View Full Version : Conor Henderson (M free agent b.1991)

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

The Fly
18/11/2012, 2:41 PM
That's funny. I could have sworn he was making appearances in big games and winning medals. 60 appearances in his 3 full seasons at Man Utd as a young player. I wish some more of our players could sit around and do that.

Most of those appearances came as a substitute, and nearly half were in the FA and League Cups.

He was 24 before regular football came his way with his switch to Everton.

Predator
18/11/2012, 2:46 PM
Most of those appearances came as a substitute, and nearly half were in the FA and League Cups.

He was 24 before regular football came his way with his switch to Everton.I don't think that it is a mark against Gibson that he was a bit-part player at Manchester United. He may not have been a mainstay, but he did appear in big games and won medals. That will stand to him.

The Fly
18/11/2012, 2:58 PM
I don't think that it is a mark against Gibson that he was a bit-part player at Manchester United. He may not have been a mainstay, but he did appear in big games and won medals. That will stand to him.

What is the true merit of medals if the individual's contribution to their attainment has been paltry? If I were in Gibson's position I'd probably have them tucked away in a sock drawer.

The real mark against Gibson is that he has made under 100 appearances in the league to date and he's 25.

Predator
18/11/2012, 3:09 PM
What is the true merit of medals if the individual's contribution to their attainment has been paltry? If I were in Gibson's position I'd probably have them tucked away in a sock drawer.

The real mark against Gibson is that he has made under 100 appearances in the league to date and he's 25.You know what they say, it's a team game. Each piece has its part to play, however seemingly paltry that may be. I suppose that is why clubs and competitions have separate individual awards*.

*Gibson's individual awards (taken from Wiki)
Jimmy Murphy Young Player of the Year (1): 2005–06
FAI Young International Player of the Year (1): 2009
FAI International Goal of the Year (1): 2011 vs. Wales

We are wading into new territory here, but needless to say, if Henderson does manage to emulate Gibson's meagre efforts, then I'll be happy. Obviously I want more from him. We wait and see.

The Fly
18/11/2012, 3:19 PM
You know what they say, it's a team game. Each piece has its part to play, however seemingly paltry that may be.

That's a given I suppose, but if I were a professional sportsman I would take very little comfort from it. It's just a cushion for those who lack ambition.

We are wading into new territory here, but needless to say, if Henderson does manage to emulate Gibson's meagre efforts, then I'll be happy. Obviously I want more from him. We wait and see.

In the context of the national side I agree. In the grand scheme of things however, Gibson has been a disappointment. The only caveat to that is the 'up till now' qualification. It's my sincere hope that his time with Everton proves successful.

tommy_c12000
18/11/2012, 3:30 PM
Jesus Christ lads, all I wanted to know is why Henderson is not in the first team squad for Coventry. . .

Irwin3
18/11/2012, 3:37 PM

The real mark against Gibson is that he has made under 100 appearances in the league to date and he's 25.

I don't understand why you feel the need to belittle him so much. He won 2 league cup medals and 1 PL medal. For the league cup campaigns he contributed hugely playing most games and scoring a few goals along the way as well. We all know he was a squad player. Some of our current players can't even get to Gibson's appearance ratio and he was a young player at the best club around!

Several injuries along the way haven't helped his appearance count either; granted this probably only cost him a handful of games during his Man Utd years. This calendar year he's probably missed around 15-20 games for Everton already through injury.

There is also a quantity vs. quality argument to be made. Gibson has started Champions League QF+SF, League Cup Final, FA Cup SFs. I think this has helped him. During his 3 full Man Utd season he could have got what 30 more games or so at a lesser club (no guarantees over regular football for various reasons).

At 24 he moved to get regular football (would have still been 23 if the summer move to Sunderland had gone through). That under 100 league appearances is only a mark against him because you think it is. I don't feel the need to judge a player on some arbitrary number you've plucked out of the air.

The Fly
18/11/2012, 4:03 PM
I don't understand why you feel the need to belittle him so much.

I'm not belittling him. I'm just making a legitimate judgement call on his career to date.

There is also a quantity vs. quality argument to be made. Gibson has started Champions League QF+SF, League Cup Final, FA Cup SFs. I think this has helped him. During his 3 full Man Utd season he could have got what 30 more games or so at a lesser club (no guarantees over regular football for various reasons).

I think his prolonged stay at United harmed him rather than helped him. There wasn't exactly a clamour for his signature when he decided to leave.

At 24 he moved to get regular football (would have still been 23 if the summer move to Sunderland had gone through). That under 100 league appearances is only a mark against him because you think it is. I don't feel the need to judge a player on some arbitrary number you've plucked out of the air.

I'm not 'plucking it out of the air' to justify a personal prejudice against him, as I don't have one. My view on Gibson is one that has accrued through watching him for a number of seasons now. That's all. I don't feel the need to blow smoke up his arse just because he's Irish.

Irwin3
18/11/2012, 6:20 PM
Pull the other one. How is your statement not belittling. I'll remind you what you said:

"What is the true merit of medals if the individual's contribution to their attainment has been paltry? If I were in Gibson's position I'd probably have them tucked away in a sock drawer."

As I pointed out above he made a very significant contribution to both League Cup winning campaigns. But according to you he should be ashamed of this success. Sure. Typical begrudger statement if I ever saw one.

Moving from the 1st/2nd best team in the country to the 7th wasn't such a bad move was it. How would you know what other teams were interested in him apart from consulting your sources in the gossip columns.

Paddy Garcia
18/11/2012, 6:33 PM
Jesus Christ lads, all I wanted to know is why Henderson is not in the first team squad for Coventry. . .

yeah.......... ya big troll....

The Fly
18/11/2012, 7:53 PM
Pull the other one. How is your statement not belittling. I'll remind you what you said:

"What is the true merit of medals if the individual's contribution to their attainment has been paltry? If I were in Gibson's position I'd probably have them tucked away in a sock drawer."

That's what I would do if I were in his position. Although, I was referring more specifically to his League championship medals.

It's a sentiment I would apply to any other player in a similar position.

As I pointed out above he made a very significant contribution to both League Cup winning campaigns. But according to you he should be ashamed of this success. Sure. Typical begrudger statement if I ever saw one.

I never stated that Gibson should be ashamed of his medal haul in the League Cup.

Simply put, it's the competition that United routinely field weakened teams in. It's not taken seriously.

Moving from the 1st/2nd best team in the country to the 7th wasn't such a bad move was it. How would you know what other teams were interested in him apart from consulting your sources in the gossip columns.

As he was sold for such a small sum, around Ł1million, I think we can take the various reports at the time to be true.

Irwin3
18/11/2012, 8:03 PM
No. The League Cup is a competition that Man Utd often play their squad players and youngsters in, in the earlier rounds. Take a look at their lineup http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2009_Football_League_Cup_Final here. Looks like they took the final pretty seriously. Keep trying to belittle it though. I wonder if Robbie Keane hides his League Cup medal away in a drawer somewhere?

Having 6 months on his contract clearly had nothing to do with the fee...

The Fly
18/11/2012, 8:10 PM
No. The League Cup is a competition that Man Utd often play their squad players and youngsters in, in the earlier rounds. Take a look at their lineup http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2009_Football_League_Cup_Final here. Looks like they took the final pretty seriously. Keep trying to belittle it though. I wonder if Robbie Keane hides his League Cup medal away in a drawer somewhere?

I don't know what he does with them, but I've yet to hear of him, or any other player for that matter, boast of their success in the League Cup.

Having 6 months on his contract clearly had nothing to do with the fee...

...and only Everton was aware of this? Moyes is a crafty one. :rolleyes:

Irwin3
18/11/2012, 8:15 PM
Yeah, because it's something to be ashamed off and forgotten about. We've already covered that.

Going over old ground. How do you know who was interested or why do you care? If the 7th best team comes in for me and I live in the NW of england, it's a pretty easy decision to make.

The Fly
18/11/2012, 8:22 PM
Yeah, because it's something to be ashamed off and forgotten about. We've already covered that.

Are you a bit dim? I never stated that Darron should be ashamed of his success with Man Utd in cup competitions.

Going over old ground. How do you know who was interested or why do you care? If the 7th best team comes in for me and I live in the NW of england, it's a pretty easy decision to make.

Good for you.

I'll repeat what I stated earlier, I wish Darron every success with Everton. The lack of interest and the fee, notwithstanding his contract situation, merely reflects the fact that he wasn't highly rated.

Irwin3
18/11/2012, 8:52 PM
Thanks for trying to insult me. I'm so dim that I appear to understand what you say better than you do. Need I remind you again of your own words:

Obviously you hide away in a sock drawer your most proud memorabilia. This clearly doesn't infer that it's something to be ashamed off...

The Fly
18/11/2012, 9:21 PM

Which I later stated was in more specific regard to any league championship medal. Gibson's contributions to United's league campaigns were minimal.

Irwin3
19/11/2012, 10:19 AM
I agree that his direct contribution to the league campaigns was minimal. The rules are that if you make 10 appearances then you get a medal. It's a squad game. Squad players at Man Utd play the cup games and certain european ties to ensure that no player burns out so that they're in a position to challenge in all competitions. You could say he was near the bottom of the ladder of those who achieved the league medal but he still met all criteria to earn it and it sounds like more begrudgery to say he should be ashamed of his league winners medal. I doubt that Evans, Valencia, Fabio or Owen and the likes who played in a similar amount of games have their medals hidden away.

The Fly
19/11/2012, 1:49 PM
I agree that his direct contribution to the league campaigns was minimal. The rules are that if you make 10 appearances then you get a medal. It's a squad game. Squad players at Man Utd play the cup games and certain european ties to ensure that no player burns out so that they're in a position to challenge in all competitions. You could say he was near the bottom of the ladder of those who achieved the league medal but he still met all criteria to earn it and it sounds like more begrudgery to say he should be ashamed of his league winners medal. I doubt that Evans, Valencia, Fabio or Owen and the likes who played in a similar amount of games have their medals hidden away.

Once again, I have never claimed that Gibson should be ashamed of his league winners medal. I merely stated, or rather inferred, that if I were in his position it would have little meaning for me since my contribution to its attainment was minimal.

Let's just leave at that. I'm sure everyone else is bored of our exchanges.

19/11/2012, 2:15 PM
Fly have the final say and then say lets finish. I love that. :D

19/11/2012, 4:54 PM
Once again, I have never claimed that Gibson should be ashamed of his league winners medal. I merely stated, or rather inferred, that if I were in his position it would have little meaning for me since my contribution to its attainment was minimal.

Let's just leave at that. I'm sure everyone else is bored of our exchanges.

Ah here, leave it out.

TheBoss
23/03/2013, 12:26 AM
Not sure if anyone has come across this from a few weeks back now:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/henderson-resigned-to-emirates-departure-224051.html

IsMiseSean
24/03/2013, 5:56 PM
Interesting to see where he ends up. League 1 or lower championship probably the best he can hope for. Needs regular games...

Carrigaline
07/06/2013, 3:26 PM
Confirmed now.

http://www.football365.com/news/21554/8763114/Full-PL-Released-List-Gallas-Yossi-Ferreira-Etc

07/06/2013, 8:48 PM
And Marc Tierney, Ian Harte, Jay Tabb, Rory Delap...

IsMiseSean
08/06/2013, 11:54 AM
Is Daniel Devine at Villa one of ours?

Olé Olé
08/06/2013, 12:20 PM
Is Daniel Devine at Villa one of ours?

Young centre-half from Dublin.

Not to be mixed up with our other young centre-half of the same name who plays with Inverness and represented NI (yet to represent Ireland come to think of it).

zackmorris
23/07/2013, 12:23 PM
http://www.eadt.co.uk/sport/ipswich-town/scott_loach_welcomes_keeper_competition_ahead_of_w hat_he_believes_can_be_an_exciting_season_1_228981 4

gastric
05/08/2013, 10:54 AM
It seems Henderson has had trials at Ipswich and Forest too and now some rumours are linking him with Charlton. Hopefully, he finds a club soon.

gastric
14/08/2013, 8:45 AM
Henderson on trial now at Yeovil. Hopefully this trial works out and he can start to play regular football.

http://www.tribalfootball.com/articles/ex-arsenal-youngster-henderson-yeovil-trials-3974486

10/09/2013, 3:24 PM
on trial at Hull City now, scored for the reserves earlier today: http://www.hullcityafc.net/news/article/201314-reserves-doncaster-a-report-1045739.aspx

liamoo11
12/09/2013, 8:26 AM
looks like he will b signing. Wil he have any chance of game time? http://www.dailystar.co.uk/sport/football/338081/Hull-set-to-sign-free-transfers-Conor-Henderson-and-Matthew-Fletcher . Super technical player but cant see brady, quinn, meyler and him all getting game time

liamoo11
23/09/2013, 5:41 PM
In the squad for tomorrows game in cup at huddersfield

23/09/2013, 5:44 PM
Brilliant stuff, good luck to him.

23/09/2013, 5:48 PM
Apparently he was super away to Italy in the last game of the last u21 campaign (where we played continental style football btw). If King takes the reigns in October is there any chance of Henderson being a surprise pick?

liamoo11
23/09/2013, 5:54 PM
Apparently he was super away to Italy in the last game of the last u21 campaign (where we played continental style football btw). If King takes the reigns in October is there any chance of Henderson being a surprise pick?

Im a big fan of surprise picks. id have him anchoring a 3 man midfield with jack grealish and stephen mcphail. I always liked stephen mcphail

IsMiseSean
23/09/2013, 7:18 PM
Has he signed a contract with Hull or is it a trial type deal he's on?

23/09/2013, 8:29 PM
Has he signed a contract with Hull or is it a trial type deal he's on?
there's nothing about actually signing on Hull's website, just that he played in two U21 games while on trial, but can he be in the squad if he isn't under contract?

<EDIT>

Starts on the bench tonight for Hull, Meyler and Quinn in the starting XI

samhaydenjr
25/09/2013, 2:33 AM
Has signed a deal with Hull - http://www.thisishullandeastriding.co.uk/Hull-City-Conor-Henderson-ready-cup-debut-signing/story-19836520-detail/story.html#axzz2fpiJQpuQ - and came on for the last fifteen minutes tonight. If he can break into the Hull team we may be in a position where we may have our choice in midfield of Henderson, David Meyler, Robbie Brady, James McCarthy, Sean Murray, Jack Grealish, Jeff Hendrick, Sean Scannell, Alan Judge, Callum Reilly and James McClean all of whom are established at least at Championship level (with the exception of Grealish, who everybody seems to have identified as a star in-in-waiting) and possibly Samir Carruthers, Will Hayhurst, Kane Ferdinand and Conor Clifford who are all playing a little lower down but are all still young enough to make a breakthrough - that's 15 players all under the age of 25 that could be considered as potential midfielders for Ireland for the next decade - so this area of the park should be pretty strong for the next few years, even if Gibson and/or Ireland do not return from exile.

liamoo11
25/09/2013, 7:16 AM
Hull forums saying he cant play in league until jan as he is not in the 25 man squad announced a few weeks ago. Hopefully he gets out on loan till then

dr_peepee
25/09/2013, 9:30 AM
Wenger has been known in the past to give Bruce tips regarding players. Maybe he got in his ear about Henderson??

25/09/2013, 9:50 AM
Hull forums saying he cant play in league until jan as he is not in the 25 man squad announced a few weeks ago. Hopefully he gets out on loan till then
Would he count as a youth player? They can be named in squads, without having to be in the 25 man squad

25/09/2013, 11:08 AM
Would he count as a youth player? They can be named in squads, without having to be in the 25 man squad
For the 2013/14 campaign Under 21 players will have been born on or after 1st January 1992, Henderson was born in September 1991 unfortunately.

OMTY
05/10/2013, 8:54 AM
Selected in squad for Hull today. Seems mad how close he came to not getting even a championship team at one stage. All about the bit of luck.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/henderson-grateful-for-bould-hull-call-245361.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/henderson-grateful-for-bould-hull-call-245361.html)

Henderson grateful for Bould Hull call
Saturday, October 05, 2013
Conor Henderson has thanked his former Arsenal assistant manager Steve Bould for helping him secure a Premier League lifeline at Hull City.
Released by the Gunners last summer following just one first-team appearance in an FA Cup tie, the former Ireland U21 midfielder had a move to Ipswich Town lined up.

However, Mick McCarthy reversed his decision to sign the player, leaving him at a loose end with the season about the start. There was interest expressed by Yeovil Town but, out of nowhere, came an approach from Steve Bruce.

“Arsenal were very good to me when I was without a club, letting me train with them, and it was Steve Bould who spoke to Hull about me,” he explained.

“From there, I played some reserve games on trial, spoke to Steve Bruce about signing and I’ve agreed an initial deal until the end of the season.”

The 22-year-old made his Tigers debut in the League Cup last week and is part of the squad for today’s fixture against Aston Villa.

Bruce has labelled his find as a “late starter”, an unsurprising description given the two serious knee injuries which stunted his progress at the Emirates.

Henderson’s capture swells the Irish contingent at the KC Stadium to five, with the newcomer hoping to emulate the impact made by his former international team-mate and Hull’s top scorer Robbie Brady.

“One of the reasons I wanted to come here was the opportunity Robbie got,” he said. “He stepped down from one of the big clubs [Manchester United] and has taken the chance given to him.

“Because I didn’t have a proper pre-season, I need more action to be fully match fit. But once that happens, I want to be challenging for a spot in midfield every week.”

After a torrid few months of uncertainty, Henderson is glad to have regained a degree of stability.

“I had spoken to Mick McCarthy towards the end of last season and had my heart set on signing for Ipswich. Then, in July, he changed his mind.

“But I’ve come to a good club in Hull. Steve Bruce has said I’ll be given a fair chance and that’s all I want.”

05/10/2013, 10:21 AM
Weird, I thought he was ineligible because he's not in the 25-man squad.

05/10/2013, 2:23 PM
not in the team at all, Stephen Quinn starts, McShane and Meyler on the bench.

17/02/2014, 6:26 PM
On the bench for Hull City this evening v Brighton

IsMiseSean
20/02/2014, 7:22 PM
Has he been injured again or has he been playing for the reserves?

20/02/2014, 10:40 PM
Has he been injured again or has he been playing for the reserves?
He was signed too late to be in the 25-man squad for the first half of the season and Hull were knocked out of the League Cup so he's only made one appearance. He's in the 25-man squad for the second half of the season so hopefully we'll see him make a couple of appearances before May.

09/03/2014, 1:41 PM
On the bench again today for hull