View Full Version : Bohs 0-0 Rovers

red arrow
26/03/2010, 9:11 PM
great result. anybody got a report on the game. what game will peers miss?

bingoballs
26/03/2010, 9:42 PM
Brief report on rte website. Amond had a goal disallowed for handball in the first minute i think. Also Raf ran on to the pitch to a chorus of judas from the Rovers fans according to extratime. Great to have a player of the quality of Almeida to come off the bench for Peers. A great point i think and a great start to the season after some tough games on paper.

oldrover
26/03/2010, 9:57 PM
Great display by the bitored. One of those enthralling nil all games.The commitment shown by all the team especially in the defensive performance with 10 men for 30 mins in second half was uplifting and great to experience the wholehearted response by our supporters. To see all the Sligo support on their feet urging on the team is exactly the type of spirit we need.Not a night for any criticism as far as I am concerned. Well done to all....

MarkyH
26/03/2010, 10:00 PM
Happy to get out with a point tonight. We defended really well after the sending off (stupid 1st booking for peers in 1st half).almeida was back to his old self when he came on.

Thought daveron and Ryan played really
well. Ventre had a chasing off mcgylnn. Raf booed alright.

Unbeaten run continues.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/03/2010, 10:16 PM
Happy to get out with a point tonight. We defended really well after the sending off (stupid 1st booking for peers in 1st half).almeida was back to his old self when he came on.

Thought daveron and Ryan played really
well. Ventre had a chasing off mcgylnn. Raf booed alright.

Unbeaten run continues.

Agree with all of that. Davoren was brilliant. I couldn't believe when they moved McGlynn who was killing Ventre over to Davorens wing. Ryan played really well as well but I'm sure someone will come on saying he was ****e cause he gave the ball away a couple of times. Everyone played very well mind. Couldn't fault anyone.

Even though we were playing with 10 men and they had all the ball we never really looked like conceding apart from one time Byrne got through and Brush tackled him as he was trying to get past him. Brush made 2 great saves in the first half from Byrne.

Having said all that we were well on top at the time Peers got sent off and created plenty of chances. Played the ball on the ground a lot more then in the last few weeks.

Would like to see the 'foul' for the second yellow again. It looked like the two of them were running and jostling and Byrne threw himself to the ground when he realized he wasn't going to get there. I would have thought that if it was a foul then it would have to have been a straight red rather then a second yellow as he was last man. Ref didn't really know what to do before he gave the free as the 'foul' happened and he looked over at the linesman hoping for him to make the decision but he wasn't giving anything and then he decided to blow for it. Bohs are getting well used to playing with a man advantage already this season!

Raf was half booed and half clapped I'd say but the boos will always be louder then the applause.

Brilliant support. The last 10 minutes with everyone on their feet was great and it felt like a win leaving there.

If they're the best team in the league we don't have anything to fear

redarmyfaction
27/03/2010, 12:16 AM
Bit of a sore one Raf coming on for to play for SOTE like those, but remember he put in season after season for us and game after game for us when it wasn't so much popular and ask were you there yourself every week for the Bitored?

27/03/2010, 2:09 AM
It's a decent result , unbeaten run continues, shame raff got booed but **** it he can see he's hardly on an incomparable path to glory

Don't know if ye saw it but those ***** at RTE had it at 5-0 Rovers at full time and i was delighted till I read their full time report!

Well Red
27/03/2010, 9:16 AM
The report of the match on the Bohs site is honest enough and worth reading for those that were not there, too long to put on here.
It was an excellent performance, all of the team did well, sadly Ventre had a nightmare. Apart from that the defence really did well especially when down to ten men and they never tried to use the long ball game, poor Blinks was a bit on his own especially for the second half and not much he could do. Brush had a terrific game and only faulted for some of his kicking from back passes but he made some brilliant reflex saves and his positioning was very good. Noticed Joseph N'do was standing at the corner of the stand near the Rovers supporters, not sure was he not up to match fitness or did him papers not get cleared on time, cant wait to see him in action. Thought O Grady had one of his better games and looks fitter than I have seen him for a while. The other stars were the supporters, they played a blinder, never stopped the vocal support for a moment, you could literally hear a pin drop in the main part of the Jody stand occupied by the Bohs fans. Pity the Pats game is coming up so quickly as the match last night was a pretty draining affair but then most of our players are pros and should be able to play a few matches in 4 days. Really encouraging night though, Cook will know what positions he needs to sort out.

Rasputin
27/03/2010, 9:41 AM
but remember he put in season after season for us and game after game for us when it wasn't so much popular and ask were you there yourself every week for the Bitored?
Exactly.
Anyone who boos raf should be booing Conor O'Grady by all right since he DID leave Rovers when we were in the graveyard to go for money and success at Cork and Derry.

red bellied
27/03/2010, 10:24 AM
I think it was the heat of the moment with Cretaro getting booed and called Judas, him coming on as sub and Bohs piling on the pressure.

Brian Boru
27/03/2010, 10:38 AM
Tremendous performance by everybody. Brush was outstanding. Yet again it's a game we would have lost last year. Almeida coming off the bench was key. The problem is goals- N'do will help in this regard. We'll finish second just ahead of Fingal and Hoops. Moreover, we're now almost as good as Bohs.

CRFC&SRFC
27/03/2010, 11:49 AM
Excellent point, thought Brush was immense. As was Peers, although his first yellow looked needless and seemed to be given on top of incident before corner came in few minutes prior to it. Also Davoren best game for us so far,timed his challenges perfectly, very composed on ball all night, and became even more important as doyle tired.

shedhead
27/03/2010, 3:09 PM
Idiots booing Raf. Judas, for what? Seriously what did he do that wrong? He only has a few years left in his career and would be mad not to earn a bit of extra money for further down the line. Would the adulation earned from staying with rovers put food on the table 10 years down the line, no. And what right minded pro footballer wouldn’t want to try playing in the champions league, albeit preliminary stages (although who knows). Fair enough his attitude at times was poor enough last season but what about the times his attitude was great. Playing out of position for years and doing a good job. Also he kissed the crest in the final but have you thought that maybe he done this to show that he does actually care for Sligo Rovers even though he would be moving on?

End of the day he has done more for sligo rovers cause then any of the fickle tard's booing him.

Well Red
27/03/2010, 6:54 PM
Idiots booing Raf. Judas, for what? Seriously what did he do that wrong? He only has a few years left in his career and would be mad not to earn a bit of extra money for further down the line. Would the adulation earned from staying with rovers put food on the table 10 years down the line, no. And what right minded pro footballer wouldn’t want to try playing in the champions league, albeit preliminary stages (although who knows). Fair enough his attitude at times was poor enough last season but what about the times his attitude was great. Playing out of position for years and doing a good job. Also he kissed the crest in the final but have you thought that maybe he done this to show that he does actually care for Sligo Rovers even though he would be moving on?

End of the day he has done more for sligo rovers cause then any of the fickle tard's booing him.

In my opinion you are making a big deal of Raf, this is all part of the cut and thrust of football, there was no malice in the booing and nobody there holds a grudge against Raf, it is all part of what goes on in football. You must have read a thousand times that the fans appreciate what Raf did for Sligo, so lets drop it and spend more time on commenting on a terrific display from the boys last night. Off to Pats on Monday and then Drogs on Friday, cannot affort it but could not miss it.

dong
27/03/2010, 7:15 PM
In my opinion you are making a big deal of Raf, this is all part of the cut and thrust of football, there was no malice in the booing and nobody there holds a grudge against Raf, it is all part of what goes on in football. You must have read a thousand times that the fans appreciate what Raf did for Sligo, so lets drop it and spend more time on commenting on a terrific display from the boys last night. Off to Pats on Monday and then Drogs on Friday, cannot affort it but could not miss it.

That's the spirit.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/03/2010, 4:11 PM

That's a little bit harsh. Without the fans there is no club.

Brian Boru
28/03/2010, 4:20 PM
That's a little bit harsh. Without the fans there is no club.

I agree. I didn't boo Raf but those who did were only having a laugh I'm sure. Also, Raf seemed to be taking it in his stride- he appearred to be laughing when the lads were having a go at him. No big deal either way- I'm sure Raf himself would agree.

Well Red
28/03/2010, 7:26 PM
I agree. I didn't boo Raf but those who did were only having a laugh I'm sure. Also, Raf seemed to be taking it in his stride- he appearred to be laughing when the lads were having a go at him. No big deal either way- I'm sure Raf himself would agree.

Dead on BB

Guts&Glory
28/03/2010, 9:31 PM
I and plenty of other fans have been there in the Showgies for all their lives, 34 years of my life, as have my brother and previous generations of my family so don't question fans loyalty to the club against a player who only set foot in the Showgies when he played for Rovers.

Rasputin - Raf was looking for a move and putting it up to the club and threatening them pay me more or I move since last June - unlike Conor O'Grady when he moved form the club.

To others saying Raf had respect for the club etc 1. see above and 2. Raf said the Cup Final would probably be his last game less than 24 hours after the game - hardly showing respect to the club.

Since so many claim he has such undying love for the club I look forward to seeing him week in week out following the Rovers when he retires......somehow I dont expect to see him there.

Raf was happy to take the Rovers wages when no one else showed any interest in him...Rovers gave him the platform to develop. As I said before on here if he just scored 5 goals last season and Rovers let him go he would be b&*(hing about that - you cannot have it both ways.

He made a comment recently how he was played at Rovers even when he wasn't fit yet it is OK in his eyes to postpone a much needed operation until season end as Nutsy wants him to play and fight for his place - double standards how are ya!

Anyway at this stage Nutsy will likely ship him out mid season as he usually does with some of his squad that arent performing or getting games during the season.

28/03/2010, 10:28 PM
Good man. God help Seamie Coleman if he ever comes to the Showgies with Everton.

Only1Rovers
29/03/2010, 4:46 AM
Danny Ventre has made the Indo's Team of the Week... they've slotted him in at left full after turning in a less than impressive display against Bohs. Just goes to show the quality in the team this season. Even when a Rovers player doesn't perform, he's still better than most in the league.
:p

Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/03/2010, 8:02 AM
Raf was at the Fingal game and the Galway game and is still a Rovers fan. Yes the way he left the club wasn't ideal but he's still a fan.

As for Ventre - he wasn't even the best left full in the Rovers team at the weekend let alone in the whole league!

redbuli
29/03/2010, 12:04 PM
they must of mixed Ventre up with Davoren by the looks of things

prodsc
29/03/2010, 10:28 PM
Danny Ventre has made the Indo's Team of the Week... they've slotted him in at left full after turning in a less than impressive display against Bohs. Just goes to show the quality in the team this season. Even when a Rovers player doesn't perform, he's still better than most in the league.
:p
Indo I saw had Ventre at RB in the Team! Also had Blinky in team(as a forward)