View Full Version : LTFC VS Mervue

15/04/2010, 7:15 AM
3 points is a must in this game.

The end.

15/04/2010, 8:08 AM
pretty much sums it up! had a dream last night we won 4 nil :)

Keen2win
15/04/2010, 4:00 PM
There's talk of a new "ultra group" in Section A of the stand, I don't know if it will happen tho! I don't think I can make it, we have to win

15/04/2010, 4:14 PM
ultra group? :) i sit infront of the press box! thats where its at

Keen2win
15/04/2010, 4:19 PM
ultra group? :) i sit infront of the press box! thats where its at

Thats what they're saying :)

15/04/2010, 4:24 PM
''they'' say a lot don't they :P

15/04/2010, 4:49 PM
so end of section o eh lads??

Keen2win
15/04/2010, 4:54 PM
so end of section o eh lads??

Well I'm not sure Marty, I doubt it will kick off to be honest! It would be 17/18 year olds who are talking about it, and they're trying to organise a bus to Athlone! If we honestly want to compete with Derry etc. in vocal support, it's prob best that something is set up in the stand!? It might never happen tho

15/04/2010, 4:56 PM
yeah section o is grand but does nothing for the atmosphere in the place unfortunitly

Keen2win
15/04/2010, 4:59 PM
Especially these days, theres just not enough!

15/04/2010, 5:05 PM
yeah section o is grand but does nothing for the atmosphere in the place unfortunitly

tbh section o is on its last legs I will probably stay put where I am so if ye lads go ahead with it the best of luck in yer new move.. I am too old to change now ..

Keen2win
15/04/2010, 5:09 PM
Nonsense, it'll be a revival ;) Just in a different place

15/04/2010, 6:31 PM
The age of all of us in O these days were getting older and more contrary!

15/04/2010, 7:48 PM
Brings back memories of the time Section O was forced to move into the stand due to ground improvements in 2004. That didn't go well, though there's a bit more space up there now unfortunately. Section A is usually where the large away followings (i.e Shels, Derry, Cork, Athlone maybe) are put these days isn't it?. Not sure it's the best place to gather all in all.

15/04/2010, 8:27 PM
no section a is the left side??

Keen2win
15/04/2010, 8:36 PM
Derry were in section D

15/04/2010, 8:47 PM
yeah thats what i taught aswell

15/04/2010, 9:10 PM
Section N for life.

15/04/2010, 9:18 PM
no way section C for life :)

L.T.F.C.
15/04/2010, 9:46 PM
Don't care if I'm on a floodlight... as long as I get to see the Town!

15/04/2010, 9:48 PM
Derry were in section D

yeah thats what i taught aswell

I've forgotten which one's which tbh, didn't make the Derry game, the one Shels were in, is that A or D?. Now that you mention it it could well be D but I've just gone a bit blank!.

Keen2win
15/04/2010, 9:57 PM
A is beside the tunnel! I wasnt at Shels

15/04/2010, 10:17 PM
Have it now yeah ye're right. Shels were in D. Age is a terrible thing..

15/04/2010, 10:38 PM
derry were in D spilling over to C

16/04/2010, 7:42 AM
I hope it works, and it would be good to see a young section coming through. However, it didn't the last time the singing lads moved to the stand (but at least it put an end to "if you were in the stand we'd join in" argument that was going on at the time as part of The Stand v Section O rivalry). Those were the days... :)

Keen2win
17/04/2010, 8:26 PM
I wasn't at the match, I was hoping for a better scoreline, but a wins a win!

Was there any singing in the stand? If so, were they any good?

17/04/2010, 8:40 PM
nah same old same old.. a hell of a roar when we got the winner..

17/04/2010, 9:21 PM
Some **** up from Shanahan for the equaliser, threw a 60 yard free kick into the net under absolutely no pressure. Well it didn't go into the net, I don't think it even crossed the line, but the dopey lino gave it. Absolutely brutal game though, shocking crowd, just all round crap. Nice to get the win though.

17/04/2010, 10:12 PM
Some **** up from Shanahan for the equaliser, threw a 60 yard free kick into the net under absolutely no pressure. Well it didn't go into the net, I don't think it even crossed the line, but the dopey lino gave it. Absolutely brutal game though, shocking crowd, just all round crap. Nice to get the win though.

Pretty much sums it up alright. Thought we got sucked into their hoofball game. When we put it down on the ground we had them where we wanted them all the time. Unbelievably dozy from Shanahan alright. Crap crowd too as said the good weather is actually a hindrance round here and Mervue brought approximately two people. Both officials.

18/04/2010, 3:23 PM

Shanahans ****up reminds me of Roy carrolls effort a few years ago... I spoke to someone who had a great view of the incident and he said Shanahan defintely allowed it to cross over the line.. There were noone in Section A they were more interested in lighting fires where stokes garage used to be years ago. behind where the second pitch used to be. Delighted to hear the cops picked up the lads as they were making their escape through the fields..;)

btw keen2win I have a card to give to you!

Tallanted
18/04/2010, 4:00 PM
A win is a win pretty or not!

18/04/2010, 4:16 PM
A win is a win pretty or not!

its a relief to finally win.. Now if they can concentrate on keeping a clean sheet.. What is the story with gary cronin and Derek Tyrell not playin at the moment?

18/04/2010, 4:37 PM
Cronin has the flu apparently don't know what the story is with Tyrrell. Simon Kelly served the first of his three match ban last night I believe.

18/04/2010, 5:24 PM
What is the story with gary cronin and Derek Tyrell not playin at the moment?

Apart from having the flu according to Longfordian, maybe Cousins realised how rubbish Gary Cronin really is. I shudder when I hear his name called out on the starting team.

Town Legend
20/04/2010, 10:37 AM
Would Kelly not of served all his 3 match ban seeing as he was signed before the Derry game which would of meant he missed the Derry, Cork and Mervue game?

L.T.F.C.
20/04/2010, 11:09 AM
Apparently he wasn't registered or something. Probably wrong.

20/04/2010, 11:33 AM
Yeah there was a delay with his registration, not sure why but I know the club were annoyed about it. Anyhow he still has two more matches to serve.

20/04/2010, 7:25 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/3299/

interview with chris deans here after scoring sat nite!

TheBoss
21/04/2010, 12:04 AM
Did Cathal Brady score the 2nd goal, says McDonagh on the AL Stats Centre:

http://inform.fai.ie/Statsportal/Fixtures.aspx?fixtureID=5514&matchID=7237

21/04/2010, 1:05 AM
Funily enough I thought it was McDonagh at the time, he kind of celebrated as if it was him and a few players ran to him but the announcer called it out as Brady. Maybe the ref gave it to McDonagh?. One was wearing 7 and the other 17 which didn't help I guess.

L.T.F.C.
21/04/2010, 11:59 AM
Its pretty emotional that the centre-back who hadn't scored in 6 seasons to be top-scorer!

Town Legend
21/04/2010, 12:49 PM
I was behind the goals that the Town were attacking in the second half. Although the Leader has Brady down for scoring it and claimed McDonagh touched the ball after it crossed the line this is false. McDonagh diverted the ball in at least 3/4 yards away from the goal line so the goal should be McDonaghs.

21/04/2010, 1:46 PM
Yeah nobody touched it in over the line, I could see that much, whoever got the final touch did so about four yards out. I thought it was McDonagh at the time as I said. He got widely credited with one that wasn't his earlier in the season so maybe that evens it up!.

Town Legend
21/04/2010, 3:36 PM
If McDonagh wasn't there to get the final touch its hard to say if it would of went in. It looked more like Brady was passing to McDonagh instead of trying to put it away himself because he didn't hit it with any force to put it by a defender who was heading in the direction of where he put the ball.

21/04/2010, 6:50 PM
If McDonagh wasn't there to get the final touch its hard to say if it would of went in. It looked more like Brady was passing to McDonagh instead of trying to put it away himself because he didn't hit it with any force to put it by a defender who was heading in the direction of where he put the ball.

the majority of the lads in section o reckon it is bradys.. but you just dont know.. I thought Brady celebrated first.. i have to admit our view wasnt the best where we were standin..

The Insider
21/04/2010, 11:57 PM
The players give the goal to Dotsy, JP didn't get mention except he was in the box when the shot came. The News and De Town website have it as Brady too. Who cares who scored it, we finally got a win. Hopefully we can pick up a point or better still 3 on Saturday night.

Town Legend
22/04/2010, 11:06 AM
Well my eye sight must be clearly going so cos from where I was standing directly behind the goals JP definately touched it 3/4 yards out from goal as the ball changed direction from Brady's shot.

The Insider
22/04/2010, 12:15 PM
As I said I couldn't care who scored it, we got the win that was the main thing. Just saying the players gave it to Cathal & other publications too. Few people (emphasise the word few) behind the goal thought it was Cathal too. In the stand that was our main reckoning. Maybe the players decided to give it to him just to get him off the mark..

24/04/2010, 6:32 PM
Interview with mr. Cousins after the mervue match

http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=cd510465-274a-41aa-b1b9-b0807396e403