View Full Version : Location and date for summer training camp?

Pages : 1 2 [3]

19/05/2010, 9:08 AM
Teams from the FAI website -

Republic of Ireland Seniors: Westwood (Coventry City); McShane (Hull City), Duffy (Everton), O'Dea (Celtic), Cunningham (Manchester City); Stokes (Hibernian), Fahey (Birmingham City), Green (Derby County), Long (Reading); Sheridan (Celtic), Best (Newcastle United) . Subs: J. Murphy (Scunthorpe United) for Westwood (h/t), Lawrence (Stoke City) for Sheridan (58 mins.), Foley (Wolverhampton Wanderers) for Fahey (66 mins.).

Republic of Ireland Under-23s: Quigley (Sporting Fingal); Kelly (Dundalk), Browne (Sporting Fingal), Mulcahy (Cork City), Powell (Bohemians); Sheppard (Galway United), O'Donnell (Galway United), Finn (Sporting Fingal), Williams (Sporting Fingal), Dennehy (Shamrock Rovers); Faherty (St. Patrick's Athletic). Subs: Duggan (Shamrock Rovers) for Quigley, Bermingham (Shamrock Rovers) for Powell, Bolger (UCD) for Williams, Chambers (Shamrock Rovers) for Finn, Gaynor (Dundalk) for Sheppard, McCabe (Sligo Rovers) for Dennehy (all at half-time), Amond (Sligo Rovers) for Kelly and Madden (Bohemians) for Faherty (both 60 mins.).

19/05/2010, 9:10 AM
see that dunne and kilbane are out of next weeks friendlys.

and james mccarthy it appears

Duggie
19/05/2010, 9:18 AM
and james mccarthy it appears

ya feck it wanted to see him play.
more than likely fahey will get good game time now though which is a good thing.

19/05/2010, 11:27 PM
Report on the game from RTE News: http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1073105
Skip forward to 38 minutes. Few words with Paul McShane, Greg Cunningham, Stephen O'Donnell and Paul Doolin also included in the report

20/05/2010, 8:30 PM
From rte.ie

Kevin Fahey... :rolleyes:

Fresh faces in Republic squad

Republic of Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni has included six uncapped players in his squad for next week's friendly internationals against Paraguay and Algeria.

Keeper Brian Murphy, defender Greg Cunningham, midfielders Keith Treacy, Kevin Fahey and Paul Green and striker Cillian Sheridan, who have been taking part in this week's training camp at Malahide, are among those to have been retained by the Italian.

Senior men Stephen Kelly, Sean St Ledger, Damien Duff, Glenn Whelan, Keith Andrews, Kevin Doyle and Robbie Keane will join up with the squad on Sunday ahead of the two games in Dublin.

Everton's Shane Duffy will also remain with the squad for training only.

The Republic face Paraguay on Tuesday evening and Algeria on Friday.

Both those sides have qualified for the World Cup finals.

The starting line-up for Friday evening's training game against the Republic of Ireland Amateurs at Gannon Park has also been revealed.

Hull's Paul McShane captains the side in a match which will be played behind closed doors.

Republic of Ireland team to play Republic of Ireland Amateur team on Friday at Gannon Park:

Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe); Paul McShane (Hull) (capt), Shane Duffy (Everton), Darren O'Dea (Celtic); Greg Cunningham (Manchester City), Liam Lawrence (Stoke), Kevin Foley (Wolves), Paul Green (Derby); Shane Long (Reading), Leon Best (Newcastle), Cillian Sheridan (St Johnstone).

Substitutes: Brian Murphy (Ipswich), Eddie Nolan (Sheffield Wednesday), Keith Fahey (Birmingham City), Anthony Stokes (Hibernian).

Republic of Ireland squad:

Keiren Westwood (Coventry), Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe), Brian Murphy (Ipswich); Eddie Nolan (Sheffield Wednesday), Stephen Kelly (Fulham), Paul McShane (Hull), John O'Shea (Manchester United), Greg Cunningham (Manchester City), Sean St Ledger (Preston), Kevin Foley (Wolves), Darren O'Dea (Celtic); Damien Duff (Fulham), Keith Treacy (Preston), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), Keith Andrews (Blackburn), Liam Lawrence (Stoke), Keith Fahey (Birmingham), Paul Green (Derby); Robbie Keane (Tottenham), Kevin Doyle (Wolves), Leon Best (Newcastle), Shane Long (Reading), Anthony Stokes (Hibernian), Cillian Sheridan (St Johnstone).

21/05/2010, 2:05 AM
I wonder why Nolan isn't getting a start as Cunningham played the last match. Maybe he's carrying a knock.

21/05/2010, 7:42 AM
From rte.ie

Kevin Fahey... :rolleyes:

i wonder if that was actually an error in the press release as sky sports had him listed as kevin also. unforgiveable though anyway

21/05/2010, 8:13 AM
definitely an error in the press release. radio was the same

21/05/2010, 10:25 AM
One would think that the media outlets would have the cop on to read these statements before publishing

21/05/2010, 12:32 PM
One would think that the media outlets would have the cop on to read these statements before publishing

i honestly believe most sports media in this country think that getting things correct is optional. i really do

21/05/2010, 1:44 PM
Lads thats not the reason, obviouslly they are fighting to get the stuff out first.

Wolfie
21/05/2010, 2:56 PM
Lads thats not the reason, obviouslly they are fighting to get the stuff out first.

A bit like Drug Dealers.

21/05/2010, 5:05 PM
I like Kevin as a name. It's a good name.
Anyway, if you want to play for Ireland, you have a much better chance if you're called Kevin.

EastTerracer
21/05/2010, 5:58 PM
I like Kevin as a name. It's a good name.
Anyway, if you want to play for Ireland, you have a much better chance if you're called Kevin.

Ok, I'm bored and had a spreadsheet in front of me. While we have had a few Kevins recently the following is a list of the most common names amongst Irish Internationals (not verifying the numbers though)

Michael / Mick / Mickey / Mike 18
John / Johnny 16
Paddy / Pat 13
Thomas / Tommy / Tom 13
Alan 12
Stephen / Steven / Steve 12
Joe / Joey / Joseph 10
Jim / Jimmy 9
Kevin 9
Liam 8
Tony / Anthony 8

I admit I am a sad individual when it comes to this stuff......

21/05/2010, 6:19 PM
:dance:7th!

21/05/2010, 7:14 PM
I think what geysir is trying to say, is, if you are called kevin you have more of a chance than if you are called keith ;)

21/05/2010, 8:24 PM
Thank you Paul, it's nice to be understood.

It's a while since we had a Tom.
I'd say the Kevins have a very good cap to name ratio.

EastTerracer
22/05/2010, 1:06 AM
Ireland beat the Irish Juniors 2-0 this evening with goals from Cillian Sheridan and captain Paul McShane. Full report from the Irish Times below:

Unfortunately it sounds like Shane Duffy took a bad knock in the first half.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2010/0521/1224270883015.html

24/05/2010, 9:36 AM
Good article - where are they now of the previous two training squads, Trapattoni's first squad in Portugal, and the squad Stan took to the States: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/summer-camp-2191897.html

24/05/2010, 11:22 AM
what kind of team do you think he'll field tomorrow? Do you think Fahey will get a start?

Junior
24/05/2010, 11:27 AM
Martin Rowlands -- Recalled from wilderness, and shone in training. Trap picked him in the starting XI for Serbia, but an ankle injury ruined his momentum.

Nitpicking perhaps....but Rowlands did later feature in the competitive Montenegro game before that bad injury - who knows what the future may have held...

24/05/2010, 1:32 PM
team:

westwood
kelly
mcshane
st ledger
oshea
lawrence
whelan
andrews
duff
keane
doyle

24/05/2010, 4:14 PM
Trap must see something in PMcS that the rest of us dont. Then again, not much other options at the moment with Dunne out.

If we can gain some strength in depth in the defensive positions we will have a solid squad for the campaign ahead.

Am I right in saying S Reid has been overlooked for the training camp and these friendlies?

24/05/2010, 7:30 PM
Reid needs a solid pre-season behind him before he can be considered. It's probably wise for him to get an extended rest over the summer in any case.

24/05/2010, 7:42 PM
Not any experimenting with the starting 11. Trap is going with his available first choices. Could be the beginnings of Trap trying some different tactics throughout a qual campaign. Maybe the team are ready for lesson nr 2.

Paddy Garcia
24/05/2010, 7:49 PM
Ok, I'm bored and had a spreadsheet in front of me. While we have had a few Kevins recently the following is a list of the most common names amongst Irish Internationals (not verifying the numbers though)

Michael / Mick / Mickey / Mike 18
John / Johnny 16
Paddy / Pat 13
Thomas / Tommy / Tom 13
Alan 12
Stephen / Steven / Steve 12
Joe / Joey / Joseph 10
Jim / Jimmy 9
Kevin 9
Liam 8
Tony / Anthony 8

I admit I am a sad individual when it comes to this stuff......

I'm shocked that Alan has come in at No 5!

bwagner
24/05/2010, 8:03 PM
for the love of god what is the point in playing keane duff and doyle again ...its a joke

EastTerracer
24/05/2010, 8:54 PM
I'm shocked that Alan has come in at No 5!

Quinn; O'Brien; Moore; McLoughlin; Maybury ; Mahon ; Lee; Kernaghan ; Kelly, Sr.; Kelly, Jr.; Bennett; Campbell

24/05/2010, 9:21 PM
Thank you Paul, it's nice to be understood.

It's a while since we had a Tom.
I'd say the Kevins have a very good cap to name ratio.

Ha geysir, only saw this now. Interesting that you used the before the team name, as that is what its known as locally....and to answer your question yes, but not because of inbreeding and the same names popping up all over the place.

25/05/2010, 6:51 AM
I'm disappointed that Fahey isn't starting. Hopefully we'll experiment a bit more against Algeria.

25/05/2010, 7:49 AM
Looks like if Fahey gets a run it'll be on the right or left rather than through the middle, I know he's primarily played out wide for Birmingham too but I think he has to be played through the middle to show his passing range and creativity, but I suppose that can't happen it Trap's current system with two primarily defensive players in there.

Trap was quoted as saying "I want to look at Paul Green - he has great promise. Cillian Sheridan could come in as Kevin Doyle needs a rest with a sore throat. Keith Fahey, can also play on the left or right - the same with Greg Cunningham." on the Metro this morning.