View Full Version : Bring Back Post of the Month
17/04/2010, 8:31 PM
Just wondering what happened to the POTM competition? Was going to nominate Mr. A's brilliant effort...
17/04/2010, 9:07 PM
Sorry now. It's kind of died off a bit. If someone else wants to take this over they're welcome too, as I just don't have the time anymore.
18/04/2010, 10:34 AM
Was thinking about it as well, might get busier for me the next month or two, but if it quietens down, i may well throw my hat in if no-one does..
18/04/2010, 2:05 PM
Anything I can do to make it easier, let me know.
18/04/2010, 2:53 PM
If it's just a matter of starting the topic for nominations and discussions and then running the poll I'd be happy to do it. Or do you need admin access?
Just say the word and I'll get us off and running again...
18/04/2010, 3:15 PM
If it's just a matter of starting the topic for nominations and discussions and then running the poll I'd be happy to do it. Or do you need admin access?
Just say the word and I'll get us off and running again...
You don't need admin powers per se, but you have to be able to start a poll. (The mods would have to stick the thread each month, but that could be handled en passant.) Just start the thread each month and make the poll at the end of it. I think there's a dropdown option on your profile in the the admin (and mod?) control panel which would let you start polls without moving your usergroup (this is something the mods, or maybe only Dahamsta, can access, before you go looking). I'd be happy to help, but am a bit to forgetful to do it reliably on my own.
Adam, it's probably infinitely more hassle than it's worth, but you might be able to hack together something which would make a longlist of any post that gets more than X thanks or +reps in the month. Someone would still have to shortlist the stuff that was thanked for being funny. Just a thought.
18/04/2010, 3:31 PM
Good stuff. I reckon I'd be about here often enough to remember to do it. There is always the danger I go mad with power and award myself the POTM preemptively for the next six months before demanding to be made Chancellor but it's nothing the forum hasn't faced before.
18/04/2010, 6:29 PM
I've no problem giving permissions to make the job easier. Would two of ye be willing to take it on? It's not a particularly difficult job but it can be tiresome, perhaps two people could alternate and cover for holidays?
18/04/2010, 9:33 PM
No probs, I'm in. Is the pay weekly or monthly Adam?
19/04/2010, 12:41 AM
Daily tcm, if you can take a daily smack in the mouth. ;)
(I'm working on a way of compensating mods at the moment, with something simple like a tee. (Can't afford more.) You'll get yours.)
19/04/2010, 9:18 AM
sounds ominous!
Daily tcm, if you can take a daily smack in the mouth. ;)
(I'm working on a way of compensating mods at the moment, with something simple like a tee. (Can't afford more.) You'll get yours.)
Indeed. tcm could be up for 'Aggravated Sack Beating' of the month.
19/04/2010, 9:44 AM
Not again... :(
19/04/2010, 11:22 AM
I've no problem giving permissions to make the job easier. Would two of ye be willing to take it on? It's not a particularly difficult job but it can be tiresome, perhaps two people could alternate and cover for holidays?
Sure.
19/04/2010, 11:31 AM
Adam, it's probably infinitely more hassle than it's worth, but you might be able to hack together something which would make a longlist of any post that gets more than X thanks or +reps in the month. Someone would still have to shortlist the stuff that was thanked for being funny. Just a thought.
You'd have a lot of in-jokes and whines being nominated. Iorfa's questions often get lots of thanks and people whining at mods often get lots of thanks from others who've gotten infractions before. I don't think anyone uses rep any more? Probably not worth it really.
Tis curious that PotM will soon be run by people not even on the same continent as the rest of us. Should ensure some neutrality at least!
19/04/2010, 12:11 PM
I'm working on a way of compensating mods at the moment, with something simple like a tee.
I'll have to take up golf so.
Comprises the whole integrity of internet forums IMO.
People will soon be looking to become a mod for the swag, rather than for the superiority complex and power trip that we currently do it for.
19/04/2010, 1:32 PM
I agree 100%, I'll shortly be posting an announcement in the mod forum saying that all moderators were entitled to a free T, but won't be getting one now because of Dodge. :)
19/04/2010, 1:35 PM
Anyway, back on topic: what suggestions do we have to improve POTM? I'd like to create a subforum for it anyway, if only so the lads can be made moderators of it. How about simple prizes, like badges (http://www.zazzle.co.uk/foot_ie_badges_button-145820315783384868) with "POTM Winner" on 'em or summat?
19/04/2010, 2:04 PM
It's a teensy bit gay (but then I said that about the Thanks function, which I've grown to like), but I've seen on other forums that people have an awards list under their name - "Winner, Post of the Month Oct 08" or "Winner, Predictions League 2009". You could get away with just showing on the user panel "Awards 2" directly under "Blog entries 1", and then having a link to what they've won.
I don't know how it'd work other than to trust the mods, but you could add rep points for each PotM win as well.
19/04/2010, 3:14 PM
That's a good idea stu. I'm wondering now if there's some kind of plugin to handle this type of thing automatically. I'll look into it, thanks.
The Irish League Supporters forums has them, and it's also powered by vBulletin so a plugin must exist out there somewhere.
19/04/2010, 8:03 PM
You'd have a lot of in-jokes and whines being nominated. Iorfa's questions often get lots of thanks and people whining at mods often get lots of thanks from others who've gotten infractions before. I don't think anyone uses rep any more? Probably not worth it really.
Tis curious that PotM will soon be run by people not even on the same continent as the rest of us. Should ensure some neutrality at least!
i do use it on yapster occasionally when hes being particularly disagreeable
19/04/2010, 9:20 PM
I use it all the time, when I think a Thanks is a bit too much, or I'd prefer to keep the cred private.
Anyway, back on topic: what suggestions do we have to improve POTM? I'd like to create a subforum for it anyway, if only so the lads can be made moderators of it. How about simple prizes, like badges (http://www.zazzle.co.uk/foot_ie_badges_button-145820315783384868) with "POTM Winner" on 'em or summat?
My tuppence worth would be that it'd be nice to see this back, it was a good laugh, and a good way to make sure you didn't miss any of the better efforts that might have been posted in unvisited forums.
I think prizes for post of the month is a bit much though, rep points might be the way to go instead.
Something for post of the year alright, as before, would be the thing. Plus bragging rights of course.
And as regards running it, just once the mods would be on hand to jump on any vote rigging would be great, as that's what kind of fecked it up in the end the last time.
20/04/2010, 11:16 AM
What do you mean by vote rigging stann? It's hard to stop people voting for their mates or fellow fans of whatever club. Beyond that, dupe accounts are fairly sat on here, and the POTM polls were public, so any mod editing would have been obvious.
20/04/2010, 11:20 AM
I assume he's referring to the Sligo fans ruining a couple of polls. Most of them are gone now anyway, but as you pointed out there's not much that can be done about it.
Will there be a post of the year for last year to get it back up and running? I think I had one or two post of the months, so back dating any rep points or prizes might be a good idea ;)
20/04/2010, 11:39 AM
Set up (http://foot.ie/forums/110-POTM-POTY). Who should I be adding as mods again?
20/04/2010, 11:43 AM
John83 and thischarmingman.
stann
20/04/2010, 12:27 PM
What do you mean by vote rigging stann? It's hard to stop people voting for their mates or fellow fans of whatever club. Beyond that, dupe accounts are fairly sat on here, and the POTM polls were public, so any mod editing would have been obvious.
I assume he's referring to the Sligo fans ruining a couple of polls. Most of them are gone now anyway, but as you pointed out there's not much that can be done about it.
Exactly that, some retarded Jim post or other was voted for en masse. It is hard to stop people voting for mates alright, but in this case it was obviously a campaign, and it cost a couple of very good posts (Bluebeard and Mr A IIRC, safe bet anyway :D) a chance of winning, and I wouldn't agree that nothing could have been done about it, it could simply have been taken out of the running.
But look, it wasn't a big deal in the grand scheme of things, nor will it be if it happens again.
20/04/2010, 1:03 PM
Exactly that, some retarded Jim post or other was voted for en masse. It is hard to stop people voting for mates alright, but in this case it was obviously a campaign, and it cost a couple of very good posts (Bluebeard and Mr A IIRC, safe bet anyway :D) a chance of winning, and I wouldn't agree that nothing could have been done about it, it could simply have been taken out of the running.
But look, it wasn't a big deal in the grand scheme of things, nor will it be if it happens again.
Nothing on here is a big deal in the grand scheme of things. "Saturn 5 rockets and Sputnik and DNA and literature and science. ... things hydrogen atoms do when given 13.7 billion years." -- Brian Cox
The Jim thing was painfully unfunny, but in jokes will win these things from time to time. I guess we can discuss it if it comes up again.
20/04/2010, 6:17 PM
My tuppence worth would be that it'd be nice to see this back, it was a good laugh, and a good way to make sure you didn't miss any of the better efforts that might have been posted in unvisited forums.
I think prizes for post of the month is a bit much though, rep points might be the way to go instead.
Something for post of the year alright, as before, would be the thing. Plus bragging rights of course.
I agree with this.
Will there be a post of the year for last year to get it back up and running? I think I had one or two post of the months, so back dating any rep points or prizes might be a good idea ;)
I just had a quick look for the last couple of months where there were nomınatıons but no poll. The Sligo in-joke crap was irritating but I think if I remember correctly it was the incorrect links that came about as a result of the upgrade that really stalled the whole thing? I wasn't able to follow the links to the relevant posts anyway but I think there is a way of manually rewriting the link to be able to get to it? I'll check through the forum update thread for it.
20/04/2010, 7:19 PM
Right, did a bit of looking of searching and found the thread in question (http://foot.ie/threads/131826-Query-re-archive-threads). John83's method of locating the posts outlined seems to only be taking me to the actual thread page but I managed to find the posts in question (bar one, sorry SkStu...).
December was the last poll run (http://foot.ie/threads/131348-POTM-December-Voting?highlight=potm).
January nominations are in this thread (http://foot.ie/threads/130083-POTM-January-Nominations?highlight=potm).
January's nominations for POTM are:
Hairy Bowsie (http://foot.ie/threads/128006-Pre-Season-Rumours-Thread?p=1302539&viewfull=1#post1302539)
Mr A (http://foot.ie/threads/128006-Pre-Season-Rumours-Thread?p=1302547&viewfull=1#post1302547)
jebus (http://foot.ie/threads/130341-Sligo-Rovers-Are-a-Good-Role-Model-for-Other-Clubs?p=1302818&viewfull=1#post1302818)
hoops1 (http://foot.ie/threads/130341-Sligo-Rovers-Are-a-Good-Role-Model-for-Other-Clubs?p=1302789&viewfull=1#post1302789)
SkStu (http://foot.ie/threads/130373-Anyone-on-facebook.?p=1303384&viewfull=1#post1303384)
Bluebeard (http://foot.ie/threads/130384-Bizarre-dream?p=1303768&viewfull=1#post1303768)
tiktok (http://foot.ie/threads/113231-Stuff-you-are-supposed-to-like-but-is-actually-rubbish?p=1304305&viewfull=1#post1304305)
Hairy Bowsie (http://foot.ie/threads/128006-Pre-Season-Rumours-Thread?p=1304489&viewfull=1#post1304489)
Schumi (http://foot.ie/threads/130064-Bohs-SCP-discussion?p=1304570&viewfull=1#post1304570)
micls (http://foot.ie/threads/122632-Behaviour-which-needs-to-be-banned...?p=1306447&viewfull=1#post1306447)
Mr A (http://foot.ie/threads/130547-What-manager-would-you-NOT-want-to-see-arrive-at-your-club?p=1307028&viewfull=1#post1307028)
Bluebeard (http://foot.ie/threads/130547-What-manager-would-you-NOT-want-to-see-arrive-at-your-club?p=1308267&viewfull=1#post1308267)
Bluebeard (http://foot.ie/threads/28342-So-farewell-then...?p=1308748&viewfull=1#post1308748)
soccerc (http://foot.ie/threads/131231-iPad-your-thoughts?p=1313332&viewfull=1#post1313332)
bluemovie (http://foot.ie/threads/131301-Watch-football-in-3D?p=1314215&viewfull=1#post1314215)
January discussion is here (http://foot.ie/threads/130084-POTM-January-Discussions?highlight=potm) (note the debate re: Bluebeard's second effort ;) )
The only one I couldn't find was SkStu's second nomination (http://foot.ie/threads/130083-POTM-January-Nominations?p=1310217&viewfull=1#post1310217) so if anyone manages to locate it or set him up for it again that would be great.
I don't seem to be able to add polls in the POTM forum if you want to start the polling thread Adam or let me know if I can. :)
21/04/2010, 1:35 PM
Right, I've added John83 and thischarmingman as moderators, thanks again for volunteering lads. TCM, the one you couldn't find is here (http://foot.ie/threads/130835-List-of-Players-at-the-training-camp.?p=1310216#post1310216).
There doesn't seem to be a nominations system, but that might not be such a bad thing as otherwise ye'd be inundated. There is an awards system, which is probably what stu and awec have seen, should I install that?
I still have no problem with posting POTM badges out to people for the laugh, I'd just buy a dozen of them a year, it'd only cost me 20 or 30 quid. If it's just plain silly I won't bother though.
Thanks,
21/04/2010, 2:14 PM
I'd go ahead and install the awards anyway; put in the predictions league forums as well if that's how it works.
I'll leave it to someone who's actually won PotM to comment on the badges. :p
21/04/2010, 3:24 PM
Virtual badges are the way to go, I think.
If I knew what Bluebeard looked like, I'd imagine him turning up at the Christmas get together in a jacket festooned in foot.ie POTM badges.
And a hatchet for some reason.
21/04/2010, 3:51 PM
If I knew what Bluebeard looked like, I'd imagine him turning up at the Christmas get together in a jacket festooned in foot.ie POTM badges.
And a hatchet for some reason.
While wearing underpants on his head.
29/04/2010, 3:47 PM
The Awards system is installed now, I just need to figure out the settings. What awards are needed? POTM, POTY, Predictions League Winner...?
Maybe a Predictions Cup as well?
I guess it'd be cool to have an ad hoc award for unintendedly hilarious posts :)
29/04/2010, 9:52 PM
Maybe a Predictions Cup as well?
I guess it'd be cool to have an ad hoc award for unintendedly hilarious posts :)
Do we really need a villiage idiot award?
29/04/2010, 10:45 PM
Perhaps if we awarded idiots to idiots as prizes, they'd collapse in on themselves in confusion? :)
Do we really need a villiage idiot award?
More than anything this forum has ever needed...
30/04/2010, 10:22 AM
Right, I've created 3 awards now, mods should be able to hand them out via modcp. Let me know if ye've any problems.
I'm, uh, testing them on my own profile.
30/04/2010, 10:33 AM
Eh... maybe there should be an award for eh... person with the most blog posts eh... some kind of enormous gold star or something would be suitable eh.. could call it "most valuable contributer to foot.ie and general all round legend" or something like that...
30/04/2010, 10:35 AM
I could give you a kick up the hole? ;)
I'm taking the lazy option and using the default 3 awards, I'll add more when the POTM lads have tested and broken it.
I think the awards would be better positioned underneath the avatar somewhere, the current format just doesn't look right.
02/05/2010, 7:33 PM
Yeah, I'll work on it when some of them've been doled out properly, I need to add back in Club Member too, and make Mods clear, as they can change their titles now.
The mods should all have a little swastika beside their handles. You know it makes sense.