View Full Version : A Championship Cup 2010

15/03/2010, 5:29 PM
Group winners go through to the Semi finals.
Date and times to be confirmed.

Group 1

Saturday 10th April - Castlebar Celtic v Finn Harps - 7.45pm
Sunday 11th April - Sligo Rovers v Galway United - 2.00pm
Sunday 18th April - Galway United v Castlebar Celtic - 2.00 pm
Finn Harps v Sligo Rovers - 2.00 pm
Sunday 2nd May - Castlebar Celtic v Sligo Rovers - 7.00 pm
Finn Harps v Galway United - 2.00 pm

Group 2

Sunday 4th April - Shamrock Rovers v UCD - 12.00pm
Sporting Fingal v Dundalk - 12.00pm
Saturday 10th April - Drogheda United v UCD - 12.00pm
Shamrock Rovers v Sporting Fingal - 12.00pm
Saturday 18th April - Dundalk v Drogheda United - 12.00pm
UCD v Sporting Fingal - 12.00pm
Saturday 28th April - Dundalk v Drogheda United - I would guess this is a mistake to be rectified
Sporting Fingal v Drogheda United - 12.00pm
Sunday 2nd May - Drogheda United v Shamrock Rovers - 12.00pm
Dundalk v UCD - 12.00pm

Group 3

Sunday 4th April - St Patrick Athletic v Bohemians - 12.00pm
Shelbourne v Bray Wanderers - 12.00pm
Sunday 11th April - Tullamore Town v St patricks Athletic - 12.00pm
Bohemians v Shelbourne - 12.00pm
Sunday 18th April - Shelbourne v St patricks Athletic - 12.00pm
Bray Wanderers v Tullamore Town - 12.00pm
Sunday 25th April - St Patricks Athletic v Bray Wanderers - 12.00pm
Bohemians v Tullamore Town - 12.00pm

Group 4

Sunday 11th April - FC Carlow v Cobh Ramblers - 3.00pm
Tralee Dynamos v Limerick - 3.00pm
Sunday 18th April - Limerick v FC Carlow - 2.00pm
Cobh Ramblers v Tralee Dynamos - 7.00pm
Sunday 2nd May - FC Carlow v Tralee Dynamos - 3.00pm
Cobh Ramblers v Limerick - 7.00pm

15/03/2010, 5:38 PM
Thanks

culloty82
15/03/2010, 10:14 PM
I'd say the home matches will prove decisive - my tips would be Castlebar, Rovers, Bohs and Carlow for the semis.

16/03/2010, 8:55 AM
will the league itself start after these games?

Yeah, the last weekend in May.

theboy
16/03/2010, 11:05 AM
Yeah, the last weekend in May.

This cup is a great idea, it'll give teams a chance to play some games before the start of the league and maybe win a cup...

TheBoss
16/03/2010, 2:15 PM
Looks like the first 2 groups is Group 1 and the last 2 is Group 2 for the league campaign.

GreenStar
18/03/2010, 9:34 AM
Group 2

Sunday 4th April - Shamrock Rovers v UCD - 12.00pm
Sporting Fingal v Dundalk - 12.00pm
Saturday 10th April - Drogheda United v UCD - 12.00pm
Shamrock Rovers v Sporting Fingal - 12.00pm
Saturday 18th April - Dundalk v Drogheda United - 12.00pm
UCD v Sporting Fingal - 12.00pm
Saturday 28th April - Dundalk v Drogheda United - I would guess this is a mistake to be rectified
Sporting Fingal v Drogheda United - 12.00pm
Sunday 2nd May - Drogheda United v Shamrock Rovers - 12.00pm
Dundalk v UCD - 12.00pm

I'd imagine that should be Dundalk v Rovers on Saturday 24th April as it is the only fixture outstanding and the only weekend not already mentioned.

gufc2000
03/04/2010, 11:18 AM
do galway united have a team this year?

Connor admits to A team issues

Tue, Mar 30 2010 http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/3160

Galway United boss Sean Connor has revealed that he is having problems putting a team together for the Newstalk A Championship.

The 42-year-old took charge of The Tribesmen before the start of the 2010 campaign and is still putting the finishing touches to his first-team squad, but he will now have to recruit extra players for the 'A' team.

Connor admits that he wanted to take charge of the reserve team himself, but league rules forbid him from doing so, which means he will have to appoint a new coach as well as trying to find enough players for the team.

Part of the problem for the ex-Bohemians manager is the fact that most young players in Galway have already been snapped up by rivals Mervue United and Salthill Devon. He certainly has work to do in order to get an 'A' team ready for the start of their season.

"It’s an interesting facet because you look at the League and they’re cutting teams' budgets and they’re trying to make teams more financially prudent," said Connor.

"But yet in the same hand, you must have an A team, you must have licensed coaches for the A team and the U-19 team. So you need a panel of maybe 40 players. Right now, I’ve a panel of 18 players. So that is a difficulty.

"It’s particularly difficult in Galway because you’ve got Mervue United and Salthill Devon, who are so far ahead of this football club in terms of their under-age structure that most of the players that are worth talking about are already signed up by them.

"At U-19 level, one of those clubs has 46 players signed, so you tell me where 46 players are going to get a game in a season. I think that’s something that needs to be looked at. Possibly, I think the A team and the U-19 team should be an option for clubs. If you can afford it, you can do it.

"The teams in the First Division don’t have to have the A team and the U-19 team like you do in the Premier Division. I could do the job myself, but I’m not allowed to do it."

GreenStar
03/04/2010, 3:28 PM
Group 2:
Shamrock Rovers 2-2 UCD
(played at Belfield)

Dillonman
06/04/2010, 6:53 PM
Our game with Fingal was called off. The joke league continues!

GreenStar
07/04/2010, 8:26 AM
Our game with Fingal was called off. The joke league continues!

Any reason?

07/04/2010, 9:45 AM
The joke league continues!
Its not a league

And its only a joke due to incompetence/laziness/apathy of clubs

Dillonman
07/04/2010, 1:40 PM
Any reason?

No idea, just saw a post over on Orielweb.

Dillonman
07/04/2010, 1:41 PM
Its not a league

And its only a joke due to incompetence/laziness/apathy of clubs

I wasn't referring to the cup atm, I'm referring to the overall championship. I should have made myself clearer to those who love to nitpick.

07/04/2010, 2:27 PM
I wasn't referring to the cup atm, I'm referring to the overall championship. I should have made myself clearer to those who love to nitpick.

Its not nitpicking if someone points out when you post rubbish and can't back up your posts. You posted "the joke leageue continues" despite having no clue why the game was called off.

Dillonman
07/04/2010, 2:46 PM
Its not nitpicking if someone points out when you post rubbish and can't back up your posts. You posted "the joke leageue continues" despite having no clue why the game was called off.

I spelt that bit correct actually.

I posted it because it WAS called off. Games are constantly being called off in it just like last year and already first weekend, games are off.

07/04/2010, 3:06 PM
I spelt that bit correct actually.

I posted it because it WAS called off. Games are constantly being called off in it just like last year and already first weekend, games are off.
Games were called off in the Premier Division last week too...

(and again, as I psoted above. Its not the league thats a joke, its some of the clubs)

sean r
08/04/2010, 2:55 AM
do you really think it is a good idea to have reserve team in the a league? should it be a league for clubs looking to enter the league?

08/04/2010, 8:12 AM
do you really think it is a good idea to have reserve team in the a league? should it be a league for clubs looking to enter the league?

Not enough of them, and then what happens the reserve teams? It was set up specifically to do both.

BTW Pats drew 1-1 with Bohs in Richmond

culloty82
08/04/2010, 8:22 AM
This weekend marks the start of the senior soccer season in Kerry, with the KDL playing Waterford and Dynamos facing Limerick. Hennessy's new career as Kerry GAA sub-goalie means he has stayed with Lisselton, and while Kerry have a good home record in the League Cup, Waterford's 100% start and hammering of Tralee means they start as firm favourites. Dynamos begin their A Championship Cup campaign the day before, and with two relatively tough away games, victory over Limerick will be essential if they are to reach the semi-finals.

CCFC1924
10/04/2010, 1:45 AM
Can't wait for this to kick off tomorrow. Hope we get at least 200 at it. Playing Finn Harps first team in the EA Cup on Tuesday too.

G'wan Celtic!

GreenStar
10/04/2010, 9:20 PM
Saturday 10th, Group 2:
Shamrock Rovers 1-2 Sporting Fingal

Any other results in Group 2?

10/04/2010, 9:32 PM
Castlebar Celtic 7 - 2 Finn Harps "A"

CCFC1924
10/04/2010, 11:35 PM
Castlebar Celtic 7 Finn Harps 2
4 goals from Seanie McHale. What a performance in the second half. Went one up, conceded what seemed like a dodgey pen, then went 2-1 up before half time. Then went 6-1 up, and another dodgey pen given, 6-2, then scored another a few minutes from time. Great start for us, football was great to watch on a beautiful Saturday evening.

G'wan Celtic! http://www.ybig.ie/forum/smileys/smiley20.gif

10/04/2010, 11:46 PM
Pats beat Tullamore 3-0. Goals by Noel Haverty, Thomas Cawley and Sean Doyle

11/04/2010, 10:12 AM
what are harps A team like this season? hammered tonight

It's a completely new panel this season with a new manager. It's going to be tough for us to be as strong as recent years at A Level but the new manager has come in with a fresh, youthful squad so we would expect them to improve over the coming weeks.

Rasputin
11/04/2010, 2:18 PM
CF1989 whats our A Team like this season?
And whos managing it this season, isnt your man from Donegal who was managing them last season gone now?

Rasputin
11/04/2010, 2:30 PM
yeah Brian Dorrian was there last season. Steve Feeney is managing u18, u20 and A team this year. u18s won 6-0 yeserday v salthill. alot of new players in since last season, about 35 players at the club between the 3 sides. i think we'll be well organised and will do well this season
Ya I saw that result, great start and one I didnt expect because Salthill and Mervue always have had strong underage set ups.
I didnt think Feeney was Managerial material tbh.
Which of the 3 teams do you think are best placed to challenge for honours or are any of them at that stage yet?
Hopefully there is a bit of continuity now with the teams so that we can build them up and not having to do a hatchet job every close season.
Whats the craic with the sligo leitrim though? Is there much conflict over us poaching players that would have previously been on Sligo Leitrim squads or has that rift been rectified?

culloty82
11/04/2010, 7:03 PM
Tralee Dynamos 2-1 Limerick FC

Limerick took a 12th-minute lead when David McGrath scored a bicycle-kick, but Dynamos equalised a minute before half-time when Chris Kerins drove a free kick through the wall and past the Limerick keeper. Dynamos dominated the second half and were rewarded in the 65th minute with Peter McCarthy marking the winner. A vital win in Dynamos only home fixture in this competition, and with an extremely tough final match away to Carlow, Tralee know that a win away to Cobh at the weekend will be required if they are to top the group and qualify for the semi-finals.

apo11o
12/04/2010, 12:48 PM
I didnt think Feeney was Managerial material tbh.

The managerial team have done really well so far, training, friendlys, gym work and set pieces, they seem to be getting to know the best starting 11, imo they got it almost right v Salthill
1 or 2 positions to be strengthened.
I'm sure they would agree Salthill were not the test that was expected, however you can only beat what's in front of you.

FlapjackJoe
13/04/2010, 2:34 PM
Does anyone know the results of these games that all should've been played by now:
Sligo Rovers v Galway United
Drogheda United v UCD
Shelbourne v Bray Wanderers
Bohemians v Shelbourne
FC Carlow v Cobh Ramblers

Ram72
13/04/2010, 7:22 PM
The FC Carlow V Cobh Ramblers is re-scheduled for the 28th.

JM2010
14/04/2010, 11:45 AM
The FC Carlow V Cobh Ramblers is re-scheduled for the 28th.

Any idea why the original game was called off? The 28th is a Wednesday but they dont have floodlights do they? How did Cobh play last night? Heard they lost 2-1.

Ram72
14/04/2010, 7:19 PM
Any idea why the original game was called off? The 28th is a Wednesday but they dont have floodlights do they? How did Cobh play last night? Heard they lost 2-1.

Don't know why it was called off.
From what I've been told they played well and were unlucky to lose to a last minute goal.
Things could be looking good on the football side of things if the report I got is anything to go by.
Just need to get supporters out now and get behind the team for the coming season.

CCFC1924
14/04/2010, 8:57 PM
Heard that Galway won't be fielding a team for this. What does this mean? Effectively just a 3 team group now?

If that's the case we may just need a point v Sligo

Ram72
18/04/2010, 12:02 AM
Cobh Ramblers and Tralee Dynamos drew 1-1 tonight

KevB76
18/04/2010, 4:33 PM
Limerick FC 0-1 FC Carlow (result)

18/04/2010, 5:35 PM
Finn Harps 0 - 1 Sligo Rovers

culloty82
18/04/2010, 8:17 PM
Limerick FC 0-1 FC Carlow (result)

Carlow would be expected to get at least a draw at home to Dynamos, so looks like they're strong favourites for the group.

Enruoblehs
18/04/2010, 9:26 PM
Shelbourne v Bray Wanderers - not played

Bohemians 2-0 Shelbourne

GreenStar
18/04/2010, 10:49 PM
Any Group 2 results? I can only find the 2 Rovers results. There should be another 4 games played by now. Any help?

KevB76
19/04/2010, 1:31 PM
Carlow would be expected to get at least a draw at home to Dynamos, so looks like they're strong favourites for the group.

Yes they're worthy favourites, they are a physical side and can play a bit too. We had a strong team out, but our downfall I think was our midfield of U19's werent quite able for the physical nature of the match against Carlows bigger older lads. We had a penalty saved late on in he game.

19/04/2010, 1:44 PM
Pats drew away to Shels on Sunday, 1-1. Powderly with the Pats goal and (on loan from Pats) Andy Haran for Shels

19/04/2010, 9:54 PM
Pats drew away to Shels on Sunday, 1-1. Powderly with the Pats goal and (on loan from Pats) Andy Haran for ShelsCan players on loan play against their own club? Didn't think they could.

poster
20/04/2010, 1:22 AM
Who scored for Sligo Rovers V Harps?

HarpoJoyce
20/04/2010, 1:32 AM
Any Group 2 results? I can only find the 2 Rovers results. There should be another 4 games played by now. Any help?

April 10th Drogheda Utd 'A' 0:1 UCD 'A'
April 17th UCD 'A' 1: 4 Sporting Fingal 'A'

( I hope three qualify from the group!).

20/04/2010, 8:09 AM
Who scored for Sligo Rovers V Harps?

Jason McCartney

TheBoss
20/04/2010, 2:20 PM
I believe these are tables at the moment:

GROUP 1

1 Castlebar Celtic 1 1 0 0 7-2 3
2 Sligo Rovers 'A' 1 1 0 0 1-0 3
3 Galway United 'A' 0 0 0 0 0-0 0
4 Finn Harps 'A' 2 0 0 2 2-8 0
GROUP 2

1 Sporting Fingal 'A' 2 2 0 0 6-2 6
2 UCD 'A' 3 1 1 1 4-6 4
3 Shamrock Rovers 'A' 2 0 1 1 3-4 1
4 Dundalk 'A' 0 0 0 0 0-0 0
5 Drogheda United 'A' 1 0 0 1 0-1 0
GROUP 3

1 St. Patrick's Athletic 'A' 3 1 2 0 5-2 5
2 Bohemians 'A' 2 1 1 0 3-1 4
3 Bray Wanderers 'A' 1 1 0 0 4-0 3
4 Shelbourne 'A' 2 0 1 1 1-3 1
5 Tullamore Town 2 0 0 2 0-7 0
GROUP 4

1 Tralee Dynamos 2 1 1 0 3-2 4
2 FC Carlow 1 1 0 0 1-0 3
3 Cobh Ramblers 1 0 1 0 1-1 1
4 Limerick 'A' 2 0 0 2 1-3 0

20/04/2010, 4:17 PM
I doubt the rules in the A league are that strict sligoman

GreenStar
20/04/2010, 6:51 PM
April 10th Drogheda Utd 'A' 0:1 UCD 'A'
April 17th UCD 'A' 1: 4 Sporting Fingal 'A'

( I hope three qualify from the group!).

That's great. Thanks for this. Only 2 games outstanding now. Only group winner qualifies.