, not a bad feat when you consider they have Wayne Rooney. Although Kilbane has been around for quite a while he is still only in his mid twenties, has lots of experience, and now lots of confidence. A lot to be said for perserance.
02/04/2004, 3:06 PM
Holland should be the fall guy in the midfield, or is he so anonymous people forget he's even in the team?
Since he left Sunderland he's really come on. In fairness, it wasn't his fault he was seemingly first name on the team sheet when he was woefully out of form. That was the managers.
You seem to be getting Holland and Kilbane mixed up but I still can't make out what you're saying.
02/04/2004, 3:54 PM
Either is Delap. Unless you want to stick with the invisible Holland we have to play either Kavanagh or Delap. We cannot have a midfield of Duff-Miller-Kilbane-Reid, its too attacking and we wouldn't get away with it.I'd have to see more of Miller to make a call on that. It's not like Miller is a dead cert to start anyway.
Well he palys there for Forest so I don't see why not.No, he plays on the left wing or behind the strikers for them. It's a little different.
I'm talking about another Cork fella, never mind. :rolleyes:Oh. Who said we needed him in the first place? :cool:
brine2
02/04/2004, 4:39 PM
If I played for Ireland then I'd run my arse off and show passion and guts as well - but I'd still be ****e.
numsixteen
05/04/2004, 11:02 AM
>"If I played for Ireland then I'd run my arse off and show passion and guts as well - but I'd still be ****e."
spot on.
>"Who needs that fella from Cork now?"
Ireland.
only1kilbane
05/04/2004, 11:40 AM
we need to move on and not keep going on about a bloke who loves the attention of saying i might be back just so prove to himself a few deluded people in Ireland still want him back. He had the chance didnt take it so F**k off . If the rest of team showed the commitment and passion killer does with we would be preparing for portugal now !
You seem to be getting Holland and Kilbane mixed up but I still can't make out what you're saying.
It made sense to me! I'll sum it up, Holland is a spoofer and a waste of space. Kilbane is good for his place on the team, since he left Sunderland.
spot on macy
ccfcman
06/04/2004, 10:00 AM
doin well wit everton @ tha mo
06/04/2004, 1:48 PM
I'd have a mid field of Duff Miller Delap and A Reid. You can say it's alrgely untested but that's what the friendlys between now and the Cyprus games are for, imo that's our best mid field.