View Full Version : Could it be true?!
peadar1987
22/02/2010, 9:59 PM
After all the ****e that's gone on over the last weeks and months, I'm not getting my hopes up until the teams walk out for the first game, but Cork have been refused a Premier license for this season.
And my sympathy for the fans of Cork city. You did nothing to deserve what you've been through.
naoise kennedy
22/02/2010, 10:03 PM
After all the ****e that's gone on over the last weeks and months, I'm not getting my hopes up until the teams walk out for the first game, but Cork have been refused a Premier license for this season.
And my sympathy for the fans of Cork city. You did nothing to deserve what you've been through.
like you i'm not counting my chickens just yet, because of all the previous crap anything else could happen, i'll wait till its stated on bray website,,
Grey Boy
22/02/2010, 10:09 PM
Seems so. The club have a lot to do in the next few days. It's going to be a long old season ahead.
And I'd like to echo Peadars point that I have nothing but sympathy for the Cork fans. They've really been through the mill. At least they're masters of their own destiny now and will come back the better for it.
lowflyingseagul
23/02/2010, 7:42 AM
on the news this morning that bray are expected to be given back their premier status. time to snap up some out of contract players
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0223/corkcity1.html
Grasshopper 99
23/02/2010, 8:32 AM
Cork City Fc are to be no more, they will probably rename the club as they have done in the past and start from scratch, Dundalk will now get there European place and we will stay in the Premier and possible get more prize money as we have really moved up a place in the league as has everyone other than Bohs and rovers.
Roddy:"I rang Eddie Gormley last night to take one or two of them.." (Players from Cork)
Grasshopper 99
23/02/2010, 8:45 AM
dont mention that r lad, you should be barred for that :-)
23/02/2010, 8:55 AM
Congrats boys. Hope you stay up and we play you in the league next year!
Grasshopper 99
23/02/2010, 9:01 AM
Cheers man, indeed your more than welcome to come up, sure as far as i know there will be no relegation next season as the Fai want a bigger premier, extending it by 2 clubs, so all you have to do is finish first or second, ahead of shels, derry, finn harps, cork (or what ever there going to be called) and maybe longford. First division will be a lot more interesting than the prem this year and thankfully we wont be there.
23/02/2010, 10:37 AM
It's impossible to relegate you lot it seems! You deserve the place, we'll see you in Belfield in a month or so.
Grasshopper 99
23/02/2010, 11:04 AM
Do you still play in that rugby stadium (well hole in the ground with a stand)?
23/02/2010, 11:06 AM
That's the one. It's a nicer stand though. The hole is still the hole; not much we can do about that bar spend a million on drainage.
Grasshopper 99
23/02/2010, 11:10 AM
still would not be enough, but then again, the college has plenty of money so you never know.
23/02/2010, 11:46 AM
Cheers man, indeed your more than welcome to come up, sure as far as i know there will be no relegation next season as the Fai want a bigger premier, extending it by 2 clubs, so all you have to do is finish first or second, ahead of shels, derry, finn harps, cork (or what ever there going to be called) and maybe longford. First division will be a lot more interesting than the prem this year and thankfully we wont be there.
I'd imagine whatever about the other part of the name, they will still be Cork ;)
I suspect that Limerick more than Longford could be the fifth horseman of our apocalypse though, but if there is an increase, I'd be guessing that it will be 1 down and 3 up. That's what I'd do if I were running the FAI. Not that I do. Yet...
Rasputin
23/02/2010, 12:15 PM
Where does that leave Foran now??
BTW Congrats.
Grasshopper 99
23/02/2010, 12:20 PM
I'd imagine whatever about the other part of the name, they will still be Cork ;)
I suspect that Limerick more than Longford could be the fifth horseman of our apocalypse though, but if there is an increase, I'd be guessing that it will be 1 down and 3 up. That's what I'd do if I were running the FAI. Not that I do. Yet...
the fai will probably change the rules during the season to a, 2 down and 4 up or something just to get rid of us and probably ucd and then derry, cork, shels and probably yourselves would be up, kick out 2 small teams and bring in 4 bigger teams with more potential.
Bray-Z
23/02/2010, 12:54 PM
Where does that leave Foran now??
BTW Congrats.
Has he not already signed a contract with you's?
If not I'd welcome him back with open arms.
23/02/2010, 1:13 PM
the fai will probably change the rules during the season to a, 2 down and 4 up or something just to get rid of us and probably ucd and then derry, cork, shels and probably yourselves would be up, kick out 2 small teams and bring in 4 bigger teams with more potential.
C'mon now, how many times were we relegated last year, and we're still in the Premier. While it was shocking to see the FAI bend over backwards for Cork over the last few months, I don't think we can claim to be victims at this stage. We've cut our cloth accordingly and are reaping the benefits. Ideally 2010 would see an increase to a 12 team league, no teams going bust (!!!) and Bray staying up based on points won.
peadar1987
23/02/2010, 1:34 PM
C'mon now, how many times were we relegated last year, and we're still in the Premier. While it was shocking to see the FAI bend over backwards for Cork over the last few months, I don't think we can claim to be victims at this stage. We've cut our cloth accordingly and are reaping the benefits. Ideally 2010 would see and increase to a 12 team league, no teams going bust (!!!) and Bray staying up based on points won.
I stopped counting at 6
So Bray are definitely in the Premier now?
It's impossible to relegate you lot it seems! You deserve the place, we'll see you in Belfield in a month or so.
That made me smile :D Must be some kind of record being relegated 3 times yet still playing top level football.
To say it was a massive relief hearing the news last night is an understatement, I actually got a call from my cousin saying he had been talking to Dave Rogers. Rogers said he was supposed to sign for Cork but it fell through because they were refused the licence, that was a good hanlf an hour before the story broke. It felt like a week !
Looking forward to our games with your lot next season, always tight affairs.
On another note, very positive news from Gormley - "Now I will be looking to strengthen the squad with a few experienced players ahead of the Premier League kick-off to compliment the very young players we have already signed".
I thought the youngs lads have done exceptionly well in pre season, and i quote Pete Mahon from last nights game "Jesus Eddie, ya's ****ing battered us tonight"
Very impressed with young O'Neill, seems to be getting better and better with each game, pace to burn as well.
He is full time with Sligo.
bray boy
23/02/2010, 6:37 PM
Holy mother of God we have to play in Belfield 'Bowl' again.
Duffman
23/02/2010, 8:32 PM
something just to get rid of us
Ha, you are having a turkish there! Didn't you know that Cork have been victimised in this whole debacle?
http://www.ccfcforum.com/audios/96fm24022010parta.mp3
As for Sunday football for your home games, ye know best what suits but it is no coincidence why most of the league play on a Friday! I guess Sligo have their own reasons, hardly travelling fans but no doubt they do better from that all the same. Ye are in an ideal position trains and proximity to Dublin to really go for it on a Friday night, nail it down as your night and get promoting it.
Bray-Z
23/02/2010, 9:51 PM
Confirmed that we're sticking with Friday night football. Thank god!
You will be pleased to know the the UCD Bowl was pitch of the year last season. But the bad news is the rugby is still on when you come to play in the first round of games so it will be in bits.
24/02/2010, 9:48 AM
How do you think we feel about having to go to Bray again?
lowflyingseagul
24/02/2010, 11:42 AM
1 bloke and a drum does not constitute a 'we'
24/02/2010, 12:17 PM
I'd say you were up all night thinking of that one...
24/02/2010, 12:58 PM
1 bloke and a drum does not constitute a 'we'
Good to see you can correct yourself. :p
bray boy
24/02/2010, 2:12 PM
Good to see you can correct yourself.
Two different people there chap.
Not great. It'll probably be really cold, windy and p*ssing rain.
And you might run into people wearing tracksuit bottoms.
Awful stuff really.
Don't bother coming.
24/02/2010, 3:42 PM
Two different people there chap.
Oops, slightly ruins the joke!
lowflyingseagul
24/02/2010, 4:25 PM
I'd say you were up all night thinking of that one...
1hr 54 mins
24/02/2010, 4:43 PM
Good to see a bit of Premier Division rivalry developing here. We can have some real grudge matches this season ;) The gardai will have to be ready as both clubs are notorious for their hooligan elements!
24/02/2010, 4:47 PM
We'll have to call youz "Wands" or something just to annoy ye.
24/02/2010, 6:11 PM
By the looks of things, the South Dublin Derby will be a cracker atmosphere wise this year :p
[runs for cover]Bluebeard[/runs for cover]
lowflyingseagul
24/02/2010, 6:20 PM
By the looks of things, the South Dublin Derby will be a cracker atmosphere wise this year :p
[runs for cover]Bluebeard[/runs for cover]
south dublin ?
Rasputin
25/02/2010, 12:11 AM
I guess Sligo have their own reasons, hardly travelling fans but no doubt they do better from that all the same.
Nahh its got absolutely nothing to do with Away Fans.
Its just a tradition here since we got the floodlights back in the 90s and it really stuck.
They tried changing it a few times but its just not popular to change it here to a friday night.
Grasshopper 99
26/02/2010, 9:11 AM
bring on the smallest league of ireland fan base, with there typicial out of tune number "come on you boys in blue" (only dublin gaa fans and sing that one properly(up the dubs by the way))and dont forget there biggest hit, the all famous "coll-ege, coll-ege etc". Should make for a cracking atmosphere alright.
peadar1987
26/02/2010, 9:39 AM
bring on the smallest league of ireland fan base, with there typicial out of tune number "come on you boys in blue" (only dublin gaa fans and sing that one properly(up the dubs by the way))and dont forget there biggest hit, the all famous "coll-ege, coll-ege etc". Should make for a cracking atmosphere alright.
Well would you look at this! Could Bray Wanderers finally have a rivalry brewing?
(By the way, I went to Trinity. UC double D? *spit*!)