View Full Version : MNS?
Onefootednopace
08/03/2010, 7:52 PM
Didn't see it tonight, so did they??
Yes, RTE sent Tony O'Donoghue up there to do pre and post match interviews with managers, players and fans. Showed brief highlights of the game, Davin O' Neill took his goal very well. Great to see a very healthy attendance at the Brandywell and both sets of supporters having the craic in the Derry City supporters lounge afterwards.
08/03/2010, 8:04 PM
Will it be replayed at some ungodly hour? I was hoping to watch it on full TV instead of RTE player.
08/03/2010, 9:26 PM
Really enjoyed it tonight
-New credits
-New features(ones that I'd say I'll watch)
-New studio setup
-Good music(picked out Mumford and Son, Streets amongst others)
WoodquayBoy
08/03/2010, 10:10 PM
Cheers, just watched it. Drogheda were muck, yeah, O'Neill took that goal really well, and more poor refereeing decisions - disagree with commentary in Pats Utd match that lino got it right, thought from highlights Damien Lynch, just out of shot, was playing them on
09/03/2010, 8:28 AM
-New credits
-New studio setup
Sums it up well. I thought it all came across more professional and hopefully it's a sign of things to come for the rest of the series.
JC_GUFC
09/03/2010, 8:37 AM
Good spot by the ref, I didn't see it on the night. Also if you look at the reaction of the Sligo player he knew exactly what he'd done and doesn't contest it. Really was a terrible error from him.
Why would you let facts get in the way of a moan about a refereeing decision?!
It looks like it's the linesman that's given the penalty from the referees reaction - you can see him looking over before he gives it and then Richard Brush is having a go.
Stupid defending to be charging a free kick with your hands raised like that.
09/03/2010, 8:49 AM
is the MNS website working for anyone this morning? Can't get video player to work on mine, using Firefox....
09/03/2010, 8:56 AM
Yeah, I just sat through highlights of our win in Drogheda. Didn't realise from the away stand quite how awful Drogheda's defending was for all three goals. They're going to sink without trace if they continue like that.
jinxy lilywhite
09/03/2010, 9:19 AM
forgot to set the sky+ to record it until 20 mins in. Luckily got to see dundalks victory. Though dissappointed with Tony McDonnells assessment of Dundalks board and their expectations.
I didn't think Stephen O'Donnell should of been sent off in the Galway - pats game. I didn't think it was a dive
eelmonster
09/03/2010, 9:35 AM
is the MNS website working for anyone this morning? Can't get video player to work on mine, using Firefox....
This happens from time to time with RTE and Firefox, you might need an update, it should work fine with IE.
09/03/2010, 9:55 AM
Try this video here and skip forward to 2:25 to see the incident in question: http://www.srfc.tv/blog/
It's in better quality than the MNS one, you can quite clearly the Sligo player at the end of the wall for some reason charges down the free kick by throwing himself at the ball, and waving his arm in the air above his head. If you follow the flight of the ball you can see it 'loops' in the air after it goes by the wall, so it must have struck the outstretched hand. Good spot by the ref, I didn't see it on the night. Also if you look at the reaction of the Sligo player he knew exactly what he'd done and doesn't contest it. Really was a terrible error from him. I went into that link but after a 48 seconds it froze on me?
Straightstory
09/03/2010, 9:56 AM
Good new graphics. Cult hero feature a great idea.
Can't believe they did a Reservoir Dogs pastiche - which, even ten/fifteen years ago, had become overused and tiresome (rather typical of RTE's inability to ever come up with an original idea).
But overall - an improvement on last year. Good to see it back.
marinobohs
09/03/2010, 10:01 AM
-New credits
-New studio setup
Ye gads ! after (broadly) complimenting RTE only yesterday on the Bohs/Sporting Fingal coverage I find myself complimenting them again this morning. as MK said above there was a much more professional feel about the new format, this type of programme is what the League has been crying out for and I believe should entice more to LOI.
Also great to see the increased crowds on opening day. All round a rare but welcome good week for the LOI (not quite at the Airtricity league stage yet ;)) long may it last.
ndrog
09/03/2010, 11:25 AM
Yeah, I just sat through highlights of our win in Drogheda. Didn't realise from the away stand quite how awful Drogheda's defending was for all three goals. They're going to sink without trace if they continue like that.
One very bad night at the office for jamie harris dosent make a season .First game and all that .We were crap theres no denying that ! We have to get the finger out on sun for the louth derby . Not overly panicking just yet . We picked up one point in 10 games last season so theres hope yet .UCD looked like a fine team , or did we just make them look good ?
Cheers, just watched it. Drogheda were muck, yeah, O'Neill took that goal really well, and more poor refereeing decisions - disagree with commentary in Pats Utd match that lino got it right, thought from highlights Damien Lynch, just out of shot, was playing them on
We dont often agree but i was at the game right behind the goal and the ref was just about to give the peno when the linesman flagged .The only time the players were offside was in the actual follow up play and the look on the referees face when he realised the lino was flagging for offside was comical. Fair play to the RTE panel for saying that Mr. Sutton has set the bar vey high for any referee this season as some of the tackles in the other games that didnt see the players getting booked were far worse than simulation ,albeit if he didnt jump Gutsy would have went through him, on the halfway line.
The game was over after that but it took a howler from Rhys menell to hand Pats the Insurance goal.
09/03/2010, 1:38 PM
Good opening effort from MNS, and liked the new time too
A little disappointed about Tony Mc over the diving and cheating for the peno in the Bohs game, if its cheating then say it is so..............
And is the email/photo/phonecall segment gone for good?
WoodquayBoy
09/03/2010, 1:40 PM
if he didnt jump Gutsy would have went through him, on the halfway line.
Watch it again, Guthrie's foot firmly on the ground when O'Donnell dives - if he didn't dive, he'd have run into an outstretched leg, but I don't agree, with Guthrie already having a foot in the ground, would have gone thorugh him. Very difficult to play 70 odd minutes away with 10 men, but onward and upwards, that is in the past, bring on Bray
sandman
09/03/2010, 2:09 PM
Is there any chance to watch the video in big? Doesn't like it in that tiny window ... :(
bluemovie
09/03/2010, 2:51 PM
Thank god for Sky+. i don' get the telly untill after 9pm or sometimes 10 depending on desperate housewives of some other american crap.
You shouldn't take that lying down. Just think to yourself - what would Maxi do?
Is there any chance to watch the video in big? Doesn't like it in that tiny window ... :(
If you hover your mouse over the top left of the screen it should give you the option of watching in a stand alone real player. Works for me anyway (Firefox)
I think double clicking on the stream might work too
peadar1987
09/03/2010, 3:43 PM
You shouldn't take that lying down. Just think to yourself - what would Maxi do?
Write a strongly worded letter?
09/03/2010, 8:43 PM
UCD looked like a fine team , or did we just make them look good ?Let's hope we're good for both our sakes!
11/03/2010, 5:02 PM
Roddy's in the new photo-shoot pics on MNS facebook so he must be on at some point :).
wonder88
11/03/2010, 8:24 PM
Glad to see it back
http://i44.tinypic.com/14twjro.jpg
The jacket...:sinister:
Munster Saint
11/03/2010, 11:20 PM
http://i44.tinypic.com/14twjro.jpg
The jacket...:sinister:
Maybe it's a Louis Copeland special (either that or he's going into the undertaking business...)
Jicked
11/03/2010, 11:31 PM
Well he has buried enough clubs in his time
12/03/2010, 12:25 AM
Neo Collins
12/03/2010, 9:38 AM
is there anyone that has left the mns panel from last season?
Cuyahoga
12/03/2010, 10:06 AM
Johnny Mc Donnell left half way during the season to go to Newry City.
just got round to watching this now. Really good show.
Sligo looked very good, as did UCD (Kilduff looks a super player). Galway i thought were poor but Drogheda looked worse. Dundalk and Bray both looked pretty useful. The Bohs peno was lucky as was Rovers' who looked a bit toothless in my unbiased opinion.
Overall, on the show, we are lucky to have such a quality highlights show available to us compared to the sh1te that TV3 served up before i left. It looks like RTE has got a settled format now for MNS and its excellent.
13/03/2010, 5:50 AM
Just reading Tony O'Donoghue's column, http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/features/tonyodonoghue/
I don't get the Ryan Tubridy League reference..
Riddickcule
13/03/2010, 3:14 PM
I think they've made a stark improvement on last year, however i will never get why they need 3 pundits???
Cons a good presenter i think, although he gets the giggles too easily, but i think we should have just 2 pundits along side him.
If i were to choose my favourite pundits i would probably go for Rico and Eoin Hand, both intelligent men that talk sense.
I don't understand why they need to play music when they are showing the highlights of some games, what is with that?
I'm liking the cult heroes thing, brings back the memories for a few people, who knows maybe it'll intice some of the lost generation back when they see the likes of mick leech featured on the show.
Boo_Boy
13/03/2010, 4:20 PM
Just reading Tony O'Donoghue's column, http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/features/tonyodonoghue/
I don't get the Ryan Tubridy League reference..
Airtricity sponsor Tubridy's radio show, still a silly reference.
McDonnell resigned today. Back to MNS?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/8566482.stm
WoodquayBoy
13/03/2010, 10:36 PM
SKi McGee (United's all-time top scorer in the League) to make his debut on the show this coming Monday
Cold Night
13/03/2010, 11:11 PM
Good to see MNS back, along with the 15 live games RTE will be showing.
Any word whether Setanta will show any live league games in addition to the Setanta Cup ?
14/03/2010, 5:58 PM
McDonnell resigned today. Back to MNS?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/8566482.stm
didnt realise johnny mac had left mns alltogether...
16/03/2010, 5:19 PM
Was looking for it myself today. What a bunch of cheeky monkeys.
Im disappointed that the Cork City Waterford game wasnt shown when it was being advertised as bein shown..
Iorfa2MaccaJim
16/03/2010, 5:47 PM
I saw M.N.S. for the first time this season last night.
I really enjoyed it.
Rasputin
18/03/2010, 4:03 PM
SKi McGee (United's all-time top scorer in the League) to make his debut on the show this coming Monday
Its good to see a Rovers man on the panel outside of the whole Dublin/Cork panelists for a change.
WoodquayBoy
18/03/2010, 10:21 PM
Its good to see a Rovers man on the panel outside of the whole Dublin/Cork panelists for a change.
I'll rise to the bait. He was born in Sligo and played for Sligo, but I know for a FACT he regards himself as a United man - the majority of his goals were scored for United, he had 2 spells with us, applied twice to be manager, and has made Galway his home. Nice try, but not this time Mr WUM
Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/03/2010, 7:30 AM
I'll rise to the bait. He was born in Sligo and played for Sligo, but I know for a FACT he regards himself as a United man - the majority of his goals were scored for United, he had 2 spells with us, applied twice to be manager, and has made Galway his home. Nice try, but not this time Mr WUM
I will rise also. 2 spells? Pah. He had at least 5 spells with us. I would say that anyone from down the country who makes their home in Dublin doesn't automatically become a Dub (or a Fingallian depending on where you settle / who you're talking to)
Last nights one isnt one the rte player yet, what sort of a country do we live in?
BTW for those looking to view it on t'interweb, its usually on the MNS page first (real player only I think) www.rte.ie/mns
Rasputin
19/03/2010, 7:14 PM
Its not really bait tbh, he was born and raised in Sligo Town, grew up supporting Rovers and then went on to play for them. Yes he played for Galway but he also played in England. So im not sure what "Facts" your on about.
I know alot of lads that live in Galway and support Rovers, work and College and all the rest.