View Full Version : Supporters club bus to Monaghan

09/03/2010, 10:42 AM
http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=7b3fda48-f32d-4712-99ce-e482aaae1c5a

we are thinking of running a supporters club bus to monaghan.. anyone interested please give Liam Healion a shout on 0876141926. If we dont have enough people going by wednesday evening the bus will be cancelled.. its all in yer court..

RockofGibraltar
09/03/2010, 2:57 PM
anyone hardly driving up to it from dublin? or anyone driving back to longford after it if i got a bus to monaghan from dublin?

10/03/2010, 10:03 AM
anyone hardly driving up to it from dublin? or anyone driving back to longford after it if i got a bus to monaghan from dublin?

I am pretty sure ROG that there will be a fair few driving down from dublin I suppose its a matter of asking around at the game or if you wanted to ask me at the game I can recommend a few people to you...

10/03/2010, 1:54 PM
may aswell get the ball rolling on this thread aswell? how do ye think we will fare up there? :) myself i'd be happy with a draw

10/03/2010, 2:41 PM
Yeah I'd be happy enough with a draw, we're missing Lester, Deans and Byrne so that's three experienced players out. Shanahan should be back though so that's good, he could be busy.

10/03/2010, 3:47 PM
they injured?

10/03/2010, 3:49 PM
Byrne is injured, the others are suspended.

10/03/2010, 6:04 PM
A draw would be a very good result alright, Monaghan are a very good team, and will be hard to beat. Deans and Lester will be big losses.

L.T.F.C.
10/03/2010, 6:08 PM
Byrne is injured, the others are suspended.

Ah boys! A draw will be hard worked for... a chance to see how strong our bench is!

11/03/2010, 10:08 AM
Ah boys! A draw will be hard worked for... a chance to see how strong our bench is!
I think a draw is a fair enough result for us.. I am staying up in Monaghan and hopefully will go for an away win after the match is over!!:p

11/03/2010, 10:48 AM
according to extratime.ie chris deans is out for two games and john lester for one game..

11/03/2010, 11:58 AM
So John Lester will be sitting in the stands....ummmmmmm. :D

Are many coming up? Dont forget we are renowned for our hospitality and have a cosy little bar so I hope you all avail of it!

MysticMon
11/03/2010, 8:53 PM
Bring it on lads...... 3-2 to us MON'S!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :tongue:

12/03/2010, 9:18 AM
So John Lester will be sitting in the stands....ummmmmmm. :D

Are many coming up? Dont forget we are renowned for our hospitality and have a cosy little bar so I hope you all avail of it!

isnt that why I am staying up!!:dance:

12/03/2010, 9:19 AM
Bring it on lads...... 3-2 to us MON'S!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :tongue:
you wish mysticmon...our time is coming and its about time we beat ye in gortakeegan.. our record there has to improve sooner or later..

12/03/2010, 12:27 PM
Dont worry lads, I saw the shels-monaghan game and think that a decent effort from Longford should at least get a result - the game in tolka was muck football - If ye go for it.....................

Rocky77
12/03/2010, 2:50 PM
I think Karl Bermingham is injured. Redressses the balance somewhat.....

MysticMon
12/03/2010, 5:53 PM
Marty i do wish and my wishes normally always come through lol :)

12/03/2010, 10:35 PM
Just home from Monaghan! Great result considering we were 2-0 down with 7 minutes left! Thought the penalty was very harsh, looked like their striker handled it tbh. Monaghan didn't impress me at all tbh, deflected shot for the first and a dodgy penalty, didn't do much after that. We definitely deserved something from the game. Must compliment Cousins on making the changes at the right time, went 3 at the back with plenty of time left instead of doing it with 5 minutes left.

Just a few things I've noticed from our first 2 games:
- Gary Cronin is still absolutely crap. Never rated him, and never understood people who did.
- Peter Hynes doesn't win headers from long balls.
- JP McDonagh can cross a good ball.
- Daisy Glynn looks a lot more up for it this season, which is good to see.

Also, Daisy got the equaliser, not McArdle. What's with the media getting our goalscorers mixed up this season?!

12/03/2010, 10:41 PM
It's a great result couldn't make it, didn't make last week and won't make next week, longest gap in ages but sure if they keep getting results it'll be alright. Daisy must be a bit peeved at goals not being given to him a la Shels last season!. He and Cousins know each other very well so I think he'll do good things for us this season.

13/03/2010, 6:57 PM
It's a great result couldn't make it, didn't make last week and won't make next week, longest gap in ages but sure if they keep getting results it'll be alright. Daisy must be a bit peeved at goals not being given to him a la Shels last season!. He and Cousins know each other very well so I think he'll do good things for us this season.

just back from monaghan with a very groggy head.. I stand corrected but for some reason I too thought it was McArdle but somethin was tellin me it wasnt McArdle..I just remember the cross coming in and a town head headed it in.. Suppose it didnt help that I was a tad tipsy at this stage.. It wasnt the best of games to watch but it was some comeback from us and thats the big difference from last season we are made to come back..

I didnt see Monaghans first goal as I was heading up into the stand and the second goal was a farcical controversail penalty for a monaghan headball.. The big turning point was Fiachra McArdles substitution as soon as he ran up to take the free I was sayin to the lads he fancies this and low and behold he hits a beauty of a free into the net..

It was our first point in gortakeegan since Stephen Kennys last game in charge in 2001 when we won two nil. There was a big town travelling support of seventy to eighty people.. I think at long last the pride is back in the team ..

As for afterwards dont ask the night flew too quick:(.. sampled the delights of McKennas,Squealin Pig and the Pulse and section o will be back there later on in the season!

We were talking to our goalkeeper coach in the club bar after the game and he confirmed that McEvoy and Ekanem are there on loan for the whole season!

13/03/2010, 7:01 PM
Yeah I thought there was fairly close to 100 Town fans there, a decent crowd. Only decided to go at 6.25 myself, made it in 2 minutes before kick off. Delighted I went now! :)

13/03/2010, 7:51 PM
Ha sounds like a good one hope those Monaghan lassies looked after ye, I could have predicted ye'd be in the Squealing Pig and McKennas anyway. The Pulse is the nightclub is it?. Never sampled that one. Maybe later on in the season.

L.T.F.C.
13/03/2010, 7:51 PM
Just home from Monaghan! Great result considering we were 2-0 down with 7 minutes left! Thought the penalty was very harsh, looked like their striker handled it tbh. Monaghan didn't impress me at all tbh, deflected shot for the first and a dodgy penalty, didn't do much after that. We definitely deserved something from the game. Must compliment Cousins on making the changes at the right time, went 3 at the back with plenty of time left instead of doing it with 5 minutes left.

Just a few things I've noticed from our first 2 games:
- Gary Cronin is still absolutely crap. Never rated him, and never understood people who did.
- Peter Hynes doesn't win headers from long balls.
- JP McDonagh can cross a good ball.
- Daisy Glynn looks a lot more up for it this season, which is good to see.

Also, Daisy got the equaliser, not McArdle. What's with the media getting our goalscorers mixed up this season?!

Penalty was a Monaghan handball. I think its unfair to say Monaghan did nothing other than the two goals... they dominated the first half, we barely got a look in. Shanahan made a brilliant save just before our first goal.

Hynes was a disgust to look at. Hardly won one header. The one he did win set up our the equaliser. Hes interested in all these flicks and step overs which doesn't do a solitary thing for the team.

Glynn played well but one question: Why is every bloody ball to him in the sky?
So stupid hitting high balls to the smallest man on the pitch.

13/03/2010, 8:08 PM
Penalty was a Monaghan handball. I think its unfair to say Monaghan did nothing other than the two goals... they dominated the first half, we barely got a look in. Shanahan made a brilliant save just before our first goal.

Hynes was a disgust to look at. Hardly won one header. The one he did win set up our the equaliser. Hes interested in all these flicks and step overs which doesn't do a solitary thing for the team.

Glynn played well but one question: Why is every bloody ball to him in the sky?
So stupid hitting high balls to the smallest man on the pitch.
forgot about Shanahans save it was top notch if Phillie Hughes had scored he would have got a hatrrick.. It turned the game for us as I couldnt see us gettin a point out of it tbh..

Oh by the way I would like to thank magicme and mysticmon for their hosptiality towards us last nite.. really appreciated heres to the game in flancare.. the offer is extended for the home leg...:D

Keen2win
13/03/2010, 8:48 PM
How did the bus go?

13/03/2010, 9:50 PM
Longfordian and Martinho it was the Forum nite club we were in, so you know it well Mister!

I missed most of the game so cant really comment on it.

13/03/2010, 9:52 PM
I think its unfair to say Monaghan did nothing other than the two goals... they dominated the first half, we barely got a look in. Shanahan made a brilliant save just before our first goal.
They didn't really do much after the 1st goal imo. Gary Cronin got roasted a few times down the left but I thought we were well in it throughout tbh. Glynn missing the 1 on 1 just before half time and then them going up the other end and getting the penalty was an awful kick in the nuts. Shanahan's save was top quality though in fairness.

How did the bus go?
On wheels.

14/03/2010, 1:15 AM
Longfordian and Martinho it was the Forum nite club we were in, so you know it well Mister!

The Forum, I see, I have been there before alright. It sounds nothing like The Pulse in fairness Marty you drunkard!. I missed all of the game, doesn't stop me commenting to be fair. It was good stuff.

14/03/2010, 5:48 PM
How did the bus go?
they had a fifeen seater down at it..

14/03/2010, 5:50 PM

silly me the memory wasnt the best at the end of the night..:(

Salmon Coloured
15/03/2010, 2:12 PM
Were there any instances of dry humping in any areas of the ground on Friday night?

kelvomcc
15/03/2010, 6:47 PM
Ekanem are there on loan for the whole season!

Who did we get this guy from and how well did he play last friday?

15/03/2010, 9:55 PM
Shamrock Rovers. Wasn't there so don't know how he played. The Supporters Club notes reckon he gave a "man of the match performance" but I'm somewhat skeptical about their impartiality.

15/03/2010, 10:06 PM
Hmmm, certainly wasn't MOTM anyway! I'd have given that to our no.6 (Sammon I think?), who was absolutely outstanding in the middle of the park imo. Ekanem did ok-ish, himself and Kev Cronin were dodgy enough in the centre of defence. He did some things well enough but then did some awfully bad things, like not heading balls clear, instead putting them straight in the air, or not heading them at all. Not the worst performance of our players on the night, but I wouldn't like to see him play every week.

15/03/2010, 10:14 PM
He's fairly inexperienced so I wouldn't be too hard on him (not that you were, just in general) it was a tough enough game to be thrown into. I'm sure the more he gets to train and play wth those around him he'll get better. Seems to be well enough regarded within Rovers by all accounts.

kelvomcc
15/03/2010, 11:25 PM
Hmmm, certainly wasn't MOTM anyway! I'd have given that to our no.6 (Sammon I think?), who was absolutely outstanding in the middle of the park imo.

When's the last time we had such strength in the midfield department?! Every season I've always regarded our midfield to be our weak-link. With Lester, McEvoy and now Sammon all giving great performances so far it makes for a great change!
Cousins singled out the defense as the area that needed improving from last season but it seems the midfield he's assembled will mean the oppositon wont get as many chances to trouble the defense this season!

All in all I really hope we can keep this momentum going in the Limerick game with a positive result so we'll have confidence going into the Derry-Shels double-header!

16/03/2010, 4:47 PM
Hmmm, certainly wasn't MOTM anyway! I'd have given that to our no.6 (Sammon I think?), who was absolutely outstanding in the middle of the park imo. Ekanem did ok-ish, himself and Kev Cronin were dodgy enough in the centre of defence. He did some things well enough but then did some awfully bad things, like not heading balls clear, instead putting them straight in the air, or not heading them at all. Not the worst performance of our players on the night, but I wouldn't like to see him play every week.

yeah sammon was no 6 the other nite...